Find companies:
Ardene
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
84 reviews

Ardene Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Full time, Assistant Manager (Current Employee), 369 Main streetNovember 26, 2014
We get stock every Wednesday. It's my job to organize the stock and prepare it to come out in groups. Then its ready for my co-workers and I to get them out in the store. I love all my co-workers at Ardene. The most enjoyable part would be helping out the customers and trying to find what there looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst retail has to offer
Third Key Holder (Former Employee), Montreal,QcNovember 7, 2014
Pros: good discount 50% off promos, and 15% off 80% pretty worth it
Cons: literally everything else
Ardene seems like it would be an easy enough job, however getting 100+ boxes a week is a little ridiculous, especially when it is expected to be out right away. No help from supervisors. A lot of the managers have been there for way too long and they are incredibly uneducated and unprofessional. If you want to get your foot into the door of retail its – more... not a bad root to go, but you'll have your work cut out for you, if you already have worked in retail RUN the other way, because joining this company will be the worst decision of your life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional and disrespectful
Third key holder (Former Employee), Stratford ontarioNovember 4, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: shady company
Worked at ardene for 2 months before they blind sided me 1 month before my probation period was over and dismissed me, they accused me of forcing other employees to do my work, not listening to the manager and taking extra breaks, and get this going to the washroom too much! None of the things they had accused me of had I done nor heard a complaint – more... or warning about and when I denied it they said to me in a snark voice "we have cameras" trying to intimidate me.. I came into work and was attacked randomly by the manager who is completely un professional, lacks communication skills, and is disorganized and is easily overwhelmed and the district supervisor who is rude and talks down to you, like you're a child. I was clearly terminated for personal reasons and not professional ones because the issues could have been easily fixed with communication, I felt while working there I was in highschool again all the girls would talk behind your back and backstab you to get more hours or get you in trouble, the environment is unsafe because the thermostat is broken making it insanely hot and dry which means you constantly get dehydrated and dizzy head office is aware but does nothing about it! I was not trained properly they did not have an assistant nor manager for a month of my team working there so we were trained by 3 different managers from Kitchener talk about dis organized!! The new manager is not professional at all ever since she was hired the store has fallen a part and it will crash and burn, Tracy should have never left her 12 year manager position the store is a complete mess and people are being treated unfairly simply because the manager, assistant manager and supervisor think they are above everyone else because of their titles! I would not recommend anyone work at the Stratford ontario location or at any ardene this company is shady! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!
Third Keyholder (Former Employee), Camrose, ABOctober 11, 2014
Cons: long hours, no breaks, no staff, no remorse for family emergencies
I had ONE day of training as keyholder. There was only myself, the acting manager, and another sales floor associate working there at this time. I was working completely by myself 4/5 shifts. The acting manager had a horrible work ethic, came in late and expected me to work all the stock and help customers while she got to play around on her phone. – more... The sales floor associate would work, but once she was done one task she never took the initiative to find something else to do, or to ask what to do. I never got ANY of my breaks working here. Not a 15, not half an hour or an hour for lunch, nothing. The district manager was SUPPOSED to come and work with me when I was scheduled alone, which was like I said 4/5 shifts. SHE WAS NEVER THERE FOR ME! The hardest part of my job? Doing everything by myself and not getting any breaks. Trying to provide customer service when you got couriers ringing the bell at the back to be let in, then trying to put stock out all at once by yourself just is not possible. I learned to not depend on other people for help, because when I did I was given the shaft. You were also expected to take the bank deposit, on your dime might I add, to the bank and deposit it ON YOUR TIME. So not only did I NOT get any breaks, I never got any compensation for driving across town to make the bank deposits! I did not enjoy any part of this job at all. They are always short staffed, and now I understand why. They do not care about their coworkers! My grandmother was on her deathbed, and I was told I had to come to work. That is why I no longer work at Ardene. Sure no breaks, always alone, no guidance what so ever. You don't come between my family and I. My grandma died 2 days later after I quit. Quitting was the best thing I ever did! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cult like tendencies
management (Former Employee), British ColumbiaOctober 3, 2014
Ardene in western canada runs like a cult. You are forced to do things that are inconvenient for you and your life, they make you feel that you are not going to get any better treatment in any other company anywhere else so you stay omongst all the abuse. Not to mention all of the HR breaches made by district supervisors. They are sure to have a large – more... account at labour relations. Raise incentives are never given nor any acknowledgements in regards to pay increases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace, fun and productive
3rd Key Holder (Current Employee), Etobicoke, ONSeptember 18, 2014
Great job and a great company! Well organized and structured management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Brandon, MBSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: fun people to work with
Cons: not very good management
My daily responsibilities are as follows:
Assist the manager
Provide excellent costumer service

