Find companies:
Applebee's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,550 reviews

Applebee's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job with tips
Host (Former Employee), Turlock, CAAugust 30, 2014
Pros: tip money, discounts on food
Cons: short breaks (maybe no breaks), not told when your shift is over
Typically a day of work at Applebee's consisted of clocking in, ask what chart the dining room is on, and then get to work. Bus tables with dishes, sweep the floors, open the door for guests, and take them to their seats. As it got busier I had to quote people wait times according to how far down the list they were. I had to keep restrooms clean and – more... make sure there was no food on the line. I learned how to stack dishes, quote waits, and plan for parties. Management was okay, they filtered in and out through various people while I was there. They were nice to work with when they were in good moods, but you could always tell when they were having a bad day at home. They would come in and be rude before they were even clocked in (One tried to deny me my paid 10 minute break). My co-workers were okay. It was a lot like hi school. Tons of immature people, some really nice and down to earth, and even a bully. Most of them were a joy to work with, but there were two or three people that were rude to coworkers, customers, and management. The hardest part of my job was being nice to management even when they were bringing down the whole restaurant. The most enjoyable part of my job was definitely the tips. Every time you come in to work you had tip money waiting for you from your last shift, and it's always nice to have a little cash in your pocket. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Line Cook/Disher (Former Employee), Canton, OHAugust 30, 2014
I had a wonderful time working for applebee's I learn a lot more about the kitchen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place to work but hard to advance
Server (Former Employee), Flemington, GAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: no advancement
Applebees was fun to work at and I made some great friends while working there. It is hard to advance in the company so I would not suggest working there if you are looking to advance with a company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the team i worked with.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Olympia, WAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: hours were good.
Cons: management was not the best.
It was a clean fast pace environment.I liked helping in the car it seemed to have a faster pace at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace good people
Server (Current Employee), Winter Haven, FLAugust 28, 2014
Pros: 2.50 off a meal each day you work
Cons: healthcare
i enjoy my time there but its time for something new. jdsflkjsdfkl jdfkl jlaksdj faskdljf klajsdfklaklsdjfkl aksldjfl;kajsdf aklsdjflkasd dlskfjlkdjfkle klfjelkjbvnioej jfdklsdfjhior;ghlk kdfjeoifkl
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced enviroment
Waitress and Bartender (Former Employee), Catonsville, MDAugust 28, 2014
Pros: the tips, the relationships you develope
Cons: the hourly pay, sometimes the tips
A typical work day consisted of cleaning and getting the store prepared to serve the customers. I learned how to multitask in a stresssful enviroment. I also learned how to engage people on a personal level and problem solving in tense situations. Management was very helpful. My co workers for the most part were fine this field has a very high turnover – more... rate so you are constantly changing co workers. the hardest part of the job was the stress level and the low pay at times. The most enjoyable part of the job was definintely the relationship with some co workers and managers. It was a very family and inviting enviroment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy workplace, but no union or benefits unless you are at management. fast paced and demanding.
Cleaner/Host (Former Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch and hours
Cons: no union, benefits, and your always replaceable.
I would clock in the morning and go straight to work. work would be busy all day. i was the detail cleaning guy in the kitchen and that is an everyday heavy cleaning thing. Its was time consuming but taught me plenty on responsibility and time management. the managers were demanding and that helped me move through the day rather smoothly. My co-workers – more... were the best thing about the job. They are a diverse group of people with many different personalities. They made me look forward to going to work. They worked hard though and if they did not they would not be employed. I have made life long friends there though i do not work there anymore. the Hardest part about the job was that it was very demanding because of food department rules on cleanliness. There were also four people doing my job before i was the only one doing it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fast paced environment. Great workplace while going to college to earn my degree.
Server (Current Employee), Valrico, FLAugust 28, 2014
Everything about this company and th epeople who work for it are all great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working with the people I worked with.
