ATCO Gas Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start professional career but toxic environment
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 September 2017
Good place to start professional career but stay too long and you notice toxic environment. Everything has some politics involved so don't expect to advance anywhere unless you are sucking up to senior management.
Pros
Decent benefits and work hours.
Cons
Lots of entitlement in management. Politics play a role in your promotion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Leak Survey (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 September 2017
Great environment to work in, friendly and helpful co-workers, excellent management, helpful and in programs for employees, management is easily approachable with employees concerns/ideas.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grreat experience
Automotive Mechanical Apprentice (RAP) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 September 2017
atco set my foundation in automotive, people i worked with there were beyond incredible and inspirational. They allowed me to gain automotive knowledge but i honestly learned more from the people there of there experiences and how they dealt with issues in unique ways. Through my training there I easily adapted the ability to conform to every new task with ease.
Pros
everyone was really nice to work with and we order dope food every friday
Cons
its really hot in the shop during the summer, the winter was nice there tho honestly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enough
Maintanance (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 August 2017
Typical large business, one hand doesn't know what the other is doing. managers micro manage. The workers are great and good to work with. The business is in transition and going through a lot of changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atco
Project Manager, Project Planning (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 June 2017
good company and great benefits and salary. the downside is if you aren't an engineer or accountant you will never even get a chance to move up the ladder and become pigeon holed. Its too bad as i really enjoyed working for ATCO but after doing the same position for a long period I became complacent. I needed more.
Pros
Pay, benefits, working environment, the people
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Welder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 May 2017
Did my full welding apprenticeship through atco gas. great place to work with lots of motivation. good place to learn the industry and lots of support from coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an enjoyable place to work
PLASTIC MAINS REPLACEMENT ENGINEER (INTERNSHIP) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 May 2017
The work was interesting and projects varied to give a very good balance of learning. There was plenty of opportunity to be social as well as trips were organized to learn various topics and be involved in volunteering activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good pay, they will train you but treat employees poorly now.
CREW CHIEF - DISTRIBUTION OPERATIONS FIELD (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 April 2017
The people at ATCO are some of the nicest people I've known. (both field and office staff) Although the quality, work ethic and knowledge has dropped off somewhat as veteran workers left or were forced to leave, there are still a few very good workers from the younger generation. Generally speaking, it is a quite young company now.(at least in Calgary)
The atmosphere used to be very laid back and quite fun at times, but has become somewhat politicized as management has driven a wedge between different work groups, e.g. customer service and field workers, and even between crew chiefs and junior employees and foremen and crew chiefs. If you don't know the person you are working with very well, you tend not to trust him/her until you've worked with them for a while.
All new employees must attend "ATCO school', which is kind of like an in house apprenticeship program, where you attend class for a few weeks, followed by a year of field experience. This is done for 3 years after which there is a final exam which you have 2 attempts to pass. I have never seen anyone fail though. If they do they've been given more attempts to pass. The company seems to be very lenient on younger employees. There is a more in depth, more technical program for customer service workers where they earn their gas fitters ticket.
This company definitely has a very strong safety culture, but unfortunately has now gone beyond being about safety and more about being a tool for management to use for punishment (or not use, depending on who you are) against workers at its discretion.
The work itself is
  more... great if you like physical work outdoors in all sorts of weather conditions and locations. You get to see the best and the worst of what society has to offer, as basically everywhere has a gas connection. There are quite interesting and even exciting situations that come up as you quite often get to work closely with other emergency services and see things most people don't get to.
But unfortunately underlying everything good about the company is management and the addition of the happy worker to the endangered species list. You are well paid but there is now a heavy cost to that.
This is my opinion only. Don't sue me.
  less
Pros
double overtime, good wages, rewarding work
Cons
draconian minded managers, favoritism, hypocricy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work.
District Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 April 2017
Regular day (7:30-4:00) 5 days a week, there is overtime and an "On-call" rotation.

Learned how to operate and maintain powered equipment, fuse plastic pipe.

Management varies between districts.

Culture varies with changes in upper management.

As with many large companies the internal politics is difficult to navigate.

I enjoyed working with the people who do the actual work.
Pros
Regular paycheque.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, bad culture
Junior Distribution Operator - Field (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 March 2017
Good people and great pay for the work done. Is a punishment driven company that doesn't reward good behavior and only acknowledges those who don't cause incidents, not the hard working individual.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and motivated and hardworking works well with other and is easy to get along with.
Cleaning (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB21 March 2017
coming to work and having a job makes me happy walking to work and geting to see the customers and helping people out. i love the out doors biking longboreding looking after my pets i really just wont to get out there learn new things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall was very good.
Education and Outreach Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary AB11 March 2017
Very inclusive for a summer student while at university or college. Hard work, very rewarding. The travel was good but was not paid as I thought it should be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to Mentor with and a rewarding place to work.
Records Management work (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 February 2017
I have learned to listen to how the customer feels and his or her needs. I have greatly improved my confidence in being able to advise the customer in the right direction while achieving their immediate needs and desires.

Competent in using Microsoft environment

Contacting and setting up my own appointments with potential and existing clients. Presenting an informative information to the customer and building a solid relationship while maintaining continuous contact.

Signing of contractual agreements and maintaining records.
Setting future appointments.
Pros
luncheons and orientation meetings with great positive feedback
Cons
You tend to want to work more than you should because of the financial and emotional benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team oriented, driven by common goals and deadlines.
Event Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 January 2017
Excellent hours with occasional overtime required to facilitate events out of office hours. Supportive team environment and excellent benefits and salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work
Gas Distribution Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 December 2016
Atco has a strong organizational culture that is reflective of their core values. They are progressive, and strive to be the best. If you share these values and believe in the work they do, it's very easy to find pride. It's a fantastic place to work
Pros
Benefits are great with medical, dental, sick pay, and vacation time and starting pay is competitive.
Cons
work can be though on body
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 November 2016
awesome place to work, good benefits, good people to work, feel like you matter to the company not just another employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strongly advocates work/life balance
CUSTOMER CARE AGENT (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 November 2016
Feel good work environment with management that cares about your over-all well being. Provides support when asked/required. Ongoing learning support
Pros
provides a good feeling of acomplishment
Cons
affected by economic down turn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 November 2016
a great place to work especially if you are self motivated. Cares for their employees. Great benefits. I enjoyed my time working at ATCO Gas
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all around safe and gratifying workplace
Distribution of field services (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB1 November 2016
A physically and mentally demanding job with constantly changing job conditions friendly coworkers and a strong management team. Company benefit plan was very fair with company matching share purchasing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment to work
Engineering Contractor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 October 2016
ATCO Gas offers a very casual and productive workplace, and the people are all friendly and helpful. Work can sometimes get a little repetitive, but there are always opportunities to go out to the field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ATCO Gas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9