Find companies:
Baker Hughes Incorporated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
610 reviews

Baker Hughes Incorporated Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great company
Heavy Equipment Technician (Current Employee), Clairmont, ABNovember 15, 2014
In the year that I have worked for Baker Hughes, it was an amazing place to be. The knowledge my co workers have about the equipment we were working on helped me out quite a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people t workfor
FIELD SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Estevan, SKNovember 14, 2014
Pros: guarentee salary good management
Cons: lack of work
long hours but management cared about u lots of room for advancement the more u put into your job the farther ahead u got
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Baker Hughes
Wireline Field Engineer (Former Employee), Leduc, ABNovember 8, 2014
Pros: international training
Cons: 15 days on call
15 days on 6 days off. Steady work, great people and great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace with great people
Field Operations Administrator (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 29, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: long commute and not enough work
A typical day at work for me is quite slow, I keep track of fuel and work in SAP on a regular basis but most other duties are monthly and don't require much upkeep throughout the rest of the month. I am looking for something where I can be busy throughout most of the day. There is not much room for advancement in my position and that is certainly something – more... I am looking for. I work very well with my coworkers when the need arises and the hardest part of my job is finding things to keep me busy. The most enjoyable thing is certainly the people I work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place
Pump Operator/ Driver (Former Employee), Clairmont, ABSeptember 10, 2014
Baker Hughes was a great place to work. The people are interesting and Baker Hughes looks after them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safety orientated company
Office Manager (Former Employee), Leduc AlbertaAugust 28, 2014
Pros: safety culture promoted and enforced in the company
Cons: lack of communication from upper management
Everyday was a learning experience for me at Baker Hughes. Managing a team of 7 throughout Alberta and Ontario had it's challenges. The logistics did not allow me to have a hands on experience with each of them. I built the team up so they became self sufficient yet knew I was only an email or phone call away to address any problems, concerns and provide – more... training and assistance when needed. I held a weekly conference call with all of them to just "talk". I felt this was a good way for us to learn together and offer suggestions and support, not just by me, but by all of us. Having the administrative team report to me allowed us to unify the way we preformed the daily duties requested of administrators. Any one of us were able to cover sick days and vacation time at the other bases without any disruption to the business. My co-managers coached me on becoming a strong team leader. I had a lot of respect for them. I was able to take what they taught me and apply it to my team gaining the respect and support from them just as I had for the management that taught me. My experience at Baker Hughes was invaluable and grew me in to a confident team leader and player. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional office, highly intelligent team, comfortable work environment
Base Administrator, CTRE (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 23, 2014
Typical day at work starts with checking and responding to emails and review from work done the day before. Management and co-workers keep me busy and include me in on their current projects. Hardest part of my job is "public speaking" in front of a large group. Most enjoyable part of my job is working with such a great team who appreciate my assistance – more... in the office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career
Directional Driller (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 14, 2014
As DD a work day may start any time, you are on call; it is good and sad news in the same time. Good because you get paid on each day you spend on the rig site. Sad because you have to leave what you were doing.
I learnt a lot about drilling different well types and profiles, manage my stress and work under harsh situations.
Management is one of the – more... worst I have seen; managers have to be that way, as they were not given a chance too.
Co-workers depend on who you work with. You might work with someone once your life, but most of them are good.
The hardest part of the job is working overnight many days, manage to sleep in noise.
Most enjoyable part is when you get congrats on what you have done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy to get job, great money, some awful coworkers
Field Operator III - Pressure Pumping (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABJune 19, 2014
Pros: experience, free ppe, class 1 training, tickets
Cons: coworkers
The upside: When I first started working at Baker, I only had a class 5 drivers licence, I was flat broke, and wasn't expecting much. After the first month, they put me through training and paid for my class 1 licence, dozens of safety tickets, and all of my ppe. By the third month, I was making good money and after getting laid off, Baker gave me a – more... huge amount of money for a severance package. I learned A LOT working for Baker. How to work safely, work on the trucks, even how to act in the field - It was my first oilfield job. Lots of heavy lifting. Managed to lose 10 pounds working for them and my arms got huge. The management at Baker was great. Really good guys (and girls) working in the office. Very well mannered, professional, and fair. A lot of the older guys I worked with had a great sense of humor

The downside: There is a kind of "boys club" going on at Baker Hughes in Red Deer and if you're not "one of the boys", you get picked on. Some of the guys working there are just awful people and there's nothing you can really do about it because they've been there longer. Lots of gossip in the company, if you say something or do something off key, everyone knows about it across north america within a week (for real). Field supervisors can also be really nasty - if you make them mad, they work you like a dog until they settle down and they always try and rush you during rig-ins and rig-outs. It's very difficult to move up quickly in the company because there are so many guys working there, all after the more senior roles. Baker also had 3 massive layoffs in the 11 months that I was working there.

