ATB Financial Employee Reviews

Found 123 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, and room to grow
Personal Banking Specialist I (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 July 2016
I started with ATB, and four months later, I had been put into a role which got the better of me, but that is no reflection of ATB. I started working in back-end processing, and was moved into retail sales, where I thought I could flourish. The training provided was outstanding, and the amount of support I received from my co-workers was excellent. There were always fun events to do, and I never had a bad day at work.
Pros
Great benefits and pay
Cons
High targets for sales staff
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 Years
Senior Team Lead for AP/EPM (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 December 2016
Enjoyed my experience over my 25 year career. Had several different positions

Position no longer required otherwise I would still be there

Had flexibility to work from home which I implemented by going paperless allowing staff to work from home
Pros
flexible to work from home
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ATB Financial
Personal Banking Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 October 2016
A typical day at work consisted of assisting customers who needed help with their finances. I learned a lot about finances, customer service, and working with others. The company took good care of its staff and had fair wages and benefits
Pros
benefits
Cons
no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working experience at ATB
ONLINE/EFT SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2016
Really enjoying helping customer with their banking needs and also make banking easier for them. I learned ATB products, SAP system, and I always engage myself in continuous learning opportunities.
At ATB, we always work together as a team and help each other in a friendly manner.
The hardest part is when our customers share their personal and emotional stories over the phone. I listen to them and show empathy.
ATB is a fun place to work because we treat our customers as a true friend, listen and provide solutions to their problems.
Pros
15 mins break after every 2 an a half hour
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT TO VICE PRESIDENT (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 September 2016
Very tight deadlines, schedule maintenance, event planning. Always busy. Great team, loved coming to work every day. However, salary is too low to live on and no work/life balance at all.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
no work/life balance, salary too low to live on
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ATB Financial Awesome company to work for
SAP BI/BW/BO Consultant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 October 2016
Career advancement , Hours flexibility , Friendly work environment , management is very professional , coworkers are very committed and very supportive
Pros
Career advancement, Hours flexibility, friendly work environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 August 2016
Learned useful and knowledgeable skills to further advance my career. Staff very friendly and willingness to go above and beyond their work qualifications.
Pros
Great hours, Good benefits
Cons
We are frequently put in a position to make individuals angry.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and safe work environment
ITSD Server Infrastructure Internship Student (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2016
I did my internship at ATB Financial and I must admit, the company really cares a lot about their employees. Every week there would practically be a new event at ATB offering food, prizes and exercising. In terms of work, nobody works individually; there is always a team that you report to. In addition, ATB takes a lot of realistic risks to come out on top on other banks. They always try to bend the rules a bit to get the customer's attention of why banking at ATB is a special, personal experience. Although I didn't get the development experience I wanted at ATB, the company really changed my way of thinking.
Pros
safe working environment and friendly, great employee benefits
Cons
salary is low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Breton, AB9 May 2016
A day consists of challenging, yet satisfying work.
Excellent customer service.
Our management team is very helpful.
I have never had a better team to work with.
Not being able to do something for a customer is very difficult.
Being able to say yes to customer is what we aim for.
ATB Financial was rated 4th in the best place to work in Canada 2015/2016
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Services Operational Support Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 November 2016
ATB was a great company to start my career at.

I was able to accomplish and reach many milestones.

Great support and fun work environment.
Pros
job security
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, until you reach upper management
Director (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 October 2016
There is a bit of an entrepreneurial vibe in many parts of ATB, but there are also a lot of politics in many parts. I wish it were more merit-based and objective.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience in banking
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 August 2016
I love the customers at ATB. They are not just numbers but actual people that you get to know and respect. My co-workers are amazing people and the team here is respectable and fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Student
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 October 2016
The company really cares for its employees. Everyone is willing to help each other out and improve the company as a whole. During my time there I did not learn as much as I had hoped to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Work Environment
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 March 2016
Going into work was always a struggle. On an average day you would take up to 60 calls. Over half of which were negative. I learned that patience is virtue. I learned that things will happen that I have no control over. I felt that the management team didn't have their employees backs. If you wanted anything it would have to be put through the union. My co workers felt the same. The hardest part of this job was getting up in the morning. You never knew what the day was going to hold. Smoke break was the most enjoyable part of my day.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
long hours, no life work balance
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Benefits and Good Culture
Portfolio Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta25 February 2016
The company employed an excellent Work Life Balance for the majority of the work force. This was dependent on the role you had. Their model of allowing individuals to work off site provided a great culture of allowing the individual to concentrate on thier work and to take care of their personal life.

The benefits were pretty good in the way that it was a Flexible Benefit package and a pension plan.
Pros
Work Life Balance, Table Tennis, Foosball
Cons
Senior and mid level Manager not understanding processes.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support with other associates taking leads from you, no team work, no support within the branch
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 February 2016
No team work and no support within the branch
Other associates take leads that don't belong to them
Culture is negative and you can't even talk to your associates without them complaining
Everything that I was told ATB was is not the same
You are pretty much on your own
Negative vibe in the branch
Stressful everyday to perform when associates take your own leads
ATB is not the place to be nor is it a top employer that supports their staff
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company community . objective work were you live
Personal Relationship Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 May 2016
Management, control person.
difficult to work with.
Co-workers friendly, Customer focused company
Hardest part of my job was turning clients down
Pros
community focused
Cons
work overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
BUSINESS ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 June 2016
Great environment, very challenging at times when project deadlines came up.

Company made an excellent effort to bring "fun" to the workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB20 April 2016
ATB Financial has taught me how to make the most of every client opportunity and have the clients best interest at the forefront of my thoughts. Exceeding client expectations is what we do every single day.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Administration Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 July 2016
To whom it may concern:

I came from an eight year position at ATB financial.

Very great company loved working there. Very good people and job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 125 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9