Find companies:
Applebee's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,450 reviews

Applebee's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place.
Hostess/Server (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJuly 1, 2014
Seating guess, providing them with information on the menu and popular dishes. cleaned restaurant, cleaned dirty table after guess left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funloving and fast paced atmoshpere.
Server (Current Employee), Bellmore, NYJuly 1, 2014
There really isn't a "typical day" at work for me. it can either be slow or fast paced and crazy. Ive adjusted well considering how long ive been in this business.

Ive learned how to keep my cool under pressure and how to prioritize my responsibilities.

Management has worked in my favor for most of my time at Applebees. Have never really had much – more... of a problem with any of my managers during my years at the bees.

The hardest part of my job is the inconsistency of my salary,

The most enjoyable part of my job are my friends and the fact that i basically get paid daily, and pretty well considering the amount of hours i usually work. I also enjoy the feeling of helping others feel happy and comfortable, although i'd feel better if it was because of something health wise and not the fact the their burger isn't cooked well enough.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Bartender/Server (Former Employee), Lafayette, INJuly 1, 2014
Great place to work during school. Kept busy and made good money and great friendships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waited tables
Server/Bartender (Former Employee), High Point, NCJuly 1, 2014
This job was more along the line of a job while working part time and trying to go to school
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating and little pay
HOSTESS/NEIGHBORHOOD EXPERT (HOSTESS TRAINER) (Current Employee), Calumet City, ILJuly 1, 2014
I learned that this company expects a lot for little pay. I've met some great people but this job really makes you feel unappreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for
Server/Bartender (Current Employee), Miller Place, NYJune 30, 2014
Fun place to work for, not something that you want to do for an extended period of time. Great job for an in between stage for looking for something permanent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family friendly environment, large rap around bar, 10 42inch flat screens to enjoy all sports games, Everyday Allday drink specials, 1/2 off apps
Server/Expo/Togo (Current Employee), Clarksville, TNJune 29, 2014
Pros: all day everyday drink specails, 1/2 off apps 2-6/9-cl, able to watch all sports games, family friendly
Cons: healthcare, breaks, not knowing when you are to leave, lack of communication between managment to staff
I've worked here for 4 years and when I first started at Applebee's in Clarksville, it was up to beat always busy and always steady dinner rushes. I enjoyed working with my management and co-workers, everyone was always on the same page and everyone was taught the same way how to address any issues with your table, etc. There was hardly every an issue – more... with our staff or anything regarding Applebee's in general except for your common issues with guest, that can and was taken care of immediately. As time went on we had gained a new staff and replaced management. Our General Manager at the time who was just such a wonderful man, so kind and would regardless of the time and issues he would always make sure his job was done for the day. He ended up getting placed at another store were later down the road he had passed away from a heart attack which was a very upsetting ordeal for the staff that was close with him. But again, as time went on we ended up with a new GM and assistant managers, including new co-workers. Some caught on quick others not so much, my personal thought but the GM that we replaced our old GM with it was his FIRST GM passion and to be honest I believe he put our name threw the floor. He ran our store for a year and ended up stepping down from his position. In his own words "it wasn't the job for him". That being said, I do believe that in his year of being employed with us as GM he by far made things better but worst. I can go on for days about my experience but I have had 5 General Managers and numerous assistant managers some good some bad. I have had many good days with Applebee's as I am a people person and LOVE meeting new faces. We always had new guest come in expecially dinner time, being off of the interstate and near a lot of hotels we brought in all kinds of guest traveling. Great conversations and great memories! When I first started up till about 2 years ago we had pretty much all the same staff, same people working and same schedule for the most part. But because of the lack in business and new surrounding restaurants our good co-workers started to find other jobs. I stuck around because it was for me a "easy day for the most part" I know the menu, and know what I am doing so therefore I stuck around. But 4 years in, again very much a different place. New Managers, New Staff. It's basically someone's first day everyday there. It's no longer what I am use to, new rules, new this and that all because we change managers like socks. Now I have been in the restaurant business for over 7 years, I know people come and go, etc. But here at one point it was such a great place, these days it's almost brand new to me. I must say after 4 long years I am actually interested in finding a new job and moving on. The most enjoyable part of my job here at Applebee's was getting to know your guest, finding out there reason for being out, weather it was just a dinner and a movie, family outing or anniversary, even had several marriage purposals over the years. It was all fun in getting to know your guest!! The hardest part of my job would have to be dealing with the handful of extra things to do threw out your shift and after your shift, including running your own food and taking care of you guest, busing your own tables and making sure your side work threw out your shift is complete or should I say kept up. As time goes on you may get use to it like I did but it's always a hustle to make sure everything is done and everyone is happy. It also depends on you side work as well, some are much easier then others of course. But I would have to say that was the hardest part at times. Working here like any other restaurant you can learn many things even if you feel you know it all it to me is always a learning process. You deal with different people and different personalities and when dealing with peoples food it can get hecktic at times. I over the years have learned the does and don'ts, for example replacing certain words with another word that you use more then often and trying to remove it from your vocabulary when talking to guest. You sound more perfetional to them you sound like you know what your talking about "even if you do" you sound smarter and guest tend to like your conversation more. For example: Can I