Find companies:
Ardene
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
72 reviews

Ardene Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small, and very unorganized.
Part-time sales associate (Former Employee), Oakville, ONFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: first job
Cons: unorganized
I was taught to pierce ears and put away stock. Properly package stock to ship out, and counting the till and depositing money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing co-worker, fun place to work at.
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: great first job experience
Cons: hours (part-time shift work)
Great place to start working/first job. Not the best work hours as it is part time shift work that is constantly changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Third Key Holder (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: working with the public
Cons: the pay rate compared to the amount of work
Working at Ardene was a typical retail job. I had various responsibilities such as opening and closing the store, delegating tasks to employees and making sure employees followed store policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, exiting work environment with busy atmosphere
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: meeting lots of knew people
Cons: no raises
What I like most about this company is that they promote internally rather than external so there is always room to advance. The hardest part of the job is to not have too much fun. It is easy to grow close to your fellow employees and being the fun, bubbly person I am I have to always be professional. It is okay to have fun once in a while but i keep – more... a balance. A daily work day includes putting out a fresh delivery of stock to keep the sales floor fully stocked as well as maintaining 100% customer service to our customers. Some days are hard but I really do enjoy the challenge. I work quite well in a busy environment and don't seem to get overwhelmed very easy. The most enjoyable part of the job is that the store being as busy as it is, I meet a lot of intersting customers. I love talking with people and get to know them as "people" rather than just "customers" and they are pleased when they return to the store that I remember them. This makes my day a lot brighter because I know my customer service is a success when they smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management team.
sales associate (Former Employee), 429- Danforth, TorontoFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: not hard
Cons: boring, poor management styles
Poorly trained so they themselves cannot train other's well. Horrible at communication with customers and staff. I had an extremely rude and condescending manager so RUN from Ardene @ VP/Danforth in Toronto. I was not trained on cash or anything else for that matter, taught myself by shadowing. Was terminated two days before my three month probation – more... was done because on one occasion i forgot my name tag due to a situation which was out of my control (Which apparently means you can not work) and it didn't matter that i never missed a shift before or that i had a valid reason. Work environment is fine, co-workers vary. Hardest part about the job was going 8 hours with nothing to really do but talk to the few customers and roam up and down the store tidying the very little mess there was. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-.-
Part-Time Sales Associate (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: enjoyed working with some of the girls
Cons: manager was not professional
- pretty laid back job, gained lots of customer service skills
-assistant manager was the greatest (she should of been manager)
-Manager was immature and unprofessional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a fun place to work and I think I would like the customers.
cashier.or floor. (Former Employee), kanata.February 8, 2014
Pros: lunches breack is good
Cons: i'm ok with long hours.
I think my review went good...I get along with other team members.I work hard. I try go finish my work.when finish my work I would help others. And the best is that I make my customers happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 6, 2014
Cons: everything
I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone. The management sucks. The district manager is awful. They change the rules and make rules up as they go. They don't care about anyone. Their bullies and are very inconsistent. They write you up for every little thing you do. DO NOT APPLY!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun nd very productive workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: 10% off food in the food court
Cons: doing the return backs
when i use to work at ardenes i would have full responsibility of running the store handling cash nd cleaning duties.
it was a small store but it was very fast nd my co workers were socialable nd made me feel comfortable in the work area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace, fun environment
Store Manager (Former Employee), Arnprior, ONFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: employee discount, reasonable hours, trendy clothing
Cons: bad location, few customers and lots of down time
put out merchandise, help customers find items, process sales, tidy store.
everyday was different, looked forward to seeing new clothes, very enjoyable job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, easy to learn and navigate tasks.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Dawson CreekJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: discounts, decent wage
Cons: staff drama
Staff was friendly for the first little while, and then started with the drama. Talked behind your back, singled you out and treated you like a door mat. You got more done if you sent off by yourself, and the management pushed for customer service, but never helped any customers themselves. For the first little while they give you your discount, then – more... they stop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff is easy to get along with
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Scarborough, OntarioJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: excellent staff discounts
Cons: no christmas parties
A typical day at Ardene you would have your slow days and then other days it would be busy
I have learned that customers are the number one priority at Ardene
The Management is great
The co-workers are easy to get along with
The hardest part is working under pressure
The most enjoyable part working at Ardene is the staff discounts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Burlington, ONJanuary 7, 2014
Good place to work. It's nice helping customers, and great getting to know the regulars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and engergetic enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kelowna BCJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: the discount
Cons: long hours
We learned to help customers find specific items. Everyone was very pleasant to work with. The management treated you very well. The hardest part of the job was trying to find a place for all the stock to go out. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting all the new people that came into the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, energetic place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), StratfordNovember 18, 2013
I was responsible for helping costumers find what they came in for, and helped keep the store organized and cleaned. I also helped other co-workers with putting up displays. My co-workers were really easy going people to work with. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing costumers leave the store happy with their purchase.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun workplace, provides you with good work experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wpg, MB.November 9, 2013
Pros: store discount, fun coworkers, good customer-service building job, not late closing shifts
Cons: long hour shifts, dealing with theft
A normal day at work would include covering the areas like Front Greeter, Fitting Rooms, Middle or Till. You need to greet every customer that walks into the store with a friendly smile and the greet. You learn the basics of retail when it comes to displays, organizing (big part of this job), and strong customer-service abilities (another big part of – more... this job) ex. making sales, dealing with theft. Management depends on the branch but most are great and guide you in the right direction for the store's success. Making room for new stock shipments would be what I consider the most difficult part of the job. The best part of the job is the people you work with. They are very selective with the people they hire and you'll probably have some of the funnest coworkers! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a great experience.
Assistant Manager in September (Former Employee), Prince George, BCOctober 17, 2013
Pros: great people, tons of neat merchandise, inexpensive clothing/shoes
Cons: not many advancement opportunities.
I loved working at Ardene. There were so many new things showing up daily and we were constantly changing mods, so there was never a dull moment. The people that I got to work with were absolutely fantastic. I miss working with them a lot. The only thing that I was not too fond of with the job was that I was told, after almost 2 years of being an assistant – more... manager, that because I do not have grade 12 they would hire a manager from outside of the company before offering the position to me if the time should arise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ardene
Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 2, 2013
I loved working for the company and to this day I still shop at Ardene. My DM would be nie to your face but talk about you behind your back
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Affordable fashion clothing and accessories, fun, fast paced environment.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Belleville, OntarioAugust 29, 2013
Pros: great discount, energetic environment, fashion forward styles.
Typical day involved:

shipping and receiving
stocking and merchandising
delegating tasks,driving sales, motivating team
recruiting and training new staff members
scheduling
sales representative
reporting to the district supervisor
acting cashier and daily balancing(opening and closing counts)

I gained most of my retail experience while working at – more... Ardene and learned multiple skill sets that I can apply in any retail position.

Always enjoyed working with my upper management and co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 9, 2013
Pros: great staff
Cons: long hours
cannot disclose information but i learned a lot from here as it was my first experience working

About Ardene

Ardène is a Canadian clothing and accessories retailer based in Montreal, Quebec. Ardène sells a variety of jewelry, – Read more