Gets along well with co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Store Manager (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 19, 2014
This was the most amazing company to work for. hey know how to treat their staff well, while making it a fun place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Store Manager/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Victoria, BCAugust 19, 2014
Ardene is a great company to work for. I love meeting new people through work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer services with fun co-workers
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary,ABAugust 15, 2014
Pros: easy tasks
Cons: was not a challenging/learning job
-A typical day would be opening the store with one other co-workers(key-holder). Then we would clean the store and get ready to open. sometimes i would go on cash but when i wasn't my main priority would be customer services and maintaing a clean and presentable store.
-I have learned how to be respectful of angry customers and maintaing a professional – more... attitude during work. I have also learned time management from cleaning to customer to cashier.
-My co-workers were great. we all got along pretty well.
-The hardest part of the job was not having to do work all the time. There were times when the work was a little slow.
-The most enjoyable part of the job was helping customers find what they were looking for and suggesting different piece of clothing that would suit their liking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail sales
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, OntarioAugust 11, 2014
fast pace environment.
basic retail setting.
motivating sales with team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBAugust 11, 2014
Cons: long hours, rude managers, no respect for employees, under paid.
This Job was in a very busy mall in the Transcona area so there was many customers.
The customer's weren't the problem in this place, The management was.
When I was first interviewed I was asked if I could take criticism easily because the assistant manager criticised the employees a lot. I didn't think anything of it untill I started working there.
The – more... assistant manager wasn't a person to criticize what you were doing but she was an abusive person. On many occasions she cursed at me and called me derogatory names. It was always a put down. I eventually learned from my coworkers that she was treating everyone like that.
She would also make me leave my shift to go to other stores in the mall to buy her food and drinks.
She would sometimes even come to work and just sit in the back the whole time and sleep and go for smokes just to rack up her hours.
I complained to my manager and the district manager and to the company itself but no one even responded to me. To my disbelief she is still working there.

The back room is very small and is crammed with boxes to the point where the emergency exit is blocked. The only time it is ever cleaned is when it's going to be inspected and then the next day it's completely messy again. This is a safety hazard.

The hours were long and I was under paid for the things I had to deal with.

My suggestion is to stay far away from this store. Don't work here. It is not worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sold clothing and piercings.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Strathmore, ABJuly 22, 2014
Pros: clothes 15% off accessory's 50% off
Learned how to do ear piercings, and stock/rotate clothing for sales. Had a very childish atmosphere and management was just as childish. The only fun part about working there was doing piercings, however the rest of the time you stood around and waited to see if you could find someone shoplifting because there's no cameras and you get a bonus for finding – more... someone stealing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere with great coworkers
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, ONJuly 21, 2014
Making sure weekly stock was put out and presented and a timely fashion was the number one priority each and every day. Everyone worked together to make sure we accomplished this goal to the best of our abilities every week. Customer service was just as important and we worked as a team to create a friendly atmosphere not just for the customers but – more... ourselves. We all enjoyed coming into work for our shifts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management was poor and unprofessional
Customer Service (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSJuly 16, 2014
Things were talked about that were personal on the floor with customers around and when someone did or asked for time off for schooling or things negative things were said and the room went bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this company.
Cashier and Merchandising (Current Employee), Prince George, BCJuly 11, 2014
I love working with this company. I come to work excited to be there and love merchandising. Helping customers is one of my favorite parts of the job. My coworkers and superiors are always willing to lend a hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of knowledge gained and excellent workplace
Manager (Current Employee), calgaryJune 2, 2014
Massive amounts of customer service experiences. Very helpful when it comes to learning and wanting to grow in their company. They have lots of opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a nice place to work at. The coworkers make it worth it all because of the teamwork.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 30, 2014
One day our store was expecting our head office manager to come and see how things go. When she got there, she treated us as if we had absolutely no idea what we were doing, and changed and misplaced everything in the store claiming to be helping. Our Store manager was so mad with her behavior toward us and swore to write about her to the big boss and – more... said "I would rather lose this job than to see my employees being treated that way."
Those are the kind of moments that make the hardest parts of the Job like rude customers or overconfident bosses seem like only a small problem about the Job and inspires someone to be a better person and the best employee they can be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
3rd Key (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 29, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Not worth your time, the company is very poorly run, they are cheap and make sure their employees know they are all expendable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with great staff
Sales Associate (Former Employee), BridgewaterMay 13, 2014
Stocking the newest inventory, assisting customers and building bonds with fellow co-workers. A very low stress work place.

1 2 3 4 5

About Ardene

Ardène is a Canadian clothing and accessories retailer based in Montreal, Quebec. Ardène sells a variety of jewelry, – Read more