Find companies:
Aramark
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,345 reviews

Aramark Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day something drifferent
Delivery and Vending Sales (Former Employee), Waterloo RegionMay 15, 2013
Pros: great customers and wage
Cons: no support by managers
Lots of things changed daily to the amount of product you need to carry on the truck. Management was not good in giving direction nor support when asked. The best part of the job was the amount of money you could make....as it was a vending company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work
Aide Cusinière (Former Employee), Montréal, QCMay 6, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: really early
It really was a nice experience, but unfortunately I couldn't stay longer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent, professional work environment
Environmental Services Supervisor (Current Employee), Windsor, ONApril 23, 2013
Pros: opportunities to learn and grow
Cons: long hour, stressfull
I work in a fast paced, stressful job with changes happening everyday. However, it is a full filling position and i am recognized for my hard work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aramark Higher Education is a stable honest employer.
COUNTER ATTENDANT-September (Former Employee), University of Alberta, Edmonton ABApril 23, 2013
Pros: we have a meal program where meals at a cheaper rate are deducted from our paycheque.
Cons: there should probably be more efforts at communication between staff.
A typical day at Aramarks' is not usually stressful. However there are employees who are stressed by the work and it requires some skill to deal with them. Sometimes if I offer assistance, this is enough, other times being assertive clears up situations. A sense of humour usually is helpful. I like the fact that kitchen work in general is physical. – more... I can move about. I am not sitting all day. I like the gradual learning about food, even indirectly as it is practical knowledge. I like the continuous movement of customers and staff because usually people are busy. Usually busy people are happy people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive working alongside and for lots of nice people.
Cashier/Caterer/Dishroom Operator (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONApril 23, 2013
Pros: free breakfast and lunch and drinks. great co workers and management. weekends off.
Cons: long days
A typical day at work starts really early. You have to be there by six in the morning to open the cafeteria. Starting the coffee setting out all the condiments and plastic cutlery. Preparing the tills for the day, setting up the prepackaged snack racks and making sure your surroundings are clean and neat. Through out the day your to make sure there – more... are no unsightly messes and keep everything stocked, deal with customer complaints and requests with a smile and respect and be courteous. If you cannot answer one of their questions kindly and politely redirect them to someone who can. Switching from Breakfast to lunch hour but taking away all the breakfast items and making room for the lunch items. Cleaning up spills from the morning rush and just fixing little things that seem out of place. After lunch you must count the tills and just make sure things are clean and in the right place until about three in the afternoon which is beginning of closing, where you return all the racks to the storage area wash the coffee pots, lock all the fridges and freezers and shut off the lights and lock the doors.

I learned Mostly how to work fast and effectively and how to deal with a customers complains and make people happy, and to always give service with a smile and kindness.

Management was great. My boss and I had a great relationship while staying professional. He taught me a lot about how to be a great employee and that even the littlest things count. He was professional and new how to make customers happy. My co-workers were always there if I had a question in the beginning and where always there to assist me if I needed it. They were very hard working and dedicated people that you could also have (work appropriate) fun with.

The hardest part of the job is being up very early and being home very late. this job was a little over an hours drive from my home. So being there that early was difficult some days. And in the winter months it gets dark earlier. so sometimes it was dark when I would get home. Just driving back and forth in the dark and feeling like you have no daylight to yourself.

I loved the people I would serve, they were always so nice. there was the odd person with a complaint but if you could fix it for them they were grateful for it. It felt great to be able to help people and to spend the day doing something you loved. Learning new things and being around great co-workers and management made this job the best one I have ever had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Food and Beverage Server (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 22, 2013
Cons: yes
A lovely place to work. There was always something to do and to learn. The co-workers was really great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and all around caring enviroment.
CASHIER (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONApril 17, 2013
Pros: only $1 to eat lunch
Cons: standing in one spot for 9 hours..
I would come in count my float, greet my fellow co-workers, I would check and make sure everything was filled up, such as coffee bagel
products are all in place and greet customers with a smile. I learned how to cash out floats, also helped with in house orders such as meals and conferences. I enjoyed working with the staff a great team. The manager – more... was one that actually took time and got to know his employees and cares. The hardest parts of the job would have to be the crazy days... The days of special events. I had to serve over six hundred people in one afternoon. It was a little challenging but I got through it and survived. Over all the best thing about this job was the students and there sense of humor, The atmosphere was always bright! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Execellent work place
Cashier/DishWasher/Food Prep (Former Employee), OttawaApril 8, 2013
Pros: free lunch, off early
Cons: up early
I loved working for this company, I've worked with the company before and knew most of the people there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job is a job
Kitchen Porter (Current Employee), Thunder BayApril 7, 2013
Pros: meals are included at little deduction from paycheck
Cons: hardest job i have ever had
Was hired on the spot, oppertunities for advancement, relatively easy to pick up shifts

