Find companies:
ATB Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
61 reviews

ATB Financial Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits but ended up being too sales driven
Customer Service Advisor & Online Specialist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 5, 2014
Pros: great benefits, good pay.
Cons: higher management puts too much pressure on lower staff for sales
Working at ATB was very enjoyable especially at the start, but then the management started to be too sales driven - they began to try and force us to get referrals when people called in to check their balance etc. This really put me off and reminded me that I worked for a bank who valued profits over everything else - (i think all banks are like this – more... to be fair). But in my opinion this isn't a good way to improve customer service, or raise profits - it just annoyed our clientele, especially the ones who were better able to read between the lines. There was only some investment products I believed were good for the our customers, I didn't want to have to persuade people to get in more debt! But if you're the kind of person that doesn't mind this then its rosy! Lower ranked managers of the call centre were great people that treated staff very well. Benefits are amazing and once you are in it's quite easy to climb the ladder up to a point e.g. to (40k-45k or more) - a few steps up from general call centre worker. Once you get there in most positions there is less pressure to sell. ATB are very loyal and good to their staff if you tow the line. You can trade some benefits in even to get more holiday, I managed to get 3 weeks off each year plus the plethora of provincial/national holidays off too with option to work them at double time and a half!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remote access employee with little or no travel requirements.
ONLINE CUSTOMER CONTACT CENTER SPECIALIST - REMOTE (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 19, 2014
Pros: remote access
Inbound call centre. Assist internal and external customers with their financial and online needs. Provide support to other departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work, I had a tough time leaving
Team Lead (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 6, 2014
Pros: great work/life balance
I lead a team of individuals that did internal account reconciliation. I loved the challenge of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Busy
Loans Clerk (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaOctober 21, 2014
Great type of work
Busy
Great Experience
Co-worker were great
Enjoyed the experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Java Developer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 14, 2014
excellent.
good Job Work/Life Balance

Good job culture and preferred to work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Card Services Agent (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 3, 2014
Schedule was flexible and the benefits were great.
High individual and team goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Personal Banking Specialist Level (Former Employee), Lethbridge, ABSeptember 17, 2014
Very Good Place to work
Great Benefits
Great Culture
All over Alberta
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work place
Personal Banking Specialist (Former Employee), Valleyview, AbSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: 1 hour lunch breaks and good benifit package
Cons: ok
I worked from 8 hour a day 5 days a week
I learned computer skills and was sent on courses
Management was ok
the co worker where fun to work with.(Most of them)
The hardest part about this job was getting the paper work done
The most enjoyable part of my job was I got to meet new people and got some experience from this position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Barrhead, ABSeptember 6, 2014
very busy with customer transaction and opportunity to grow business

very sales driven

managerment and co-worker depened on the branch you are working for

difficult customers and sales driven focus

working with the CSR to achieve there goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Culture
Summer Student (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 2, 2014
Amazing job culture. Every employee was motivated and worked hard to achieve the best. I learnt the importance of a team and how crucial it is to work together. Also, how important the relationships you make with your co-workers and customers is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Personal Banking Specialist (Current Employee), calgary, abSeptember 2, 2014
Great workplace, good life and work balance. I have learnt the best Customer service skills being in retail banking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Viking, ABJuly 3, 2014
Pros: lunch once a month
Really enjoyed working for ATB Financial until they started pushing their front end CSR's to sell/sell/sell
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Sr. Business Analyst (Current Employee), CanadaJuly 3, 2014
A very friendly work place with competitive compensation and good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in and with a gym
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 19, 2014
Cons: shifts change weekly
Day to Day is tasks are account managing for clients and just bringing a great aurora to work and passing that to the client making the experience better.
I feel everyday you should start with the thought of I am going to learn something new today and then it is a very productive day.
Interacting with managers and co-workers is what is best about working – more... with this company as you get to meet some really interesting people and share idea's, information, knowledge everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Card Service Agent (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 16, 2014
Pros: work environment, co-workers
Cons: long hours, mentally exhausting
ATB is a great company to work. They have great benefits and they really care about their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Vision, poor middle management
Various Positions (Current Employee), CalgaryJune 11, 2014
Pros: benefit package is amazing
Cons: middle management gets in the way of progress
Executive team is fabulous! They have great vision for the institution but middle management is not properly trained and make decisions on a whim without considering the impact of their choices. Middle management only cares about what executive management sees and hears and not what actually is going on. They are order takers not leaders. However, Executive – more... management is in the process of training middle management on how to be better leaders so we will see what happens. There is a large work load and the pay is not adequate. They believe that they are industry leaders on pay but the fact of the matter is that they are still a corporation who neglects to see how much inflation has actually occured over the last 8 years and our salaries have not reflected this change at all. So industry leading in some areas and not in others isn't good enough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Fraud Detection Specialist, Card Services (Current Employee), Calgary AlbrtaMay 3, 2014
Great people to work with, understanding and team building management. Easy to get along with. Learned many banking and analytical skills, problem solving and implementation of fraud procedures and strategies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, very poor salary no advancement
Personal Banking Specialist (Former Employee), Peace riverMarch 14, 2014
Pros: work enviroment
Cons: low salary, no advancement and huge work load
overall not a bad place to work, salary is very poor for the amount of work that you do and lack of leadership in most cases. co worker were amazing and clients as well. They always tell you there is lots of room to advance but that is only if you live in the bigger centers like calgary or edmonton.Very driven company with clear goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a okay place to work
Lending Officer (Current Employee), calgaryFebruary 26, 2014
No place for movement
pays is not the greatest
new building is great tho
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with room for growth and advancement
Customer Service Specalist (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: great benefits, unionized, multiple options for advancement
Cons: poor scheduling
Typical day at work involves processing transactions for customers, setting up appointments for personal bankers and selling banking products to new and existing customers. You learn the ins and outs or basic banking as well as have the opportunity to learn advanced skills to further your employment and/or better your service to your customers.

1 2 3

About ATB Financial

ATB Financial ("ATB") is a full-service financial institution headquartered in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. ATB is the – Read more