Find companies:
AUTOZONE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,347 reviews

AUTOZONE Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Solid Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Jordan, UTMay 12, 2012
Pros: free automotive knowledge
Cons: bad management
Typical work day involved me cleaning the store and putting away any freight that might have come in. Also putting away and back stock to the front of the store. I learned a lot of automotive knowledge while working at autozone but the management wasn't the greatest I had ever seen. My co-workers were usually whoever they could get to work there for – more... a couple months at a time. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the management, the the most enjoyable part of the job was the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mundane work but great for helping others
Parts Sales Manager (Former Employee), Lamesa, TxNovember 21, 2014
A typical day i would arrive 5-10 prior to shift and review anything that was happening and what needed to happen and start my day. What I learned was the difference in military working environment and the civilian working environment, which resulted in increased restraint and patience. Working with most of the employees was great. Management was lazy – more... and arrogant. The hardest part was dealing with a lack luster management and a different set of rules of engagement. The best part of the job was help the customer, either by just talking to them and giving them your product knowledge or going out on the cold rainy day to change their battery for them. That is what made it all better for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Sales Representative (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 21, 2014
Pros: hour long lunch breaks
Cons: short hours
At Autozone we had to take care of customers, greet them at the door and get them the rights parts for their vehicles. The most enjoyable part was helping customers. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with inventory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced work with great coworkers and great customer clientele.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Green Bay, WINovember 20, 2014
Pros: 20% discount on all store merchandise, decent pay.
Cons: inconvenient hours, non-reliable hours.
A typical day at work starts out with coming in when assigned, followed by punching in, setting up your work place, then waiting for customers to come into the store or call the store so you can ring up their purchases and help out with any questions they may have. Another part of the day would be shelving and putting car parts away in their distinct – more... specific locations. I learned a lot of things about cars that I did not know, and I learned a lot more things about customer service. Regarding management, they were very understanding, they're cooperative, they're fun and understand that you have a life outside of work, they're generally flexible with work hours, and know how to run a business. Regarding my co-workers, they're really cool, they all know how to work as a team, they all get along with each other, we all know how to have fun and do our jobs at the same time, and we know how to get the job done. The hardest part of the job would definitely be the multitasking part when you have to do multiple things at once such as shelving and helping out a customer, or doing something around the store and dropping whatever it is that you were doing to pick up the ringing phone. Finally, the most enjoyable part of the job would definitely be working there in general with my awesome co-workers and great management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Richmond, VANovember 20, 2014
Pros: the learning experience
Cons: n/a
Everything about the organization was amazing from meetings to crew & management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Hudson, MANovember 20, 2014
A TYPICAL DAY AT WORK
Opened or closed
addressed problems and complaints
counting cash drawers and making bank deposits
Helped customers select products that best
fit their personal needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your knowledge expansion in automotive
RETAIL SALES (Former Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 18, 2014
Pros: work close to home.
Cons: long hours
He you learn what each automotive part is called. If you are in a bilingual community, then you get to learn what the part is called in two languages. This was a great places to learn about the parts world. Every team is as good as its leader.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great productive workplace where outstanding customer service skills are always on display.
Parts Sales Manager (Current Employee), chicago,ILNovember 18, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: position not as challenging.
Counting tills/registers, verifying returned damage/undamaged merchandise, leading team meeting, planograms, and presenting outstanding customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an alright job i would work there again
sale (Former Employee), Madera, CANovember 18, 2014
Pros: pros were that we got a good discount
Cons: cons were that the point system is not very good it should not be able to terminiate your employment
its was fun we all enspired one anothe rwe helped each other do the task that were given to us we did not leave a co-worker behind we all worked toghether this is a good job my manager was very understanding so i rate this as a good work place i learned how to use a register the hardest part of the job was truck it was early and long
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Palmdale, CANovember 17, 2014
Pros: close to home.
Cons: not enough hours.
My day at work consist of helping the store to hit daily sale goals for the store, help cutomers, answer phones, keep store clean and merchandise and daily reports. co-workers are great to work with but the hardest part of the job is been short staffed. I would say the most enjoyable part of the job is making sale by giving great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eliseos review
part time sales (Current Employee), Stockton, CANovember 17, 2014
Pros: meeting new people fast pased
Cons: no benifts
a typical day at work is always busy a very fast pase job a lot of customers to attend to and help. helping customers with many problems and answer thier questions and a lot of cashier work i learned how to adapt to many diffrent personalitys imy coworkers are easy to get along with and enjoy working with my coworkers the hardest part bout my job is – more... to keep up and try to help every customer as much and as good as i can the most enjoyable part of my job is its uh very fast enviroment to work in and always meeting new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TO PUSHY
CASHIER , STOCK, AND SALES REP (Former Employee), Bell Gardens, CANovember 17, 2014
Pros: long breaks
Cons: managment was never giving instructions just letting store fall
I SOME WHAT ENJOYED IT FOR THE REASON THAT I LEARNED A LITLE MORE THAN WHAT I KNEW FROM CARS AND HOW TO NOT TO TRY THINGS UR NOT FAMILIAR WITH .ALOT OF SOCIALIZING AND DIRTY AT TIMES THE COOL THING WAS MY ASSISTANT MANAGER HE GAVE US GIFTS IF WE REACH STORE GOALS AT THE END IT DIDNT MATTER
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and Friendly Top Notch Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Indianola, MsNovember 17, 2014
Pros: 20% discounts on anything purchased at any autozone
Cons: n/a
When you get to work, the manager on duty and the part time sales associate make a trip to the bank to make the daily deposit from the previous day's work. Once the two make it back, the part time sales associate begins the cleaning tasks for that morning as well as take care of as many customers as possible without the help of the manager on duty. – more... At this time, the manager on duty is on a conference call with all of the surrounding AutoZone store managers or managers on duty. After the conference call, the work day really begins. Phone calls, which must be answered by the third ring, come in, parts may be put on hold for a customer that may come in, customers come in and get their cars checked out (battery, alternators, starters, engine lights, or wiper blade change). During the end of the month, inventory is taken by a team member. Through out the day, it's hectic and fast paced, which is exactly how I like my work day to go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent hours
Commercial Sales Manager (Current Employee), Macclenny, FLNovember 17, 2014
Sale car parts to individual customers or commercial accounts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome to the Plantation Down South
Distribution Center Supervisor (Former Employee), Hazleton, PANovember 16, 2014
Pros: 3 day weekends (sometimes)
Cons: long hours, poor communication/equipment.
During my first interview, one of the first things I was told was "We're not the good old boys here". But what I REALLY heard here was, "We ARE the good old boys, and if you're not from the south ya ain't goin' far in this company!". I read a sign that alleged they welcomed diversity, yet the DC Manager did not want to hire any non-english speakers – more... (where else did he plan on getting hard workers from?). I LOVE how you have to wear a uniform, I-I mean dress code... IN A WAREHOUSE!!! And to make matters worse, the colors change depending on whether you're wearing a hoodie or a cap... Really? You're told you have to work mandatory overtime, but hey, once we do a cheer, all your problems will magically disappear!!! At one point supervisors were given a quota for writing people up for safety, this after sups were told to simply do a coaching.

