Find companies:
AUTOZONE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,252 reviews

AUTOZONE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Endurance Testing, Work Environment
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee), McComb, MSSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, easy to advance in the company, great if you like helping people
Cons: incessant phone calls, difficult customers, sometimes you work 7am to 9pm, short staffed, huge work load(not for the faint of heart)
-Typical work day consisted of working the parts counter, walking to the many customers vehicle to diagnose a problem, incessant phone calls, ordering parts, pulling parts, checking overstock, planogramming, end of day store cleaning, and fronting a facing.
-Although when I first started I had a decent understanding of Auto Parts, by the end I had advanced – more... knowledge of Auto Parts, terminology, and equipment. I also learned and performed manager tasks.
- Management was often unequipped, unorganized, and uninformed.
- Most of my co-workers did not stay employed at Autozone longer than a couple of months because they could not handle the stress, and did not have the knowledge to work there, but a few co-workers had great attitudes and performed their best every day.
- The hardest part of the job was dealing with the extremely difficult customers(had someone threaten my life once)
- The most enjoyable part of the job was having confidence in my ability to really make a difference and actually help customers, not just selling them parts and additives, but selling them what they needed to do the job right the first time, to build a loyal and caring customer relationship. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and somewhat fast pace
PSM/Parts sales manager (Former Employee), San Jacinto, CASeptember 28, 2014
Pros: meet new people
Cons: poor hours, poor management
A typical day for me would be that I clocked in and began helping the customers, weather it was helping them find a certain item or helping them check out or even looking up parts for their cars. I learned how to become an Assistant Manager. My co-workers for the most part were fairly easy to work with. The hardest part of the job was to get the employees – more... to do their jobs like they were suppose to, without being told.The most enjoyable part of the job was when I got paid. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All employees got along and done their job,come to work on time.
Parts Sales Manager (Former Employee), Sulphur Springs, TXSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: 401k, insurance, dental and vision
Cons: rotate schedule, not being able to take off if needed
Opening store, assisting and meeting new customers,how to give good phone service,listen and learn good advice, how to communicate with fellow employees. The hardest part was some of the men customers didn't think I new about vehicle repair or parts and some of the male employees didn't like to be told what to do by a woman. The enjoyable times was – more... when everyone got along and done their job and worked their scheduled hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AUTOZONE
DRIVER / CASHIER (Current Employee), Spring Valley, CASeptember 26, 2014
I ABSOLUTELY ENJOY WORKING AT AUTOZONE, THE STAFF AND THE CUSTOMERS ALL GOT ALONG.
THE MANAGERS MADE SURE THAT BOTH EMPLOYERS AND CLIENTS NEEDS WERE MET.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, friendly environment.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Akron, OHSeptember 26, 2014
A typical day at work was unlikely. There was always new customers, new demands, and different goals and task to achieve daily. I learned the value of team work, management skills, and overall a great way of understanding and communication with all persons who stepped through our door. My co-workers were very supportive with almost everything, including – more... their constructive criticisms which I am never too shy to hear. The hardest part of the job was standing in one spot for numerous minutes/hours at a time. While I do like to attend to all customers needs, sometimes we got too busy to even think about multitasking and extra task, but that's where I learned the power of teamwork and a strong determination. The most enjoyable part of that job was my ability to help others (including co-workers) and trying to satisfy the needs of everyone to send them out with a SMILE! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a job not a career
Parts/Sales Manager Customer Satisfaction (Current Employee), montgomery alSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: my particular manager is very considerate of others
Cons: standing all day
it is a job not a career. for the most part it is the same thing over and over again. i do enjoy helping the customers but i feel that there are too many obstacles that you have to go through when it comes to the paper work side of the job to get a result that really only needed one simple step to achieve it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
Store Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 25, 2014
I worked for Autozone for almost 9 years. I gained an abundance of automotive knowledge while working there. A typical work day for me, as a store manager, would start out with opening the store by getting all the registers ready and getting my overstock pulled. I would go over all the previous days sales and determine what our sales goals would be – more... for the day. Our main focus was customer service. We did everything from helping them find the car wash that best suits them to that Alternator that they may need. We also would go out to their car and perform the test for check engine lights, to starting system test, install headlights to wiper blades. We made sure to keep up with our housekeeping and keeping all our planograms up to date. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Recall Inspector (Former Employee), Lavonia, GASeptember 25, 2014
Great place to work. It is fast paced and have to meet daily quotas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a basic job
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: offer benefits
Cons: all together culture for employees is not valued anymore
This company is pretty basic. Pay is the same as a regular position with any experience at a restaurant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
DIY SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Buford, GASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: employee discount, easy, good first job
Cons: not a good career, not much room for advancement
I took this job with an attempt to obtain even more knowledge on automotive parts and systems. Though i did learn some, the workplace itself left me completely unsatisfied. I worked at Autozone for a period of merely two months. The benefits are acceptable but when i say benefits i primarily mean the employee discount. If you need an easy secondary – more... job, this will be good for you. The pay isn't great but as a first job or a secondary job it is exceptional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard auto parts store. Uniform requirements do not reflect working conditions
Manager (Former Employee), Midland, TxSeptember 22, 2014
Between the pushing of suggested sales, and the requirement to wear slacks in an environment that deals with corrosive battery acid, it's a job that pays, but that's about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manangement gets shafted
Store Manager (Former Employee), South Boston, VASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: fun and challenging place to work.
