Find companies:
Applied Systems, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

Applied Systems, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with no interest in its employees
Business Development Representative (Former Employee), University Park, ILAugust 12, 2014
Pay was alright, but not great.
There was always a feeling that you could lose your job on any given day, and you saw it happen to your friends from each department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest place to work
Data Processor (Current Employee), Windsor, CTJune 18, 2014
Some of the management is always so miserable and very vindictive and make sure to make their employees lives miserable. Every little thing is scrutinized. The pay is horrible if you have a family to support. Once you deduct taxes, you are basically making minimum wage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work renovating the building
Maintenance (Former Employee), Tinley Park, ILJune 12, 2014
Pros: lenient boss
Cons: people in the building were god aweful
Great environment to work in with a great maintenance staff surrounding me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage Insurance Agents( Clients) Implementation of Ancillary Products
Account Manager (Current Employee), Windsor, CTApril 18, 2014
Pros: flxibility, helping clients, balance of learning technology but working with people
Cons: all trainings are on phone, management not appreciate of customer service skills, lack of advancement
Responsible for implementing ancillary on link products for clients ( Insurance agencies of various sizes). I start out when assigned, indrucing myself and explaining the process based on their needs. I do the set up their product ( CSR24 and Website) based on conversation then I plan 6 basic trainings with key contact and their chosen staff. I also – more... am responsible for SEO set up , reports and updating client websites to improve SEO status.

The hardest and the best part of the job is deciding the proper process and teaching style to implement/train clients before I pass them along. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding place to be
Quality Analyst (Current Employee), University Park, ILFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: flexibility and location
Cons: compensation
Typical Day

I have a daily status meeting with my agile team to discuss what tasks we worked on/completed yesterday, what the plan is for today and if there are any obstacles that are preventing me from completing my daily tasks. I look in the team queue to see if there are any defects fixes completed that require testing. If there are, I review the – more... documentation and plan the best way to fix it. Will we need a testing plan/test case put in place, will I need a special environment, or would an automated script help me to test this, this usually depends on the amount of data I will need to have available to thoroughly test the defect fix. Once I have my plan in place, I will test the defect, add notes to validate my testing and move on to either another defect fix. If there are no other defect fixes, I will proceed to enhancement requests, feature work, or writing more automated scripts or test cases for tasks that will be coming down in the near future. This preparation may include review technical specs or design documentation or organizing meetings to discuss specifications.

My team has been on a special project regarding a fragile piece of functionality within our software, which required my organization of test cases and workflows that needed to be tested; as well as being the technical recourse for the specifications for this functionality. This project has taken up most of time for the past few months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great stepping stone, nothing more.
Support Technician (Current Employee), University Park, ILDecember 7, 2013
First thing is first, I have enjoyed my time at Applied Systems. They do train you in what you need to know for your position. Supervisors and your coworkers will try to help you however they can, the environment promotes talking with other people in other departments. I have learned many things about Microsoft Windows, Remote desktop environments, – more... Active Directory etc. That part of your knowledge has to be learned on your own though, as they do not provide any further education outside of your initial training. And that can be the hardest part of the job, if you are a person that cannot learn or research on your own. Otherwise, the salary range for ANY position in the company is below average of what you'll find in the area. And it's hard to move to other positions or departments due to the culture of the company as well. You'll probably stuck in one position for about 5 years before you can even consider trying to move somewhere else. This is why it's better to use a position there as experience and continue forward, the people there are nice but there's nothing outside of that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Software and Hardware Tech
Software Technician (Former Employee), University Park, ILNovember 24, 2013
Pros: helping people
Everything was handled via the telephone:
working with consumers/companies who needed help with the hardware and or software issues, which I provided over the phone and or dialed in to check to make sure the issue was resolved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Quantity, not quality"
Software Support Technician (Former Employee), University Park, ILAugust 1, 2013
Pros: bagel tuesday
Cons: dealing with some incompetent superiors, low pay, dealing with 'quantity, not quality, ' no breaks except 1/2 hour unpaid lunch, no training on new technology
I realized almost immediately that our main concern was not Customer Service, despite working in a call center. We were to get off the phone as soon as possible instead of helping the caller. Some supervisors were good; others VERY incompetent. The pay was considerably less than what other software companies pay their techs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Career Stepping Stone
Support Technician (Current Employee), University Park, ILJuly 2, 2013
Cons: short breaks, low pay
Applied is a great way to learn about the technology industry, and provides good training. The lunch hours are short and the pay doesn't compare to other tech companies. The turnover rate is terrible and management doesn't seem to want to address any of these issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, high energy company
Territorial Marketing and Sales Rep (Former Employee), Colorado, Wyoming, New Mexico, Utah, NebraskaMay 7, 2013
Pros: excellent company; product and support. compensation was not that rewarding.
Cons: high pressure; demanding. tough on the family life
A typical day of work when on the road would be meeting with the principles of Independent Insurance Agencies. Demonstrating/marketing and then ultimately trying to close the deal.
A lot of travel either from flying and/or driving.
I had excellent company support.
The hardest part of job was it was an exhausting job. Generally was gone 3 weeks out of – more... the month. Sales demands were high.
I enjoyed meeting many different people and seeing the country.
Overall a memorable experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job, but not a good employer
Support Technician Level 2 (Former Employee), University Park, ILMarch 21, 2013
Pros: nice coworkers, some nice customers
The company started out as a privately owned company with a friendly, hometown attitude. It is now owned by a corporation and not a good place to work. For the kind of work you end up doing, starting salaries are way below other companies. Raises are minuscule, if you even get one. There are benefits, all of which you pay a portion, although the health – more... insurance is poor to moderate coverage at best. You do not get breaks. The company only allows what is legally required, a 30 minute, unpaid lunch. Management is detached from the workers and although they say they want your honest opinion about your job, it ends up putting a permanent mark on your head. They've instituted what many consider a "Survivor" style evaluation process where every month, the lowest rated employee in a group or department is identified. There is a "watchdog" group keeping track of everything you do and have a nearly "zero tolerance" policy on misconduct, job performance and even employee mistakes. You often get stuck with something difficult to take care of, causing you to stay late and you don't have much choice in the matter. Trainings and meetings can be scheduled before your start time and you're required to attend. The only positive thing I ended up liking are the coworkers and gratitude from customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Systems Analyst (Former Employee), University Park, ILJuly 30, 2012
Great co-workers who are very helpful. Work environment is a great learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where you go to start, not stay
Quality Analyst (Current Employee), University Park, ILJuly 23, 2012
Pros – Not having to fight downtown Chicago traffic. Laid back, casual work environment. Generally pleasant co-workers.

Cons – Absurdly low pay for the field and experience level. Senior management appears not to car for the general worker.

Advice to Senior Management – Everyone always feels they deserve more money than they make, but this is one – more... of the situations where I honestly feel it is true. Too many changes that, to the average worker, appears to be unguided and maybe even downright foolish. – less

About Applied Systems, Inc.

Applied Systems applies technology to automate the insurance industry -- from lone agent to large agency. The company helps independent – Read more