Find companies:
BP
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
577 reviews

BP Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for.
Group Auditor, Home based. (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: many, positive culture is on top of the list.
Cons: not many.
My position travelled to international locations. All I saw was people and management who cared about people and the quality of job and products to be delivered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Work and Good Learning Curve
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), CairoAugust 26, 2013
Pros: overtime hours are well compensated and team workas well as job rotation
Cons: continuous change to the organizational structure
My job is mainly about financial reporting to different stakeholders. In Egypt, where we operate in a PSA enviroment, we have to report our financial figures to different entities. Government where we apply the cash basis accounting. UK where we apply UK GAAP, group reporting where we apply IFRS and US where we apply US GAAP.

I work within the Financial – more... Reporting team and my responsibilities lie within reporting financial statements according to UK GAAP and US GAAP.

I manage the Joint Venture Accounting area which involves cash calls and joint interest billing statements.

The thing i love the most is the discussions we have about different treatments according to different standards and the adhocs i get because it really expands my explosure and knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work environment
Administrator (Former Employee), Dawson Creek, BCJuly 12, 2013
Learned a great deal about the Oil and Gas industry.
Great work/home balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe, educational, clean workplace.
Millwright Apprentice/Roustabout (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONJune 20, 2012
Pros: very safe, clean work environment
Cons: not enough overtime.
Every day would start with a morning meeting where the job criteria for the day would be handed out to each group. I was privledged with learning many different tasks such as fixing and troubleshooting various industrial equipment and also took part in many safety practices. The hardest part of the job was probably having so many different jobs that – more... had to be left unfinished to wait for parts to arrive. The most enjoyable was getting to work alongside qualified professionals and getting to learn each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Bp parking lot project was an intresting project and very challenging
Construction superintendent (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONJune 5, 2012
At the Bp parking lot project I encourntered many obsticles and had to divert the work force to other areas until a solution was worked out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
HSSE Wells Team Lead (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 7, 2012
Pros: flexable work rotations
Cons: n. a.
Excelllent Employer, Fresh approach to HSSE and prime contract work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International setting.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 25, 2014
Pros: every other friday off and international setting.
Cons: office space closed and uninviting. used to working in an open office environment.
I'm used to working overseas in an international environment on projects with lots of action. Although the US assignment was not on a project, the department consisted of various nationalities thus making it a bit more exciting in a cultural sense. There definitely was a difference working for BP in overseas compared to BP in the US.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
responsible job
Customer Service Assistant, BP (Current Employee), Southampton, ENGAugust 25, 2014
mon-sat any time
back office paper work
good management
all fine
staff arrangement
till
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work PLace
Customer Service/Cashier (Current Employee), Sheffield Village, OHAugust 24, 2014
I like working for Bp, but I am looking to work different hours. I currently work 4am to noon, I would like to work a 9-5 job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and happy
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Heysham, ENGAugust 23, 2014
Pros: 10% discount
Cons: difficult customers
this was a very close group and we supported each other. We achieved a monthly improvement on sales figures and were regarded as the leading petrol station in the lancaster and wider area and regularly received visits from area manager and praise
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School Job
Cashier (Former Employee), Sagola, MIAugust 19, 2014
Pros: free drinks
Cons: no benefits, and no communication with management
My Co-Workers were great and up until about 1 month ago I loved that job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Picked items and packed them.
Cashier/ Customer Service (Former Employee), Ocala, FLAugust 18, 2014
Worked a lot on my feet. The work was ok the hours were also a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work/life balance , however reorg makes difficult for long term plans
Analyst (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 18, 2014
Pros: work/life balance, great benefits, nice people
Cons: reorg, cutting budgets everywhere, no job stability, many lay offs, a lot of backstabbing
BP is excellent if you are placed in a job that is permanent and not on the list of lay offs. The company is going through massive reorgs which affects your every day job with stressing about wondering if you are next to be cut. Everyone is tense and afraid most of the time. They promote a speak up culture, but it is not exactly very well welcomed. – more... Lots of tension in the air. The Company moves very slow with everything. Very stressing place to work and they are good about work/life balance but you still take the stress home with you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and One Team Oriented
Resourcing Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 13, 2014
Pros: various on-site activities, diversity, opportunity for growth.
Cons: recent lay offs.
BP was a good place to work because it was very diverse, women had the opportunity to move up into executive roles and it was very "one team" oriented.

I enjoyed my coworkers. We all got along and were there to help out one another when needed. My supervisor was very personable, had an open door policy and allowed flexibility with work/life.

There – more... was really no hard part of the day. I enjoyed my job.

The most enjoyable part of the day was communicating with the clients and my colleagues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BP is a wonderful place with wonderful people
Administrative Asst (Current Employee), 501 West Lake Houston TXAugust 13, 2014
I enjoyed every moment I worked here from the first day I started. The people are very kind and the environment is laid back however everyone does their job. I will miss BP very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Safety Attendant (Former Employee), Carson, CAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: people are mean
The training was great , the exerience was worth it. I went to school and past my class with all my certifications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coiaching ,staffing,training
General Manager (Former Employee), marietta,gaAugust 11, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: health care coverage bad
be able to put formula together and implement it perfectly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere
Buyer (Former Employee), ShanghaiAugust 10, 2014
Pros: free lunch, relaxed atmosphere, on/off business on time.
British Petroleum-Shanghai Secco Petrochemical is a joint venture between BP and Sinopec. I am one of the management team employees from commercial department. My daily routine includes arranging payment request, managing and maintaining suppliers in the SAP system, making financial analysis statement, and evaluating current and future suppliers for – more... the manager. There are four co-workers and one manager in the outsourcing and utility team. Courtesy and hospitality is everywhere between the team members. I have learnt how to manage suppliers, rank the payment requests and evaluate the suppliers during my work in BP. Some negotiation skills are useful for my career as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, but be prepared to put a shift in
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), SwindonAugust 8, 2014
Pros: staff canteen and good food
Cons: travelling
Typical day:
downloading most of the source data to prepare for forecast models
Preparing forecast model and reviewing prices
alter price within system to coincide with forecast
prepare reports to management
prepare reports to sales force
answer queries on prices
Prepare and journal stock values at month end
Forecasting financials every month
I worked – more... autonomously
Hardest part of job is the time frame to deliver reports
Most enjoyable part was creating models which personnel found usable
Good company to work for and they look after there staff – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of room for improvement in GPO HR
HR Data Consultant (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 4, 2014
Pros: prestige of name and industry
Cons: very laid back environment, working hard and taking pride is discouraged
I learned that BP is cutting down training costs for a very long time and effects are very visible now. Some much needed training sessions to Human Resources staff such as personnel data privacy, anti harassment, anti age/gender/race discrimination and bullying are skipped to save costs; and communication between HR and management is more about cost – more... saving strategies, than employee retention and productivity. I think the reason for this is GPO HR management which consists of immature staff lacking sense of direction, training and necessary skills. VP of HR is an ex football player who lacks leadership and people's skills and unable to guide his team towards one direction. HR staff is found drinking wine at work and performs personal chores during work hours. I would not recommend this group to anyone who is motivated, because if you like to work, take pride and want to feel sense of accomplishment you will be reminded by each member of HR team that your contribution is very insignificant to the company and and BP does not care about small employees and your efforts - You cannot be a star here if you are not a Caucasian. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About BP

BP p.l.c. (BP) is an oil company, operating through its subsidiaries. With effect from January 1, 2008, it operated in two business – Read more