Badger Daylighting Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company with terrible management
opeator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 November 2017
manager is really cheap , cant believe start operator as 26/hr, management will save anything, they used dis wash soup for wash trucks, people are good when you working with
Pros
good worker
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress
Dispatcher/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC24 October 2017
Not a pleasant work place. Long hours and not many nice people to work with. No loyalty and didn't matter how hard you worked. No rewards and no re-assurance. The new Area manager was not a very understanding people person. Only interested in the bottom line.
Pros
good wage
Cons
bad work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Seinor Swamper (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 October 2017
really great place to work as long as you like long hours year round then this is the place for you. The owners are really awesome people that never hesitated to help their employees again just couldn't ask for a better boss
Pros
long hrs awesome owners
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive wage, lots of hours and fun team
Operator (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 September 2017
New manager has turned things around and is an interesting place to work. Different everyday and twice as busy as last year. Best Hydro Vac in Vancouver. Woot woot.
Pros
Team building events, management listens, lots of work
Cons
Outdoors in rain
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promise lots deliver little.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON27 September 2017
Worked 3 months at burlington location. Never reached 40 hrs. in 1 week. Management plays employees against each other for overtime and top paying work (pipeline,hydro...).Union has many letters of agreement to avoid following contract. Lots of Cowboys work here. Take advantage of training then look for full-time job elsewhere .
Pros
see below
Cons
see below
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warning...Terrible place to work
Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 September 2017
Huge turnover rate.Complete gong show. Managment refers to there people as "pilons" and treats them like garbage.The manager is well known and hated in the hydro- vac industry.
Pros
You get treated like garbage
Cons
You get treated like garbage
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bunch of guys to work with.
Hydrovac Swamper (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK13 September 2017
Great hard working guy to work with. A lot of out a town work, and long hours. Great work inviroment and positive atmosphere. The best part of the job would be doing something different every other day, the worst part is being away from family for long periods of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 September 2017
Badger in general are cheap. The managers only care about their pockets. All the managers like to micromanage and save every buck they can. They talk a good game but can't fulfill the commitments. Badger has poor morale.
They do have great benefits and an RSP plan. But that's all they have. VERY high turnaround of staff.
Pros
benefits and RSP plan
Cons
managers are cheap and will do anything to cut the persons throat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 August 2017
I really enjoyed my time here, was greeted with friendly faces each day and everyone that I worked either directly or indirectly with was happy and you could tell that they enjoyed their jobs.
Pros
always acknowledged for hard work, lunches on the bosses, and golf days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operator
Hydrovac Operator (Current Employee) –  London, ON8 August 2017
most thankless company I have worked for in quite a while, hours fluctuate immensely and most area managers are happier to appease their boss than try and have a productive workplace, moral is normally very low
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red deer shop very unorganized poor communication run down equipment
Hydrovac Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB6 August 2017
I've worked for badger in other locations and they were excellent to work for... red deer badger is the worst experience ever....the dispatcher for red deer would only book you one job that maybe last three hours and that's it if he would book us up more to take care of the customer sooner maybe they would be more busy also he never answers his phone I can only imagine how many clients we have lost because of this ...no wonder why badger red deer is doing so poorly ......also the maintenance on the units are almost never taken care of unless you.do it your self at minium wage don't get me wrong I love badger and working for them just not red deer.....and until management changes this it will continue to fail...i don't see anyone working there for very long I mean half the badger shop is dedicated to his own personal vehicle repair ....very unprofessional!
You would think management would realize there is a problem and maybe it's not the operators!!!
Pros
Lots of time off short shifts
Cons
Broken trucks...poor communication.....high turn over
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work depends who you work for
Hydra Vac operator/Trainer (Current Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC16 July 2017
Over all thought that would be the last place i worked thought i had room for advancement which i was more than qualified for but over looked.Then i had been injured so goes the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work!! Trust me stay away!
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON11 July 2017
Everything that constitutes wrong and politically incorrect is happening here. Upper management lie over and over again to employees and customers. There are so many grievances in at the moment with this company as well as Administrative staff who were wrongfully dismissed are suing. if you have shares in this company cash them in. This company is going down and as far as I am concerned all upper management deserves to get fired!! Horrible people I honestly can not stress enough how poisonous this place is. Glad I am gone!
Pros
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great money
Swamper (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2017
was a good place to work and it was nice not working in a shop got to travel around calgary lots and meet some interesting people lots of experience in the underground area
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work when work is available
Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB17 June 2017
A day usually begins with a pre-trip, then you're off to work. Performing various tasks, Hydro vac, vac trucks, water trucks, and condo units. Dealing with customers throughout the day. The hardest part of the job is weather. The most enjoyable part of the job is dealing with different obstacles.
Pros
On your own
Cons
Sometimes work is slow and we don't get enough hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Labourer/Operator (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON10 March 2017
Hard to balance life and work, go to work in between 5-7am and coule work anywhere into the late hours of the night. Would be told your done work for the day and then just before you would leave after even clocking out you would be forced to go back out, wether or not you were willing or you would sit
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hydrovac
Hydrovac Swamper (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 March 2017
The company is good to work for if you like to work any time of day and are able to work more then 8 hours a day. The company treats you like a person not a number.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
badger daylighting
Industial Hyrodrovac Operator (Current Employee) –  Courtenay, BC12 February 2017
Badger Daylighting is new to Vancouver Island. I have worked for them for 5 months. At first my hours came regularly while i was still training.Now my hours barley reach 40 hrs a week. The work is mostly out side and mostly un supervised.Most days are short in durration with a few trips out of town
Pros
work out side work unsuppervised lots of variety
Cons
no regular hours must wait for jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
badger vancouver
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 December 2016
bad place to work, say that they have lots of work not true sat at home more than worked they promis the world (just lip service)
dispatch sucks manager is a real dummy
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the Location
Swamper/Labourer (Current Employee) –  Canada27 October 2016
It all depends on the location you work at. Some have amazing management, great hours, and high wages. Other locations sit you, under pay you, and management speaks poorly about employees.

All depends on the location you work at.
Pros
Long Hours
Cons
Low Wages out East
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Badger Daylighting Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 124 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9