Find companies:
Ashford University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
268 reviews

Ashford University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible scheduling
Full time Student (Former Employee), No "job", a full time studentJuly 5, 2014
Pros: semi flexible schedule
Cons: little interaction with instructor and fellow students
Must be self disciplined to enjoy and thrive in this type of scholastic environment. Those who are socially dependent may not do so well with the isolation of learning alone. If you can discipline yourself then this is an excellent venue to avoid bad weather, gigantic, crowded parking lots and teenagers sitting next to you checking their cell phones – more... and smacking their gum. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met great people considering the environment
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 26, 2014
Pros: good people, good benefits, company gym
Cons: horrible environment, treatment, culture, and job
Worst job ever! Do not do it to yourself, it's not worth it.

They lie to you about work duties and expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Clinton, IAJune 15, 2014
Being a resident assistant doesn't have a "typical" day at work. There is a training period of two weeks before the school year and then there are only a few nights a month where we actually had duty shifts. Being an RA I learned a lot about people and how to deal with different kinds of situations. The management was incredibly unorganized and rarely – more... had a set plan. They didn't communicate with us and oftentimes left us unaware of what was going on. The coworkers were great most of the time, but since there are different buildings it's hard to have a close relationship with everyone. The hardest part about being an RA was that you have to put your job before your friends. If one of the residents does something wrong, you have to report it no matter what your relationship is with them. The most enjoyable part is making a different in the lives of your residents and knowing you were there for them when they needed it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work. I love it.
Faculty Associate (Current Employee), Clinton, IAJune 14, 2014
Pros: great place
Cons: no cons.
Great place to work. I love the school and my job. The administration is great and they treat the teachers with great respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent university to work at for online teaching
Associate Faculty (Online) (Current Employee), Clinton, IAJune 14, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job is helping students to gain new perspectives on course topics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits in exchange for disrespect & poor management
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 10, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: zero job security
I was an admission counselor there. A typical day included Identifying and Qualify Prospective Students , Maximize opportunity to qualify prospective students regarding the admissions process & program offerings,Schedule and conduct admissions interviews, Providing Student Progression/Servicing Existing Students/Administrative Time, and most importantly – more... hitting quotas. This is a good temporary job for people needing to get there foot in the door with recruiting or hr and HAVE LOTS OF SALES EXPERIENCE and HIGH TOLERANCE FOR STRESS. I would not advise this position as a permanent career choice due to lack of job security. Their motto is here today, gone tomorrow. Recently they just let go of over 200 people and this is a consistent thing. Management there is awful and I think that is simply because there are no universal rules and you are moved around a lot within the same department and the department is broken up into teams and several managers. Everyone has different rules and ways of doing things. Some managers are nice and helpful and some are disrespectful bullies who are constantly using fear of losing your job to hit quotas. Which even though you sign a contract in the beginning agreeing to get 4 students a months, the management/University will increase it on you randomly without notice and if you can hit the numbers then you get wrote up and even fired. Which hurts because in reality they often hired people who were from backgrounds of ex nurses, teachers, manager, supervisors, bank tellers, and overall people with little to no experience with sales or quotas. The best part about the job was great benefits, and awesome co-workers. I had a great team of co-workers excluding management of course lol that made coming to work easier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place for entry level
Financial Services Advisor (Current Employee), Clinton, IowaMay 31, 2014
• Invoicing to students of financial situations
• Hold students accountable for payments due on accounts
• Process federal documents to liaison to have Department of Education
• Submit work to work weekly to be reviewed to supervisor after working independently on a deadline
• Strong customer service skills for inbound and outbound call system and coordination
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!!!!
Academic Counselor (Current Employee), San DiegoMay 28, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: no job security, inconsistencies, high pressure sales environment, management
If you value your career, sanity, and integrity. ..I would suggest looking elsewhere for a paycheck. They hire hundreds of people only to fire them months later. And then repeat the cycle all over again. Every day you are waiting for a tap on the shoulder to be fired and then walked out. You are not even allowed to go to your desk to collect your personal – more... belongings. And the kicker. ...they just leave your stuff on your desk for months. ..until they rearrange seating again. Bottom line...they don't care about their employees!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your co-workers
University Advsior (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMay 23, 2014
Pros: salary, benefits, co-workers and hours of work
Cons: job security, limited resources to be successful
Large variety of diverse co-workers with a lot of experience and success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Admissions counselor (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMay 21, 2014
organized company and dedicated employees
competent management staff
nice coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work ethics
Lead Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Denver, CoMay 12, 2014
Pros: free ecopass
Cons: everything besides the pay and ecopass
This company hires and fires without thought. I was part of a hiring group of 100. I worked there for 6 months and within the time I worked there, staff when from 800 to 87 in admissions counselors. The for profit model is all about sales, and is not about the students. I quit and found my integrity again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 9, 2014
They love to mass hirer and then do a mass lay off! They say the have a college in another state but that college was bankrupt and they only use it as a selling point. They lie so much to their employees on an every day bases! I wouldn't waste your time. Btw all your job is to convince poor people to go to college. take their money but them in debt – more... and then forget about them after their first class. they claim the really care about the students, but its all lies its something they use to make you feel better about what your doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working for company
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 8, 2014
-A typical day at work-very busy and productive

