Find companies:
Applebee's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,646 reviews

Applebee's Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with room for advancement
Head Bartender / Trainer (Former Employee), Aberdeen and Bel AirSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: sometimes flexable daytime or evening hours
Cons: mostly evening hours
A typical day started with a rigorous set up and ended with a complex cleanup. I learned great time management skills which helped me function well in a high stress environment. Management was helpful when needed and did a great job not micromanaging. My co-workers were mostly supportive in our busiest hours. The hardest part of my job was running out – more... of important product and improvising in a cost efficient way. I mostly enjoyed being able to be myself, wittiness included. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and positive place to work.
Cook (Former Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: the people were positive to work with.
Cons: didnt always get a lunch break.
I worked the fry section which included; Keeping my area stocked up, making all foods that required being fried, prepared desserts, salads, and also kept my work station clean, helping others when the work flow gets busy. It was hard at times because there were times when we would get backed up and be under a lot of pressure. I learned a lot and it – more... tought me how to work and remain calm in a high volume work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great neighborhood environment
Server Expert (Current Employee), Lafayette, LASeptember 27, 2014
Make sure I built my clients, also getting them to come back to see me. I go into work knowing me being positive bring my employers and I a better environment. I help train knew people and know I do everything by the book and train them the same. New employers will go on knowing and achieving great goals. The hardest part of the job is having to take – more... the responsibility when others don't, but I know it benefits me in the long run. Applebee's give me lots more tables then other restaurants, so I take it to my benefit, I take my time and review and continue my customer service. I enjoy friends they I made and learning management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for growth and opportunities
SERVER (Former Employee), Milpitas, CASeptember 26, 2014
A fun environment to work in and many opportunities to grow and advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Waitress job with decent tips
Waitress (Former Employee), Columbia, SCSeptember 26, 2014
I would continue to serve customers with a smile on my face. Tips were typically not extremely well. Managers were wonderful, when they could tell you needed help they would jump right in and help. Co-workers were typical, they minded their own business just like I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
greatful
BOH Server/Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: meeting great people
working with this company was the best experience at a food restaurant. I feel in love with the job but also the employees. They were like a second family to me and I looked forward to coming to work every day with high hopes of exceeding our goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great to go to work everyday.
Server (Former Employee), Reading, PASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: a good place to make new friends
Cons: the fact i had to leave
Everyone worked as a team. Learned some of the corporate in and outs. The hardest part was working for a corporation after always working for locally owned businesses. The management was always there to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horraible Management
Server/ Hostess (Current Employee), Rexburg, IDSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: if you like soda free soda
Cons: no breaks, half off a shift meal for front of the house employees horrible hours
People over all that you work with are fun, But the managers have favorites and don't give your schedule a week in advance. The GM is a yes man and will say yes to anything you ask but won't follow through. The hiring manager play favorites and your hours depend on how much she likes you. Your work load depends on how much she likes you. Not a fair – more... place to work at all and your not treated right. You have to tip out the bar tender even tho they make 5 dollars more an hour then you. If you don't their CLIQUES gang up on you and treat you poorly and managers just say then you should have tipped the bar tender. You can work up to 12 hours without a break – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly restaurant atmosphere.
Restaurant Server (Former Employee), Richmond, VirginiaSeptember 23, 2014
I enjoyed working at Applebee's, learning the in's and out's of being a restaurant server, expo, and hostess. I always had a great time working, it was an upbeat and cheeful environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day and Duties at Applebee's Bar and Grill.
Host (Former Employee), Pennsville, NJSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: 50% discount when eating, understanding managment, easy internet access, ability to pick up shifts from applebees' work website, ect.
Cons: iffy wifi connection, as well as spotty home access to the work website, co-workers not checking in at the host stand so the host knows who is in, ect.