There were a lot of good times at Baker but there were also a lot of bad times in terms of some of the guys I had to work with in the field. All in all, I will never work for a large fracing company again. If you're looking for first time oil field experience, a class 1 licence, lots of safety tickets, and fat pay checks, Baker is a great company to start with but don't under estimate smaller oil field companies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term employment
Dispatch/Chemical operator (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, ABMay 12, 2014
While the time I spent there it was a great place to work. Management was very easy to approach to talk to, but they let alot of guys down when they just shut the doors on them and put them out of a job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work and some great employees to work with.
Bulk Plant/Transport Operator (Former Employee), Redcliff, ABApril 21, 2014
I hauled cement or sand out to job sites in Saskatchewan, Alberta or Northern BC. I enjoyed getting behind the wheel of the trucks and driving with some physical activity of helping rig up the equipment at times. The worst part of the job was being away from the wife and home for weeks at a time but it also made you appreciate those things and not take – more... them for granted. Would still be working there but they shut down the southern district for pressure pumping. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and physical workplace, good people
Pumper Operator (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABApril 19, 2014
Pros: decent pay cheques i suppose
Cons: hard work long hours, some times bad pay.
we would show up on location, have a safety meeting,
then continue to rig in our equipment and trucks to the well head.
heavy lifting it swinging a sledge hammer for awhile.
good team work as there was lots of lifting with others. good drive and energy with in each other.
hardest part was the rigging in and out in bad weather or for long periods of – more... time, big jobs was more rigging in.
inbetween jobs there was breaks sometimes, so good break times was nice. got to learn how to operate the trucks and a chem van. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Helpdesk (intern) (Former Employee), calgaryApril 13, 2014
a great please to work and opportunity for career advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has grown to be a big company personality
Field Specialist Tools I (Former Employee), Whitecourt, ABMarch 31, 2014
Pros: 1 free lunch monthly.
Cons: each employee is just a number
Was a great place to work for several years until the purchase of BJ Services. Started to be cut back in overtime and less bonus payouts. Cut out break up and Christmas Parties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just when you thought it could not get worse it does.
Transport Operator (Former Employee), Drumheller, ABFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: good benefits and salery
Cons: old bad managers need to go.
For a company as big as BH to lay people off on the pressure pumping side and not offer any positions in other divisions of the company that need people shows a lack of forethought on the company. It is long past time for a changing of upper management a person should not be able to get a job with the competition the day after being laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good honest work, but the work culture wasn't for me
Field Operator (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABDecember 28, 2013
Pros: learnt new skills, brushed up on some old ones
Cons: condescending work atmosphere
A typical day at work is showing up at 8:00 am and reviewing what jobs needed to be done that day in terms of maintenance. I learned how to rebuild high pressure fracturing pumps and what hydraulic fracturing was all about. Management was fantastic however the coworkers were a little off, tended to be rude and uninterested in training new hires. Hardest – more... part of the job was being away from home and putting in numerous 16 hour days for 15 days on. I loved the training and what the job potentially had to offer in terms of security and salary, as well as advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun place to work
Imaging Specialist (Current Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 19, 2013
- I personally like the work environment, good and kind people.
- Down fall would be the fact that the job positions are contracts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Door to Door selling their products, Cold Calls... terrible position
Water Treatment Technical Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONNovember 29, 2013
Pros: not sure
Cons: unprofessional, cold calls, door to door sales...
Water Treatment Technical Sales Specialist - Sarnia, ON - terrible, made up position - tread carefully with these guys, unprofessional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Piano ,poems,sports
Technical Team Leader (Former Employee), EgyptNovember 29, 2013
Pros: global company
Cons: lack of professional
Working at oil and gas company gives you a great experience and learn you many skills such as how to identify the optimized solution and to take a right decision in short time .
Work team is a key factor to achieve the organization goals but unfortunately it is missing in Egyptian cultural .
Work-life balance is missing in Egypt .
I wish to find a good – more... opportunity in Canada with good employer that can grant Visa for work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Level 2 Electromechanical Technician (Former Employee), Nisku AB.September 30, 2013
Cons: layoffs
Excellent core values, good people, good wages and benefits

1 2 3 4 5

About Baker Hughes Incorporated

Baker Hughes cooks up a baker's dozen of products and services for the global petroleum market. Through its Drilling and Evaluation – Read more

Baker Hughes Incorporated Photos