Badger Daylighting Employee Reviews

Found 24 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Hydrovac Operator (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB15 September 2016
This was a terrible place to work. Tons of office politics, back stabbing, and broken promises. They did not seem willing to work with employee or provide all the training that was needed and promised. On paper it sounds like a great company but in practice not really. they have a high employee turn over. I gave my blood, sweat, and tears to that place and in the end they treated me poorly
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the Location
Swamper/Labourer (Current Employee) –  Canada27 October 2016
It all depends on the location you work at. Some have amazing management, great hours, and high wages. Other locations sit you, under pay you, and management speaks poorly about employees.

All depends on the location you work at.
Pros
Long Hours
Cons
Low Wages out East
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Swamper (Current Employee) –  Rainbow Lake, AB22 September 2016
go to work write the field level risk assesment,spot the truck. rig up/and start the job. could just be a site hole/slot trench.just do what the boss wants. then dump and clean the debris tank
Pros
good pay
Cons
18 hours away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB1 September 2016
I worked for Badger Daylighting and liked it. The equipment was good, the pay was good and we always got to travel. I enjoyed working with the team I was with. I recommend this company for anyone looking for something exciting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours and lots of work
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON11 July 2016
The hardest part of the job is dealing with inclement weather. And the best part of working here was working outside.There is excellent safety training and co workers are great to work with.
Pros
good wages good hours
Cons
loud and dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i would never work for a corporate company again
Swamper/Assistant Operator (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC5 April 2016
This job provide high wages with no sustainability and poor filed management. It is a publicly traded company that cares very little for the people and much more for the dollar.
Pros
high wages
Cons
little care or respect for employiees
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable place to work
Accounts Receivable/Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB13 April 2016
Typical day at work was always busy and an awesome environment to be part of. Learnt many skills while I moved up. Skilled and understanding managers and co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad enviroment
Accounting Technician (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB4 February 2016
It's not "what you know", it's whose butt you're willing to kiss.

Most people are good to work with, except those who will back stab you in a nanosecond to curry favors with the Finance Manager.
Pros
Most co-workers
Cons
Finance Manager is a drama queen and instigator of the bad environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hydrovac
OWNER OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Kindersley, SK22 March 2016
every young boys dream to play in the mud all day and getting paid for it doesn't get much better than that. I was an owner operator which means i didn't report to too many people
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very safe to work
Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB26 January 2016
we start on time and my co-worker they treat me good and its very safe to work and i learn a lot of new techniques,how to use the tools and cranes.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
no under time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessional and hostile work place
operator (Former Employee) –  regina13 August 2015
Basically no management horrible dispatch operators are a bunch of school children with attitudes completely horrible place to work
Pros
none
Cons
they dont care, just a revolving door of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes33No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Swamper and Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB11 August 2015
With hydro vacing you are always dirty and making mud holes the company is good to work for but you work away from home and lived out of a suite case some times with is hard on a family.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lethbridge badger - terrible place to work.
hydroslacker (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB10 September 2014
- management is lazy and unethical; spends more time fixing up personal vehicle, rather than drumming up business. Uses corporate account to fuel up personal vehicle.
- unless waterton shell has hydrovac projects on the go, you will only work a couple days a week. Badger really doesnt need a shop in lethbridge; nobody in town uses them!
Pros
none
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes37No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poorly maintained equipment, poor management.
Hydrovac Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 February 2015
Trucks constantly break down, there is only one overworked mechanic. There is no communication in the office between the foreman, dispatch, and manager. Lots of favouritism and "seniority rules" throughout the shop, its like highschool. Not a pleasant place to work.
Pros
busy
Cons
people
Was this review helpful?Yes48No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special events such as BBQ's create a well balanced atmosphere
Credit Manager (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB15 November 2013
Never a dull moment with balancing a days work. Most rewarding times are developing relationships with clients, collection companies and lawyers.
Pros
Casual dress atmosphere
Cons
Management hiring friends and relatives
Was this review helpful?Yes12No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was very unhappy there. Lack of confidentiality in all matters. Had a feeling boss was discussing my shortcomings with other employees behind my back
Hydrovac Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2014
Very new employee unfriendly company. Cannot say more for fear of victimization.
Was this review helpful?Yes54No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always worried if bills are going to be paid! No work!!
operator(driver) (Current Employee) –  oshawa4 November 2014
Cant keep you busy, no work but will be continually hiring new employees while you sit at home.
Pros
none
Cons
no hours, immature management that shouldn't be in their position
Was this review helpful?Yes38No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Hydrovac Company
Hydrovac Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto,On24 April 2013
Start times depended on jobs that had been booked, often with different customers everyday. Learned to work closely with customers as we would spend all day with them on site.
Cons
inconsistant hours
Was this review helpful?Yes27No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
messy dirty job
Swamper (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB4 February 2014
get in truck go to work get completely muddy all day come back to shop clean truck fill tank back up with water go home, repeat next day
Pros
get paid fro driving hours
Cons
get sprayed in face all day with mud/contaminated soil
Was this review helpful?Yes34No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Hydrovac Swamper / Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray10 February 2015
Good Company, Hours aren't steady so it's a good company for someone who has another job on the side or a spouse with a job to hold down the fort.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No11Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9