Find companies:
Ashford University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
280 reviews

Ashford University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Online
Associate Faculty (Current Employee), OnlineOctober 8, 2014
I like Ashford, they really do not hassle you if you do what is required. They have students who want to learn and are efficiently run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cold calling prospective students
Lead Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Denver ColoardoOctober 1, 2014
talking prospective students into getting their bachelor's degree
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and innovative environment
Student Records Manager (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: change for the better
Cons: budgetary restrictions
I love my current role. I manage up to 9 people and have the opportunity to help them grow and advance. I work with my team to evaluate current process and update to be more efficient and provide better customer service. Every day is a challenge and full of excitement in a culture of change and innovation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Activities Representative
Military Student Advisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 29, 2014
Planned and organized events for students, staff, faculty, and community for Alliant International University from 2003 to 2007.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Enrollment Advisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 22, 2014
This company had a similar feel to what a cattle call must be like. The management team could care less about it's employees and uses them to harass potential students. When you are brought on as an enrollment advisor you are told you will be "changing peoples lives" when you are in face destroying many of them. They target the poorest areas of the – more... U.S and ask students to sign up for student loans they may never be able to pay back. They are told to sign up for degree programs that will never hold up when applying for jobs or trying to transfer to other colleges.

Simply google this company and you can see what a scam it really is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A daily grind
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: stable competitive pay, free tuition at the university while you are employed there
Cons: no job stability, very little transparency
The admissions counselor role at Ashford University is very sales oriented. You aren't actually selling anything, but ALL of the same methods, tactics, and metrics are implemented as are in a typical sales office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, poor management, THIS IS A SALES JOB
Admissions Counselor (Current Employee), Kearny MesaSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: money, work environment, location
Cons: sales job, high pressure, business practices
CONS - Don't let them fool you, this is first and foremost a SALES job, a high pressure sales job with numbers playing God. If you are the type of person who likes to help people for the sake of helping them, this is probably not for you. High enrollers are favored by everyone. Retention of students at this school is terrible because people are selling – more... people on education that they really don't need, don't want or are not fit to take on, so they get through one or two classes and drop out, and end up owing the government money. This is because numbers are the only thing that matter to the higher-ups, starting with Admissions Managers going all the way up to Bill Ness and beyond.

HOWEVER, there are some students who benefit greatly from online schooling and Ashford IS one of the best and most affordable of the online universitites. I am not a high enroller, but I retain students. That is because I only enroll people who WANT and NEED to go to school and are ready to take it on. I don't feel comfortable selling and pushing people into it. Because of that, I am generally treated poorly by my manager and director.

My manager is very arrogant, there's a lot of drama within the company, a lot of turnover. Your job is NOT secure here if you work in Admissions. Also, my manager and director tend to talk smack about their employees and/or fellow managers which I find extremely disrespectful.

Another con is that everything is HIGHLY regulated and monitored. Forget about freedom, it doesn't exist here. You are basically working for Big Brother. Your calls are monitored for quality assurance and compliance, this I understand. However you can't do ANYTHING here without getting corrective action. Including checking your cell phone, checking your personal e-mail, not outbound dialing for more than 5-10 minutes at a time and so on. Your breaks and lunch periods are structured and you can rarely veer from that structure even though they tell you you can. You HAVE to take your breaks at the same time everyone else is unless you come in earlier that day

If you don't enroll someone for a week or you fail to get a transcript request page you will basically be hazed. They think of it as a form of motivation but it's purely negative.

PROS: I may have just landed an arrogant jerk of a manager, some people in Admissions have more freedom and positive reinforcement than I do and they have a less stressful day/week/month at work. However, this doesn't mean their job is more secure. If they don't hit their numbers, they will eventually be fired. They are hiring a lot of new people right now who will replace the people getting laid off, and in 6 more months those being hired now will be fired, too to make room for more new hires.

The work environment minus the managers and regulation is generally upbeat and light. There's a great team culture. The people you got hired with you tend to make strong bonds with. I made great friends at Ashford. I've also gotten a lot of great experience and coaching that I hope to turn around and use at a real university one day.

Another pro is that there is a cafeteria (although overpriced) and a coffee stand at the location in Kearny Mesa. Food trucks come sometimes as well.

The building is a nice place to work.

