Find companies:
Baker & Taylor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Baker & Taylor Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace! Hard work pays off!!!
Warehouse (Current Employee), momence IlNovember 3, 2014
Pros: referral program, benefits, pto
Baker and Taylor is a great company to work for. They listen to opinions and seem to care. Overtime is mandatory but it was clearly stated in the interview so no surprise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience
Sr. Oracle Developer (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 29, 2014
Excellent work experience in excellent working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for this company
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 25, 2014
Flexible hours, days, Monday thru Friday. Great pay and very little Supervision
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe place to work but terrible compensation
Material Handler (Former Employee), Reno, NVJuly 24, 2014
Pros: cafeteria, book sales, team leads and managers are supportive
Cons: pay is not competitive at all
Early start time for most employees, but didn't seem to be a problem as we also got to leave early.
A good amount of overtime when it was trade season but also a lot of early outs during the off season.
Management was great towards me but I have heard complaints from other departments for things like bad hours, micromanagement or just complaining about – more... nothing.
Most of employees are women which tends to get crazy at times, it's very much like high school drama.

The best part of my job is that I knew how to do it and the entire department appreciated me for it. If something was being done wrong I knew right away and fixed it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good CoWorkers
Systems Support Specialist (Current Employee), Commerce, GAJuly 20, 2014
Good co-workers but lacks opportunity for advancement.

Good work culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers,management needs improvement
Customer Financial Services Representative (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 23, 2014
Not a family oriented company as far as the vacations/sick time and medical benefits are concerned. There ia also no room for growth. No bonuses are given.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for once or twice a week
Retail Merchandiser (Current Employee), Ukiah, CAJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: no travel reinbursement
Good to supplement your income, 2-8 hours/ week average. Usually once a week, sometimes twice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive job
Copy Cataloger 1 (Former Employee), CLS CatalogingNovember 5, 2013
Pros: lunch every 90 days provided there were no work place accidents.
I enjoyed my job at Baker and Taylor. I customized library records local and nationwide in a specific database tailored to the customer. I learned how to be self dependent and succeed on my own. I managed my time well and was able to make my production and go over 100% of my expected goals. I got along well with my co-workers. There was nothing hard – more... about my job, the most enjoyable part was being able to be productive and a team player. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working and Baker & Taylor
Cataloger/Data Entry (Former Employee), Momence, ILSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: when hot got free ice cream
Cons: health insurance
I liked cataloging but very hard to work for Baker and Taylor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open fun and friendly environment
Kit Matcher (Current Employee), Commerce, GAAugust 20, 2013
Pros: 3 breaks, laid back, friendly workers, great management.
Cons: certain people are not so people oriented and are out for the worst, and they are not hesitant to fire you over small things.
Open friendly work environment, with great benefits and incentives. I have learned to be more sociable and outgoing while working here, the coworkers are very accepting and genuinely care about me and my other coworkers. The hardest part of the job is memorizing the counties. The best thing I like about Baker & Taylor is the three breaks I get daily – more... and how laid back it is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Order Picker/Sorter (Current Employee), Momence, ILAugust 19, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits, stay in shape
Cons: not family oriented. unexpected overtime.
Have worked both part time and full time for the company. 100% prefer part time. As a full time employee you receive benefits which are good and the pay is also good if you are willing to work hard to meet incentive. The supervisors work well with their employee's in most situations. Not concerned with your life outside of the job, to them your job – more... should be your top priority. If you enjoy working unexpected overtime you would enjoy this job. You also must enjoy being on your feet for most of the day for most jobs. The most enjoyable part of the job is breaks and clocking out at the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managemnt is Only Concerned With Themselves
IT Professional (Former Employee), ContoocookAugust 14, 2013
Pros: book sales
Cons: poor benefits; poor management
Management at my place was poor. There was no leadership. They were constantly looking over their shoulder with a CYA attitude. They did not offer the ability to think outside the box or accept offers to do work that "wasn't your role."

Management doesn't seem to be held responsible by B&T for failures. Blame is allowed to be passed on.

There is no – more... room for growth, no reward for going beyond. Only failure is recognized.

