Find companies:
ArcelorMittal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
139 reviews

ArcelorMittal Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
production scheduler (Current Employee), Newcastle, ZNDecember 2, 2013
Pros: good working hours
Arcelormittal is a company that looks after they people.working here has learned me a lot over the past 13 years, i can now stand alone, due to the fact that the company has trained me good. we are always looking for ways a the company to make the workflow better. safety is always number one in the comapny
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Maintenance Fitter (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPDecember 1, 2013
Pros: free courses
Cons: no guarantee
Hectic yet so funny and learnt a lot,learnt a lot of equipment and made good relations working as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Project Manager (Former Employee), LuxembougNovember 30, 2013
Good place to work, with good management that makes you move forward
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh environment, but pays the bills
Electrician (Former Employee), East Chicago, INOctober 16, 2013
Pros: over time plentiful
Cons: rotating shift work
Typical day at work is troubleshooting, making repairs and work orders. Management is at best average and co workers excellent to work with but some departments have more managers than workers. The hardest part of this work environment, its dirty and you change shifts every week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workmanship and positive attitude.
Millwright (Former Employee), Vanderbijlpark, GPSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: co-worker respect, safety, management
Cons: low salary, no job opportunities
During my year of plant exposure on a learner contract for apprenticeship as a millwright, as every day went by I always found a way to learn something new.
The co-workers treated me with respect and evenly equal as their own. As Breakdowns and Shutdowns came.. I and a few other were always the candidates who offered to work overtime ( 12 - 20 hours – more... per day).
Although as an apprentice I worked hard for only a small amount of money.The co-workers always seem to put a smile on your face. I went for trade-test and passed the Trade certificate as a Millwright.
Unfortunately After Qualifying there were no posts available on the specific plant I worked on.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well established company and part of global industry leader
Group Manager, Business Processes (Former Employee), VanderbijlparkSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: well established company
Cons: not flexible enough for a chanhing global environment
Focus was on continuous improvement to reduce cost of production to maintain profitability. Unclear or lack of strategy made it very challenging to understand or align priorities. People have good skills level, but several re-organisations to increase profitability, had a negative influence on the morale of people. The strong and clear values supported – more... the momentum during difficult times and effective change management was very important. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure employment with oportunity for extra earnings
Instrument technician standard (Current Employee), East Chicago, INSeptember 13, 2013
On floor management is good but upper level management lacks long term vision "training and new hires"
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating
Superintendent, Logistics (Current Employee), Newcastle, ZNSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: working with different people and trying to satisfy internal customers
Cons: availability of vehciles
The people are very enjoyable to work with. Some managers have their own ideas and they are to be followed, they are not interested in any ideas from sub ordinates. Very frustrating to have work that must be done but not enough equipment to perform the duties due to breakdowns on the machines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Steel Manufacturer in World
Global Health Manager Mining for ArcelorMittal (Current Employee), Global role based in Larkspur ColoradoAugust 29, 2013
Global footprint in Coal and Iron Ore Mining. Operations worldwide strive to practice according to internationally accepted standards and are often faced with the challenges of working within countries that are less developed and have reduced resources. In those countries ArcelorMittal is working to raise the level of training and expertise and improve – more... the overall quality of life for employees and the communities in which they operate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative environment, no advancement
Project Analyst (Current Employee), Burns Harbor, INJuly 31, 2013
Pros: medical, location. hours
Cons: attitude of management, environment
Very stressful and negative environment. No advancement. No appreciation of hardworking employees. No one to go to if you have issues with someone. Management is not too helpful. Most of the co-workers are fun and enjoyable. The most enjoyable part of my job is working on the new AP system. I write up the test cases and perform the testing on the new – more... enhancements and fixes. I research any issues that occur. I work with the IT department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Workplace, But Not Much To Offer
Project Analyst (Current Employee), East Chicago, INJuly 22, 2013
Pros: good work/life balance
Cons: nothing keeping you at the company, bad location, resistant to change
I've worked at ArcelorMittal in the Supply Chain for about three years now and have watched as all the brightest employees leave for better opportunities elsewhere. There is no sense of urgency on employee development or helping employees fulfill (or even explore) their career goals. It is a very laid back organization which is nice, but is too old – more... school and averse to change for most young professionals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to gain real-world experience
Infrastructure Analyst Intern (Former Employee), East Chicago, INJuly 22, 2013
Each day consisted of kickoff meetings to discuss issues that have been occurring throughout the plant. The day consisted of attending to the ticketing system of end user computer problems. This taught me how to problem solve, communicate effectively, and provided organization of many of the tickets that needed to be completed for the day. However, – more... the projects given to the interns were not appropriately planned and delayed several months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Instrumentation Mechanician (Former Employee), Vanderbijlpark, GPJuly 17, 2013
Pros: having a braai on frydays to end the weeks work!
Cons: no overtime allowed!
When I was still working there it was great the people I worked with was outstanding characters we all have our coffee in the morning and then I go to the area I was assigned to and start my daily inspection and from there I find the faults and fix it.
During the day we will have our safety and progress meetings, and take on new task as well, always – more... had a very busy day! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good workplace to be.
Mechanical fitter (Former Employee), Vanderbijlpark, GPMay 31, 2013
Pros: free gifts for reaching targets
Cons: long hours
A day where an over head crane broke down in the middle of the loading bay.Where nobody had to go for breakfast or lunch.
I learnt that no task is too big when it comes to team work.
With proper management a work place can be the best place you can ever want to be.
My co-workers are always supportive on each and every task.
The hardest part of the task – more... is to work on the break down when the machine is in an awkward position.
Most enjoyable part of the job is to work with Senior Management at your back when big tasks are being carried out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning background and productive
Technician (Former Employee), vanderbijlparkApril 22, 2013
Pros: good training
Cons: was far from where i stayed
 Defect analysis on produced products (hot and cold rolled final products)
• Investigate cause / origin of defect
• Recommend corrective actions to eliminate the same defect occurring again

