Find companies:
Avon
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,658 reviews

Avon Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working environment
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 25, 2012
you plan your day in your own
you learn knowing people and dealing with them
the manager do the followup
and the team is great you meet at the meetings or at the products presentations
the hardest part is recruding new sales representatives under yourself
the enjoyable part is proping the brochures and discribing the products to the customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Products
Avon Sales Representative (Former Employee), Markham, ONJuly 17, 2012
Even though I had gone around to customers and told them about AVON's products to sell them, not only did it make me realize what I may need, but I also realized who else needs these products. With the amount of information I have with those products, I could probably sell more than I can imagine. The knowledge that you have with the products is what – more... makes sales. The hardest part of the job is to keep finding more customers to make sales. The enjoyable part is that AVON products keeps the customers satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun dealing with client
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 28, 2012
Pros: free samples and discounts in all items
Cons: flexible time
working in avon is fun and meeting people who are beauty conscious
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
Finished Goods Planner/Expeditor (Former Employee), montreal, qcApril 17, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: not much flecxibility
I learned many things at Avon
Loyalty
professionalism
hard work
meeting great people
team work
diversity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to get discounts on needed household items.
Representative, PCP, and Leader (Current Employee), Windsor, ONApril 16, 2012
I work my own hours. I've learned a lot about managing my own business and preparing for taxes. I have the best District Sales Manager and Support person I could ever ask for. The hardest part of my job is to motivate my team members and get them as excited about selling and leadership as I am. I enjoy meeting new people and providing customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous opportunity to earn recognition!
District Sales Manager - Ontario (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCApril 3, 2012
Pros: earn fabulous trips around the world
Cons: introduction of multi level sales
Responsible for profits and expenditures for 1.5 million dollar district.
Turn around specialist in motivating, recruiting, training, sales presentation and seminars.
Day to day activities varied which made job fantastic.
Opportunities to develop professionally and personally were immense.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Ajax, ONMarch 23, 2012
Pros: meeting lots of people's needs and flexible hours
Cons: less customers in my community
This was a side job, that enabled me to socialize with my community, all my products where mailed to me and I cashed the profits that I made as I received a percentage in my bank account.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good company to work for if you are highly self motivated
Area Sales Manager (Current Employee), edinburghAugust 21, 2014
lack of support other than email communication. good benefits and incentives always in place although unachievable for most. Must be highly self motivated and not mind many hours out on the street recruiting and many hours at home on the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get out of it what you're willing to give!
Unit Leader Plus & Lead Sales (Current Employee), Chino Valley, AzAugust 20, 2014
Pros: making $$! meeting new people! independence
Cons: lots of time!
I just celebrated my 4yr anniversary as an Avon Independent Sales Rep. You have to think of your Avon business like a plant. If you don't take care of it it will die!! You have to be willing to talk to strangers. Brush off the "No thank yous" and take GOOD care of your customers. Avon customers are some of the MOST DEDICATED people you will find! I – more... LOVE to get new customers BUT I also LOVE to hear, "I've been ordering from the same Avon lady for __yrs". I have a downline, which means I make a commission off of their sales. The idea is to help new reps build their business like you are building yours. Then it's a win win for everybody. I have signed probably 200+ people since I started in Leadership. I have a solid team of 59 reps. These people are dedicated to their "plant". They take care of their customers and we are all making money. FYI, I just took 1st place for sales in my district....YOU CAN MAKE $$$ SELLING AVON!! You have to realize, there is work involved and you have to learn to deal with peoples quirky natures.

I would be happy to answer anyone's questions! And, I'd be even happier to sign you up today to help you start your own business. Yes, I want to sign you onto my team - soooo contact me for information.