Pro #1 is that the salaray is good. For an entry-level position for people who just graduated last year like myself, this is great money. You get good benefits as well. It will be hard to beat this salary without getting a Master's degree. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people you work with are the best!
student/enrollment advisor (Former Employee), san diegoSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: good benefits and vacation time
Cons: unorganized management at times
The people are the best part about working there. Very positive job environment for the most part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Military Student Advisor (Current Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 21, 2014
Pros: working with students, co workers, room for growth within the company
Cons: occassionally, we would encounter an an irate student, but these were opportunities to grow professionally
Ashford University really is a great place to work! I was able, on a daily basis, to speak with students whoo were pursuing and getting closer and closer to earning a degree. The best part was many of these students were coming back to school after 10+ years off and I had the privilege of being here to help. I learned the skill of working with a team, – more... managing more than 100 students, and how to encourage my students to not give up, even when things were hard. All in all, a really good place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Financial Services Lead (Current Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 21, 2014
work is study, a lot of changes right now. Management is made up of some intelligent individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Environment with opportunities for growth
Admissions Counselor and Admissions Manager (Former Employee), Clinton, IAAugust 15, 2014
Responsible for student recruitment, retention and advisement for the online programs in a call center setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Vision
Director, Business Development (Current Employee), RemoteJuly 18, 2014
Great vision to support America's working class and provide opportunities through higher education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible scheduling
Full time Student (Former Employee), No "job", a full time studentJuly 5, 2014
Pros: semi flexible schedule
Cons: little interaction with instructor and fellow students
Must be self disciplined to enjoy and thrive in this type of scholastic environment. Those who are socially dependent may not do so well with the isolation of learning alone. If you can discipline yourself then this is an excellent venue to avoid bad weather, gigantic, crowded parking lots and teenagers sitting next to you checking their cell phones – more... and smacking their gum. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met great people considering the environment
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 26, 2014
Pros: good people, good benefits, company gym
Cons: horrible environment, treatment, culture, and job
Worst job ever! Do not do it to yourself, it's not worth it.

They lie to you about work duties and expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Clinton, IAJune 15, 2014
Being a resident assistant doesn't have a "typical" day at work. There is a training period of two weeks before the school year and then there are only a few nights a month where we actually had duty shifts. Being an RA I learned a lot about people and how to deal with different kinds of situations. The management was incredibly unorganized and rarely – more... had a set plan. They didn't communicate with us and oftentimes left us unaware of what was going on. The coworkers were great most of the time, but since there are different buildings it's hard to have a close relationship with everyone. The hardest part about being an RA was that you have to put your job before your friends. If one of the residents does something wrong, you have to report it no matter what your relationship is with them. The most enjoyable part is making a different in the lives of your residents and knowing you were there for them when they needed it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work. I love it.
Faculty Associate (Current Employee), Clinton, IAJune 14, 2014
Pros: great place
Cons: no cons.
Great place to work. I love the school and my job. The administration is great and they treat the teachers with great respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent university to work at for online teaching
Associate Faculty (Online) (Current Employee), Clinton, IAJune 14, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job is helping students to gain new perspectives on course topics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits in exchange for disrespect & poor management
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 10, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: zero job security
I was an admission counselor there. A typical day included Identifying and Qualify Prospective Students , Maximize opportunity to qualify prospective students regarding the admissions process & program offerings,Schedule and conduct admissions interviews, Providing Student Progression/Servicing Existing Students/Administrative Time, and most importantly – more... hitting quotas. This is a good temporary job for people needing to get there foot in the door with recruiting or hr and HAVE LOTS OF SALES EXPERIENCE and HIGH TOLERANCE FOR STRESS. I would not advise this position as a permanent career choice due to lack of job security. Their motto is here today, gone tomorrow. Recently they just let go of over 200 people and this is a consistent thing. Management there is awful and I think that is simply because there are no universal rules and you are moved around a lot within the same department and the department is broken up into teams and several managers. Everyone has different rules and ways of doing things. Some managers are nice and helpful and some are disrespectful bullies who are constantly using fear of losing your job to hit quotas. Which even though you sign a contract in the beginning agreeing to get 4 students a months, the management/University will increase it on you randomly without notice and if you can hit the numbers then you get wrote up and even fired. Which hurts because in reality they often hired people who were from backgrounds of ex nurses, teachers, manager, supervisors, bank tellers, and overall people with little to no experience with sales or quotas. The best part about the job was great benefits, and awesome co-workers. I had a great team of co-workers excluding management of course lol that made coming to work easier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place for entry level
Financial Services Advisor (Current Employee), Clinton, IowaMay 31, 2014
• Invoicing to students of financial situations
• Hold students accountable for payments due on accounts
• Process federal documents to liaison to have Department of Education
• Submit work to work weekly to be reviewed to supervisor after working independently on a deadline
• Strong customer service skills for inbound and outbound call system and coordination
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!!!!
Academic Counselor (Current Employee), San DiegoMay 28, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: no job security, inconsistencies, high pressure sales environment, management
If you value your career, sanity, and integrity. ..I would suggest looking elsewhere for a paycheck. They hire hundreds of people only to fire them months later. And then repeat the cycle all over again. Every day you are waiting for a tap on the shoulder to be fired and then walked out. You are not even allowed to go to your desk to collect your personal – more... belongings. And the kicker. ...they just leave your stuff on your desk for months. ..until they rearrange seating again. Bottom line...they don't care about their employees!!! – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Ashford University

You can help people change their lives when they choose to pursue higher education and earn a degree from Ashford University. – Read more