get you guys something to drink -Sometime ago, two ladies told me that they didn't like being called guys. Even though I wasn't personally calling them guys I was using the word in a wrong manner towards two woman. So now, I'll say if there are two woman I'll say "Hello ladies, can I offer you ladies a drink. Or if it's a family I'll say "Hi, how are we doing today" ... Just seem to use my words more proper and had got me a long ways.. A typical day at work would be me going in for a night shift and staying until when ever it dies down or whenever the management makes cuts towards closers. Sometimes there would be more then just closers closing just because a table will stick around and it's your table and you are to stay with that table until they are ready to cash out and leave. But other then being assigned a section and taking care of your guest, taking care of your side work threw out your shift and running your own food it was simple to the thought but it all really depends on your section, the day of the week, how busy we get and your co-workers on how SMOOTH the shift runs. Over the past year I had more bad shifts then good shifts, it doesn't take much to have a bad shift if people are not helping one another out or perhaps just in general someone is having a bad shift and isn't holding there part down on there section or side work it can effect you or your whole staff. At the end of the day I always went into work and did what I had to do, and remained the same person I came in as. The guest next to your section might not be your guest today but maybe your guest tomorrow. So always tried to hold the same attitude towards everyone and everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Began as a wonderful place to work, full of energy and teamwork
Assistant General and Training Manager (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAJune 29, 2014
Pros: great salary and benefits packages
Cons: 80 plus hour work weeks, no work-life balance
I was with Applebee's and loved it for a long time. However things changed and the culture shifted from a family oriented team to a numbers only business. I did learn a tremendous amount about business (not just food service). I became adept at payroll and benefit coordinate, utilizing and creating training programs. At Applebee's I sharpened my recruiting – more... skills and learned the basics of P & L reconciliation. I learned how to forecast sales based on current business trends and how to control overhead costs to produce a net profit. As the culture morphed over the years I also learned how to be flexible and adaptable to changing policies and trends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Car-Side ToGo Waitress (Former Employee), Texarkana, TXJune 29, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
n/a- it was just okay i wouldn't go back. had a great time there meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean Productive Work Environment
Back of House Associate (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNJune 28, 2014
Pros: reduced food prices
Cons: no set breaks, weak healthcare
We prepare food daily to handle the volume that has been set as a standard. We are taught the proper way to produce the food items to health standards. Co-workers work together to get food out on time. The hardest part is high-volume times. The most enjoyable part of the day is being able to satisfy a guest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good night job
Waitress, Cashier (Former Employee), Smithfield, NCJune 27, 2014
Not a bad place to work. Great staff. Food service is only difficult should you get a difficult customer. However, as long as you re-read the order. Have friendly encounters. Its fun and the people and inviting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no hrs
Line Cook (Former Employee), Somerdale, NJJune 26, 2014
Pros: eat what you want only you must ask
Cons: no money
co works great to work with management not friendly.
enjoy making food and working hard, team work, clean facility
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my temporary time here.
Server and Host (Former Employee), Henderson, KYJune 26, 2014
I really enjoyed Applebee's. I enjoyed helping customers, and I really appreciated the opportunity to work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work at.
Hostess (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MNJune 25, 2014
Pros: 50% off meals if you are an employee, tip sharing.
Cons: you don't always get a chance for a break.
A typical day at work is standing at the hostess podium and waiting to seat guests, clearing tables as people leave. I learned a lot about what it takes to work in a restaurant setting. Management is very good to their employees, very helpful and insightful when there is a question, they thank you for doing a good job. My co workers so far have been – more... pretty good, they are helpful and give little reminders when it is necessary. The hardest part of the job is during slow times you just want to be moving, but there's not a lot to do. The most enjoyable thing is helping customers get the satisfaction that they deserve when dining at the restaurant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong culture
General Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 25, 2014
Pros: good culture
Cons: large company
Great place to learn, excellent technology and good upper managment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Hostess (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAJune 24, 2014
It's a great place to work and grow in their friendly environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place, alive, and productive.
Waitress (Current Employee), Salem, ILJune 24, 2014
Pros: definitley the guest
Cons: no break, health care, growth opportunity
Working at Applebee's keeps me on my toes! I love the atmosphere and the guest. I have many different co workers who are team players, so we can take care of all guest in a timely manner. The hardest part of being a waitress is making sure every guest leaves happy. That is my main goal !!! I want to know my management, co workers and my self did a great – more... job serving each and every guest to the highest standards possible!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work
Server/Bartender (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 24, 2014
I loved interacting with people even when they weren't the most enjoyable. My co-workers are very helpful to each other and the managers also work well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive; fun; small company; family oriented
Car side Specialist (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 23, 2014
Pros: discount specials
Cons: short breaks
enjoyed going to work; receiving tips; being in a productive environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding Managment
Server/Bartender (Former Employee), Fall River, MAJune 23, 2014
Management is great here. Although this location is in a pretty rough area which makes is hard to earn tips I would still say I really enjoyed working here.