Baker Hughes Incorporated Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Mechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 January 2018
meh, not a great environment for the brain that is a fact, let alone one's body. no community or peer support, money driven business, too large for my liking. all together not a good experience for me. it showed me the value in education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
HSE Manager - Canada & Alaska (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 January 2018
This was my first job with the oil and gas service industry. I learned a lot about how to work within a multi-national organization and gained a tonne of experience with the oil and gas industry. With that I thank Baker Hughes for the opportunity.
Pros
National experience
Cons
Working of a U.S. based organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a very nice company
Downhole Technician (Former Employee) –  Kuwait12 December 2017
Its a plessure to work in baker.even i work as a contractor i learn alot.how to test and strip the tools and equipmemt.i learn to drive forklift operating over head crane.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
District Administrator (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB28 November 2017
My time with Baker Hughes was a very good learning experience for me. I was provided the opportunity to advance in my role and Leadership was exceptional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good position for beginners
Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB15 November 2017
Pay is good but there is poor work-life balance and room for advancement. Well educated and experienced people have very little room to advance their career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Baker Hughes
Department Administrator/Facility Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB1 November 2017
My typical day at work consisted of many clerical duties. I ran the front desk at a large shop in Red Deer. I would answer phones, file documents, work with the HSE Manager, personally report to the manager and assisted walk ins

I learnt many things at Baker Hughes. It was my first Oilfield based job. I learned about the inner workings of the company and added experience to my administrate abilities.

Management was always supportive and kind

The workplace culture was friendly but professional

The hardest part of the job was trying to help as many people as I could but only being able to complete one project at a time

The most enjoyable part was being able to connect with individuals everyday. Helping staff with projects and helping out the public as much as I could.
Pros
Learning Environment, Friendly Staff, Good Wages
Cons
Demanding Deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
field Engineer
Electronics Engineer (Former Employee) –  Canada14 October 2017
I find baker a very welcoming environment with a lot of developments plans and training.
good work-life balance
I would rate it " very good " overall
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Staff
District Administrator (Former Employee) –  Estevan, SK11 October 2017
Baker Hughes was a great place to work. Management supported their staff. They had a reward program that encouraged staff to work beyond normal duties.

Typical day consisted of purchasing, accounts payables/receivables
Pros
Great Management
Cons
No job security with oil field work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you enjoy no life, and to be screwed over
Pump nitrogen Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 October 2017
I was hired on as a N2 pump hauler and operator. One week before my 3 months kicked in with my benefits they stopped sending me on jobs, effectively making it so I'm not making money anymore just sitting at the shop, the day before my 3 months, I am let go without any hesitation or reason behind the issue.
Pros
no pros
Cons
never home, no life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic mess
Strategic Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 October 2017
The company worked everyone to the bone and then asked for more during the down turn. They will promise the world but ruin your heath. US management does not care about Canadian employees
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No warm fuzzy feeling here
Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 September 2017
Don't expect a warm fuzzy feeling from BHGE. They will suck all they can from you, and then cut you when they are through with you. You are just a number. Expect to work long days with impossible workloads and to "Just be grateful you still have a job" GE is replacing all Legacy Staff with their own people. No stability or security, people walk around on egg shells.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy challenging environment
Logistics Analyst (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB20 August 2017
Went through mergers which offered many new challenges and changing processes
Loved being busy
Enjoyed working with co-workers at all levels in every position
Pros
Always something to do
Cons
Tight deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build a career
Technical Field Representative (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB8 August 2017
This is a great company for someone who wants to have a stable career to build your life around and dig your roots in. diverse company with lots of avenues for individuals to take
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good Drilling Fluids Company
Mud Engineer Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 August 2017
Baker Hughes is a good Drilling Fluids Company that sells good products, backed up by good service, with good technical support and good support from management. I would recommend them as a prospective employer.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Large company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible morale, and even worse management.
Warehouse Blend Operator (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB1 August 2017
I was laid off after 7 months, due to a shortage of work. They couldn't keep me busy enough to justify keeping me employed. This happened shortly after the merger with GE Oil & Gas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad work place
Storekeeper (Former Employee) –  Basra branch30 July 2017
High dangerous work place in Basra branch on Iraq,not bad meals, bad medical insurance , bad rooms for resident, my rate is just good company not more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and great people
Baker Petrolite, Canada (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 July 2017
Good work environment and great people. Good opportunity to travel for business meetings and projects. Multinational organisation with great potential.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB6 July 2017
Hardworking and great people!
Difficult to move ahead since mandatory training has to be done before you can move up, but you can still do the work without the training....
When on shift and the field, you give up having a life - but you're compensated for that and you get more than 2 days off at the end of the shift!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, little bit stressful
Quality Assurance Manager (Current Employee) –  Ash Sharqīyah30 June 2017
Good company and good benefits, oil and gas in general have no job security not just my company, but I'm looking for an international experience if I find a job with Baker Hughes in Canada will be great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Service Operator (Contractor) (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 June 2017
Management are very approachable and they will listen to what you have to say.
Everybody wants to see everybody succeed and no body fail.
I have a better view on what goes on down stream on the oil and gas industry.
It can be hard being away from for so long in camp or always on the road.
Pros
Great Guys to work with. Everbody takes the timto help each other
Cons
Sort notice when you got to go in the field
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Baker Hughes Incorporated. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,156 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8