Ardene Employee Reviews

Found 354 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good job .
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON12 August 2017
Worked here a little over a year, and never in my life have i worked for such a nasty assistant manager. Disrespectful,verbally abusive, threatening, mean, lazy, racist, unprofessional.
The staff was okay, but we ran through so many girls quitting because of cattyness.
Discount was amazing.
Horrible hrs,sometimes cut to 1 shift a week.
Lack of motivation throughout staff.
Head office is bs.
One half hr if you work over 5
Pros
Great discount
Cons
Almost everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement souriant
Conseillère à la vente (Former Employee) –  Place Montreal Trust, Montréal, QC29 July 2017
Mon expérience de travail chez Ardene fut brève mais étais une expérience professionnelle entourée de collègues souriants et d'une ambiance plaisante.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ardene review
Third key holder (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 July 2017
I enjoy working here. If you have a great team it makes the world of a difference. Head office can be a bit stubborn and ignorant, which can affect your quality of work when you are trying to do your best.
Pros
Good team/co workers
Cons
Only one half and hour break after 5 hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People with no regards of others' feelings.
Third Key Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 July 2017
This company has some managers that are too by the book about certain things to the point where even if the manual's suggestion for a task is inefficient, this one specific store manager would still prefer being unproductive.
Pros
None.
Cons
Manager didn't care when I informed her of a potential Asst. Manager's racist outburst.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice to work for teenager
Part Time Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 July 2017
Ardene is a nice place to shop and to work. where i work before we all get along so nice. I have flexible hours but I'm not sure now! We have discount but I'm not sure anymore.
Pros
flexible
Cons
very busy, lots of folding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail
Associée aux ventes (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 July 2017
Tres bonne compagnie! Et les gens qui travail la sont tres agreable..... sa travail bien en equipe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work overall
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB1 July 2017
Great place to work, you are always busy with something to do. The only downside was issues with the manager at the time. We also had a very high turn over which was hard to deal with.
Pros
Great discount, good environment
Cons
work load can be stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Customer service representative (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK1 July 2017
horribly managed, biased manager who hires based on race and weight( hates bigger people). Also the company is generally poorly managed and barely give employees hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place for students
Third key In charge when Manager is absent (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC, ottawa27 June 2017
If you are a student looking for part time work this is a great place for you. Otherwise I would look for something else. Trying to get time off as a full time employee was extremely difficult.
Pros
great co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressant
Conseillère à la Vente (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Est, QC16 June 2017
la place devenant tres stressant vers la fin de la journer
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall horrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 June 2017
Working here was a huge mistake! My coworkers AND management were telling me not to do things properly like putting the right size clip on the shoes! That wall is always a mess and no one bothers to even try! They also take advantage of the hours people are willing to work.
Not only that, but they are very discriminatory if you have a mental illness of any sort! So if you value your time and your mental health, save yourself the trouble and do not apply here!!
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable & Easy
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON5 June 2017
Really easy work, shifts are usually between 4-7 hours if you are part time, and 8 if you are full time. If you are part time you get roughly 15 hours a week, but I have received much less due to bad times of the month for shopping. On the other hand, you will receive more during busy times of the month such as Christmas and Spring Break. If the management is good, then you should have no problems. Can be a really fun place to work.
Pros
Easy
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment, flexible hours, reliable management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 June 2017
Management and other employees are always willing to help, staff stays on top of tasks which helps the day run smoothly, management was always there to help and is reasonable when it comes to hours or personal issues.
Pros
Discounts, cover/switch shifts easily, time off, staff environment
Cons
Lack of security, cuts of part-time employee hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, tiring, productive
General Helper (Former Employee) –  Dollard-Des Ormeaux, QC3 June 2017
Working at the Ardene Warehouse during the summer was a great experience because you obtain marketing skills. The job was very demanding, constantly busy and you needed to be very active to keep your position there.
Pros
Discount on products
Cons
Constantly busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON31 May 2017
Ardene is a really fun place to work. I always enjoyed working with the customers. The merchandise is fun and youthful. The most exciting time was during back to school. I always had a great time helping the girls pick out new outfits.
Pros
Fun atmosphere, potential for advancement, good pay.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was enjoyable to learn about the products
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB30 May 2017
Working here I had several tasks to complete each shift. I learned about different products and how to display them in a fashionable manner. The hardest part of the job was making sure that we were always getting stock out on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse job ever
Third Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC28 May 2017
Immature, uneducated manager that acted like a wannabe popular high school girl with paid groupies. Spent half her time in back store with her phone or trying on the merchandise.
Got away with getting paid to do nothing by blaming everyone else for her inefficiencies.
Low wages for the job you're expected to do. Customer service, visual presentation, cash, stock, mopping, cleaning bathrooms and taking out the trash.
No benefits if you're not manager or assistant manager and no incentives or rewards for beating monthly sales budgets.
If it saves them money, they expect you to go heyond you're work title.

no possibility of moving up in the company unless you know enough people to get you there.
Pros
employee discount and friendships
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  BC27 May 2017
Overall just a horrible place to work. They treat their employees like cattle. Give no hours, are judgmental and making a quick buck is their only goal.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pace environment
Key Holder and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 May 2017
Once you work in here, you are not just a sales associate , you will also be in charge of the windows merchandise, as they do not have visual managers, you are also the stock person , cashier, and also a cleaner!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Gerante (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC13 May 2017
Je travaille pour ardene depuis plusieurs années et j'adore sa mais je crois qu'il y a encore de l'amélioration a faire côté salaire ainsi que les assurances maladies.
Pros
Très bonne esprit d'équipe
Cons
Assurance maladie
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ardene. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 361 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

54%
135 ratings
Add your rating