Find companies:
Ashland
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
47 reviews

Ashland Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get experience here and get out
Process Operator (Current Employee), Neches, TXDecember 14, 2012
Pros: young men can come get experience and move on to better plants in area
Cons: evrything: from the culture to woking conditions
This facility has been around since the second World War. What's interesting is that it probably has the same culture and work mentality of that time. Management is very hardore, heavy handed, work conditions and environment are bad, and because of such high employee turnover, people who are left are MADE to work every off day until they say otherwise. – more... what can i say; a labor camp disguised as a workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensated well, training was mediocre, management issues
Technical Sales Representative (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNDecember 12, 2012
Checked equipment daily, did testing to ensure chemistries were at proper dosages, talked to customers about projects/goals/how we could help, management has room for improvement, and company resources stretched thin.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Terumo Cardiovascular System (Former Employee), Ashland MADecember 4, 2012
Pros: the hours were very flexible
Cons: not a very secure job
A typical day very busy since the minute you walk in into the minute you go home...I learn that it take a lot to put packages together for hospital is not easy...managemet was ok sometimes were rude but every job is like that....co-workers very nice people to work with very sensitive people....the hardest part remenber the right order of units each – more... packages take more the 20 or 30 units....the most enjoyable of this job is knowing that what you make will save someone lifes.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better.
Tech II (Former Employee), Port Neches , TexasDecember 3, 2012
Pros: decent pay and benefits
Cons: management can never seem to make a solid decision
Compensation and wages where decent. The rest was more a joke then anything else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small staff, big outcomes
GIS Coordinator (Intern) (Former Employee), Ashland, WINovember 20, 2012
This is a relatively small operation, but the results are incredible what this team does to assist local farmers and land owners.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAP Program
ICC/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 15, 2012
Pros: learning
Cons: healthcare
I learned a valuable software program SAP that would have cost me alot of out of pocket money. Instead I learned this program on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is a lot of very dedicated people.
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Dublin, OHOctober 14, 2012
Pros: people are driven to high standards
Cons: healthcare, negative atmosphere
There is a great deal of dedicated people who are not given the recognition for there hard work and dedication. There is truly a lack of team training and understanding of working together in cross functional teams to help improve processes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Legal Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Dublin, OhioSeptember 16, 2012
Pros: cafeteria on-site, wages
Cons: driving distance
Loved the people that I worked with but there wasn't enough work to keep me busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic
Business Development Director (Current Employee), Mumbai IndiaAugust 21, 2012
Pros: mnc with values
Cons: too many internal meetings, conference calls
Heritage ISP just integrated with Ashland, so its too early to say anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday life part of my life at work
Lab Technician (Current Employee), Fort Smith, ARAugust 13, 2012
Everyday at work I do my job and more if I can so I can understand and learn more about my company. I learned to test our products and solves problems that occurs dealing with our customers. Almost everyday I hear about how bad production employees do their jobs and how poor management do to deal with the situations. The hardest part of my job is making – more... ads to fix our products to get it in our meeting spec to fit costumers needs because I go through many products that uses math formulas and computer software to correct the products which everything is more of a guessing game. Making one wrong ads will cause one product to fry so my job is on the line of getting fire. The most enjoyable part of my job is I going to work early in the morning and get to go home at 1:30pm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid work environment with plenty of opportunity.
Building Maintenance Operator (Former Employee), Russell, KYAugust 11, 2012
Pros: good, professional work environment that encouraged growth and awarded service.
I held three different jobs while at Ashland. Each one was good work that provided a solid growth atmosphere, with the opportunity to learn new skills. The final work place, where I was at the longest, offered a wide range of skills, from receiving service calls, to monitoring HVAC and security systems, to data base programming to name just a few. Management – more... treated their staff well, offered clearly defined responsibilities, and was very good at recognizing those who went over and above those responsibilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh...
N/A (Former Employee), Southwest United StatesJuly 8, 2012
Some of the reviews for Ashland are quite good, but it all depends on what site you are working at. A day at one manufacturing site or corporate location may be very different from another one. My experience was less that great and many people who were looking to advance their careers came, got experience, and headed elsewhere. The benefits aren't very – more... good and work life balance all depends on who you work for and what your job entails. Some people work 40 hours even, while others may work 60 + hours and be on call. The stress level can be zip or to the point where you are ready to pull your hair out. Raises were quite scarce and culture is entirely based on where you are located. There are many great people who work for this company, but there are also individuals who bring the moral down to the gutters. I wouldn't say its bad, but by no means would I go back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits...
Service Center Manager (Former Employee), Lexington, KYJuly 5, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: upper management ethics
I prefer not to say anything poor about working for the company that took care of my family for nearly a decade, but I wouldn't recommend this company to someone seeking long term stability if they were looking for an ethical company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all good place to work
Senior driver (Former Employee), miami,flJuly 5, 2012
good place to work treated fairly, tanker and package del. mainly south and central fl.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
loader (Former Employee), TAMPA FLJune 20, 2012
Pros: great place to work
Cons: shakey market for product being sold
day at work is laid back steady work co workers where great to work with hardest part of the job was leaving
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
CHEMICAL OPERATOR / MATERIALHANDLER (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 23, 2012
Worked at a fast safe pace to get production needs done. Learned how to work with extremely hazardous chemicals on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place.
Senior Business Support Assistant (Former Employee), Totowa, NJApril 26, 2012
Pros: great bosses, great employees, great location, great benefits.
Cons: they closed.
I loved working for Ashland. The managers were firm but fair and the employees were great. I don't have enough good things to say about them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rev.
n/a (Current Employee), OhioApril 6, 2012
First off all of the previous reviews are done by people who have been with the company for several years. If you are looking for a job, Ashland is the place if you are NOT expecting career advancement. YES, you heard me. There is not such thing as career advancement opportinities unless you are friends with the hiring manager. It does not matter if – more... you have better qualifications, if you do not have friends with someone important, forget about advancing here. Opportunities are given based on friendship and not on really qualifications. YES, they treat you well if you stay at the bottom of the food chain. Teams are usually formed by 1 manager, 1 supervisor, and 5 – 10 account specialists. Out of those 5 – 10 individuals, 10% actually do their job. Finally, if you have a family, and you are looking for a job with good benefits, do yourself a favor and look somewhere else. Family deductibles start at $ 2,500 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sr. Paralegal at Ashland (Former Employee), Lexington, KYMarch 26, 2012
Cons: healthcare coverage not the best.
I worked for Ashland for almost 20 years, the first 8 specializing in Trademarks. It is a great job, working for a great boss, and whoever gets this position will be very happy. Your internal clients are the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ashland is a good company to work for.
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Dublin, OHMarch 16, 2012
Pros: constant changes
Cons: consistant change
Ashland is a good company to work for, there are a lot of good opportunities to expand your career.