Art Gallery of Ontario Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people very helpful and fair
protection service officer (Former Employee) –  galleries19 August 2016
great experience with good people who have your back and go out of their way to make sure you are good and help where its needed.

always looked forward to going into work great atmosphere !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and creative workplace
Counsellor in Training (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 July 2016
Greeted and connected with children ·
·Assisted camp instructors with activities
Assisted in cultivating an artistic and imaginative environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and Enjoyable place to work at.
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 June 2016
Working at the AGO is a great and valuable experience. My favourite part of the job is the fact that I get to work in such a creative and exciting place. My co-workers and I make a great team.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful collection. Arrogant rude managers.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 March 2016
HR disaster!
Very disorganized. Lots of firing and quitting. This may have been due to the lack of a director for several years...?
Staff was extremely cliquish and non inclusive.
Micro management control styles.
Pros
Fantastic Art
Cons
Filthy staff room
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
SECURITY GUARD (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario19 October 2015
Writing reports, dealing with customer concerns. Long days and no weekends off with late starts. Great staff from all departments as well.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Poor treatment of security staff from customers and management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Productive
Emily Carr Live Comic Event (Former Employee) –  Art Gallery of Ontario5 June 2015
Live comic drawing event based on Emily Carr's painting and personal Life, in amazing place, AGO, with young and talented artists from Independent Illustration program from Seneca College.
The hardest part was the time management to finish the illustrations in the good level of skills.
The most enjoyable part of this project for me was illustrating some aspects and events of a real amazing artist with using references from her life and aboriginal arts.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun& Tiring AGO Volunteering
Vollunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 May 2015
Volunteering at the AGO was a rewarding experience, where I was giving a good amount of responsibility, yet the management was very well structured and I never felt over whelmed. I came in for 7:45 am, set up for the children, and then entertained them at they arrived with card games and hand games. I assisted the art teacher in teaching the group, as well as with set up and clean up. I created games to do with the children during break periods, and I had my own private lunch break. My day ended at 5:30pm. The hardest part of the job was maintaining a very strong enthusiasm and optimism at all times when it was such a long day, and the best part was seeing a positive impact I made on the kids.
Pros
Well organized, working with children
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 April 2015
Do activities with the kids for nearly an hour
take them to their art lessons
lunch/games
art lessons
free time where organized games/activities are played
home

it would change throughout the week such as theme days and camp wide activities pre planned.

I've learned a lot about art, new things to try, new games, new ways of handling situations.

management is very nice and understanding although will speak to you if you do mess up/step out of line.

co-workers are hard working and extremely fun

hardest job is thinking of activities or games when you've run out of ideas but volunteers with you and kids will always have games ready.

most enjoyable are the kids, the art lessons and the co workers
Pros
free pizza lunch on the friday on march break
Cons
early mornings = long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and to be around famous artwork
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  toronto, on7 March 2014
Working in retail sales, excellent co-workers, workload was manageable. Customers were friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unionized, wonderful working environment
Barista and Café Server (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 October 2013
• Knowledge of exhibits and artists currently being promoted at the gallery
• Knowledge of the gallery and its architectural history
Pros
part of a union
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall great place to work
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  toronto7 September 2012
work is rather easy, but it is a great place to work and the patrons are different
Pros
the pay is exellent
Cons
it can be a little boring
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Meet and Greet Services (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 April 2012
I enjoyed my time there.
I could walk around the gallery while I was there.
I worked with some great people.
Pros
free schedule, anytime i could come in
Cons
conflict with new job schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.1
Culture
4.5

Art Gallery of Ontario Reviews by Location