Find companies:
Aveda
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Aveda Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aveda only has great products
Front-Line/ Make-up Artist (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCDecember 23, 2013
Pros: great products
Cons: bad management
I love the products and still use them as for working pay is low for amount of work demanded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and product!
Sales Advisor (Former Employee), Vancouver BC, Victoria BCMay 17, 2013
Pros: free and discounted product! respectful managers and fun co-workers.
Cons: annoying customers
For a retail job, Aveda is fantastic. During my time there, I worked at five locations in two cities. Management were respectful across the board. Although a "sales advisor" doesn't get great pay, it's equivalent to other retail positions and Aveda offers a better work environment and organizational culture than many other retailers; for example, it's – more... a much more fun and easier retail choice than working in apparel.

Most Aveda customers are fine, but a lot are annoying and impatient. Great co-workers and discounts, however, compensate for that. When I worked at Aveda, the discounts and offers of free products changed frequently but were always fair. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat, fun working environment focused on customer service.
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVFebruary 21, 2014
Customer service is the key point of employment for this company. They are very good to their employees and they provide all the necessary elements to be a part of a successful business and team. I have learned compassion with this job, as well as dedication. Hard parts of the job would include when there are busy days, and learning new education on – more... products that are coming out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work placde
Junior hairdresser (Current Employee), London, ENGFebruary 2, 2014
I learned a lot about hair and the skills needed to maintain it. I enjoyed working with people and listening to the daily activities of others and offering advice from my own experiences
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Esthetician/business owner (Former Employee), Wilo Aveda, Roseville, CAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: not having to worry about overhead, etc.
Cons: different skincare philosophy
Good company with a lot of support. Great infrastructure and good management. I learned a lot from their educational classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales atmosphere based on wellness and natural product
Assistant Store Team Leader (Current Employee), broomfield,coloradoJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: eco-friendly company
Cons: alot of multi-tasking
Working in smaller stores is a challenge due to the lack of connection with uppers. Also chances for advancement are also not that abundant unless you're willing to transfer out of state.I enjoyed the atmosphere of this store and alot of the basic beliefs.I learned alot of new responsibilities like;scheduling shipments,maintenence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good fit
Store Manager (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: great discount
Cons: lack of fun environment
has a lot to learn about running a successful business, more focus needs to be on customer service, technology needs a complete revamping in order to be successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not too bad for a retail job.
Advisor (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKDecember 2, 2013
Aveda is a great company. However working a retial job like this often means missing important life events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mean Girls Wannabes
Keyholder (Former Employee), Bellevue, WAOctober 18, 2013
Pros: not much
Cons: unreal expectations, harassed on the daily, on and on.
Horrible staff, management and coaching. Been working for Aveda for quite some time, because I love the mission statement and I believe in it and apply it to my everyday life. However. The bellevue store has been the worst experience in my work life. The way they talk to new people, stylists, or anyone not above them is extremely unprofessional and – more... rides harassment. I'm not really one to allow myself to get bullied but daaamn did they try. If you love Aveda and aren't looking to go back to middleschool locker room drama I'd steer clear of this location in general. And the South Center location opening up. Hope my experience helps! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Lead Advisor/Assistant Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 9, 2013
Fast paced and you meet a lot of amazing people. Many great opportunities to learn how to run and build a business
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work could be very Zen
SALES ASSOCIATE (PT. LEAD ADVISOR) (Former Employee), Lithonia, GASeptember 4, 2013
Pros: huge! discounts on exceptional products and free gifts
Cons: low pay and working holidays, weekends and evenings, short breaks
On A typical work day the first thing you'd do is check-in, go over the store goals and expectation for that given day, self-productivity/achievement goal(s), and evaluate/get informed on any store updates. Make sure you are presentable and ready to work. On the 'floor' you would greet customers, introduce them to the products and have the customers – more... receive a 'wellness experience'. This 'wellness experience' requires minimal training and is hands-on most of the time. Educate the customer on any new products/events. Ring the customer up at the register and thank the customer for coming. At the end of the day, you would close out transactions (Supv.) and hold an overview on productivity, clean and organize the store, replenish any products and make the store presentable for the next day.