 Failure investigation for parts produced at the customer
• Investigate the cause of failure taking the metallurgy integrity (mechanical properties and microstructural – more... analysis) of the material into consideration as well as the process employed to produce the final product

 Evaluate customer complaints and liaise with the production areas to carry out necessary corrective actions required
 Evaluation of production parameters during hot rolling of sheet steel
• Use of engineering tools to gather data

Training Received

 Surface Defect Inspection on hot rolled and cold rolled products
 Basic and Intermediate SEM Training Course
 Training on using metallurgical laboratory equipment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different environment to adapt to
HSE Manager (Current Employee), Buchanan, Yekepa - LiberiaMarch 30, 2013
Pros: free meals, housing, cell, laptop, flights
Cons: very long hours, and rotating periods
Very long working hours
Different systems in one place
Management enforce issues
Co-workers Liberian long way to go to conform
To adapt to long periods away from home
To train local labor and to see the appreciation and hunger to learn new technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed my work
Junior maintenance manager (Current Employee), vanderbijlparkMarch 17, 2013
Pros: non
Cons: non
Everything is ok,I am enjoying my worklife.

DUTIES

. Project management
. Compile and execute strategies for improvement on process
. Technical support to the production section
. Process development and improvement
.Failure analyses
.Handling of customer complains
.Implement preventative and corrective actions
.Drawing up of Quality Control Plans – more... (Q C P) and material specifications
.Managing contractors
.computer literate (SAP, WORD, EXEL, POWER POINT, MIMS)
.Knowledge of OSH ACT
.Knowledge of COID ACT
.Knowledge of CONSTRUCTION AND BUILDINGS ACT
.Knowledge of MINES HEALTH AND SAFETY ACT
.Knowledge of ENVIROMENTAL CONSERVATION ACT – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay workplace
Senior assisting accountant (Current Employee), Vanderbijlpark, gautengMarch 6, 2013
No interaction anymore from management.colleagues are great to work with.we support each other.there is room for improvement on management side like support,interaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a production driven organization striving for profit
Metallurgical Technician (Current Employee), Vanderbijlpark, GautengMarch 5, 2013
Pros: high production
Cons: high defects
- Typical day at work is very busy, the only time i can sit is when i have lunch.
- What i have learned is that i should finish my task and work as if its my business, whatever i do affects the end product.
- Hardest part is where the maintenance team do a quick fix job that impacts the quality on the product and at the end of the day i am accountable.
- – more... Most enjoyable part is when the material is free of defects and the customers are happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Laboratory Superintendent (Current Employee), Yekepa, LiberiaFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: messing, accommodation, transport, cell phone communication, life insurance, travel allowance, risk allowance, production bonus, family
Cons: long working hours
My work with ArcelorMittaal Liberia started with the setting up of a sample preparation facility for iron ore, which was later upgraded to a complete analytical lab capable of performing full analysis on iron ores. Challenges in performing engineering roles during laboratory equipment installation ultimately became learning opportunities for me as a – more... professional Chemist.
Working with people from different backgrounds offers the opportunity to appreciate diversity in cultures and human behaviour – less

About ArcelorMittal

Few metal makers have the mettle of ArcelorMittal. The company is easily the largest steel-making entity in the world, producing – Read more

ArcelorMittal Photos