Find companies:
ArcelorMittal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
118 reviews

ArcelorMittal Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating
Superintendent, Logistics (Current Employee), Newcastle, ZNSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: working with different people and trying to satisfy internal customers
Cons: availability of vehciles
The people are very enjoyable to work with. Some managers have their own ideas and they are to be followed, they are not interested in any ideas from sub ordinates. Very frustrating to have work that must be done but not enough equipment to perform the duties due to breakdowns on the machines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Steel Manufacturer in World
Global Health Manager Mining for ArcelorMittal (Current Employee), Global role based in Larkspur ColoradoAugust 29, 2013
Global footprint in Coal and Iron Ore Mining. Operations worldwide strive to practice according to internationally accepted standards and are often faced with the challenges of working within countries that are less developed and have reduced resources. In those countries ArcelorMittal is working to raise the level of training and expertise and improve – more... the overall quality of life for employees and the communities in which they operate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative environment, no advancement
Project Analyst (Current Employee), Burns Harbor, INJuly 31, 2013
Pros: medical, location. hours
Cons: attitude of management, environment
Very stressful and negative environment. No advancement. No appreciation of hardworking employees. No one to go to if you have issues with someone. Management is not too helpful. Most of the co-workers are fun and enjoyable. The most enjoyable part of my job is working on the new AP system. I write up the test cases and perform the testing on the new – more... enhancements and fixes. I research any issues that occur. I work with the IT department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Workplace, But Not Much To Offer
Project Analyst (Current Employee), East Chicago, INJuly 22, 2013
Pros: good work/life balance
Cons: nothing keeping you at the company, bad location, resistant to change
I've worked at ArcelorMittal in the Supply Chain for about three years now and have watched as all the brightest employees leave for better opportunities elsewhere. There is no sense of urgency on employee development or helping employees fulfill (or even explore) their career goals. It is a very laid back organization which is nice, but is too old – more... school and averse to change for most young professionals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to gain real-world experience
Infrastructure Analyst Intern (Former Employee), East Chicago, INJuly 22, 2013
Each day consisted of kickoff meetings to discuss issues that have been occurring throughout the plant. The day consisted of attending to the ticketing system of end user computer problems. This taught me how to problem solve, communicate effectively, and provided organization of many of the tickets that needed to be completed for the day. However, – more... the projects given to the interns were not appropriately planned and delayed several months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Instrumentation Mechanician (Former Employee), Vanderbijlpark, GPJuly 17, 2013
Pros: having a braai on frydays to end the weeks work!
Cons: no overtime allowed!
When I was still working there it was great the people I worked with was outstanding characters we all have our coffee in the morning and then I go to the area I was assigned to and start my daily inspection and from there I find the faults and fix it.
During the day we will have our safety and progress meetings, and take on new task as well, always – more... had a very busy day! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good workplace to be.
Mechanical fitter (Former Employee), Vanderbijlpark, GPMay 31, 2013
Pros: free gifts for reaching targets
Cons: long hours
A day where an over head crane broke down in the middle of the loading bay.Where nobody had to go for breakfast or lunch.
I learnt that no task is too big when it comes to team work.
With proper management a work place can be the best place you can ever want to be.
My co-workers are always supportive on each and every task.
The hardest part of the task – more... is to work on the break down when the machine is in an awkward position.
Most enjoyable part of the job is to work with Senior Management at your back when big tasks are being carried out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning background and productive
Technician (Former Employee), vanderbijlparkApril 22, 2013
Pros: good training
Cons: was far from where i stayed
 Defect analysis on produced products (hot and cold rolled final products)
• Investigate cause / origin of defect
• Recommend corrective actions to eliminate the same defect occurring again

 Failure investigation for parts produced at the customer
• Investigate the cause of failure taking the metallurgy integrity (mechanical properties and microstructural – more... analysis) of the material into consideration as well as the process employed to produce the final product

 Evaluate customer complaints and liaise with the production areas to carry out necessary corrective actions required
 Evaluation of production parameters during hot rolling of sheet steel
• Use of engineering tools to gather data

Training Received

 Surface Defect Inspection on hot rolled and cold rolled products
 Basic and Intermediate SEM Training Course
 Training on using metallurgical laboratory equipment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different environment to adapt to
HSE Manager (Current Employee), Buchanan, Yekepa - LiberiaMarch 30, 2013
Pros: free meals, housing, cell, laptop, flights
Cons: very long hours, and rotating periods
Very long working hours
Different systems in one place
Management enforce issues
Co-workers Liberian long way to go to conform
To adapt to long periods away from home
To train local labor and to see the appreciation and hunger to learn new technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed my work
Junior maintenance manager (Current Employee), vanderbijlparkMarch 17, 2013
Pros: non
Cons: non
Everything is ok,I am enjoying my worklife.

