Aviva Canada Employee Reviews

Showing all 43 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON21 June 2017
great work life balance, good system, good people
company will pay for you to better yourself by taking the insurance courses or courses related to your job.
Pros
work from home/ flex hours
Cons
located in Scarborough
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience:
Sr. Claims Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 May 2017
Amazing experience:
Sr. Claims Assistant | Western Property Claims Vancouver, BC 2016 – 2017
• Provide administrative support
• Receive and assign property claims to the adjusters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All the hard workers leave
Help desk (Former Employee) –  Scarborough26 April 2017
If you are good at hiding how low you are doing and be friend with your manager, it's a good place for you.
You can only expect a promotion if you were from the same companies that your manager worked for (or family).
Pros
We laugh a lot
Cons
No help to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that takes pride in contributing to the community
Front Line Manager (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON16 April 2017
The workplace culture is making a positive change
Diversity
Start from the bottom and lots of room to move within the company
Depending on the dept. - usually not required to work on weekends
Pros
Good Location in Scarborough
Cons
Long hours for management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place.. Horrible Management!
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON3 April 2017
All lies and talk. All about numbers not people. You will not get a straight answer from anyone in Senior Management. Their main concern is protecting their job at the expense of everyone else. Extremely high turnover rate with many firings, then repeated hirings, then more firings. Totally pointless environment unless you are desperate for a job. Call Centre environment with that Costco feel. Big Box mentality with plenty of blame to go around for everyone. I can't wait to work elsewhere.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Pretty much everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
care less with more complexity
IT Guru (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 March 2017
Hard work is not rewarded by the new IT management replacements. The IT management here is in no way qualified to be a manager elsewhere. There's no sense of team in this place. Feels like high school. No loyalty, a lot of nepotism unless you were colleagues from the orange bank. No human contact in the IT department. No upwards mobility. Avoid this company unless you're not in IT.
Pros
music lady is climbing the ladder
Cons
google 10 habits of incompetent managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corrupted Company and Management
Front Line Manager (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON12 February 2017
Was an FLM but was terminated so the lies of my Sr. Manager who I caught wouldn't be exposed.Spoke with HR about situation predicting my termination..
Pros
The staff who reported to me
Cons
Horrid corrupted management/Directer/HR
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with potential
Data Entry Clerk (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 February 2017
Lots of hard work. Lots of training to be had. Wish I could have this job as permanent, but am working on contract through a job placement agency. So, no benefits nor job security.
Pros
Like the work.
Cons
No job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claims
Accident Benefits Claims Advisor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON29 November 2016
Fast pace working environment. Have to be able to do many things at a time. Need to have good telephone and written skills. Workiing toward CIP is an asset.
Pros
help people
Cons
fast pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Deskside Support Specialist-Level II (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 November 2016
A Lovely place to work. Nice people to work with and a lot of learning.
Lot of trainings going on and flexible environment. Lot of travelling keeps you growing.
Pros
Healthy envoirnment
Cons
Very less opportunity to be upgraded from current position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ever changing environment and culture
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON3 November 2016
A very fast pace, ever changing environment where the ability to adapt to change is essential. People are great to work with in Aviva. However, management lacks ability to develop talent and provide opportunities for growth.
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
limited career development
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proactive and hard worker
QA lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 October 2016
I learned and still learning most of the updated technology provided by the company to their employees and get the updated training related to current projects
Pros
Work from home
Cons
only one monitor provided
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Globalement une bonne entreprise
Analyste de comptes recevables (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 October 2016
Les journées passent rapidement
Collègues de travail agréables
Sentiment de faire une différences dans notre poste
Pros
Reconnaissance des employés de diverses manières
Cons
Possibilité d'avancer ou de devenir permanent est complexe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Coordinator
QA, Process Coordinator and Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 October 2016
Aviva was a wonderful place to work and it offered its employees access to a company owned gym and parking.
Hardest part of the ob was the massive layoffs that happened in 2010.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sr Regulatory Risk Capital, Compliance (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 September 2016
Get to know lots of hands on things. good working conditions and work life balance. Management is pretty good. learned to be hands on as well as team player.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very slow!
Field Inspector (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 September 2016
Training took too long. Cell phone and computer took months before acquiring. I was hired because of my ASME background, but was inspecting objects of little or no relevance.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Not being hired for the right job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of communication
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON25 August 2016
In previous years I would have said this is a great company. This year is horrible. Claims leadership has been taken over by previous RSA staff who see everything as being done improperly. They see Aviva employees as being useless. There is no communication and staff are being worked to the bone. The benefits and pay are good but in reality, it's like working two jobs. People are lead by fear and accountability. It's each man for himself.
Pros
Salary and benefits
Cons
It's the new RSA, lead by fear.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good company to work for
Commercial Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON30 June 2016
I have worked at Aviva as an underwriter in two different offices and have loved it. The culture is great and the management really understands work-life balance. Turnover is really low in my department. No one ever wants to leave. There are a lot of opportunities to learn and grow. I've made some life-long friendships here and absolutely love the culture. Some of the programs are a bit outdated but you can tell they are working on fixing them and making them better.
Pros
work-life balance, great people, employer cares about me, my work is appreciated, lots of opportunities to grow
Cons
commute (depends on where you live), systems
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor manager.
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Alberta30 May 2016
Worked for an incredibly insecure manager, who also had issues with honesty. Would say one thing and do another. Instead of being happy that me and my coworkers were making him look good, he took it as a threat that we were better our jobs than he was at his. No one wanted his job but he thought everyone did..
Pros
Aviva was a good company to work for.
Cons
Poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer job
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON4 May 2016
This was a summer job and temporary in order to help get files caught up. I did photocopying, filing and mail. The manager was very helpful and was easy to approach. The hardest part was when the paperwork to be filed was written sometimes the handwriting was difficult to read. I learned that I don't want to work in an office.
Pros
Worked indoors
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aviva Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4