Find companies:
Applebee's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,511 reviews

Applebee's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my first job
Host/Bus Boy (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYAugust 1, 2014
Pros: was a great place to work fun
Cons: was only while in high school
host seating people at tables, setting up tables cleaning the people were great friendly place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume food factory
Line Cook (fry side) (Former Employee), Geneseo, NYAugust 1, 2014
Select menu items made from scratch. The rest comes in plastic bags that are heated and sliced open (sauces, soups). Cooking here can be extremely stressful, as the hostesses are allowed to flood the restaurant with customers and drown the cooks. I've had more than 30 orders on my screen at once more times than I can count. Every time new orders are – more... rang in, the monitor beeps. All of the cooks hear it in their sleep, I guarantee you. Job requires a lot of stamina, but can be fun if you're working with the right people. When super-busy as discussed above, the managers jump on the line and help out, too, which is nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never boroing
kitchen/foh manager (Former Employee), McDonough, GAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: family
Cons: long hours
I wish I was still there, like a big family! I liked the excitement of always having something to do next.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typcal work day
Server (Former Employee), Lithonia, GAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: enviornment
Cons: pay
Busy at all times, a lot of customer interaction, flexable schedule, great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Crew Member (Former Employee), Millville, NJJuly 31, 2014
Pros: discount for the food
Cons: the breaks
coming in to work in apple bee's was a normal feeling to me and everyone else. Clocking in and finding out what you have to do is the mean thing. Moving around and finding thing to clean or help seat a group of people on a table to have less struggle throw out the day.
The coworkers I worked with had different personality. Personality that had people – more... to come in for more.
I won't say my job was always fun and easy, Some of the days it was difficult and kind of stressful. When people came in and there was no table to seat them in was a struggle. But we also had normal days, everything is going smooth and our days can go slow and enjoy the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and the tip share is nice
Host (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 31, 2014
The job has its fast days and slow days, the day usually consists of seating guests and cleaning tables. A very team oriented place and if its gets crowded I need to run food as well and maybe help out the waiters with their guests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work place but enjoyable
Hostess (Former Employee), Astoria, NYJuly 30, 2014
Seating and greeting guests on a daily as they enter and exit the restaurant, as well as assisting anywhere else in the restaurant as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed learning the restaurant business inside and out, advancing in many skills, and having many opportunities for advancement within the company
FRONT OF HOUSE & BACK OF HOUSE MANAGER,SERVER (Former Employee), Berlin, VermontJuly 30, 2014
Pros: built better social skills, enjoyed greeting and meeting new people on a daily basis, customers and employees.
Cons: worked many hours a day, with very little breaks, no lunch breaks, staff was allowed to do whatever, attitudes or not completing their job duties, it was a very dramatic environment to work in
I love serving the community and meeting new people but this was a very tough business to work for. Turn over of employees was ridiculous, a very "high school" employee base. I wanted to move ahead and become a manager because my intentions were to put my ideas and thoughts into making Applebee's a better place into motion as I was getting no where – more... as a server. Being that Applebee's is a corporation, it didn't quite work out that way. I was taken advantage of by other managers, and eventually pushed off the bench by them. In my own opinion, there were things going on in that place that they didn't want getting out. So, I had to go because it started to affect my home/family life. I thought I could improve the management team, and I just had to come to my senses that it wasn't going to work out. I loved my job, but they didn't take me seriously and they wanted nothing to do with the ideas I was trying to implement. I have been home with my twins since then and they start school this year so I'm very excited to get back to work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, hands on work place.
Sales associate, certified expert trainer (Former Employee), tracy, caJuly 29, 2014
Pros: free lunches, only when training new employees.
Cons: short breaks, healthcare, no discounts on meals.
As a certified expert trainer at Applebee's I would train all the new hired employees. I learned how to work well under pressure. Management was strict which required me to keep high professionalism at all times. All the co-workers got a long very well and we would help out each other when needed. The hardest part of the job was training someone who – more... has never worked in a restaurant. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work with people who got along and worked efficiently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Neighborhood Expert, Server (Former Employee), Clinton, MSJuly 29, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: side work taking longer than closing
A typical day for me would to greet customers, take drink orders and fill, take food orders, deliver food to tables and make sure they are completely satisfied with their visit. I also had "side work" that was assigned every shift and had to keep up with it during my shift. I was promoted to "Neighborhood Expert" and was trained to train new hires. – more... I usually closed and was in charge of checking each server's station and checking them out before they left. After closing I would vacuum and finish any side work left. I got along well with all of my co-workers and enjoyed the time spent with them! The hardest part of my job was making sure every customer had everything they needed when we were extremely busy and I had multiple tables. The most enjoyable part was building relationship with customers and knowing how much they appreciated my service when they came back and asked to be in my section. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Corporate trainer / key cook (Former Employee), Fayetteville, GAJuly 28, 2014
great opportunity to gain experience behind the scenes. longevity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job, long hours
Server & Host (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 27, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: long hours
I have to say working in a time sq restaurant is not for the faint of heart but a great learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and staff.
Bartender and Server (Former Employee), Woodbury, MNJuly 25, 2014
Excellent tips. Great management. Menu simple enough to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great growth opportunities
Bartender (Former Employee), Stuart, FloridaJuly 23, 2014
Loved the abundance of abilities to grow within my position as well as with the company. Lots of training opportunities and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Server (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALJuly 23, 2014
A typical day at Applebee's begins with guests meeting me at the door asking me to be their server. I've learned that people come in many shapes,forms, and fashion with different personalities, yet everyone should still be treated with the same respect. My management and co workers are awesome. The hardest part of the job was the very first time I had – more... a large party dine in with me as their server, but the most enjoyable part is meeting new people everyday – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its OK
Neighborhood Expert (Former Employee), Elizabethton, TNJuly 23, 2014
Very challenging at times. can be rewarding. sometimes they expect you to put work above all. not very family friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Hostess (Former Employee), Belleville, MIJuly 23, 2014
Applebee's was a fun, learning experience. I was the HOST. Enjoyed meeting new people, helping others & growing with the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Host (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCJuly 23, 2014
Pros: free drinks, half off meals
Cons: rude customers that we have to deal with
I like the people I work with including my managers. Its a calm work place at time and then other times it can be hectic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Host (Current Employee), Moline, ILJuly 23, 2014
Great place to work and well organized and a good place to learn new skills and make new friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Line Cook (Former Employee), Southampton, PAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: advancement and compensation
People and management were good. No sort of advancement. Not the best cleaning procedures.