Find companies:
Avon
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,856 reviews

Avon Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work From Home!
Independent Representative (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 3, 2012
Pros: set your own hours, work from home
Cons: involves a lot of brand selling.
I have been selling Avon for the last year to suppplement my income. I really enjoy it, as I work at my own pace and you really get out of it what you put in. My DM is always available when I need her, as well as other Reps if I feel that I am having a difficult time. As a part-time career, you really get to set it aside to focus on achieving work/life – more... balance. The hardest part is constantly keeping my name out there, bringing in new clientele, because I can be very shy, however I feel the best sense of satisfaction when I am able to come through for those clients who have allergies, or experience skin sensitivity, or those who really just want my honest opinion and it turns out for the best! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working environment
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 25, 2012
you plan your day in your own
you learn knowing people and dealing with them
the manager do the followup
and the team is great you meet at the meetings or at the products presentations
the hardest part is recruding new sales representatives under yourself
the enjoyable part is proping the brochures and discribing the products to the customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Products
Avon Sales Representative (Former Employee), Markham, ONJuly 17, 2012
Even though I had gone around to customers and told them about AVON's products to sell them, not only did it make me realize what I may need, but I also realized who else needs these products. With the amount of information I have with those products, I could probably sell more than I can imagine. The knowledge that you have with the products is what – more... makes sales. The hardest part of the job is to keep finding more customers to make sales. The enjoyable part is that AVON products keeps the customers satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun dealing with client
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 28, 2012
Pros: free samples and discounts in all items
Cons: flexible time
working in avon is fun and meeting people who are beauty conscious
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
Finished Goods Planner/Expeditor (Former Employee), montreal, qcApril 17, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: not much flecxibility
I learned many things at Avon
Loyalty
professionalism
hard work
meeting great people
team work
diversity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to get discounts on needed household items.
Representative, PCP, and Leader (Current Employee), Windsor, ONApril 16, 2012
I work my own hours. I've learned a lot about managing my own business and preparing for taxes. I have the best District Sales Manager and Support person I could ever ask for. The hardest part of my job is to motivate my team members and get them as excited about selling and leadership as I am. I enjoy meeting new people and providing customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous opportunity to earn recognition!
District Sales Manager - Ontario (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCApril 3, 2012
Pros: earn fabulous trips around the world
Cons: introduction of multi level sales
Responsible for profits and expenditures for 1.5 million dollar district.
Turn around specialist in motivating, recruiting, training, sales presentation and seminars.
Day to day activities varied which made job fantastic.
Opportunities to develop professionally and personally were immense.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Ajax, ONMarch 23, 2012
Pros: meeting lots of people's needs and flexible hours
Cons: less customers in my community
This was a side job, that enabled me to socialize with my community, all my products where mailed to me and I cashed the profits that I made as I received a percentage in my bank account.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bustling workplace with a joyous atmosphere
Branch Operations Manager (Former Employee), NasugbuDecember 16, 2014
A typical day for an operations manager at Avon is a mix of office and floor work. The usuals--emails; preparation, audit, and submission of reports--are generally done in the morning to give way to client servicing, which usually peaks after lunch. Client servicing includes making sure that all personnel are giving the Avon standard in customer service, – more... making sure all necessary marketing materials are available, ensuring that the warehouse has enough inventory to replenish the store, and the management of customer accounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked from home but traveled daily throughout my district. Put many miles on my company car.
District Sales Manager (Former Employee), Kansas City, MODecember 13, 2014
I was a District Sales Manager for almost 15 years. I had several different districts in Kansas and Missouri during that time.
I earned the Circle of Excellence twice being within the top 10% of sales increases of managers nationally. Also was number # 1 sales increases in State of Kansas 4 different years. Went on many International trips for achievements. – more... Received many electronic products, etc for achievements not only Avon products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to experience management at its highest levels
Director Global Security (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 12, 2014
Pros: excellent place to work and enjoy a positive image
Cons: too large of an area for one person to cover effectively
I am in touch with a company Security Designee in each location worldwide thru whom I manage and control job-related company security directives.
Learned to deal with various individuals at different levels in their security development.
Management of personnel is basic to any operation; its the type of product manufactured and the end result of the – more... product that varies.
Good results in dealing with co-workers.
The hardest part of this job was communication and delivery of service over thousands of miles apart.
Most enjoyable part of the job dealt with the reduction of losses in the millions dollar range. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great job opportunity
Avon representative (Former Employee), London, ENGDecember 10, 2014
Pros: hours to suit
Cons: no money making
i wont work for avon again i didnt make any money from it so i would say its the worst job ever
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At Avon Products
merchandise operation (Former Employee), Pasadena, CADecember 9, 2014
Pros: free lunches when hit a good number of orders
Cons: they closed the cafeteria
A Typical day at Avon: sometimes filling in for people that are absent.

