Find companies:
Ashley Furniture HomeStore
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
132 reviews

Ashley Furniture HomeStore Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love taking care and pleasing the customers I come in contact with
Customer Service Representative/Office Manager (Current Employee), Lubbock, TXFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: always busy, interacting with customers
Cons: working too late
Typical day at work includes, answering phones, getting customers taken care of, ordering merchandise, taking payments, scheduling technicians to go out to customers home. Hardest part of my job is the hours, I work long hours, and sometimes don't come home until 10pm, I have 3 children at home, and I just need something more so during the day. Most – more... enjoyable part of my job is ensuring that I have made the customer's happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job if you hate yourself
sales (Former Employee), champaign ILFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: discouts
Cons: everything else
If you are looking to work here don't. I lasted a month. Not only was I the only girl on the team but all I heard all day was who the other sales people would have sex with... As in the customers! Nothing about it was professional! One person went on vacation and they took his vacation pay out of his pay check, so he paid them 400 bucks for his vacation. – more... They also messed up everyones paychecks all at once. The commission may be ok but hitting all the sales goals is next to impossible, tho everyone training you will say everyone does. The customer service desk doesn't do anything but upset the customers to the point where half you day is spent calling upset people to fix their orders.
Over all just be ready for long hours... Working all weekend and no lunch or breaks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2-way loyalty non existent, ownership out of touch.
commissioned furniture sales (Current Employee), DFW, TXFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: paid on written business rather than delivered
Cons: too many to list
No employees have anything good to say about the owners and management of this company. Retention of associates is wholly dependent on a compensation plan that pays sales associates on written rather than delivered orders. Because of this hook - especially in a slow economy - management has no incentive to invest in employee retention, loyalty, or training. – more... That is reflected in their day to day approach to managing the business: corporate managers and officers spend little or no time in their showrooms. When they do, there is no interaction with customers or sales associates. Other opinions, thoughts or suggestions are never solicited, outstanding achievements never recognized or celebrated. Weekly management meetings are an opportunity for ownership to demean and insult store managers who work without base pay.
Management of this licensee group is mired in the l970's in terms of merchandising and retailing philosophies and there is little impetus to change or adapt: the license to operate an Ashley Furniture Homestore is a license to print money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
PRODUCT SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Silverdale, WAFebruary 6, 2014
I help customers make smart buying decisions. I've learned how retail companies run and applied everything I've learned from past customer service jobs to this one. My managers were helpful in every aspect, ensuring customer satisfaction. My favorite part of this job is when a customer gets approved for financing and they really can have whatever they – more... want. The hardest part of this job is when we have an issue with delivery or customer service beyond my ability to control and resolve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
selling furniture
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Schererville, INFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: fun to see all new stuff weekly coming in on sales floor
Cons: sales quotas, base pay draw system
up system for clients coming into store, sales quotas, monitoring of sales, and records of each client report weekly to store manager.
Felt like a pushy sales person, not comfortable, but very aggressive team. Would of rather been visual merchandiser, because I was more of a Interior Designer, not pushy sales person, too creative.
Received weekly draw, – more... + commission, - draw 390.00 after sales closed delivered. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable physical work, but made less money my last year than the previous years because a bonus was removed
Warehouse/ Delivery assistant (Former Employee), Springfield, ILFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: bonus while it lasted
Cons: bonus taken away
Unload semi full trucks of furniture into the proper bins. Pull orders for next day service and customer pick ups. Arrange show room furniture. Help deliveries when needed ( but with warehouse smaller pay) More responsibilities added when we started recycling materials. I enjoyed this for the good environmental reasons, but it was much more time consuming. – more... The monthly sales bonus was removed from every hourly employee. So, I made less money while taking on more work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Customer Loyalty Assistant (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: working with customers and education
Cons: examplno respect, no room for advancement, no raises, and treated extremely unproffessionallye: short breaks, healthcare, etc.
I worked in the office. It was a horrible experience all in all. I had 3 management changes while I worked there. No one was ever on the same page and they let someone who was addicted to prescription medicine work there for almost 8 months. They expected me to do the office managers job after she left with no extra pay. I only made $9 an hour. And – more... you had to handle finance applications and contracts, not to mention 50 other tasks a day. Horrible just horrible experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discouraging place to work. Major problems with Customer care at Dist Ctr and Delivery team.
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Charlotte NC areaJanuary 10, 2014
Excellent training program at beginning. After being on the floor as a sales associate and sales manager, senior management doesn't have any control over delivery/logistics team and customer care team at Distribution Center. With that being said, customers become very dissatisfied with service and cancel their orders. When orders are cancelled, you – more... don't get paid! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, Rewarding work experience
Stock Specialist/ Customer Specialist (Former Employee), Shiloh, ILDecember 30, 2013
Great place to work. Wonderful work environment with the best coworkers and managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Consultant & Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MODecember 9, 2013
Pros: family like envronment
Cons: no benefits
