Find companies:
Applebee's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,566 reviews

Applebee's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace good people
Server (Current Employee), Winter Haven, FLAugust 28, 2014
Pros: 2.50 off a meal each day you work
Cons: healthcare
i enjoy my time there but its time for something new. jdsflkjsdfkl jdfkl jlaksdj faskdljf klajsdfklaklsdjfkl aksldjfl;kajsdf aklsdjflkasd dlskfjlkdjfkle klfjelkjbvnioej jfdklsdfjhior;ghlk kdfjeoifkl
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced enviroment
Waitress and Bartender (Former Employee), Catonsville, MDAugust 28, 2014
Pros: the tips, the relationships you develope
Cons: the hourly pay, sometimes the tips
A typical work day consisted of cleaning and getting the store prepared to serve the customers. I learned how to multitask in a stresssful enviroment. I also learned how to engage people on a personal level and problem solving in tense situations. Management was very helpful. My co workers for the most part were fine this field has a very high turnover – more... rate so you are constantly changing co workers. the hardest part of the job was the stress level and the low pay at times. The most enjoyable part of the job was definintely the relationship with some co workers and managers. It was a very family and inviting enviroment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy workplace, but no union or benefits unless you are at management. fast paced and demanding.
Cleaner/Host (Former Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch and hours
Cons: no union, benefits, and your always replaceable.
I would clock in the morning and go straight to work. work would be busy all day. i was the detail cleaning guy in the kitchen and that is an everyday heavy cleaning thing. Its was time consuming but taught me plenty on responsibility and time management. the managers were demanding and that helped me move through the day rather smoothly. My co-workers – more... were the best thing about the job. They are a diverse group of people with many different personalities. They made me look forward to going to work. They worked hard though and if they did not they would not be employed. I have made life long friends there though i do not work there anymore. the Hardest part about the job was that it was very demanding because of food department rules on cleanliness. There were also four people doing my job before i was the only one doing it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fast paced environment. Great workplace while going to college to earn my degree.
Server (Current Employee), Valrico, FLAugust 28, 2014
Everything about this company and th epeople who work for it are all great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working with the people I worked with.
Server (Former Employee), Dayton, OHAugust 28, 2014
Pros: i had a great schedule
Cons: lack of communication in management
At times could be a frustrating place to work. My co-workers were awesome. Management never seemed to be on the same page. All in all it was a good job. The toughest part was adhering to all the policies and procedures the new frachiese company put on servers. It took away from being able to do what I do best, and that's give great service and entertain – more... them during their visit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Line cook
Crew member cook (Current Employee), Moultrie, GAAugust 28, 2014
Grill steaks to correct temperature,cook burgers,boneless and bone in wings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waitress
Waitress/Bartender/Food Service (Current Employee), Tacoma, WAAugust 27, 2014
Very fast paced and busy. However, great company and great co-workers. It is difficult sometimes working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and unstable environment
Waitress (Former Employee), Sanford, NCAugust 27, 2014
Pros: interacting with others
Cons: little training and unorganized company
Applebees had very little structure. they didn't train employees very well. The managers and co workers were not willing to use team work. they out a lot on their new employees. I feel if they had a more organized way of doing things then the job would have been much better. However I still really enjoyed interacting with my guests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customers, unsociable staff
Host (Former Employee), Redmond, ORAugust 26, 2014
Pros: interactive, friendly customers, able to eat mess-up orders
Cons: cliche-oriented co-workers, apathetic upper-management
A typical day involved greeting guests, cleaning tables and addressing the concerns of customers who had already been shown to a table when prompted. There wasn't much to learn in this position, being as it revolves around people skills and interacting regularly with inanimate objects. The management used to be awful and insincere, but has since been – more... replaced with people I've worked alongside who show considerably less apathy when approached. The staff by extension, also have an aloof, clique-like high school feel about them, and it isn't uncommon to find one of them tending to their cell phones while on the clock.

The most difficult part of the job was losing abilities the longer that I worked there, and being told not to do the other parts of work when I was able. Similarly difficult was the onerous amount of time that one would have to spend as a host, in order to advance in the company. The best part were the people, and I would have quit the company earlier if they didn't help to make the job more bearable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work at...
Waitress (Former Employee), Taylor, MIAugust 25, 2014
I really enjoyed working here until recently bought out. Enjoyed the area and the clientele that would come in. Made many friends. Many rule changes unfortunately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and strong commitment to quality operations
Manager (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMAugust 25, 2014
Pros: treated like family
Cons: late team members
Monitored all operations including employee job performance.Making table visit and asking guest about their experience.Coaching team members on their behaviors.The hardest part of my job was team members that were late or called out.The most enjoyable part was having a shift that was close to perfect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managing 70+ people at 65-70 hours a week.
Senior Manager (Former Employee), Huntington, INAugust 24, 2014
Although I learned most of my customer service true skills here, it was much too demanding in hours and even time off was nearly nonexistent. Upon interview we can discuss. The GM and I are still friends, and colleagues and speak from time to time managing restaurants across the street from each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enough to get by
Corporate Trainer/Chef (Former Employee), Lawtn, OKAugust 24, 2014
Pros: money to take care of my family
Cons: raise not so much
Not enough kitchen staff to have adequate days off when really needed. I get to work with food. Co-workers some are lazy and gets away with a lot because they have been there for over 10 plus years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 22, 2014
Mostly a fun place to work but lately the newly hired management makes it unbearable to be at work. Lots of short staffed restaurants...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management were confusing in their demands.
Server (Former Employee), New Castle, DEAugust 22, 2014
I really liked my co-workers. It was a fun place to work. it was difficult to get a working schedule as they changed sometimes twice a week,they also sent you home if it was dead. this was hard on single moms who needed the money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
applebees's is an amazing place to work that provides growth and oppurtunites
customer service representative (Former Employee), Alexandria, LAAugust 22, 2014
The best thing about having an oppurtunity to be employed at applebee's is having that interaction with consumers. When they come it was not only a priviledge to serve them but we treated them as if they were family. My main duty was a cook i just loved serving and preparing the meals. Seeing how satisfied the consumers where was the best part of my – more... job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Server (Former Employee), Rowlett, TXAugust 22, 2014
Fun environment, great customers. You stay busy but there is still enough time to make friends with your co-workers as well as the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very enjoyable work place where everyone is like a second family
Cook/Server (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 22, 2014
so starting my work day off i set up everything i may have to to save some time by the end of my shift always have to be a step ahead. i have learned a lot working with my " second family " co-workers and and managers. no matter where im placed for the day knowing the strength and weakness to make a day go smooth and everyone happy. the hardest part – more... of my job here is wanting to quit. the enjoyable part of the day is to say i have a job that you great connections with everyone guest and all – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with mangers that are easy to work with
Waiter (Former Employee), Dodge City, KSAugust 21, 2014
Pros: work for tips
Cons: no breaks
Show up to work to wait tables and ensure every guest leaves as happy as possible to increase tips. Managers and co-workers are easy-going and fun to work with. The hardest part is putting up with angry customers, but co-workers are sure to cheer you up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the kids
Waiter (Current Employee), El Dorado, ARAugust 21, 2014
Pros: great atomsphere to work in
Cons: no breaks
I was able to help kids progress in there learning. Very good place to learn how to be professional