-What you learned-overcoming objections, training to help learn my position, learn from coaching

-Management-great managers that were very helpful and cared about their employers

-Your co-workers-helpful at times- working with co-worker was like being around family

-The hardest part of the job-going – more... a whole day without talking to any students;however that was rare.

-The most enjoyable part of the job-Enjoy the outcome of procrastinating students that become future graduates. As an advisor, it makes me feel humble to hear students thank me for helping them see that they can accomplish anything; they just needed a little push.helping students finish their first two introductory classes and they can reach out to me for help until graduation. feeling like my students were my kids. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, love helping people achieve their educational goals.
Admissions Counselor (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMay 5, 2014
I really enjoy working here. I love talking to prospective students and helping them achieve their goals of continuing their education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call it what it is - a sales job
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Denver, COApril 29, 2014
Pros: fellow employees
Cons: management, and their mentality
I worked at Ashford University for 2.5 months in 2012. I was part of a 350 person layoff from this school. They might say they care, but they only care about their bottom line and not the students. If you care about yourself or students, don't work here!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free Master's/BA degree
Student Advisor (Current Employee), Denver, COApril 28, 2014
Pros: free degrees, goos tarining
Cons: micro management, substandard bosses, favoritism, no job security
There is no job security at this place. Pay is twice a month rather than every to weeks. Students and staff are treated as numbers rather than people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Online university
Academic Advisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 17, 2014
Pros: coworkers, hours, management was so helpful
Cons: the company structure, the student's learning platform
I learned a lot in this job about people and how to help them. I counseled students in various degree programs with various backgrounds. I loved to coach on their paths and schooling and enjoyed the team environment we worked in. The company itself was disorganized as it grew too quickly and hired too many and was not able to keep pace with the influx, – more... causing many to lose sight of the end goal (both employees and students) and the students ultimately suffered from the lack of attention we were able to provide. We simply had too many students. I learned I am a great thinker at this job and always trying to make things easier and improve systems. I won our monthly award for Innovation in October and that was validation to me that I was great at that job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging position
Admissions Counselor (Current Employee), San Diego, CAApril 16, 2014
This job can be the hardest job of your life but also one of the most rewarding. You are the key to your success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to study
Student (Former Employee), Clinton, IAApril 14, 2014
Challenging Technology program for teachers and for those looking to enter the regular worlforce
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University for busy adults
Homemaker (Current Employee), Granite City,ILApril 7, 2014
Excellent staff to help support working/busy adults return to school.

1 2 3 4 5

About Ashford University

You can help people change their lives when they choose to pursue higher education and earn a degree from Ashford University. – Read more