Armtec Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had almost 11 good years here
Senior Mechanical Draftsman (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON8 March 2017
I worked with some great people here. The company CEO is a very personable man. He can be spoken to at any time about any issue. The office manager is worth her weight in gold.
Pros
Excellent office manager
Cons
No place is perfect
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Iron worker Lead Hand/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary3 February 2017
Being a union run shop though the iron workers 805 local. They offer Good money for hard work. Good people and great management. Fast paced enviorment with oppurnity to learn different trades.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced work environment with positive attitude
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON21 January 2017
Slow paced work with not a lot of demand. It feels very similar to what a normal factory occupation feels like. Hardest part was staying awake to be a safety set of eyes for another employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get to build alot of cool pieces of infrastructure.
Rebar Bender / Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 January 2017
Great people to work with!
Lots of overtime and a never ending amount of work.
The pension is great if your are working within the union, they negotiated quite the pension which is close to five dollars an hour.

The work is long hours, but overtime is paid. Some classifications will get more overtime as it is the process of the job. The hours are always determined on the aspect of until the job is finished.

Lots of dangerous equipment so you will need to be very safety cautious when walking on the floor.
Pros
Great Pension with Union
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work. awesome people
quality control / lead hand (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC7 November 2016
best place I ever worked everyone was great. the manager was always there for anything we needed. he always has an open mind to everyone's ideas. wish they didn't close that plant
Pros
great people, awesome manager
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and cool
Precast labourer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 October 2016
Working at Armtec was a good and fun learning job I did and working with family was good and fun. Learned how to set up rebar into forms and make and take apart forms too.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
Yard person (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 September 2016
All around good place to work
management was OK
co-workers were great. We were all very team orientated
no real hard part of the day
I enjoyed going to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont care about safety
General labourer, Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC20 May 2016
poor communication, unsafe work environment, they expect over time every day and complain when you dont want to work. they make you work vdery hard and dont pay vey well
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Mitchell, ON9 December 2015
Made soundwalls for the side of highways all over the world. I was always willing to learn something new. But unfortinly I was temperary Laidoff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
racism
qc qa (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 October 2015
I found that armtec in calgary was the worst place i,ve ever seen if you didnt get along with all the immigrants or they didnt like you for whatever reason they might have,they would complain or make false accusations to your supervisor ,then you would be fired ,I saw this happen at least five times over a 3 month period.someone told me that whoever makes the accusation first wins,
Pros
none
Cons
10 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
early start early finish good crew
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC21 October 2015
I started at 5 in the morning till one thirty in the afternoon Enjoyed working at armtec and was very disappointed when I was laid off . I worked hard and maintained a good attitude while working there
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meetings and measurement
PLANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, Ontario3 October 2015
Running a plant with up to 150 unionized employees meant I was constantly involved in meetings to review or report data. I had the opportunity to work with some excellent people who made a strong team. The hardest part of this role for me was dealing with elements of the collective agreement. The best part was seeing product roll out of the plant.
Pros
Interesting industry
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hours without to many weekends
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Mitchell, ON6 August 2015
Many Health and safety violations along with many other violations. Worker's rights take a back seat to managment's favoured employies. Not a place to work for anyone with respotorie problems as it is extermely dusty.
Pros
N/A
Cons
Many Health and Saftey Violations
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph6 August 2015
great bunch of people to work there! Also enjoyed the work/life balance and company culture.

Too bad the company has been sold.
Pros
company culture
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst 9 years of my life
jack of all trades (Former Employee) –  mitchell , ontario23 February 2015
worked there 9 years the people were great to work with the work wasn't bat it was mind numbing at times but its the type of place were if you like to kiss ace its perfect for you you will have no problem moving up
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with a good staff around
Draftsman (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 January 2015
Flexible time schedule, possibility to learn new think specially in project management. A good collaboration with colleagues.
Looking for better benefits. Based on experience and knowledge I can give suggestion and they will take into consideration.
Coordination between engineer and production meeting criteria of what production want and Engineer approval.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great precast company to work for
Draftsperson (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 January 2015
Armtec is a great precast company to work for. It offers great opportunities for for learning and moving forward. They have taken on some really big projects recently and have many more lined up!
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HAHAH
Industrial Painter (Former Employee) –  Mitchell, ON13 November 2014
the typical day at work was really unorganized i liked most the people i work with thats the only part i will miss about the place i find the hardest part of my job there was dealing with all the kissing up people have to in order to be liked . they also let some people away with thing while others are penalized for .. they have just up the wages as its hard to keep people there .. its a real dirty work place and smells bad my lungs are going to thank me now that im outta there...i also feel most of the office people there did not even know my name and i worked there for 4 years .. i value the skills they have provided to me . i dont really have anythnig nice to say about the place and there to bad to be written down ...........


ARMTEC YOU NEED TO GET A UNION
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work, friendly helpful coworkers and supervisors
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, ON4 August 2014
A typical day at work includes:
Receiving shipments through the computer program SAP
Maintaining archives of all sections of the plant
Track shipments of product both outbound and inbound
Answering phone calls/e-mails and greeting visitors
Making decisions under pressure as issues arise
I learned quite a bit due to the fact that I had never worked in this field before.
The management was very kind and very helpful, they made me feel like an equal.
Hardest part of the job was if I had finished all my work early I was left with nothing to do.
The most enjoyable part of the job was being treated as an equal even though I was a temporary worker.
Pros
Free coffee, nice clean environment, air conditioning, very nice people
Cons
Nothing other than if they did not have enough work for me to keep busy all day
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking for work
Welder/Fabricator/Fitter (Former Employee) –  Redwater, AB21 March 2014
It is hard sometimes to find work Armtec had closed there doors unexpectedly
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3