Atlantic Marine Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
discrimination
insulator (Former Employee) –  Clarion County, PA18 July 2017
the job was not for minority woman or man. This company worked on the good ole boy system. I was almost assaulted on the ship and nothing was done to fix the issue was swept under the rug.
Pros
overtime
Cons
discrimination
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun WorkPlace
Marine Technician (Former Employee) –  Mobile, AL8 July 2017
My experience and this employers was awesome. I learned a wide variety of new skills that helped me better develop my craft. I built friendships and relationships that have helped me excel in the work arena.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Shipyard Competent Person (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL1 June 2017
good place to work there is a good chance that you could advance working here you can also move to different departments to increases your pay when I stared out I was making min wage but now I'm making a much better wage.
Pros
great pay
Cons
lay off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo acorde y adecuado para las necesidades de cada puesto de trabajo
ASISTENTE ADMINISTRATIVO -OPERADOR (Former Employee) –  Puerto La Cruz, AnzoĆ”tegui28 November 2016
Exceente ambiente de trabajo, excelente equipo de trabajo y condiciones adecuadas en cada puesto de trabajo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Accounting Assistant/Sales Support (Former Employee) –  Wrightsville Beach, NC30 November 2015
Very good place to work, enjoyable work site because of location at Wrightsville Beach and lots of different people to work with including sales department, service department staff and forklift/dock personnel.
Pros
Beautiful Location, no pressure atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self employed closely held corporation
President/Owner (Former Employee) –  Denton, MD15 October 2015
This was a full service yacht maintenance business. The business began specializing in insurance repairs and ultimately shifted to Marine Surveying. Surveying involved investigation of insurance claims and providing damage appraisals. Catastrophe work was a regular part of the business.
Pros
Freedom to control work flow and schedule
Cons
Self employed does not guarantee a regular paycheck
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Welder (Former Employee) –  Mobile, AL14 September 2015
Good skills and resources well learned from here this place will help you to better yourself in your job searching and will go the extra mile for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was my first job out of the military.
Outside Machinist (Former Employee) –  Mobile, AL6 January 2015
I hope I never have to return to the shipyard business if I have to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Marine Electrician (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL18 June 2014
I would said don't trust in no one, is a good place if you do what to went to. Good co-workers, learn some tasks in every kind of boats. Management very a few you can count on, but most of them; kind of not manageable with different people like me.
Pros
Flexible, good benefits if you had done on the first time.
Cons
Bad regulations on benefits at any time of the yerar, even emergencies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great enviroment
Pipefitter and work center Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL2 March 2014
A great place to work good people , great learning from all employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work
Sewing Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL23 January 2014
Very productive
learned how to make windshields, covers,tops and awnings for boats. Great management to work for. Great hard working coworkers. Hardest part very heavy and long lengths of material to work with. Most enjoyable would be seeing the finish product.
Pros
Great work inviroment
Cons
No benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Third Class Ship Fitter (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL20 October 2013
Learned ship fitting
Sand blasting
Steel work and blueprint reading
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at Atlantic Marine
3rd Class Welder/ Ship Fitter Helper (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL2 October 2013
Same thing as B.A.E Systems but in 2010 B.A.E bought out Atlantic Marine and changed names same company but different names.
Pros
Better People
Cons
It was bought out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed building bridges.
Foreman / Line Tender (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL27 June 2013
I really loved working for PDM Bridge. It was really my first welding job out of welding school. Outside of that I learned so much there.. I worked in every bay they had.. I can build a bridge from start to finish. The thing I loved the most about PDM Bridge is we built the worlds largest draw bridge in the world.. called the woodrow wilson.
Pros
Was on the Discovery Channel
Cons
I'm not there any more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shipyard
RIGGER (Former Employee) –  Mobile, AL4 June 2013
This was a job that paid very well but did not have that work life balance
Pros
Pay, Experince
Cons
Rotating shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there was no company employee activities
Shipfitter (Former Employee) –  Mobile, AL6 May 2013
I enjoyed working there because of the overtime but the talk off layoffs scared me off.
Pros
overtime
Cons
Head management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working on ships
outside machinist tech (Former Employee) –  Mobile, AL4 May 2013
repaired pumps,vaules,motors when needed.as a tech supervise crew of 5 to 20 men. do paper work for inspection of work to be checked after complection.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Pump Shop Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mayport24 February 2013
Busy work days, occasional weekend work, rules were not always clear or followed consistantly.
Pros
benefits
Cons
lay offs due to economy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked various ships refurbishing
2nd Class Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL17 January 2013
refurbished ships in dry dock,was qualified to work in and enter empty fuel tanks, Rescued three people who entered an uncertified fuel tank and became ill.
Pros
short distance to travel
Cons
long work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Welder Helper (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, Fl16 January 2013
A typical day at work would include just welding and patch work on military vessels. Learned the proper way to weld aluminum and what to look for when welding. Management was superb. Co workres were good. Being inside manhole areas for about 8 hours a day. Getting paid.
Pros
the pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Atlantic Marine. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.9
Culture
3.8