Find companies:
ArcelorMittal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
138 reviews

ArcelorMittal Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, long term experienced employees.
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Woodstock, ONOctober 18, 2012
Pros: employee orientated.
Cons: unstable customer base.
Fast paced environment. Very lean operation on the floor. Unexpected absences sometimes cause issues. Long term employees very skilled.
Somewhat heavy in some management departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Vaughan, OntarioAugust 31, 2012
Good place to work, very good management and employees, good facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN
OPERATOR (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPJuly 20, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
BEFORE WE START OUR DAILY TASKS WE ATTEND A MEETING WHERE WE ARE BEING INFORMED ABOUT THE PLANT SITTUATION. EVRY TOOL/EQUIPMENT THAT MUST BE USED DURING PROCESS SHOULD BE THROUGHLY INSPECTED AND MANTAINED. WE WOULD OPERATE MOVING MACHINES SUCH AS OVERHEAD CRANES AND WALKING BEAMS AND MILLS.

I HAVE LEARNT THAT LIFE IS NOT ALWAYS WHAT WE THINK IT MIGHT – more... BE. AND WORKING AS A TEAM IS THE BEST WEAPON TO SUCCESS.

MANAGEMENT I CAN SAY IS GOOD, EVERYTIME WE REACH TARGETS, WE COULD GET SWEETS AND BRAAIPACKS AND COKES, JUST TO ENCOURAGE US TO KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

MY CO-WOKERS WERE THE BEST, AND THEY WERE VERY SUPPORTIVE AT ALL TIMES.

WHEN EVER THERES A BREAK DOWN, THE JOB GETS HARDER THAN USUAL.

WE COULD WORK FOR SEVEN DAYS THEN WE OFF AND WE ALWAYS GO TO LONG WEEKENDS AFTER SEVEN DAYS WORKING MORNING SHIFT. SOMETIMES WE COULD GON OUT AND HANGOUT AS A SHIFT. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a dull place to work
MECHANICAL PROCESS MANAGER (Current Employee), Burns Harbor, INJune 22, 2014
Pros: the days go by fast
Cons: long hours
no complaints, great company with excellent employee benefits and compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN WORKPLACE
APPRENTICE WELDER (Former Employee), Vanderbijlpark, GPMay 31, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
TRANSPARENCY AND HONESTY MUST BE SHOWN ALWAYS.
PUNCTUALITY AND DEDICATION PLAYS THE BIG ROLE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Sr. AUTOMATION ENGINEER - Process Automation (Current Employee), Indiana Harbor, INMay 21, 2014
Learned a lot technical aspects of the job. Managed multiple projects to increase the production and improve the quality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging work place.
Roller (Current Employee), NewcastleMay 18, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: long hours
Working long hours.
Different skills on how to operate the Straightening Machines.
Depends on who you are.
Always work as a team.
When the steel twists while setting the Straighteners.
When pulling by both two Straighteners.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Redundant
Rolling Mill Intern at Conshohocken Steel Mill (Former Employee), Conshohocken, PAMay 14, 2014
Quality company, facilities are set in their ways so changes or updates take a long time to implement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security. You won't get fired unless you really mess up or steal big stuffs
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 10, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, job security
Cons: 24/7 on call.
I am in maintenance. The work/life balance in maintenance is poor. You get stuck in the evenings, get called at night to help fix things.

Since the union employees do the actual physical work, you won't learn much unless you go out of your way to learn by urown.

Actual workers never get blamed, it's always the supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding work place
Management of portfolios on Large account Crown (Current Employee), ParisApril 7, 2014
Pros: team work, direct relation with customers
Cons: order entry
Coordination between team Mill, team Master Planner and customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active at work
technician instrumentation (Former Employee), Annaba algerieMarch 25, 2014
Teamwork and understanding is very important for the workflow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Millwright (Former Employee), Newcastle, ZNMarch 24, 2014
worked with shift and day shift Millwright on breakdown, fault finding, inspection and weekly maintenance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Team member (Former Employee), hyderabadMarch 19, 2014
learned new things and new technology. the hardest part is leaving my organisation. most enjoyable means working with my colleagues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Presured Work Environment
Training Officer (Current Employee), Newcastle, ZNMarch 11, 2014
Pros: work experience gained
Cons: i am on a fixed term contract with no hope of being permanent
Training bookings and dealing with contractors and hired labour on a continus bases. Meetins with plant Mangment and driving the perfomance and competency based system for employees to receive full competence and remuneration.Dissaplinary discussions with poor perfoming employees. Capturing qualificationas and training on SAP, creating business events, – more... registering training doucments on the dicument mangment system. Verifiation of training matrix for contractors, controling the expiery of Lifting equipment Licences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working Production
BOF shift supervisor / Casting (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: good wages
Cons: personal
work 4 days a week at least 12 hours a day. Learned a different type of Mill. Some good co workers some bad. No hard part. Crew had never worked in a steel mill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focussed and target-driven workplace
Process Controller- Learner (Former Employee), Newcastle, ZNJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: always getting new challenges
Cons: long hours
Days start at 06:00 am/pm and we work 12 hour shifts, days were never the same each day had its own challenges. I learnt alot about workplace safety, hazard identification and teamwork. Our superiors always inspired us to do our best as we had targets to reach. We all got along as co-workers and always gave credit where it was due. The heat was what – more... made the job qiute difficult at times yet the job always got done. The best part of the job was learning something new everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Mechanical Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), Vinton, TXDecember 21, 2013
There is never a dull day and anything can happen, whether it be a mechanical malfunction or electrical. Safety is the most important part of working at Arcelormittal. Co-workers are constantly on the look out for your safety and are good mentors. The most difficult part of the job is working in extreme temperatures through out the day, but not every – more... day is the same. The most enjoyable part of the job is that no matter what type of day your experiencing, the fellow co-workers will help motivate you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, with challenging daily tasks and adequate pay, but little room for advancement
Mechanical Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHDecember 11, 2013
Pros: good pay, good people, hands-on knowledge.
Cons: weekend/holiday work
The steel mill is a great place to learn hands on manufacturing and solve major issues while managing the union workforce. The hours are not bad (9-10 hours a day, I worked ~5a-3p), most of the people are great to work with (minus some union issues) and the pay is adequate. The issue I came across was very little room for advancement. I had 3 bosses – more... ahead of me (up to the plant manager of the whole place). So you could either move around to different parts of the mill with essentially the same job, or play hardball with 5000 other people trying to move up the ladder. The pay was great, but 10 years from when I started I would assume the 2-3% yearly increases were not going to cut it. Also, it became redundant work that I would have liked to have been challenged a little more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were miserable, management awful, questionable safety record
Process Engineer (Former Employee), East Chicago, INDecember 9, 2013
Pros: they'll hire anybody
Cons: everything except the paycheck: mean, miserable, thankless dead-end job
My first impression when I started was that everyone was grumpy and miserable. Nobody said 'hi' or greeted me on my first day of work. Priorities were badly misaligned.

They treat their employees terrible and they have ridiculously high turnover to show for it. About half of new employees in management quit within two years. Nobody ever says 'please' – more... or 'thank you'. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
production scheduler (Current Employee), Newcastle, ZNDecember 2, 2013
Pros: good working hours
Arcelormittal is a company that looks after they people.working here has learned me a lot over the past 13 years, i can now stand alone, due to the fact that the company has trained me good. we are always looking for ways a the company to make the workflow better. safety is always number one in the comapny

1 2 3 4 5

About ArcelorMittal

Few metal makers have the mettle of ArcelorMittal. The company is easily the largest steel-making entity in the world, producing – Read more

ArcelorMittal Photos