Find companies:
Ashley Furniture HomeStore
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
132 reviews

Ashley Furniture HomeStore Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 8, 2014
Pros: there are good benefits for the employees.
During my tenure at Ashley Furniture, I can say that I enjoyed working in the homestore because my co associates are helping me during my training. They gave me enough training needs as Customer Service Representative. I got a good starting hourly rate and would give me an increase 3 months after.

Overall, it was a great opportunity to career at Ashley – more... Furniture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with friendly staff
Delivery Driver / Warehouse (Current Employee), Grande Prairie, ABFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: little room for advancement
A typical day at work would either take place in the warehouse or delivery truck. Involves moving furniture in and out of people's homes, bedroom + office setups, and dealing with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best furniture store out there!
Sales Profesional (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, AlbertaOctober 29, 2012
Pros: training, wage and friendly environment
Cons: weekends
I have worked for a few other major furniture chains in Medicine Hat. I must say I was really surprised by what Ashley Furniture had to offer when I interviewed with them, it sounded too good to be true as the salary was 50% higher then the last place I worked. They told me I would get tons of training and they weren't kidding. I wasn't just thrown – more... on the sales floor to fail and be forgotten about. Even a couple of months after starting, the management team stayed supportive and training was on going. There was always an incentive above the regular commissions and the incentives were actually obtainable. Commissions were higher than average with no profit sharing where the company takes a portion so that was nice. Benefits were top notch as well and any reimbursement took days to get back not months. The Sales Manager was so friendly and always there to help. She really promotes a team environment and is fair with everyone no favorites. I would go back in a heart beat if I could get weekends off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best furniture store out there!
Sales Profesional (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, AlbertaOctober 29, 2012
Pros: training, wage and friendly environment
Cons: weekends
I have worked for a few other major furniture chains in Medicine Hat. I must say I was really surprised by what Ashley Furniture had to offer when I interviewed with them, it sounded too good to be true as the salary was 50% higher then the last place I worked. They told me I would get tons of training and they weren't kidding. I wasn't just thrown – more... on the sales floor to fail and be forgotten about. Even a couple of months after starting, the management team stayed supportive and training was on going. There was always an incentive above the regular commissions and the incentives were actually obtainable. Commissions were higher than average with no profit sharing where the company takes a portion so that was nice. Benefits were top notch as well and any reimbursement took days to get back not months. The Sales Manager was so friendly and always there to help. She really promotes a team environment and is fair with everyone no favorites. I would go back in a heart beat if I could get weekends off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, ABSeptember 17, 2012
Management does not follow protocol as per their policy manual which affects employees performance in a negative way. IE: weekly Performance Improvement Meetings are not done and subsequently employees are not aware of their shortcomings or accomplishments and fail to progress as expected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hard working and career oriented individual
Retail Sales Supervisor (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCJuly 10, 2012
Pros: team spirit
Cons: long hours, culture, salary/benefits, advancement
My typical day at work is an 9 hours shift with no or minimal break.
It is a great company to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for little
Delivery Agent (Former Employee), Plano, TXDecember 17, 2014
This company makes to much money to pay so little. Since majority of them are franchised locations, I'm sure each has different reviews. As for my review, working from the corporate, and traveling to different stores, this company is definitely not a great place to work if your have an active life, or want to support your family. While other furniture – more... stores such as Nebraska's, start off 11.50 p/h... AFHS starts of, depending on the department, 8-9 p/hr. BIG difference. after taxes, your making below, if not right at min. wage. They don't appreciate their employees, and show no "Thank You" to their employee for the long over worked hours and sacrifices ppl make to make sure their company is running smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Sales Consultant/Representative (Current Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 1, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: pay could be better.
Typical day at work are to come in and help guest to find the exact pieces of furniture they are looking for. I learned about all aspects of the company. I learned about the profit to margin ratio. My co-workers are great, we all work together as a team to make the job a success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Burbank, ILNovember 17, 2014
love it, everyone is nice, and productive workers. hardest part; there aren't any what so ever. This is Truly a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VIP Party displays
Administration Assistant (Former Employee), Driggs, IDNovember 17, 2014
Pros: free lunch and gas cards
Cons: short on staff
I loved learning something everyday about new products. Also fixing furniture for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good ownership and greta people
Associate Sales Manager (Current Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 14, 2014
Pros: benefits package
A lot of hours, 55+ for management, Work all weekends and Holidays, Overall, a good environment, very demanding upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and predictable daily experience!
Assistant to the Controller (Current Employee), 6312 West Broad St, Richmond VA 23230November 12, 2014
Overall, I enjoy my job. I miss being in a supervisory role, as I am the assistant to the controller, and there isn't any possibility of advancement in this position. I enjoy doing bookkeeping, and data entry, and working with numbers. I appreciate having a set of guidelines and definitive goals for my work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized, low pay job
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Paducah, KYNovember 5, 2014
Pros: paid holidays, vacation days
Cons: expensive healthcare, short handed, no option for raise or advancement
A typical day at work consists of me, being the only person managing the warehouse. There are supposed to be more than 2 people in this position but they wont hire anyone to help, therefore its all left up to me. I have learned that the bosses say they cannot afford to give raises, therefore I have been hired in for 4 years without option for one, or – more... advancement. My co-workers are very hard working, but the turnover for employees is very high, so they dont stay very long. The hardest part of the job is having to try to keep up as short handed as we are, but I always manage for the most part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
customer service (Current Employee), Holland, OHNovember 5, 2014
Ashley Furniture is a fun up beat place to work. Co-worker are always having fun and making the best of things. Management is always having contest to keep things interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very laid back work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Lexington, KYNovember 4, 2014
the work environment is very laid back, the people are cool to work with and the manager works around your schedule the best way possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT DO IT
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARNovember 2, 2014
Cons: short breaks, unstable income, working holidays and weekends, poor traffic
Required to work every weekend and holidays. No time for a personal life. Poor management. lack of communication through out the company. Poor commission structure in comparison to other companies. Co-workers would steal business and management would do nothing about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement for growth
General Manager (GM) (Current Employee), Bloomington, ILOctober 20, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: job security
Constant implement of new roles.
Good people to work with.
Discounts amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Ethics
Product specialist (Former Employee), College Station, TXOctober 15, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: extremely poor ethics
I worked for the Ashley in College Station, Tx as a product specialist. I have been in the furniture industry for over 20 years selling and designing for customers. This was by far the least ethical floor that I've ever been on. The GM has a brother on the floor selling which he gives sales to from incoming calls that no one else gets. They allow a – more... registered child ... offender to work on their floor greeting and assisting new college girls coming into the area. The floor managers are abusive and extremely unprofessional. I did work with some very professional and upstanding sales people but for the most part it's like working on a used car lot. I would never recommend anyone to go to work there. The GM has poor management skills and says discriminating things to his female employees. The pay is by far the best in town if you can put up with the disgraceful ethics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Customer Service, Lead (Former Employee), Staunton, VAOctober 15, 2014
NO ONE can be trusted. Don't stand behind what they promise or say. This applies from the very top to the bottom. Not a stable place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some good people to work with
Sales Associate (Current Employee), North Charleston, SCOctober 10, 2014
Pros: professional looking facility
Cons: confusion on everchanging policies
A set routine that has variety mixed in from time to time. I have learned that you are dependent on traffic flow and luck of the door .Management styles are different between the two general managers. Some of the co-workers are trustworthy and some are not. The hardest part of the job is the ever changing policies regarding operation. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job is getting to work with good people and customers are the number one reason we are there. – less

1 2 3 4 5