This place is also penny wise and dollar dumb! They literally promote being cheap! I've ran some numbers on some of the time and labor spent for the equipment they tried so hard to keep, it would actually have been cheaper to just dish out the dough for new equipment! I loved it how supervisors had to share computers even with hourly employees. So you're there waiting to meet your deadlines. As a supervisor you're also the front door security guard! Funny how upper management always avoided the front door, even though it was "everyone's job".

They talk Soo much about safety, but they put the burden on the employee so that when you get hurt, it's "Well we told you". How about safeguards??

They are TERRIFIED of unions, but too many of their workers are too scared or too stupid to organize. Not realizing they're protected by law.

Speaking of stupid, right after the H.S. graduation week for the area, one of the managers celebrated the fact that many parents brought their sons to a job fair that Autozone was in, rather than to send them to college. I love it!! "Do you lack ambition and leadership skills? Well come on in, we want strong backs and weak minds! NOW HIRING!" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees made worthwhile
Commercial Driver/sales (Former Employee), Hollywood, FLNovember 14, 2014
It was somewhat of experience some people/workers worked together to make the work complete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was real life exp. at its best with all its ups and downs
Parts Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 13, 2014
Pros: health care benefits were excellent
Cons: but comraderie and moral support were laggin raises and bonuses were sadly lacking.
the stores were well stocked, and inventory was kept at a pro. level, however incentives, raises, bonuses, etc. were sadly lacking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant local experience. corporate? Not so much
Parts sales manager (Former Employee), Sterling, CONovember 13, 2014
Pros: great automotive experience gained.
Cons: terrible policies and upper management
I enjoyed the local environment of the store I worked in. The manager and other employees were the greatest. As far as autozone as a company, they leave a lot to be desired. It seems they consider all new employees to be a thief until proven otherwise. So much emphasis is placed on policies and methods of operation designed to prevent employee theft, – more... and ways to get information that may lead to employee wrongdoing, that it makes the employees uncomfortable and a bit timid. Also, Autozone is "proud" (their word) of the fact that no employee is allowed to have steady, consistent working hours or days off. Each employees schedule must be different from week to week. Schedule comes out on Thursday for the next week, so you only know your work schedule and days off for one week in advance. Makes it very difficult to schedule personal events and appointments. Also, wages are insufficient to support even a single person let alone a family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Show Low, AZNovember 12, 2014
you get paid to talk about cars all day what's not to like. I had really great coworkers too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Representative (Former Employee), CharlotteNovember 10, 2014
it was fun
had to stock shelves
help people locate parts for their vehicles
hardest part was stock batteries that weighed a lot
the people there were very nice

1 2 3 4 5

About AUTOZONE

AutoZone, Inc. is a specialty retailer and a distributor of automotive replacement parts and accessories. As of August 30, 2008, – Read more