unionized- cant really negotiate for yourself as a worker, it is sometimes problematic to take breaks due to work load, fellow employees refuse to do more work than what they have to. union dues are high. poor treatment of part time employees (student employees – more... too), by managers and fulltime employees, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job in very nice place
Cashier (Former Employee), Banff, AB (Sunshine Village)April 3, 2013
Pros: free ski pass.
Cons: always short of hours.
Easy job;
Good job for them who want ski or snowboard a lot;
Except free ski pass there is not benefits;
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay/low standards
Manager (Former Employee), HRMMarch 26, 2013
Pros: interaction with students
Cons: poor pay/benifits/hours/seasonal in many cases
Aramark basically operates with one thing in mind...making money. This often leads to lowend food quality. Staff moral is very low and service shows as alot of staff feel they are under paid and over worked. The managers and higher ups dont show respect towards their staff or compensate them for there dedication and hard work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive customer service
Cashier (Former Employee), Shaw Barlow CanadaMarch 22, 2013
Pros: excellent meal benefits
Cons: standing for long hours
A typical day of work for me is when I successfully fulfilled my duties and responsibilities with passion and dedication to my work especially dealing with customers & co-workers. I didn't find any hardest part of my job because I see myself loving what I'm doing in every seconds,hours of working. That is how I value work like giving value to yourself – more... as a person. And the most enjoyable part of my job is when I make every person/customer smile in a simple way of conversation. I personally love dealing with them and build raport even the most cranky customers that I had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Easy-Going Work
Concessions (Current Employee), Victoria, BCMarch 20, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: insufficient hours
- hectic work, fun interactions
- learned to sell alcohol
- management is easy to deal with
- fun staff
- dealing with drunks can be difficult
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy workplace, working 21 days straight with 7 days off, does not leave any balance for family life.
Camp Manager Operations (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 20, 2013
Pros: benefits, salary, living accomodations.
Cons: long hours, being away from family
A solid company with years of experience, good salary with benefits. Aramark has a great support system in place.

Customer service and delivering the product are keys values learned each day. Delivering on the promise.

The hardest part of the job is being away from your family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay for the work
General Laborer (Former Employee), Morinville, ABMarch 3, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: long days
I would walk into the warehouse and begin to organize for the day. Had to do repairs to living units, mostly electrical. Labour was tough and long days, but the pay was worth it. The co-workers were your average folk for Alberta and the management was well kept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun at work place.no pressure.
kitchen helper (Current Employee), halifaxFebruary 28, 2013
i have learned lots of things from the workers of aramark .work is more enjoyable to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful workplace
COOK (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: special events
Working with many people and new skills to learn as a cook. The co-workers are friendly and there are many activities in the workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
occasional group parties
Housekeeping Aide (Current Employee), Richmond HospitalFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: stable
Cons: has to be very hard working
- every day is a routine
- learned to be efficient
- management is nice
- co-workers are friendly
- hardest part of the job is time line
- most enjoyable part of the job is achievements
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hard workers
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Conklin, ABFebruary 25, 2013
cleans 60 rooms a day sometimes more if co-workers were behind
managers were fair
worked alot with cleaning products/chemicals
Co-workers friendly, clean and efficient
the hardest part of the job was to get all the rooms cleaned in one day
the most enjoyable part was Toolbox meetings in the morning where we discussed a chemical, discussed work hazards – more... and exercised.
This company is very big with safety – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun and Fast Paced Work Place
Cashier/Beer Service (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: excellent wages
Cons: disgruntled customers
customer service oriented
fast paced work environment
food service industry
beer sales

Co workers are fantastic as it is a team oriented environment, with a friendly and helpful management team as well as co workers

hardest part of the job is dealing with disgruntled customers

About Aramark

Keeping employees fed and clothed is one mark of this company. ARAMARK is the world's #3 contract foodservice provider (behind – Read more