Find companies:
Atkins
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
76 reviews

Atkins Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atkins, United Kingdom
Senior Engineer (Former Employee), United KingdomNovember 6, 2014
Atkins had given me opportunity to learn about the work culture in an excellent manner. Learned and improved my career to new heights.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Program Assistant (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 27, 2014
Las Vegas, NV

Grew professionally. Great staff, Excellent experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great & challenging large railway projects
Project Manager (Contract) (Current Employee), Manchester City Centre, ENGOctober 25, 2014
Pros: great offices
Cons: project teams generally spread across the country.
Large company with various regional offices
Large alot about multi-disciplined railway infrastructure Projects such as Stafford re-modelling Projects/Alliance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager dont really care!!
Technical Assistant (Former Employee), Bangalore, KAOctober 23, 2014
Its the worst place to work. They provide free food and maked engineers work on excel sheet
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contact me for detail
Engineering and Project Management Consultancies (Current Employee), London, ENGOctober 22, 2014
Contact me for more detail with regards to my review.

You can ask me about:
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, varied work
Assistant Engineer (Former Employee), Bristol, UKOctober 22, 2014
Pros: nights out
Cons: fluctuating work loads
Young culture, variety of engineering work.

Good market penetration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Customer Care Assistant (Former Employee), Whitehouse road, Ipswich SuffolkOctober 21, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: poor air conditioning
Typical day at work was never knowing what type of customer complaints you would receive. I learned to be polite and understanding towards the general public while resolving the complaints/queries. My co-workers were a very helpful bunch who would always try to resolve issues with precise information. The hardest part of my job was not been able to – more... give positive feedback because of departmental cut backs...........while the most enjoyable was relaying positive feedback to customer issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Work Experience (Former Employee), Warrington, ENGOctober 5, 2014
I believe the work experience placement gave me a great insight to the line of work and also the working place itself. I learned multiple office skills as well as knowledge into the nuclear industry. I thought the co-workers were very helpful and created a friendly atmosphere to which i was able to enjoy my work experience placement. The hardest part – more... of the job placement was that i completed most of the study independently to complete the task set. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
F&DT Stress Engineer (Former Employee), BristolOctober 1, 2014
A fun place to work with a good atmosphere. Good support from colleagues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atkins
Instrument Technician (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CASeptember 30, 2014
While working at Atkins I was able to better my experience with Instrumentation, PLC's and the entire oil production process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to learn consulting
Intern (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: good benefit. various type of works. good cultures
Cons: too much work and supervisor are sort of bossy
one of the best consulting company.
colleges are very friendly.
works are so sophisticated but fun.

However some times work load is too high to balance with life
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
ITS Field Inspector (Former Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 27, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Great place to work for and average day includes driving to the
jobsite and following up with the contractor about there everyday
operation.
I learned to have excellent communication with the everyone.
I never on occasion worked with my co-workers cause we have
different task.
The hardest part of my job is not knowing the next move after completing – more... a project.
I enjoyed getting to know all sorts of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, educational
Work Experience (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGAugust 26, 2014
Pros: long lunch frees
Cons: long hours
I worked in several departments, including Highways and Transportation, the Environmental Consultancy Team and Human Resources, of which I found the latter most useful in terms of developing my confidence and improving my communication skills when talking to a variety of people of different ages. In HR I also took phone calls, listened to telephone – more... interviews, planned interview timetables and organised interview preparation packs. The most enjoyable was the Environmental Consultancy Team, where I studied the environmental issues related to and geochemistry affecting, the building of new houses on an old industrial site in my hometown. Experiencing a week of teamwork and carrying out this type of work in this industry was very valuable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consultant for LNG Terminal Design and Construction
WS Atkins Representative, Associate (Former Employee), Milano, LOMAugust 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches, air fly, accommodation, company car, expatriate packages
Checking and calculation, managing and checking coopration with all branches in international environment, Italian, France, Britons, Polish, German
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
technician (Former Employee), southeastAugust 25, 2014
Pros: free lauches
Cons: long hours
Work. For. Such. A. Company. Would. very good. I. would also. consider. the pay one. would. be getting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting worse and worse
Senior Engineer (Current Employee), West Midlands, ENGJuly 23, 2014
Pros: get to work on interesting and widely varied schemes, part of a great team
Cons: terrible management, lack of planning / direction and very poor communication internally
There are some great engineers at Atkins, and some fabulous projects. But most of this happens despite, not because of, the management.

Current culture in the Water and Environment business is a strong drive toward the bottom line with no thought for ensuring that the people (who are the firm's main asset) are happy or engaged.

Salary reviews have – more... been repeatedly cancelled, additional working hours are being introduced (got sent a letter which basically told me to sign a new contract or I'd be sacked without any real justification why), there are constant reductions in real benefits - the pensions situation is particularly poor, and lip service is paid to employee welfare... I could go on.

The IT is awful.

Over the twenty years since I started the company has become totally driven by process and procedure with no local managers even at associate or business director level seeming able to make decisions. Communication is dreadful - lots of irrelevant information and virtually no specifics. In the recent redundancies round most of the letters sent out had errors in them!

I would not work for Atkins W&E again and couldn't recommend them as an employer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biggest Challenge
IS Director Middle East (Current Employee), Dubai, DUJuly 14, 2014
This is the biggest challenge of my career. This job has given me a chance to lead an IS transformation project for an important employer with global reach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment with great people.
Engineering Intern (Former Employee), Dubai, DUJune 17, 2014
I worked on the Kazan Tower in Russia and assisted with the designing of the following:

Designing domestic hot and cold water supply systems
Designing drainage pipe systems
Pump selection for the supply water
Designing OA AHU systems
Selection of OA AHU units
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent colleagues,varied workload
Verification Tester on the District Line (Current Employee), London EnglandMay 20, 2014
complete paperwork as required,go to worksite meet rest of team,I give a short briefing of work to be completed.

The team I work with varies and I enjoy meeting and working with new people.
I am left alone to get on with my work,management rarely visit site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Aerospace Intern (Former Employee), Bangalore, KAMay 20, 2014
Its going to be a busy day, but enjoyable.
Working with different cultures and getting work done within the time limit is accelerating.

1 2 3 4

About Atkins

Atkins is one of the world's leading engineering, design and project management consultancies. We have the breadth and depth of – Read more