Aroma Espresso Bar Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place horrible management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, O,19 November 2017
Two managers. One manager is okay the other is horrible. Constantly blamed for others mistakes and never properly warned or spoken to about any personal issues. However it is discussed with other employees who have no business in the matter. There is also extreme favouritism when it comes to shifts and treatment of the employees.
Pros
50% off
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employee morale, lacking structure and management.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 October 2017
Typical days are relatively simple as long as everyone does their job. Requires the ability to multitask and clean as you go. I gained some kitchen experience and learned to work relatively autonomously. Management needs improvement,
Pros
Enjoyable team
Cons
Lack of guidance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insanely busy and horrible management
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON20 August 2017
Typical day was always busy, management was never understanding or helpful. I received no training and had to stay hours after my shift was supposed to be over.
Pros
half off cold drinks
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team was amazing
Franchise Owner/ General Manager (Former Employee) –  Leaside, ON8 August 2017
The corporate head office was unclear and still in beginning stages in marketing strategies and helping franchisees to understand clearly what they wanted. I learned a lot about self management and working as a team, as well as training my employees and becoming a responsible and reliable team lead.

The hardest part about the job was communicating to corporate head office as they were usually unavailable and uninterested after our one month franchisee training was over.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work experience in a fun environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 July 2017
Aroma espresso was a great company to work for. After training I felt like part of a family and I enjoyed the customers. Their espresso based drinks were excellent and I loved their coffee college. I also loved their food programs, which brought alot of Isreali elements to Canada that were both tasty and brand new.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Barista, Cashier, and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 July 2017
Learned a lot of new skills consisting of time management and leadership. Fun place to work at because of the relaxed working environment. A lot of nice customers as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good teamwork and be responsibility
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 May 2017
Every one tried best to build a good team work and learned most of part really quickly. Also our manager provided wonderful workplace to us that let me work with happiness everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to be and gain experience
Front Supervisor (Current Employee) –  8 Park Home Avenue.19 May 2017
good job , but not for a long run for young people.
i enjoy talking with different types of professional people. they are all nice and mature enough to know what is happening around aroma, and if ever they dont they would assume inocence.
Pros
customers are all nice.... literally.
Cons
many task to be done
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but not productive
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 May 2017
Fun workplace but not productive. Having to interact with people you see almost everyday is fun. The respect we give to each other is something I value and admire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 May 2017
I learned customer relation and employees problems from here.
the hardest part of the job is problem solving which I found as a great task and helped me a lot to improve my personality and my experience.
Pros
free lunch and friendly collegues
Cons
more work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, staff is very friendly, the job is average
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON12 April 2017
a typical day is to get up go to the shop, clean the tables, mirrors garbages and wash the dishes constantly. The job is very tiring, all day you pick up plates bring them into the kitchen load and unload. As well the amount of cleaning I have to do is a huge amount of the work day, but working along the staff they cheer you up and motivate you to help you work all day
Pros
Free lunches and snacks
Cons
Long tiring hours of cleaning and washing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a good company just bad managenent
Chef (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 April 2017
Lack of professionalism and power trips
Good idea just bad people .be prepared to be ordered like a slave to push orders out under 7 min's. .the forest hill village location hired new comers and took advantage of the lack of experience and not knowing how Canada operates ....the fact the don't wash the food and the pastries are frozen the place is a joke ! If you have experience in a kitchen do not bother here .
Pros
The area
Cons
Management, hiring immigrants, power trips, not washing food, no experience, no kitchen mangenrnt a high turnover rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job and the people I worked with!
Barista and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON26 March 2017
I worked for Aroma Espresso Bar for 2 years and throughout my experience working there I can confidently say I loved the job and the people I worked with. I loved what aroma stood for as they included a variety of options keen to every type of person - even those whom are vegan, gluten-intolerant, or need a fresh and quickly made kosher meal. Overall, great experience!
Pros
Great co-workers, great healthy food choices, great coffee
Cons
The occasional split shift or delayed breaks due to busy-ness.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standing on feet long hours
Barista/Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 March 2017
take customer orders and prepare orders in timely manner
ensure the environment is clear and tidy
Follow all health and safety regulations in accordance to Aroma;s policies
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Workplace with no room for growing
Supervisor/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 March 2017
Work at Aroma only if you are a student looking to make some quick cash. Might as well work at Starbucks, better benefits. The management is okay, flexible and will understand if you have to take a day off to go to school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive work place
Barista (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 March 2017
aroma is a great place for anyone who is looking for a simple work place prime locations fun environment with a good support system so you can excel an do a good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment with a very good staff and management team
Barista, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 February 2017
Very enjoyable working environment with a great team of staff and management alike. Everyone worked as a unit while the management team tried to be as accommodating as they could.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly work environment with good teamwork
Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 January 2017
The camaraderie built up in this work environment, as well as the rapport between coworkers was the most enjoyable aspect of working at this particular location of Aroma Espresso Bar.

The challenges lay in working mostly independently during the evening hours due to slower customer turn over; requiring double the work load in order to manage and close the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Start as First Job
Kitchen Help and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 January 2017
Started as kitchen worker and learned dispatch and barista.
Sometimes gets too busy and not have enough staff.

Easily applied, during interview asked why you want to work in food industry and few questions about background.

Paid training
Pros
Learn different positions
Cons
Staying over time and do not always get paid for it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Effective Workplace
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2017
- Management was the best

- Most enjoyable part of the job was that we all had fun doing it

- Learned important management skills through experiencing it myself

- Manager gave me some managerial responsibilities
Pros
Fun
Cons
Hard Work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aroma Espresso Bar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.1
Culture
3.7