Find companies:
Ashley Furniture HomeStore
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
84 reviews

Ashley Furniture HomeStore Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and really show your talents
Merchandising Manager (Current Employee), Red Deer, ABMarch 6, 2014
A typical day at work is receiving floor product in the morning and then taking the product to the floor and decorating/ merchandising the product in a way that customers will be attracted to and purchase.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with friendly staff
Delivery Driver / Warehouse (Current Employee), Grande Prairie, ABFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: little room for advancement
A typical day at work would either take place in the warehouse or delivery truck. Involves moving furniture in and out of people's homes, bedroom + office setups, and dealing with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best furniture store out there!
Sales Profesional (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, AlbertaOctober 29, 2012
Pros: training, wage and friendly environment
Cons: weekends
I have worked for a few other major furniture chains in Medicine Hat. I must say I was really surprised by what Ashley Furniture had to offer when I interviewed with them, it sounded too good to be true as the salary was 50% higher then the last place I worked. They told me I would get tons of training and they weren't kidding. I wasn't just thrown – more... on the sales floor to fail and be forgotten about. Even a couple of months after starting, the management team stayed supportive and training was on going. There was always an incentive above the regular commissions and the incentives were actually obtainable. Commissions were higher than average with no profit sharing where the company takes a portion so that was nice. Benefits were top notch as well and any reimbursement took days to get back not months. The Sales Manager was so friendly and always there to help. She really promotes a team environment and is fair with everyone no favorites. I would go back in a heart beat if I could get weekends off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, ABSeptember 17, 2012
Management does not follow protocol as per their policy manual which affects employees performance in a negative way. IE: weekly Performance Improvement Meetings are not done and subsequently employees are not aware of their shortcomings or accomplishments and fail to progress as expected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hard working and career oriented individual
Retail Sales Supervisor (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCJuly 10, 2012
Pros: team spirit
Cons: long hours, culture, salary/benefits, advancement
My typical day at work is an 9 hours shift with no or minimal break.
It is a great company to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people- but they throw you under the bus quickly
Product Specialist (Former Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYApril 14, 2014
Pros: great co- workers
Cons: everything is blamed on the product specialist, company takes no responsibility for its short comings
wonderful co-workers but upper management just believes in hard numbers and wont accept that their furniture is overpriced-
they are too money hungry-

