Find companies:
Applebee's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,634 reviews

Applebee's Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization and structure
General Manager (Former Employee), Garden City, KSOctober 1, 2014
Pros: smaller franchise company was very good for communication effectiveness
Applebee's was a very good place to work. As a General Manager, I was equipped with everything I needed to perform well
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviornment
Cook (Current Employee), Antioch, CASeptember 30, 2014
Fast paced, just not for me. Actively seeking stable employment that will work with me and my school schedule starting December 1, 2014.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun upbeat work environment
Hostess (Former Employee), Manahawkin, NJSeptember 30, 2014
One of the best work environments I've experienced. the coworkers and management are very friendly. Everyone took pride in making sure customers had an enjoyable visit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a Fun Environment. Everyone feels like Family.
Server (Current Employee), Ridgeland, MSSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: serving food and taking orders.
Cons: short breaks
An average day at work consists of the day starting out with all the employees setting up the food and condiments line. Teamwork is an essential part of the job for cooks, servers, hosts, and managers. As the hosts seats the guests, the server happily greet the table and make them feel welcomed and valued in the restaurant. Then we take their order – more... and ring it in. If there are special modifications on their food we have to go and communicate with the cooks to make sure we have happy customers. When the guests get ready to pay their tab and leave, we help the hosts out by pre-bussing the tables while they sit other guests and buss the rest of our tables. The most enjoyable part of the job is that everybody works together and that is what brings us close to being family. Also you meet a variety of diverse people, which is exciting. What I learned from being a server is to have an open mind to the different type of people in the world and the most valuable thing I've learned is how to have patience with my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Applebees
Hostess (Former Employee), Glendale, AZSeptember 30, 2014
While working at Applebee's I met a lot of very nice and hardworking people, if I had the chance to go back, I would gladly pass up the opportunity considering how hard you work for minimum wage of only 7.85 with a tip out of 1% of all sales. I enjoyed working there for the few months that I did but I would never go back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Chef (Former Employee), Sanford, NCSeptember 30, 2014
I worked for Applebee's for a long time I enjoyed working there with all the people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, fun great money
Waitress, hostess morning prep (Former Employee), Ontario, CASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: great money and great atmospher
Cons: short breaks
management was amazing, helpful and understanding of school schedules. i learned multitasking here and memorization. co workers were great and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
asst manager
Assistant Manager, Bar Manager, Kitchen Manager (Former Employee), washington MOSeptember 29, 2014
fast paced food servivce manager in all aspects of restaurant. my boss considered me the "go to" person there for necessary duties
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with room for advancement
Head Bartender / Trainer (Former Employee), Aberdeen and Bel AirSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: sometimes flexable daytime or evening hours
Cons: mostly evening hours
A typical day started with a rigorous set up and ended with a complex cleanup. I learned great time management skills which helped me function well in a high stress environment. Management was helpful when needed and did a great job not micromanaging. My co-workers were mostly supportive in our busiest hours. The hardest part of my job was running out – more... of important product and improvising in a cost efficient way. I mostly enjoyed being able to be myself, wittiness included. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and positive place to work.
Cook (Former Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: the people were positive to work with.
Cons: didnt always get a lunch break.
I worked the fry section which included; Keeping my area stocked up, making all foods that required being fried, prepared desserts, salads, and also kept my work station clean, helping others when the work flow gets busy. It was hard at times because there were times when we would get backed up and be under a lot of pressure. I learned a lot and it – more... tought me how to work and remain calm in a high volume work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great neighborhood environment
Server Expert (Current Employee), Lafayette, LASeptember 27, 2014
Make sure I built my clients, also getting them to come back to see me. I go into work knowing me being positive bring my employers and I a better environment. I help train knew people and know I do everything by the book and train them the same. New employers will go on knowing and achieving great goals. The hardest part of the job is having to take – more... the responsibility when others don't, but I know it benefits me in the long run. Applebee's give me lots more tables then other restaurants, so I take it to my benefit, I take my time and review and continue my customer service. I enjoy friends they I made and learning management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for growth and opportunities
SERVER (Former Employee), Milpitas, CASeptember 26, 2014
A fun environment to work in and many opportunities to grow and advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Waitress job with decent tips
Waitress (Former Employee), Columbia, SCSeptember 26, 2014
I would continue to serve customers with a smile on my face. Tips were typically not extremely well. Managers were wonderful, when they could tell you needed help they would jump right in and help. Co-workers were typical, they minded their own business just like I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
greatful
BOH Server/Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: meeting great people
working with this company was the best experience at a food restaurant. I feel in love with the job but also the employees. They were like a second family to me and I looked forward to coming to work every day with high hopes of exceeding our goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great to go to work everyday.