I work a full time job in addition to selling Avon so I know it's VERY doable!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
traveling to meet new people
District Manager (Former Employee), Crestview, FLAugust 18, 2014
Pros: i was pretty much my own boss
Cons: long hours
Leave home around 6:00 a.m. to travel to recruiting area. Conducting meetings.
I learned a great deal about time management
Supervisor was really helpful
I worked alone since I was a manager
Not getting home until sometimes 11:00 p.,m. six to seven days a week.
Meeting new people and helping them get started.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding and engaging
Avon Representative (Current Employee), Elgin, MorayshireAugust 17, 2014
I am thoroughly enjoying doing this in my spare time, it has helped me meet new people and expand my selling skills. helped me get back into working with new customers and engaged me with something to keep me busy with until i start university. this is also something i can do in my spare time as it doesn't take a lot of effort or time, however, since – more... there is no official pay, i desperately need a new source of income during my degree studies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The beginning of my Makeup world
Assistant Program Planner (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYAugust 16, 2014
Avon is a great company. I was working in the corporate side along the events manager and was taught how to pick venues to have certain events at and how to do research and site inspections. Working with Avon I also learned about their products and learned to communicate and book meetings with people in hotels and restaurants for these avon events which – more... helped me build a great hospitality network. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home based
Avon sales representative (Former Employee), Wallasey, ENGAugust 15, 2014
Pros: worked from home
Cons: al ot of work had to put into it.
Working for Avon was a good experience, meeting new customers and still having time for myself. The harder you worked the more money I got.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Supportive Company.
Business Development Manager (Former Employee), LeedsAugust 13, 2014
Pros: discount on products
Cons: long hours
Recruiting 4-6 new people per day.
Dealing with on going quires daily.
Working with Sales Leaders and other Area Mangers to obtain daily and monthly results.
Hardest part of the job, can be unsociable hours.
Most enjoyable part is working with the team and the people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for networking.
Independent Sales Representative (Former Employee), Edinburg, TXAugust 11, 2014
Avon has awesome products that i have supported since i was in my teens. Unfortunately I believe that to be an AVON rep you have to be willing to put all your time into it. There is really a great way to make money with AVON by recruiting more Avon reps. Avon gives you all the tools you would need to succeed if you throw yourself into the business. – more... I started selling Avon to make some extra cash for myself to catch up with some things. In the end I believe I am a better AVON customer than Independent Sales Rep. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Avon Representative (Former Employee), ENGAugust 11, 2014
Pros: works well around your life
Cons: no set wage payun for books and bags, delivery messes up, paying for everything but order forms
You don't get paied much money and it has to last a month or 3 weeks. I got them 250 and i got 50 pound. by that time I had to pay for my books and bags that was 10 pound off what I earned as Avon rep. Other times you would earn less than 50 depending on the time of the year. When you order the products online if you order more than you want and end – more... have to cancel it, the item still comes in the post charging you for it. some stock didn't even turn up and I had frustrated clients because of there mess they made. you don't always get back the book that you pay for. if you want the plastic bags to keep the pags dry you also have to pay for that to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AVON is a very good company!!!
Security manager (Current Employee), KievAugust 9, 2014
Pros: full social insurance, company car etc.
AVON is a company with a high corporation culture, good people and perfect learning that is given to managers and not only. During my 2 years in AVON I have got more than 10 extremely useful training programs. I am very glad that I got an opportunity to work for this famous and people-oriented company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice meeting new people everyday and interacting making others happy.
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAAugust 8, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
It was a job were you only worked by yourself or with one other person from your own home or environment which was very nice. A typical day was usually taking customers orders, writing up receipts and on shipping days send it off, wait for the order to come in then deliver their items safely. You were you own boss so you had to make sure that you kept – more... everything in order and accounted for so that everyone could be happy. The hardest part of the job was trying to remember all your customers sine you met new people everyday. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to meet new people everyday and making the happy, and using all the information you know to help them make good buying decisions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sadly, a lost company more concerned with internal politics than finding its way.
Lead IT Analyst (Former Employee), Rye, NYAugust 7, 2014
Avon was once a strong, proud company that focused on their customers. They truly cared for their customers, their employees and their reputation. This is no longer true. Now, when faced with difficult times, knee jerk reactions instead of thoughtful consideration has caused this once great company to lose its way and become a shell of what it once – more... was.

Too many changes in upper management brought in people who had no idea about how Avon was built and how to make their model of direct selling work in today's world. Most were more interested in reinventing the wheel rather than tweaking what did work and replace what didn't. Instead, repeated 5 year plans that did nothing to help Avon were promoted and ended up being detrimental to the future of the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was my own evironment placce with my boss that was my mother. I met a lot of people from my neighborhood that I didn't even knew of.
Salesman (Former Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 6, 2014
Pros: break for long period
Cons: salary not satisfied
Working for AVON help me realize what I really wanted to do in work field. I really enjoy working for my own even though I was working with a family member. What enjoy the most about this job was that I had the chance to talk and meet a lot of people.

About Avon

Everyday, Avon brings beauty to the lives of women all over the world. At Avon, beauty means finding the right lipstick shade – Read more