Server (Former Employee), Dayton, OHAugust 28, 2014
Pros: i had a great schedule
Cons: lack of communication in management
At times could be a frustrating place to work. My co-workers were awesome. Management never seemed to be on the same page. All in all it was a good job. The toughest part was adhering to all the policies and procedures the new frachiese company put on servers. It took away from being able to do what I do best, and that's give great service and entertain – more... them during their visit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Line cook
Crew member cook (Current Employee), Moultrie, GAAugust 28, 2014
Grill steaks to correct temperature,cook burgers,boneless and bone in wings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waitress
Waitress/Bartender/Food Service (Current Employee), Tacoma, WAAugust 27, 2014
Very fast paced and busy. However, great company and great co-workers. It is difficult sometimes working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and unstable environment
Waitress (Former Employee), Sanford, NCAugust 27, 2014
Pros: interacting with others
Cons: little training and unorganized company
Applebees had very little structure. they didn't train employees very well. The managers and co workers were not willing to use team work. they out a lot on their new employees. I feel if they had a more organized way of doing things then the job would have been much better. However I still really enjoyed interacting with my guests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customers, unsociable staff
Host (Former Employee), Redmond, ORAugust 26, 2014
Pros: interactive, friendly customers, able to eat mess-up orders
Cons: cliche-oriented co-workers, apathetic upper-management
A typical day involved greeting guests, cleaning tables and addressing the concerns of customers who had already been shown to a table when prompted. There wasn't much to learn in this position, being as it revolves around people skills and interacting regularly with inanimate objects. The management used to be awful and insincere, but has since been – more... replaced with people I've worked alongside who show considerably less apathy when approached. The staff by extension, also have an aloof, clique-like high school feel about them, and it isn't uncommon to find one of them tending to their cell phones while on the clock.

The most difficult part of the job was losing abilities the longer that I worked there, and being told not to do the other parts of work when I was able. Similarly difficult was the onerous amount of time that one would have to spend as a host, in order to advance in the company. The best part were the people, and I would have quit the company earlier if they didn't help to make the job more bearable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work at...
Waitress (Former Employee), Taylor, MIAugust 25, 2014
I really enjoyed working here until recently bought out. Enjoyed the area and the clientele that would come in. Made many friends. Many rule changes unfortunately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and strong commitment to quality operations
Manager (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMAugust 25, 2014
Pros: treated like family
Cons: late team members
Monitored all operations including employee job performance.Making table visit and asking guest about their experience.Coaching team members on their behaviors.The hardest part of my job was team members that were late or called out.The most enjoyable part was having a shift that was close to perfect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managing 70+ people at 65-70 hours a week.
Senior Manager (Former Employee), Huntington, INAugust 24, 2014
Although I learned most of my customer service true skills here, it was much too demanding in hours and even time off was nearly nonexistent. Upon interview we can discuss. The GM and I are still friends, and colleagues and speak from time to time managing restaurants across the street from each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enough to get by
Corporate Trainer/Chef (Former Employee), Lawtn, OKAugust 24, 2014
Pros: money to take care of my family
Cons: raise not so much
Not enough kitchen staff to have adequate days off when really needed. I get to work with food. Co-workers some are lazy and gets away with a lot because they have been there for over 10 plus years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 22, 2014
Mostly a fun place to work but lately the newly hired management makes it unbearable to be at work. Lots of short staffed restaurants...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management were confusing in their demands.
Server (Former Employee), New Castle, DEAugust 22, 2014
I really liked my co-workers. It was a fun place to work. it was difficult to get a working schedule as they changed sometimes twice a week,they also sent you home if it was dead. this was hard on single moms who needed the money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
applebees's is an amazing place to work that provides growth and oppurtunites
customer service representative (Former Employee), Alexandria, LAAugust 22, 2014
The best thing about having an oppurtunity to be employed at applebee's is having that interaction with consumers. When they come it was not only a priviledge to serve them but we treated them as if they were family. My main duty was a cook i just loved serving and preparing the meals. Seeing how satisfied the consumers where was the best part of my – more... job. – less