Find companies:
Assurant
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
240 reviews

Assurant Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend to anyone for work
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioJune 7, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: no growth, high turnover
The company offers no advancements, salary is low, no profit sharing. The people are very good though and over all the atmosphere is great. But from a career standpoint it's not the place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Management Reporting Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 22, 2013
Assurant is a great place to work. The management team is employee focused. It’s a place where the work you do is appreciated and you know how you contribute to the overall success of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of co-workers
Contact Center Operations Associate (Former Employee), Kingston, ONNovember 26, 2012
Pros: free parking
Cons: stressful
Taking stressful calls all day. I learned that the company comes first and the workers that work hard each day can be replaced in an instance. Most of my co-workers were the best people to be around and did their best to lighten things up. The hardest part of the job was not being able to give to the customer the time they needed on the phone and dealing – more... with upset customers all day long. The most enjoyable part of the job was when a customer thanked you for treating them like a human being and taking the time to care. The bad part of that was then you did not make your time per call when you cared about people and that made you expendible down the road. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Hazard Insurance Specialist (Former Employee), Florence, SCApril 9, 2014
A typical day at Assurant consisted of answering call from customers or insurance agents. Explaining letter received, or to insure the correct policy information is on file and the payment is made for the policy on time. I've learned a lot about what you type of protection you should have when you purchase a new home with a mortgage. Management was – more... helpful to a certain point. My co-workers were helpful as well. They hardest part of the job was having to process any corporate reimbursement for mistakes made on the customer's account. The most enjoyable part of the job was when it was a teammates birthday and we decorate the desk and provided them with gifts. Most of all it was comfortable environment to work in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a satisfying work environment
Cash Accounting Supervisor (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOApril 8, 2014
Pros: training and opportunities for input when implementing new products.
Cons: many individuals lost their jobs due to assurant contract with india.
Typical day at work:

Ensure all daily cash transmissions from banks were received as well as ensuring accuracy and balancing.
Supervised 5 cash accountants including training, daily updates and reviews. One of my cash accountants was promoted to AP supervisor.
My team and I served as internal customer service support to Dental Claims, Short and Long – more... Term Disability, and Life Claims CSR's providing them with information requested by their external customers i.e.,status of their Electronic Funds Transfers, Withdrawal of funds from customer's accounts for payment of services. Status of checks issued for disability and Life payments.
We were familiar with HIPPA regulations. Familiar with SOX requirements regarding reconciliation processes. Worked closely with the tax department ensuring escheatment to states was accurate and timely.
The part of my job that I enjoyed the most was Troubleshooting and Investigating issues that needed immediate investigation, attention and corrections. I worked closely with IT since many of these issues were related to one of our many systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
Customer Care Specialist (Current Employee), springfield ohioApril 8, 2014
Pros: work life balance time off
Cons: pay, raises, management
okay place for springfield. Just a stepping stone as the only way to move up is who you know not what you know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement wont happen
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Florence,SCApril 8, 2014
Pros: the people, benefits
Cons: quality assurance, scrutinizing
A typical day...all I do is answer phone calls from irate customers. Some customers are good to work with, but a majority of the time they can be out of control. I learned plenty about the mortgage industry and unfortunatley the greed associated with all the mistakes made during the 2008-9 mortgage meltdown, and how Assurant was an intragel part of – more... it. Based on that alone people are in fear of making decisions on accounts making them concerned about their jobs. Management..that is a joke. The departments do not speak with each other causing a communication break down. In turn, one department attempts to usurp the authority of another department. Things are not black and white, they are gray. Hard work and loyalty to the company will get you know where. I applied for over 40 positions and only got one which was a lateral move. They hire unqualified outsiders, and the people they do hire internally for positions like team leads are more qualified the management. If they do hire a manager internally, that person has less qualifications then my dog and couldnt manage an ant farm. I am an adult and dont need to be babysat. I dont like going into a job wondering if I am going to be employed at the end of the day. My co workers are good people, it is management who lacks the ability to lead – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Senior Accountant (Former Employee), Wayne, PAApril 3, 2014
Workload was overwhelming. Too much overtime. People let go due to outsourcing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured work environment
Mortgage Insurance Consultant (Current Employee), Duluth, GAApril 1, 2014
A typical day at work at Assurant requires that you be focused and detailed. There is rarely a moment where you can take your eye off the ball because it can easily result in an error. Given that the environment is so stressful there is ample time provided to unwind and socialize as long as its not interrupting with your level of productivity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced place to work
HAZARD INSURANCE PROCESSOR I / LOSS DRAFTS (Former Employee), Florence, SCMarch 31, 2014
Pros: health inusrance benefits, bonuses
Cons: pto time
The job is very demanding and have very high quotas to meet every day. There is very limited tolerance for mistakes and not making your quota. I did learn to pay close attention to my work at all times. Asking for help early on will help with mistakes later on during a project. The team work there is great. Moving up in the company was a plus and is – more... easy to do with high quotas and excellent work ethics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and disorganized.
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee), Duluth, GAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: onsite cafeteria
Cons: turning in id every night.
Customer Service Rep II, Poor training. Not enough support from managers. Very who you know type of agency. More attention paid to what you're wearing than your standard of work. The majority of employees were temps, whom sometimes worked over one-two years before becoming permanent. I learned about the claims process which was very interesting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assurant Solutions
Executive Assistant to the Chief Financial Officer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: diversity
Cons: no bonuses
Assurant is a great place to work. The diversity is great. The people are great.