DUTIES

. Project management
. Compile and execute strategies for improvement on process
. Technical support to the production section
. Process development and improvement
.Failure analyses
.Handling of customer complains
.Implement preventative and corrective actions
.Drawing up of Quality Control Plans – more... (Q C P) and material specifications
.Managing contractors
.computer literate (SAP, WORD, EXEL, POWER POINT, MIMS)
.Knowledge of OSH ACT
.Knowledge of COID ACT
.Knowledge of CONSTRUCTION AND BUILDINGS ACT
.Knowledge of MINES HEALTH AND SAFETY ACT
.Knowledge of ENVIROMENTAL CONSERVATION ACT – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay workplace
Senior assisting accountant (Current Employee), Vanderbijlpark, gautengMarch 6, 2013
No interaction anymore from management.colleagues are great to work with.we support each other.there is room for improvement on management side like support,interaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a production driven organization striving for profit
Metallurgical Technician (Current Employee), Vanderbijlpark, GautengMarch 5, 2013
Pros: high production
Cons: high defects
- Typical day at work is very busy, the only time i can sit is when i have lunch.
- What i have learned is that i should finish my task and work as if its my business, whatever i do affects the end product.
- Hardest part is where the maintenance team do a quick fix job that impacts the quality on the product and at the end of the day i am accountable.
- – more... Most enjoyable part is when the material is free of defects and the customers are happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Laboratory Superintendent (Current Employee), Yekepa, LiberiaFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: messing, accommodation, transport, cell phone communication, life insurance, travel allowance, risk allowance, production bonus, family
Cons: long working hours
My work with ArcelorMittaal Liberia started with the setting up of a sample preparation facility for iron ore, which was later upgraded to a complete analytical lab capable of performing full analysis on iron ores. Challenges in performing engineering roles during laboratory equipment installation ultimately became learning opportunities for me as a – more... professional Chemist.
Working with people from different backgrounds offers the opportunity to appreciate diversity in cultures and human behaviour – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chemical engineer
Process engineer in reverts (Former Employee), DunkerqueJanuary 29, 2013
As an intern in ArcelorMittal, my main task was improving the follow-up and the forecast of recycled materials. Moreover, I have developed studies on the impact of new recycled materials to see if it is possible to reuse them and optimise the quantity that is recycled. For this purpose, I have analysed the elements which can raise problems (using the – more... charter quality of the recycled products as well as the charter quality of cast iron) and have identified what their limitations are – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning organisation
Safety Practitioner (Current Employee), GautengJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: no celebrations for achievements
Cons: normal hours
We work as a team and in interelationship of dynamic interaction and influence towards each other.My management solve the wrong problems and and tend to decide before the whole problem is investigared.We see conflict as a problem that needs to be solved.The hardest part of the job is to chance behaviuors of employees who percive rules as some kind of – more... oppression.I enjoy when peolpe come to my office and thanking me for saving their lives – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
apprentice(millwright) (Former Employee), vanderbijlparkDecember 17, 2012
Pros: braais, medical check ups
do walkabout, repair things that need to be repaired, i must say i learnt to be always be punctual, be responsible, be part of a team, the management always wanted to be on the loop, my co-workers were always there if i needed help, the hardest part was when we were dismantling the press during the shut down, the most enjoyable would be to start the – more... machine after the maintenance and it's woking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Executive Geology (Current Employee), RanchiDecember 4, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: long task at short period
Typical day at work when i was working in Senegal huge logging work was assigned in short period of time, but due to cop ration of my Co-workers we achieved the task on the given time.The thing which i learned is that nothing is impossible if we do with full of effort and contribution of whole team is also required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Production Machine Operator (Former Employee), East Chicago, INNovember 29, 2012
Learned a lot about how steel mills work and run. People are great workers. Could find out answers if you had questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are really helpful & good at their work
Inventory Controller (Current Employee), DubaiOctober 2, 2012
Cons: long work hours
Too much pressure from Management.

Unrealistic

People in the company are smart and have excellent knowledge of the product.

Lack of management support.

But people are very hard working and are able to achieve their tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is great with enforcing training.
Order Analyst (Current Employee), East Chicago, INSeptember 29, 2012
In my short period of time working for this company, I have learned some very interesting information about processing and shipments of steel. I love the fact that I use my problem solving skills on a daily basis. As an Order Analyst it is a very detailed oriented position. The experience that I have gained will definitley be useful as I move on in – more... future endeavors. – less

About ArcelorMittal

Few metal makers have the mettle of ArcelorMittal. The company is easily the largest steel-making entity in the world, producing – Read more

ArcelorMittal Photos