Cons: company uses people in a negative way
Worked at AutoZone in a management position for years and towards the end was told on conference calls that "people were expendable" As many corporations in todays business climate, you get used then, GOD help you, your are gone. I was terminated over "paperwork errors"
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), McAlester, OKSeptember 22, 2014
I enjoyed working here. It was fun to be a female and see the look on the customers faces when I knew exactly what they wanted. It was challenging to convince some to the male customers that I truly knew what I was talking about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Sales/Customer Service (Former Employee), Lake Havasu City, AZSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: flexible hrs
Cons: minimum wage
Customer Service/Sales Agent
- Worked sales both in person and over the phone, proudly exceeding my sales quotas
on a consistent basis. Became a master in customer service relations, resolving
questions, issues, and creating the most positive experience possible for our
customers in the timeliest and most company efficient manner.
- Required me to be – more... a fast learner and to easily adapt, acting calmly and collectedly in
fast paced situations or high This position also taught me a great deal of
patience and how to deal with people of many personalities and demands being
confident, clear, and charismatic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good palce to earn experience
Senior Sales (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: 1 hour lunches even if yopu only work 6 hours whcih only means you work 5
Will lets assume your begin as a part time red shirt, for that person a typical day at Autozone would be working 4 hours a day whose duties would be tend to costumers, pick up the phone within three rings and basically do whatever you are told to do by management. This may include pulling overstock, cleaning the store stocking merchandise or just plain – more... cleaning the parking lot. However I must say that though this job requires you to multitask you do learn a lot of handy things such as, how to handle and manage money, pull overstock, cycle count, reconcile the registers, audit the registers, cycle count, and how to manage a store. Further more the hardest part of the job is learning all the different parts for cars, and dealing with rude costumers in a professional way. For me the most enjoyable part was making costumers happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Decatur ala.September 21, 2014
Informed regular customers of new products and services and price changes. Wrote customer order and
sales contracts according to company guidelines. Arranged merchandise and sales promotion displays
and issued sales promotion materials to customers. Listened to and resolved customers' complaints
regarding product and services. Reviewed list of dealers, – more... customers, and station drops and loaded truck.
Recorded sales and deliveries information on daily sales and delivery record.
· Maintained vehicle by performing such duties as regulating tire pressure and adding gasoline, oil, and
water
· Delivered automobile parts and etc.
· Vacuumed, swept, and cleaned interior, and washed and polished exterior of automobile – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Company Is very well organized
Store Manager (Former Employee), Kenedy TexasSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: bonus health ins great
Cons: worked too many hours and days
I enjoyed working for them because of there ethics and Culture their and believe in customer relation's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Assistant tManager (Current Employee), Elkview, WVSeptember 21, 2014
I should not have to add a review to my employer do to the company social media policy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good job
Commercial Driver & Sales Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 20, 2014
As a beginner you start from the bottom and that means maybe 10 hours a WEEK.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place To Work
sales (Current Employee), Ottawa, ILSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: terrible management, low pay
This is a terrible place to work. The moral level is so low at our store. All of our workers come to work with their heads down dreading the day to get over with. We don't care for our store manager. He reeks so bad. The workers and customers complain about his body odor. Some of the workers take advantage of other workers while at work. They take long – more... smoke breaks, play with their phones while on the floor, disappear off the floor to go outside. No one seems to care about their jobs. Most of the time, the customers walk in the door and don't get greeted. I work hard for this company. I treat our customers with respect and treat them the way I would want to be treated. I believe a company is only as good as the management running it. Lets get new management and start over. Why should workers show up to work and not earn their paychecks. Some good things about this job are their flexible around other jobs, school, and would be good for someone who is retired looking for some extra hours. That's about it. Don't think this company would be good for someone who wants to make a career out of it. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About AUTOZONE

AutoZone, Inc. is a specialty retailer and a distributor of automotive replacement parts and accessories. As of August 30, 2008, – Read more