There was no hard part at working at Assurant, except for the layoffs. You miss people that you have grown accustom to working with daily and all of a sudden, they are no longer there.

Over all, wonderful place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assurant Call Centers Are Horrible
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Albany, ORMarch 17, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: evil customers, terrible management, 6 day a week work
When you are hired and during your first day and training period, you are fed a massive load of complete bs about how wonderful and fun the company is. You are showered with swag. But once you get into nesting and onto the floor, you come to find out that supervisors and HR are completely heartless and the customers are the scum of the world. Mandatory – more... overtime is extremely common. You will be required to work 6 days a week and threatened with 7 days a week. Your calls are scrutinized and you can never live up to their expectations. The customers are the worst. Expect to be screamed at, cussed at, belittled, and generally made to be a verbal punching bag and door mat. The work sucks, the environment sucks, the management sucks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very wonderful co workers and employees
Verifications Specialis (Former Employee), Duluth, gaMarch 13, 2014
Specialist handles insurance documents on behalf of our financial institution clients, directly impacting the timeliness and accuracy of the homeowner’s property insurance coverage. This role requires proven ability to manage deadlines and meet quality standards with accuracy and consistent attention to detail. It also requires the use of good judgment – more... to solve problems and make business-appropriate decisions consistent with Assurant procedures and best practices.

Over all wornder place to work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 11, 2014
company is good to work for there are alot of incentives also they always have overtime
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAME AS ABOVE
Sales (Former Employee), ConcordMarch 10, 2014
Again, GREAT place to work, FROM HOME Selling Insurance Grew Harder since first MENTION of obamacare 98% comments..well, im gonna wait and see what
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for
Mailroom Support (Former Employee), Florence, SCMarch 8, 2014
Pros: free dinner once a month and blue jean pass
I looked forward to going to work each day. I sat at a computer scanner, sort, open and scan insurance documents into the system. Maintain a 400 kpi service level. Picked up mail and delivered paper to and from other areas. Assist with special projects and trained new hires to prep mail. Great job!!!!! worked 2nd shift got along with all co-workers. – more... The hardest part was getting off at 9:30pm Friday night and returning at 8:00 am Saturday morning, working every Saturday until 4:30pm. The most enjoyable part was when my supervisor came to me and said you have NO ERRORS for the day, Great job!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FLEXIBLE SCHEDULES, GREAT PAY
Hazard Insurance Specialist (Former Employee), Florence, SCMarch 2, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: not enough daily tasks training.
GOOD PLACE TO WORK, JUST WANTED TO GET BACK INTO MEDICAL FIELD OF WORKING.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet and productive place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Florence, SCFebruary 26, 2014
I learned time management to answer each call and end in correct time all while making sure my customer feels valued.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized work place
Insurance Specialist II (Current Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: incentives for quality control.
Cons: benefits, 401k, felxibility with vacations.
My current job is in one word, boring. It is a repetitive work with no learning opportunities. Management is disorganized and none productive. I dont find any enjoyable part for this job. There is no hard part to the job. The job can be done by anyone that can read, copy and paste on a computer.

1 2 3 4 5

About Assurant

Assurant, Inc. (Assurant) is a holding company. Through its subsidiaries, it is engaged in providing specialized insurance products – Read more