I would not recommend this company to anyone in a professional role. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with hard working employees.
Web Support Customer Service (Current Employee), Lewisville, TXAugust 2, 2013
Pros: celebrating birthday parties
Cons: watching our company downsize
A typical day would be filled with responding to several customer inquires and researching issues. The management staff is professional and hard working. My co-workers are team players and respect each other. The hardest part of my job is having it move to another state. The most enjoyable part of my job is be able to work with a great group of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
Sortation (Former Employee), Momence, ILJuly 8, 2013
management is respectful. pay is ok. full and part-time workloads. jobs are pretty easy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to Work
Warehouse associate (Former Employee), contoocookJune 18, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
They are very unprofessional here. Not only was I not given the proper training when hired on but when I brought this up to management they didn't know what I was talking about nor did HR. If you are good at your job they use you only to get rid of you and if you suck at your job they keep you on. The management is rude, most people that work in the – more... warehouse on 2nd shift do drugs and 1st shift gossips and leaves all the work for 2nd shift to finish. The only good thing about this job is the pay for an entry level position. Stay away if at all possible! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm currently working at Baker & Taylor
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Momence, ILJune 3, 2013
I enjoy my job as a Customer Service Represenative. I answer questions or concerns for multiple library and retail accounts within the United States. Handle any issues our customer have to ensure proper transit time. I'm a team player and work well with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disaplined place to work.
Jacket Selecter (Former Employee), Commerce, GAMay 27, 2013
Pros: you always knew what was expected.
Cons: the boss was very hatefull
It is a place when you walk in the door you get to your table and you get to work. There is no playing around. You have a job to do and you get to it. Managment was very strict.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
compared to previous employers, this one is average
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 7, 2013
Pros: flex work schedule
Cons: promotional opportunities
Work day was relaxed, although i am a "go getter", I would plan my work day before arrival. Upon getting to my desk, it was all hands on deck for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Order Picker (Former Employee), Momence, IlApril 29, 2013
Pros: end of the day.
Cons: entire company.
They tell you your pay is based on how fast you move. What they don't tell you, is from the first week you're there they do everything they can to slow you down and prevent you from your next raise. Your hours are never guarunteed. Some days you leave by lunch, after lunch...some days you leave an hour early...and others you stay an extra hour. Not – more... too bad right? Wrong! They don't even tell you what you'll be working that day until an hour before your said to leave. You will work 9 hours, so the next shift can get sent home early. You will do this for 2 weeks, then youll be back to 8 hour days for a week, then your gettin sent home 4 hours early and the next day your back to 9. Management is clueless to almost everything.. Co-workers are favored and each get treated differently in a range from good and bad. Most of the time its more of a competition then actual work. But overall, at the end of the month your percentage is based on you, and everyone else arou d you...given there are people who'd rather stand around talking to anything with ears, its rather irritating to fi d you've not made your incentive that month because of it. This company has no idea how to run anything. The digital world is taking over, and needs to get to this place a little faster.

If you want to feel as if you are back in high school, with your every move tracked and questioned, working your a** off for them to just slow you down or come up with some bogus reason as to why you didn't make your percentage that month, and feeling unwelcome and unappreciated in your workplace...THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The paycheck was the only good thing about this job.
order picker (Former Employee), Momence, ILApril 8, 2013
Pros: they pay you to be there.
Cons: everything else
You don't work with someone breathing down your neck, but you are tracked by computer the entire time you are there, and constantly questioned about your down time (dead batteries, computer problems, etc.). The management is completely clueless as to what it takes to do the job, and what circumstances affect performance, nor do they care. They only – more... care how it looks on paper. The criticism is constant and the praise is virtually non existent. You have to be either be related to one of the bosses or buddies with them to have any chance for advancement. Performance and seniority mean nothing. Easily ranks as one of the worst run companies I have ever dealt with. Companies that are constantly hiring (like this one) are just proving how difficult they are to work for. – less

About Baker & Taylor

If you've strolled through a library recently, you likely saw a lot of Baker & Taylor (B&T) without knowing it. The #1 supplier – Read more