Find companies:
Aveda
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Aveda Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fair company
Manager (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: bad managing
The managers are very biased and do not appreciate real talent,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aveda only has great products
Front-Line/ Make-up Artist (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCDecember 23, 2013
Pros: great products
Cons: bad management
I love the products and still use them as for working pay is low for amount of work demanded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and product!
Sales Advisor (Former Employee), Vancouver BC, Victoria BCMay 17, 2013
Pros: free and discounted product! respectful managers and fun co-workers.
Cons: annoying customers
For a retail job, Aveda is fantastic. During my time there, I worked at five locations in two cities. Management were respectful across the board. Although a "sales advisor" doesn't get great pay, it's equivalent to other retail positions and Aveda offers a better work environment and organizational culture than many other retailers; for example, it's – more... a much more fun and easier retail choice than working in apparel.

Most Aveda customers are fine, but a lot are annoying and impatient. Great co-workers and discounts, however, compensate for that. When I worked at Aveda, the discounts and offers of free products changed frequently but were always fair. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Process Lead (Current Employee), Blaine, MNAugust 5, 2014
Pros: working with different types of people
Cons: repetitive work
Process Lead.
Machine operator, Process coordinator.

run machine. train new employees. help others with SAP.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning environment where its always a great day
Student (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 28, 2014
Aveda is a great place to attend school, they go above and beyond in teaching you the basics of cosmetology. The hardest part of schooling was counting down the hours until you were done. The staff and educators are always on your side.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freelance makeup artist
Freelance Advisor (Former Employee), Blaine, MNJuly 16, 2014
I had the freedom to create my own schedule while I was working full time. A creative outlet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse job I ever had, treated employees like we were beneath them
PT key holder/Advisor (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 11, 2014
Cons: short breaks, heavy work load
The days were both long and stressful with a gigantic list of tasks to complete that were near impossible. if these tasks were not completed we were in big trouble. the store goals were always unrealistic to insure we couldn't receive bonus. Just did not enjoy my time here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatly depends on the owner and rep
Master Stylist (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLJuly 8, 2014
Pros: use of product lines
Cons: back stabbing and fake
Aveda's culture of saving the planet and plant derived products is hands down the best culture. The problem working for them depends on the owner of the Aveda salon and the area rep. I worked for many owners that were beyond unprofessional and you were replaceable no matter how talented you were.
If the owner wanted you out of Aveda for any reason in – more... one salon, you were out of them all. It became more of a numbers game than the actual professionalism of the industry, and of course drama drama drama.
If you are a talented stylist from anywhere other than FL, stay out of FL. You wont find anything as serious as you would anywhere else. Oh and you will do alot of outside work for the salon for free.
But as for Aveda, their culture and vision for me, is the best in the industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail position with clear expectations.
Lead Advisor (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 4, 2014
Aveda prides itself on creating Experience Centers that are truly guest-focused.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat, fun working environment focused on customer service.
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVFebruary 21, 2014
Customer service is the key point of employment for this company. They are very good to their employees and they provide all the necessary elements to be a part of a successful business and team. I have learned compassion with this job, as well as dedication. Hard parts of the job would include when there are busy days, and learning new education on – more... products that are coming out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work placde
Junior hairdresser (Current Employee), London, ENGFebruary 2, 2014
I learned a lot about hair and the skills needed to maintain it. I enjoyed working with people and listening to the daily activities of others and offering advice from my own experiences
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Esthetician/business owner (Former Employee), Wilo Aveda, Roseville, CAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: not having to worry about overhead, etc.
Cons: different skincare philosophy
Good company with a lot of support. Great infrastructure and good management. I learned a lot from their educational classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales atmosphere based on wellness and natural product
Assistant Store Team Leader (Current Employee), broomfield,coloradoJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: eco-friendly company
Cons: alot of multi-tasking
Working in smaller stores is a challenge due to the lack of connection with uppers. Also chances for advancement are also not that abundant unless you're willing to transfer out of state.I enjoyed the atmosphere of this store and alot of the basic beliefs.I learned alot of new responsibilities like;scheduling shipments,maintenence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good fit
Store Manager (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: great discount
Cons: lack of fun environment
has a lot to learn about running a successful business, more focus needs to be on customer service, technology needs a complete revamping in order to be successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not too bad for a retail job.
Advisor (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKDecember 2, 2013
Aveda is a great company. However working a retial job like this often means missing important life events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mean Girls Wannabes
Keyholder (Former Employee), Bellevue, WAOctober 18, 2013
Pros: not much
Cons: unreal expectations, harassed on the daily, on and on.
Horrible staff, management and coaching. Been working for Aveda for quite some time, because I love the mission statement and I believe in it and apply it to my everyday life. However. The bellevue store has been the worst experience in my work life. The way they talk to new people, stylists, or anyone not above them is extremely unprofessional and – more... rides harassment. I'm not really one to allow myself to get bullied but daaamn did they try. If you love Aveda and aren't looking to go back to middleschool locker room drama I'd steer clear of this location in general. And the South Center location opening up. Hope my experience helps! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Lead Advisor/Assistant Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 9, 2013
Fast paced and you meet a lot of amazing people. Many great opportunities to learn how to run and build a business
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work could be very Zen
SALES ASSOCIATE (PT. LEAD ADVISOR) (Former Employee), Lithonia, GASeptember 4, 2013
Pros: huge! discounts on exceptional products and free gifts
Cons: low pay and working holidays, weekends and evenings, short breaks
On A typical work day the first thing you'd do is check-in, go over the store goals and expectation for that given day, self-productivity/achievement goal(s), and evaluate/get informed on any store updates. Make sure you are presentable and ready to work. On the 'floor' you would greet customers, introduce them to the products and have the customers – more... receive a 'wellness experience'. This 'wellness experience' requires minimal training and is hands-on most of the time. Educate the customer on any new products/events. Ring the customer up at the register and thank the customer for coming. At the end of the day, you would close out transactions (Supv.) and hold an overview on productivity, clean and organize the store, replenish any products and make the store presentable for the next day.

In my experience working with colleagues was like having an extended family, in every way. The supervisors were understanding and compassionate. My hair and skin was in supreme condition because of the products. At the time, you got great deals on selected AVEDA spa locations.

This position was as close to a perfect escape from my full-time job anyone would ever get. Mainly, because I enjoyed what I did and made extra money doing it. Unfortunately, if you are a single parent with responsibility, holding this position can be very challenging. And you will sacrifice much of your 'quality' time with loved ones, especially during the Holidays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company Mission
Stylist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 25, 2013
Pros: international love brand status
Cons: limited upward mobility on the creative side
I learned to set and be an example for environmental leadership and responsibility, not just in the world of beauty, but around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work tons of chances to move up, lots to learn
Process Lead/Machine Operator (Former Employee), Blaine, MNJuly 17, 2013
Pros: the benifits, vacation time, and payed holidays, and most of all the experience out of it.
Cons: you just can't get past managment, getting managment to understand
- transition with other shifts,operating high speed line maitanance of the machine produce quality product organizing paper work and making sure all of your employee's are safe and following procedures

- how to be a good process lead and being in charge of employee's how to be lean and make the work place a better working enviorment, and making sure – more... we are time efficiant and cost effective

- management is one of the biggist problems at aveda to many supervisors and most do not have the proper knowlege and line experience that most of the employee's do

- The hardest part at aveda is trying to be on the same page as managment.

- The best part about that job is the people you work with on line everyday and the benifits and experience – less

About Aveda

The company's Estée and Bobbi are counted among some of the closest friends to women worldwide. Estée Lauder sells cosmetics, – Read more

Aveda Photos