Server (Former Employee), Reading, PASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: a good place to make new friends
Cons: the fact i had to leave
Everyone worked as a team. Learned some of the corporate in and outs. The hardest part was working for a corporation after always working for locally owned businesses. The management was always there to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horraible Management
Server/ Hostess (Current Employee), Rexburg, IDSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: if you like soda free soda
Cons: no breaks, half off a shift meal for front of the house employees horrible hours
People over all that you work with are fun, But the managers have favorites and don't give your schedule a week in advance. The GM is a yes man and will say yes to anything you ask but won't follow through. The hiring manager play favorites and your hours depend on how much she likes you. Your work load depends on how much she likes you. Not a fair – more... place to work at all and your not treated right. You have to tip out the bar tender even tho they make 5 dollars more an hour then you. If you don't their CLIQUES gang up on you and treat you poorly and managers just say then you should have tipped the bar tender. You can work up to 12 hours without a break – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly restaurant atmosphere.
Restaurant Server (Former Employee), Richmond, VirginiaSeptember 23, 2014
I enjoyed working at Applebee's, learning the in's and out's of being a restaurant server, expo, and hostess. I always had a great time working, it was an upbeat and cheeful environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day and Duties at Applebee's Bar and Grill.
Host (Former Employee), Pennsville, NJSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: 50% discount when eating, understanding managment, easy internet access, ability to pick up shifts from applebees' work website, ect.
Cons: iffy wifi connection, as well as spotty home access to the work website, co-workers not checking in at the host stand so the host knows who is in, ect.
When working at Applebee's one benefits from arriving early. This way the employees' may relax and get the prep-work of the job complete at an easy pace. Some of such prep-work includes, but not limited to, washing windows, organizing the host stand, setting up the daily charts, (if it is a weekday and morning shift) setting the booths with 2 menus, – more... Lunch Specials side up, filling the sani-bucket, and retreaving fresh towels. As well as checking all tables and floors for trash or uncleansliness, opening the door for the guests arrival and departure, and directing the customers as to were to sit. After opening, guests are greeted with a friendly smile and light conversation. They are then lead to thier desired location, quickly and pleasently. The menu is slightly explained, or a item may be recommended along with a description and name of that days manager. At Applebee's there is nowhere the customers are not allowed to sit at any time unless, for example, there are contiuating cercumstances such as a baby in a sling or a handycapped person. In these cases it is highly recomened that they sit close to the enterance and/or sit in a place where space and monuverability is more accessable. Periodicaly throughout the shift personel are expected to make trips to the bathroom in order to complete a "bathroom check". This entales asuring surfaces are clean and dry, mirrors are dry and not streaky, floors are clear and dry, as well as all the stalls being well stocked. If it were to happen that a large number of guests should arrive at around the same time,there could be a back-up and the need for a "Waiting List". The customer's name is written down as well as thier arrival time to allow a current and consecutive flow. When the patrons are finished eating and conversing the door is held for thier goodbye and they are thanked for spending thier precious time and earnings here at Applebee' with us, as well as a smile and a reminder that all of us at Applebee's will see you tomorrow. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Server (Current Employee), Wichita, KSSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: not much pay
Fun work environment, Great co-workers, always opportunities to move up, Management is decent, Hardest part of the job is to get other employees motivated to work as hard as you do, most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that my hard work will show with my tips.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment but no consistant scheduling
Server (Former Employee), Grand Blanc, MISeptember 22, 2014
Pros: discounted food
Cons: no breaks
Just like any serving job dealing with customers can be both rewarding and frustrating. I learned very quickly how to get myself out of uncomfortable situations and how exactly to make most customers happy. The management varies. Some of the managers are great but others are only there for themselves and do not make working with them an easy task. The – more... hardest part of the job was working with the cooks. They are usually hot because of the grills so they are very irritable. The most enjoyable part of the job is all of the great people you get to know whether they are coworkers or customers – less