Built family-like relationships with everyone. I learned how to interact with customers in a fair, firm and with respect way. Hardest part of the job was leaving it. Everyday was fun day, everyone treats everyone with respect and we all made it like a family environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Long hours
Business Manager (Former Employee), Midland, TXNovember 2, 2013
Not exactly your normal job. It varies on who owns that particular store but the furniture was excellent and fun to sell.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized and unprofessional setting.
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), New Braunfels, TXOctober 22, 2013
Pros: free lunches, occasional treats to show "they care"
Cons: no raises, no solitude
My typical day at work would include, coming in for a "huddle" that was 15 minutes long- (2 minutes about company/work, 13 minutes of waited time/horseplay) Then, taking inbound CS calls and not having a manager on the floor available at all times, when you need assistance, constantly trying to find one and then you cannot make a first call resolution – more... because you did not get approval for something you should have been able to. Majority of my co- workers were "fake" to me, I have been verbally abused out loud by a certain one and cursed at. I had to move departments because my co workers felt threatened by my work ethic (they all laughed all day, while I held the team together on my own). I went on a business trip with my VP and over heard her and another supervisor bad mouthing me in her hotel room while me and another co worker waited outside for them. Most enjoyable part would be leaving there. Hardest part was not going to TWC for the issues that go on there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a job not a career
Sales Manager (Former Employee), MooresvilleOctober 16, 2013
Don't make too much money or they will come after and try and find a way to get rid of you by any means.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but no advancement!
Product Specialist (Current Employee), Greenwood, INOctober 14, 2013
Great company to work for except if you have a family. It is straight commission so if you don't sell you don't make money. It is very tough because of all the furniture stores around the area. Very competitive! You work retail hours, so like i said if you have a family this isn't probably a good idea!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A copy on the rise!!!!!
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 9, 2013
Our days was of receiving in of furniture... We would have a set number of trucks and a count of what we received. My job was to receive in the furniture and put it into the warehouse. The management was pretty good all the way around. My co-workers were good worker that got the job done. The hardest part of the job was the weight of some of the furniture – more... and how heavy it was. The most enjoyable part of the job was doing the job it-self..., I really enjoyed doing my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place
General Manager (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: advancement potential
Cons: retail is dying
Can be a good place or awful place to work. This 100% depends on the owner and managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First of all, I truly loved this place. the majority of employees were wonderful.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Springfield, ILAugust 24, 2013
Pros: possible income of 35k+
Cons: you have to be inefficient at your current position in order to be promoted. bassakwards.
This is a commission based job, which I never had a problem with. The problem was with the store mngmt. The store mngr was once a sales associate, but ran when they switched to commission because she couldn't handle it, so she got promoted..? Next is the new sales manger, nice guy I guess but he joined the company as a warehouse guy after being fired – more... from Furniture Row due to low low sales numbers. The store is an oxymoron. Let's not talk about the Constant whining of the warehouse mngr. And his beyond poor customer service. You could be the top salesman and pull in some great money for you and the store, but if you can't kiss up right , move along. A lot of politics and cliques in this place. I'd go back in a heartbeat, only after they dump these backstabbing inefficient mngrs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales/Design/Mattress Professional
SALES (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 18, 2013
Pros: potential for income is excellent
Cons: highs and lows of income make budgeting for bills challenging.
Greet customers, Bond. Visualize type of space they want to create, assist them in the selection, design and financing of their project. Create value in products offered. Managers are awesome. Part of a great team of co-workers. The hardest part of the job is the inconsistency of income. The most enjoyable is working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work that creates a lot more work.
Front Office Manager (Former Employee), Tukwila, WAAugust 12, 2013
Pros: people are great.
Cons: management don't listen.
Management positions are very hard to come by...be prepared to give your life to the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Exciting, StrongTeam Enviroment with great employee moral
Director of Sales (Former Employee), Ledgewood and Phillipsburg NJAugust 10, 2013
Pros: awesome sales team members and great support staff in customer service!
Cons: our mission and core values that once drove our business to success, were later forgotten causing employees, customers and profits to suffer
Every day was new and exciting. From new products, new employees, customer service/satisfaction, daily training.
I worked very closely with our visual designer with weekly meetings to review product selection for both locations.

I enjoyed Coaching one-on-one with each sales team member and found great pleasure in witnessing their success from a learned – more... dicipline or new sales technique. Assisting in closing sales...the employees were confident that when I got involved the sale was going to be closed today.

I was well respected by all employees for "walking the walk" and leading by example. I never sat in an office, I spent my working hours on the sales floor; observing, directing and assisting, in turn building and maintaining strong sales teams.

One of the best parts of my position was being a very sucessfully coach, trainer and leader to new and seasoned employees. Developing very confident, knowledgable, happy, successful team members, who continually learn and grow.

The hardest part of the job was spending time training and coaching someone who unfortunatly was not hired for the right position...I never enjoyed releasing an employee who cared or tried their best.

My co-workers were like family. For the most part we all got along very well, genuinely cared about one another and had alot of fun working together. The strong employee moral led to having little turn over, happy employees, two successful/profitable locations and very high customer satisfaction. – less