Find companies:
ATB Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
49 reviews

ATB Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing quickly, new systems,
Operations Auditor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 31, 2013
Pros: bank
Cons: system changes
Going through change management from a system standpoint
Detection controls less on prevention
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
FA (Former Employee), CalgaryMay 22, 2013
Pros: great vision
Cons: poor management and upper management issues
Manager was a bean counter and had no idea how to motivate and deal with sales people. He had no idea how the technology worked when reviewing performance with you , was always late and just a miserable person to be around. He usually coaches you how to answer employee engagement surveys to boost his performance. Culture and morale was deteriorating – more... prior my departure. Too bad his bosses couldn't see how his tenure had brought morale down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 15, 2013
Pros: flying benefits
Cons: low wages
Great people, interesting work. Very relaxed environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Personal Banking Specialist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 7, 2013
All was good until they decided to change banking software and it went down hill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place to work and I just love my customers, there is nothing like making a cranky customer happy and even laugh and thank you.
CSR (Former Employee), Mayerthorpe, ABMay 6, 2013
Cons: longer business hours, leave no time to socialize with co-workers, as well as running short staffed.
I am currently working part time and will be looking at finding full time employment. I spend my day serving customers and filling their needs. I also periodically preview my customers profile to see there is anything that we can do help save them money and to see if there are any other services that would benefit them.

With ATB I learned that excellent – more... customer service is key. I don't feel that ATB doesn't train the new employees about how important that customer service is. I see that with most new employees customer service is lacking and wish that upper management would provide the training that I had when I first started. I love working with a team and its great when we can reach goals as a team.

The hardest part of the job is keeping up with all the changes. Wish there was a better way to keep up to date, maybe more meetings going over major changes. We have longer hours that we are open to the public and there just isn't any time to have group meetings where we can throw ideas around.

The most enjoyable part of my job is my customers and getting to know them personally and have them thank me for selling them a service that they didn't even know about but if would help them and save them money or make money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Retail Financial Services Officer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 2, 2013
I enjoyed working with ATB because it challenged me with different credit scenarios everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self Driven
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Rocky Mountain House, ABApril 28, 2013
Self driven manage your future. Great values. Up lifting career choices. Management supports staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY BUT STAY AWAY FROM THE SALES DEP
Inbound Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 22, 2013
This is a great company but the CCC Sales department is run by a moron called Gupreet Deol. This guy has no leadership qualities and he tries to run the department through autocratic means . His right wing person Le Steele does not know what the hell is going on and that's why that department has such a high employee turnover . This is a sales department – more... but we constantly have to be explaining statement issues. The credit coaches are all confused and have no consistency in their audit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expensive training
Investment advisor (Former Employee), Grande prairie abApril 19, 2013
Pros: great initial training
Cons: no job security/sales goals not adjusted based on current events
Atb spends a lot of money training their employees hosting expensive welcome ceremonies where they give out books, ice cream and everyone has a great time. My welcome and 3-4 months of training were lavish. I thought I had joined a great company.
After the training was done there was a lot of pressure to perform. This was during the 2008 investment – more... bust. As an investment professional I had a certain amount of mutual funds to sell each week. If a customer came in to redeem their funds it counted against my goal. I worked at a branch that hadn't had a investment professional in years. None of the other bankers sold funds. It was a bad situation. Not long after that atb decided to switch most roles like mine to video call centres. They didn't fire me but... I was told I should quit by someone in upper management. I was so embarrassed and crushed that I did. I didn't realize I would have qualified for ei if I had made them fire me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Loan Service Clerk (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaMarch 7, 2013
Started at 8:15 am worked on processing loans. Learnt how to process loans. Co-workers were fun to work with very quiet environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productivity
Business Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: free bank accounts
Cons: long hours
Dealing with customers in regards to their financial and banking needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Operations Assistant (Former Employee), calgary, ABJanuary 28, 2013
At the time I worked there I was not very happy. Im sure a lot has changed since then but I would not recomend this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Manager, Business Marketing (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 21, 2013
While there is inconsitent culture between departments, it is generally a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We work in a new building were they are providing recreational activities during lunch hour
special arrangements clerk (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: free gift certificates
Answering Emails and completing requests.
Doing reports for customers so they may have special arrangements.
I have learned how to manage my work load in a day.
Management is usually understanding.
Co-workers are easy to get along with.
Figuring out how to implement procedures on customers accountts as we have a new system in.
The most enjoyable part – more... of the job is variety. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We have monthly activities
Loan Service Clerk (Current Employee), CalgaryJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: free coffee/tea
Cons: with overtime
I have learned a lot like dealing different kinds of people and on how to process renewals and maintence processing, we have lots of fun, we have huddle every two weeks and lots of recognition. New tasks that I can handle. Stress out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
SR Customer Service Rep Investments (Former Employee), Thorsby, ABDecember 20, 2012
Lots of high expectations, banking is too focused on sales, not service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Position
Customer Service Representative- Full Time (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 30, 2012
I learned about customer service, fraudulent activity, bounced payments, and referring customers appropriately to the right departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, but stability of job is a bit unsecured
JUNIOR OPERATIONS ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 22, 2012
Pros: friendly, fair
Cons: unsecured job
Flexible time as arranged with the team leader. I have a dynamic team members, my team lead is fun to be with.

Pressure on sales are absolutely not present
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Online Banking Rep /Receptionist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 19, 2012
Great culture and opportunities to grow ... Excellent training ....
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Customer service rep (Current Employee), Edmonton, anSeptember 16, 2012
Pros: free coffee
Cons: terrible to help internal employees move up
Hard to work your way up. The new extended hours going to terrible. Good people. Achievable targets.

About ATB Financial

ATB Financial ("ATB") is a full-service financial institution headquartered in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. ATB is the – Read more