Find companies:
Applebee's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,417 reviews

Applebee's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need more hours
Cook (Former Employee), Lebanon, TNJune 16, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: not enough hours
Enjoyed working at Applebee's; they just didn't have the hours to work me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was OK!
Server/Bartender/Expo (Former Employee), Rock Hill, SCJune 16, 2014
My typical day at work involved intense training for new employees, Serving the public and engaging in tons of team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Horrible Experience
Carside To Go (Former Employee), Calumet City, ILJune 15, 2014
Cons: no lunch breaks, and rude managers.
Working at Applebee's you have no personal life. They also work you harder than your pay. The host get paid 4.25/hr and they bust tables, run food and some wait on tables. The managers also talk to the employees in such rude manner. Everyone their quits within a year due to the lack of respect from the managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
community driven company
Server/ Trainer (Current Employee), manahawkin, njJune 14, 2014
Cons: hourly rate
never have I ever been employed by a company longer than I have been a server at Applebees. I have been able to hold a position there for the past 12 years and I continue to work part time. This company's sole focus is their community.. not money. I had the opportunity to attend their annual awards dinner and i can not begin to express how each recognition – more... given had to do with fundraising, bake sales, car washes, charity softball games, eating contests, car shows, and financial contributions to various well known charities. It brought me to tears. Where in a company have you been able to donate money out of your paycheck and have it go into an account to help fellow co-workers who may need financial assisstance during an emergency and then have corporate match the amount? The answer is, you wont hear about it because it truly does not happen anywhere else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment
Mid Cook/Float/G.U. (Current Employee), Henrietta, NYJune 12, 2014
Pros: free meals
Management is understanding.
I get to use my skills daily and my opinions are considered.
My co-workers are for the most part exceedingly helpful and supportive. They are also a fun bunch to be with.
The only hard part is the rush, other than that it is much like any other restaurant I've been at in the past 34 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place, Great place for customer service skills
Waitress (Former Employee), Lexington, SCJune 12, 2014
Pros: discount foods
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at Applebee's was to come in help the team get ready to open, this was a huge relief to have a dependable team to be there, without them there on time, opening the dining room would be much harder. As the day goes on the managers constantly go around checking on the guest and making sure you are both okay. the most enjoyable part of the – more... job is the satisfaction the guest have when they are done an reassurance of their return. The hardest part of the job was dealing with upset guest and not being able to reassure them that past experience with other restaurants would not be like this one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment
General Manager (Current Employee), Gainesville, GAJune 12, 2014
Fast paced work environment with constant interaction between guests and employees. Bonus driven salary, very hands on in all aspects to obtain labor objectives
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostest
Host (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJune 11, 2014
Pros: nice people.
Cons: hours, pay and the work.
At work I generally maintain the front of the restaurant, I greet and seat the customers, I buss the customers tables when they leave, and I help the servers when they need it.
The co-workers are decent but some of the managers aren't really the best, they wont work around your availability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No benifits
Host (Former Employee), Marysville, WAJune 11, 2014
Lack of benefits, Job security is based off secret shoppers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day was pretty slow
Hostess (Former Employee), San Antonio, TexasJune 11, 2014
Pros: friendly
Cons: no benefits long hours w/ less pay not flexible
Manager was on break a lot, didn't pay much attention to the misconduct
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restaurant
Server (Former Employee), Canton, GAJune 11, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Working at Applebee's gave me more experience working with customers. I was able to work as a team player and develop skills in training others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, very intense, very serious when needed to be, also fun when not so busy, and very tedious on the overall job
Cook (Current Employee), Springfield, ORJune 11, 2014
Pros: discount on food/drinks within 30 minutes of working, fun crew to work with
Cons: not enough hours, don't work enough to excel at my job, stressful for me for not doing as good as everyone else
I would get to work (which I only worked weekends and I need more than an average of 12 hours of week to afford rent, electricity, etc.) and I would basically just cook and depending on the overall profit margin from food orders, I may or may not get asked to get sent home early. I would usually close with 1 or 2 other cooks, a manager, and 2 or 3 servers – more... from that nights shift. I would work at a fast pace and do the best I could. It was hard for me because I would only work weekend nights so I would do really well on Sundays, but Saturdays weren't as good because I hadn't worked since the Sunday before. I would give it my all, like I would at any other job, and do as much as I can. I would cook, restock, and prep food items/entrees when needed and applicable. I also cleaned as much as I could when I was done using a utensil, or not busy with food orders. Making the food was our priority. If I closed, I would have to clean my station up, put everything away or at least cover it. I would have to sweep and scrub the floor clean. I had to wipe down and deep clean microwaves, counters, tables, and trays. Occasionally, I would have to finish doing the dishes if our designated dishwasher was sent home earlier than close. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed now that i know exactly what im doing and entertainnig.
Server/Bartender/Marketing (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJune 10, 2014
Pros: half off food, also a great guest ciental
Cons: not really any breaks due to business
A day a work for me is pretty easy, seeing that i'm one of the best I think we have. Not only have I learned to run at 100% on ABA guidelines but i've also learned how to train others as well. My management team think Im ready for the next step but no openings have arose just yet so until then im being very patient. My co-workers love who it is that – more... I am because I uplift them in a time of need. The hardest part of the job is the barteneding aspect as you have to be able to multi-task. Lastly the most enjoyable moment is when I talk to all my guest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got to be very social, and make people happy
Carside and in store hostess (Former Employee), Puyallup, WAJune 10, 2014
Pros: tips, flexible hours.
Cons: very strict rules.
everyday I got to greet customers, make people laugh, serve them food. I got to learn how to come out of my shell, and learned to use my skills to provide great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most of the time a worthy place to work.
Cook (Former Employee), Wilkes-Barre, PAJune 10, 2014
Was usually the best lpace to work, can learn alot there. Sometimes management can be pain but they are usually good. some of the things they do aren't worth it but the steaks are because they are cut in house. the steaks are awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Server (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJune 10, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
It was a short term employment. It was a brief intermediate while I was looking for something better and something new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company and poor management
Head Trainer/Bartender/Server (Former Employee), Seneca, South CarolinaJune 10, 2014
Pros: met good costumers and employee's
Cons: my head was never above water
This company only offered cheap food and abuse of employee's, to only to make money for the excutives in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun for me learning the corperate world
Associate Manager (Former Employee), Bonita Springs, FLJune 9, 2014
Pros: being taught different way of doing things
Cons: thought i knew it all but anyone can learn as long as you are open
Had to learn the corp. way.
Under stand someone else made the rules and I was teaching other people them.
Enjoyable part, becoming part of a team vs making up the team and rules. Is was OK
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Bartender (Current Employee), Meridian, IDJune 8, 2014
A typical day can be busy and somewhat stressful, but worth it in the end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Front of the House Manager (Current Employee), Binghamton, N.Y.June 8, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job is interacting with customers and coaching employees.