STORE MANAGERS only make a 30-40k base salary
which they cut in from 70k last year cuz they didnt want to pay them as much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cut-throat and fast-paced work environment
Full-time Sales Associate (Former Employee), Grapevine, TXMarch 21, 2014
I worked with a very enjoyable sales team as well office staff and warehouse personnel. I learned that I may be better suited in a more structured work environment. The "draw" payment system was probably the worst part, because management hassled you to stay busy, even if the store was empty, when there was not even enough customers coming through the – more... doors to make a decent living. Also, you got penalized (i.e. suspension) for not selling the furniture warranty, which was an additional fee, to customers who specifically turned it down. The only plus side to working there was free lunches for the staff on occasion and the ability to take lengthy breaks when necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee), Saltillo, MSMarch 19, 2014
I have only been with company about 6 months. I love my job. I started the job through a temp service and never thought I would love my job. Unfortunately they are moving all corporate locations to Memphis and I will be out of a job soon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
money hungry
Front Office Clerk (Former Employee), Humble, TXMarch 13, 2014
management doesnt care about quality control or its customers just about making money
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep Looking!!!
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Fairlawn, OHMarch 8, 2014
Pros: ashley furniture, the manufacturer, is well known in market place.
Cons: limited earning potential, and if you value honesty, respect, loyalty and appreciation, then "keep looking".
It is a revolving door atmosphere, with very little support, and below market average pay structure. This company does not have much integrity, honesty ,loyalty, or concern for their employees. Training is minimal at best, not much effort is put forth to help you succeed. And don't expect time off, or long lunch hours, you will be lucky to get more – more... than a few minutes, before you are called out on floor again to assist customers. Plan on getting lip service, they really don't care how you feel. There is no trust or transparency with management, they are only out for themselves.
After working there almost a year, I had enough, and walked away just shaking my head. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
time consuming but very enjoyable
Office Manager (Former Employee), Midland, TXFebruary 26, 2014
very time consuming, you really need to put all your time into this job. handle issues, order furniture, contact vendors, finance customers, handle cash, etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Paducah, KYFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches on saturdays
Cons: you may work thru lunch
Overall this place is a good place to work for. The Management has a great head on there shoulders and unlike most employers they listen to the employees wants and needs in and out of the company. The only thing I didn't like was the fact the older crowd seems to push out younger people in the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love taking care and pleasing the customers I come in contact with
Customer Service Representative/Office Manager (Current Employee), Lubbock, TXFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: always busy, interacting with customers
Cons: working too late
Typical day at work includes, answering phones, getting customers taken care of, ordering merchandise, taking payments, scheduling technicians to go out to customers home. Hardest part of my job is the hours, I work long hours, and sometimes don't come home until 10pm, I have 3 children at home, and I just need something more so during the day. Most – more... enjoyable part of my job is ensuring that I have made the customer's happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job if you hate yourself
sales (Former Employee), champaign ILFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: discouts
Cons: everything else
If you are looking to work here don't. I lasted a month. Not only was I the only girl on the team but all I heard all day was who the other sales people would have sex with... As in the customers! Nothing about it was professional! One person went on vacation and they took his vacation pay out of his pay check, so he paid them 400 bucks for his vacation. – more... They also messed up everyones paychecks all at once. The commission may be ok but hitting all the sales goals is next to impossible, tho everyone training you will say everyone does. The customer service desk doesn't do anything but upset the customers to the point where half you day is spent calling upset people to fix their orders.
Over all just be ready for long hours... Working all weekend and no lunch or breaks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2-way loyalty non existent, ownership out of touch.
commissioned furniture sales (Current Employee), DFW, TXFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: paid on written business rather than delivered
Cons: too many to list
No employees have anything good to say about the owners and management of this company. Retention of associates is wholly dependent on a compensation plan that pays sales associates on written rather than delivered orders. Because of this hook - especially in a slow economy - management has no incentive to invest in employee retention, loyalty, or training. – more... That is reflected in their day to day approach to managing the business: corporate managers and officers spend little or no time in their showrooms. When they do, there is no interaction with customers or sales associates. Other opinions, thoughts or suggestions are never solicited, outstanding achievements never recognized or celebrated. Weekly management meetings are an opportunity for ownership to demean and insult store managers who work without base pay.
Management of this licensee group is mired in the l970's in terms of merchandising and retailing philosophies and there is little impetus to change or adapt: the license to operate an Ashley Furniture Homestore is a license to print money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
PRODUCT SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Silverdale, WAFebruary 6, 2014
I help customers make smart buying decisions. I've learned how retail companies run and applied everything I've learned from past customer service jobs to this one. My managers were helpful in every aspect, ensuring customer satisfaction. My favorite part of this job is when a customer gets approved for financing and they really can have whatever they – more... want. The hardest part of this job is when we have an issue with delivery or customer service beyond my ability to control and resolve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
selling furniture
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Schererville, INFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: fun to see all new stuff weekly coming in on sales floor
Cons: sales quotas, base pay draw system
up system for clients coming into store, sales quotas, monitoring of sales, and records of each client report weekly to store manager.
Felt like a pushy sales person, not comfortable, but very aggressive team. Would of rather been visual merchandiser, because I was more of a Interior Designer, not pushy sales person, too creative.
Received weekly draw, – more... + commission, - draw 390.00 after sales closed delivered. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable physical work, but made less money my last year than the previous years because a bonus was removed
Warehouse/ Delivery assistant (Former Employee), Springfield, ILFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: bonus while it lasted
Cons: bonus taken away
Unload semi full trucks of furniture into the proper bins. Pull orders for next day service and customer pick ups. Arrange show room furniture. Help deliveries when needed ( but with warehouse smaller pay) More responsibilities added when we started recycling materials. I enjoyed this for the good environmental reasons, but it was much more time consuming. – more... The monthly sales bonus was removed from every hourly employee. So, I made less money while taking on more work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Customer Loyalty Assistant (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: working with customers and education
Cons: examplno respect, no room for advancement, no raises, and treated extremely unproffessionallye: short breaks, healthcare, etc.
I worked in the office. It was a horrible experience all in all. I had 3 management changes while I worked there. No one was ever on the same page and they let someone who was addicted to prescription medicine work there for almost 8 months. They expected me to do the office managers job after she left with no extra pay. I only made $9 an hour. And – more... you had to handle finance applications and contracts, not to mention 50 other tasks a day. Horrible just horrible experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discouraging place to work. Major problems with Customer care at Dist Ctr and Delivery team.
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Charlotte NC areaJanuary 10, 2014
Excellent training program at beginning. After being on the floor as a sales associate and sales manager, senior management doesn't have any control over delivery/logistics team and customer care team at Distribution Center. With that being said, customers become very dissatisfied with service and cancel their orders. When orders are cancelled, you – more... don't get paid! – less

1 2 3 4 5