In my experience working with colleagues was like having an extended family, in every way. The supervisors were understanding and compassionate. My hair and skin was in supreme condition because of the products. At the time, you got great deals on selected AVEDA spa locations.

This position was as close to a perfect escape from my full-time job anyone would ever get. Mainly, because I enjoyed what I did and made extra money doing it. Unfortunately, if you are a single parent with responsibility, holding this position can be very challenging. And you will sacrifice much of your 'quality' time with loved ones, especially during the Holidays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company Mission
Stylist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 25, 2013
Pros: international love brand status
Cons: limited upward mobility on the creative side
I learned to set and be an example for environmental leadership and responsibility, not just in the world of beauty, but around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work tons of chances to move up, lots to learn
Process Lead/Machine Operator (Former Employee), Blaine, MNJuly 17, 2013
Pros: the benifits, vacation time, and payed holidays, and most of all the experience out of it.
Cons: you just can't get past managment, getting managment to understand
- transition with other shifts,operating high speed line maitanance of the machine produce quality product organizing paper work and making sure all of your employee's are safe and following procedures

- how to be a good process lead and being in charge of employee's how to be lean and make the work place a better working enviorment, and making sure – more... we are time efficiant and cost effective

- management is one of the biggist problems at aveda to many supervisors and most do not have the proper knowlege and line experience that most of the employee's do

- The hardest part at aveda is trying to be on the same page as managment.

- The best part about that job is the people you work with on line everyday and the benifits and experience – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
MACHINE OPERATOR (Current Employee), Circle Pines, MNJuly 16, 2013
Friendly people, willing to go out of their way to make your day more pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INJune 17, 2013
Pros: education
Fun environment based on educating and assisting clients with hair care needs and product knowledge. We are there to make the client feel comfortable and open about any questions they may have or to help them relax during any services we may offer in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice plece to work
Line Leader (Former Employee), MNMarch 25, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: n/a
I learned to use tools fix machine use SAP
Boss always is interesting on get better conditions of work People is good to work with
Every day was enjoyable to be there and work for the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and team oriented
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Corte Madera, CAMarch 8, 2013
I learned to idenitfy the strenghts and abilities in others that I work with to help better the careers of those I managed. This allowed me to develop traits in my employees to add in the success of their professional occupations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Store Manager/Team Leader (Current Employee), Puyallup, WAFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: people, clients, company, management, coworkers
Cons: good inventory system not in place
Open or close the store depending on schedule, check stock, check sales from previous day, recalculate goals, review notes, and help with any problems that may have arisen.
Learned: I learned how much Aveda has helped the environment, and what they do for local communities.
Management: Always attentive to everyones needs and goals.
Co-workers: Very – more... pleasant, all work towards the same goal, no bickering.
Hardest Part: Keeping inventory up to date.
Most enjoyable: The people! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only Concern is opening credit and numbers.
Store Manager/Team Leader (Current Employee), Puyallup, WAFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: discount on items purchased.
Cons: lack of management, push credit not product
Worked in retail sales, would get a daily sales goal when you clock in, then we had daily sales meetings, they would tell us how many credits we needed, we went back opened our registers. As the day would progress the management would walk around asking if we made our credit goals.
Coworkers: Most coworkers were very pleasant, but all had little trust – more... in management, we all would speak and help each other in times of crisis.
Hardest part of job: Lack of management.
Most enjoyable part: Coworkers and clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welness and all that jazz
Lead Keyholder (Former Employee), Frisco, TXFebruary 24, 2013
The district manager was a b---- fake as all get out! She left and then came back and works for the salons as something high up there. I love the products here! LOVE them but they make you pressure the people into buying product. Wear all black---which is fine--great discount--i dont like their process for picking out management

About Aveda

The company's Estée and Bobbi are counted among some of the closest friends to women worldwide. Estée Lauder sells cosmetics, – Read more

Aveda Photos