When working at Applebee's one benefits from arriving early. This way the employees' may relax and get the prep-work of the job complete at an easy pace. Some of such prep-work includes, but not limited to, washing windows, organizing the host stand, setting up the daily charts, (if it is a weekday and morning shift) setting the booths with 2 menus, – more... Lunch Specials side up, filling the sani-bucket, and retreaving fresh towels. As well as checking all tables and floors for trash or uncleansliness, opening the door for the guests arrival and departure, and directing the customers as to were to sit. After opening, guests are greeted with a friendly smile and light conversation. They are then lead to thier desired location, quickly and pleasently. The menu is slightly explained, or a item may be recommended along with a description and name of that days manager. At Applebee's there is nowhere the customers are not allowed to sit at any time unless, for example, there are contiuating cercumstances such as a baby in a sling or a handycapped person. In these cases it is highly recomened that they sit close to the enterance and/or sit in a place where space and monuverability is more accessable. Periodicaly throughout the shift personel are expected to make trips to the bathroom in order to complete a "bathroom check". This entales asuring surfaces are clean and dry, mirrors are dry and not streaky, floors are clear and dry, as well as all the stalls being well stocked. If it were to happen that a large number of guests should arrive at around the same time,there could be a back-up and the need for a "Waiting List". The customer's name is written down as well as thier arrival time to allow a current and consecutive flow. When the patrons are finished eating and conversing the door is held for thier goodbye and they are thanked for spending thier precious time and earnings here at Applebee' with us, as well as a smile and a reminder that all of us at Applebee's will see you tomorrow. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Server (Current Employee), Wichita, KSSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: not much pay
Fun work environment, Great co-workers, always opportunities to move up, Management is decent, Hardest part of the job is to get other employees motivated to work as hard as you do, most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that my hard work will show with my tips.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment but no consistant scheduling
Server (Former Employee), Grand Blanc, MISeptember 22, 2014
Pros: discounted food
Cons: no breaks
Just like any serving job dealing with customers can be both rewarding and frustrating. I learned very quickly how to get myself out of uncomfortable situations and how exactly to make most customers happy. The management varies. Some of the managers are great but others are only there for themselves and do not make working with them an easy task. The – more... hardest part of the job was working with the cooks. They are usually hot because of the grills so they are very irritable. The most enjoyable part of the job is all of the great people you get to know whether they are coworkers or customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, no longer there
Assistant GM/ Kitchen Manager (Current Employee), Murfreesboro, TNSeptember 22, 2014
Santa Fe was great, a slightly different approach to Logans, but more like a western bar/saloon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were very helpful and hardworkinig
KITCHEN ASSISTANT (Former Employee), 40-22 College Point Blvd, Flushing, NY 11354September 21, 2014
Pros: they worked like a family
Cons: no a busy place so not a place a person can stay for long
I would come in getting right to work once i came in the door. I would take the chairs off the tables and place the items on the table. Then go to the back in the kitchen where i would start portioning food in preparation of cooking for the day. Wash dishes if needed. manager was helpful, always there for support making sure we were getting the job – more... done. Co-workings was a big help wouldn't know anything without them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server, Trainer, Bartender (Former Employee), Wytheville, VASeptember 21, 2014
Pros: food, discount
Cons: smoking section
Serving table and tending bar.
Learned to take care of the customer first, first impressions count.
Management was rude and overbearing, to everyone.
Co-workers were great, loved hanging with them at work and after.
Hardest parts were being exposed to second hand smoke, enjoyable part was eating the food for a discount.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place but not for life
Waitress (Former Employee), Dartmouth, MASeptember 20, 2014
Pros: fun, upbeat, friendly
Cons: no future in the company
As with BWW, Applebee's was fun, provided the opportunity to make friends and work in an upbeat environment, but a restaurant offers very little to my future in the way of job satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Saudi ArabiaSeptember 19, 2014
Delivers revenues and profits by developing, marketing, financing, and providing appealing restaurant service; managing staff.
Establishes restaurant business plan by surveying restaurant demand; conferring with people in the community; identifying and evaluating competitors; preparing financial, marketing, and sales projections, analyses, and estimates
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Host, Server, Carside specialist, Expo (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJSeptember 19, 2014
A day working at Applebee's is fun because of the guest and the employees. My Managers were very disrespectful to me and other co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work. Friendly managers and co-workers. Nice atmosphere.
server (Current Employee), Warrington, PASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: contests
Cons: low pay
My typical day at work is opening the store. I clean and make sure everything is set up correctly before customers start to arrive. I greet my customers and interact with them as well, like asking about their day or their plans for the day or a holiday or the weekend. I serve food,clean up the tables, run dishes through the dishwasher. Very nice place – more... to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy and Fast Pace
Expert Cook (Broil, Mid (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCSeptember 19, 2014
Cons: no benefits
On a typical day I would set up the line and make sure it was ready for business which meant: stocking, putting out utensils, prepping, and even counting the items we had on hand. I would then get ready for the lunch rush insuring all guest left very happy because their experience was the best. Getting food out fast and fresh was my main priority. We – more... all worked as a team and in some cases it was like a family. I really found nothing hard about the job but it did get busy and you would have to pump up the volume which I could do with no problem. The most enjoyable part of the job was being recognized be other employees for the hard work I put in which happened a lot. – less