What I learn at Avon: is a fast pace job to get orders on time for shipments

Management: Always on the go and always had there door open for
employees

Co-workers: Always willing to help you out.

Hardest part of the job was to make sure merchandise was ready for orders for pickers.

The – more... most enjoyable part of Avon : I was on the safety committee and Pac Team, to make a Safer place to work,and also to raised money for breast cancer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's literally hustling
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 8, 2014
there isnt an hourly wage. You're paid about $.10 for every dollar you make which isnt much unless you sell about 100 items.

you literally have to know how to work this game. Knowing where to advertise yourself, your website, and your product. Who to sell to (your grandmas friends... trust me). Which catalogs to order from, what you put in your "gift – more... bags".

its literally all a big hustle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy but never bored
Purchasing Co-ordinator (Former Employee), Hong KongDecember 5, 2014
Pros: eaten the best and expensive foods, boat trips during summer, tickets to shows etc, all invited from manufacturers
Cons: lost the chance to a promotion when management found out i was pregnant.
Everyday was long-hour day; I didn't want to leave the office because I wanted to do more, achieve more. Everyday I would talk to shipping department to ask for extended shipping deadline; talking to Quality Control about the failed test results of our developing products, or negotiating for a second chance inspections for our shipment while making – more... sure our manufacturers did the quality improvement. Pile of documents to file, purchase orders to prepare, lots of folders for different products to look at to make sure communications among all parties were made to gain a smooth running of product developments. Work out the bi-weekly shipment report on tens of product I was responsible. So many deadlines I had to make and finished before I wanted to leave the office. I told people off a lot but also sweet-talked a lot in order to get jobs done. I would sit down and work together with the factory workers in order to meet the tight shipment schedules. When the samples sent and shipments passed the tests and shipped in time, I gained the most satisfaction. Not mention a couple of compliment sent from Headquarters to the department manager about my performance. As long as you can show the ability, the company would never hold you back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Based
Avon Representative (Current Employee), Home BasedDecember 4, 2014
Pros: working in your own time
Cons: finding customers
Working for Avon is enjoyable. I work on my own and my home/work life is balanced. As I have delivered in my street since March, I now know most of the people in my area.

My typical day is delivering the brochures to my customers, collecting them and then ordering the products on line. Once the delivery is sent to my house, I pack the products into – more... bags with the invoice and the new brochure, deliver to the customer and take payment. Payment is then transferred to Avon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast working environmet
Sales Leader (Current Employee), PaisleyDecember 4, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: unsuitable hours
Great place work for someone with no commitments and starting out in retail. Nice people work with and different experience on a daily basis. Commision based company if you want make money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fulfilling after building a customer base.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Lancaster, CADecember 3, 2014
Pros: demo's, discounts, meeting new people
Cons: hard to start, hard to make a profit, time consuming, expensive, all in all difficult
It's very hard to get started with this company, since you are running your own business. I don't find that to be a bad thing, and in the end, I did not come out as successful as I had hoped. But still being a high school student while looking for a full-time/part-time job AND trying to keep up with a business was just weighing on me too much. And I – more... was spending money that I didn't have.

The concept of the company is great, and like I said, can be very fulfilling. But you have to be prepared before you start, and you have to be patient. Otherwise, you'll give up like I had. My overall experience was decent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being in business with AVON was great.
Independent Sales representative (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCDecember 3, 2014
Avon gives you the opportunity to be in business for yourself but not by yourself. there are opportunities to promote your business and gain clientele.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work on your own and from home, but lacks challenges.
Avon Representative (Current Employee), DealDecember 3, 2014
Pros: some cheaper make up products.
Cons: pay is low and varies every month. not something to rely on.
I have learnt basic salesman skills while working with Avon, I enjoy working from home and fitting the job around my everyday life. The downside is that this job lacks any challenges, which is where I thrive. Good starter job though, or as an extra as the pay really varies.

About Avon

Everyday, Avon brings beauty to the lives of women all over the world. At Avon, beauty means finding the right lipstick shade – Read more