Find companies:
Applebee's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,557 reviews

Applebee's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced work enviroment
Team Leader and Server (Former Employee), Battle Creek, MISeptember 14, 2014
Pros: good pay for good service
Cons: not consistant
High paced. We had a great server family, we all worked well together, in and outside of work. great place to learn multitasking skills. Management worked with us, rather than above us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Neighborhood Expert (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: free meals, flexible schedule
Cons: no healtht benefits
I like going into work everyday. I get along with all of my coworkers and managers. I enjoy providing a great dining experience for our guests. The hardest part of the job is picking up my coworkers slack while trying to complete my own tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back
Hostess (Former Employee), Las Cruces, NMSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: can be yourself and no one will judge you
Cons: cant leave your station unless you ask
My typical day was writing up the section chart for servers and cleaning the front of the restaurant. I learned great communication skills with servers, managers, other hostesses and customers. The management was somewhat helpful. They normally wont let you leave your area unless you have to go to the bathroom or you're seating guests. I had some great – more... co workers. they were very inviting and wanting to hang out after work or on off days. There wasnt anything hard about the job. I loved the job no matter what. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful and busy environment that was fun to work around!
Server (Former Employee), Glendale, AZSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great tips and wonderful atmosphere
Cons: late nights
There was always a team effort when us servers were on the floor. The management would also help if the store became too busy to keep the work flow steady. The hardest part of the job was to always make sure that my tables as well as my co worker's tables were taken care of. There can never be too much amazing customer service. I learned that being – more... on a team and working together is much more enjoyable than working alone. The typical day of work was getting ready to give great customer service to all customers while keeping a clean and orderly restaurant as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun employees
Server (Current Employee), Glendale, AZSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: fast paced
Cons: quality of food
Work in a fast paced environment.
learned a new computer system.
Management was clear.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Bartender/Server (Former Employee), NewtonSeptember 11, 2014
I enjoyed my time there and it was a good company to work for. I learned a lot about customer service working there however I wanted to move on and get a better job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good job.
Server (Former Employee), Puyallup, WASeptember 9, 2014
A typical day at work would include setting up the store and getting it ready for customer service. Sections would be divided up, giving each server his/her designated tables to take care of. The day would be spent fulfilling customer demands and working with other staff in a team approach to meet restaurant goals. The majority of the management was – more... successful. We had to learn how to work with many different personalities. The hardest part of the job, was learning how to take care of customer demands and complaints. Everyone has their own way of dealing with things, so it took time and practice to please all. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a diverse group of people. I was able to meet new people everyday and work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in a day at Applebee's
Server/Trainer/Expediter (Current Employee), Greeneville, TNSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: working with people that make you feel important
Cons: difficult customers
You never know what kind of day it is going to be. Every day is a different pace depending on the crowd. One minute it could be very busy and I am working as hard as possible and literally the next minute it is dead. I have learned how to handle difficult customers and what to do in order to make their experience better. I have learned how to multi-task – more... efficiently. My managers are the best people I have ever worked for. They are very direct and to the point and will, at no hesitance, tell you when you are doing something wrong; but will quickly show you the correct way to do something. I love learning this way. I have never been told twice the same thing. Once I learn to do something the way my managers want me to do something, I will continue to do the task in the way they desire me to. They are also very family orientated and try at all cost to make everyone feel like a family and a team. They are there to help you in and out of the business. I love my co-workers because we do accept that we are a team and cannot perform this job without one another. Even in times of high-stress, we are always pushing each other to keep going and to make the best of it. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the customers who come in and purposely make your job harder in order to try and receive their meal for free. The most enjoyable part about my job is that when I go in, all my problems get put on pause because you do not have time to think about them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a constant work flow.
Waiter (Former Employee), Augusta, GaSeptember 8, 2014
A good place to put your customer service experience to the test.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining
Hostess (Former Employee), Glendale, AZSeptember 8, 2014
It was entertaining because there was always something new. Fun culture to be in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great experience for a first job
Host (Former Employee), Evansville, WYSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: flexibility and stability, great co workers
Cons: no benfits and poor pay
I set up the restaurant in the morning by cleaning bathrooms, pick up trash in the front of the parking lot, getting buckets and towels to clean off tables throughout the day. Then I will do the chart to determinate of which server have what tables. Then I will open the door. Then throughout the day- I will greet and talk to costumers- figure out if – more... they have special needs or want a certain table or server. Once a while, I will go back to the kitchen and ask how the cooks and servers are doing. If they have behind- then I will go on a wait and determine of how much time the cooks needs. I will also deliver food, tickets, and clean tables when needed. I also clean the waiting area when days are slow.

The managers and fantastic and co-workers are well. I learned to work as a team, patience, and problem solving. The hardest part of the job was the learning curve. However, after that- it was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere to be in good benefits.
Assistant Kitchen Manager (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLSeptember 7, 2014
Was always moving up the ladder in title. Fun place to work, always somrthing new to learn great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Restaurant with a Great Working Environment
Hostess (Current Employee), Calumet City, ILSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: 25% discount.
Cons: no lunch break, little pay.
I love Applebee's, every day is different. Same duties, different people. From the moment I clock in I start my shift by welcoming people with a warm smile, I interact with them while seating them. I answer any questions to best of my abilities and proceed to busting tables or seating other guests, I also sometimes take orders, run drinks and occasionally – more... food. When its slow, you'll catch me constantly sweeping the restaurant even if the place is spotless, I also constantly go around asking if people need any assistance and making sure their visit is going well. I then invite people to come back in another day while holding the door for them and reminding them of our specials coming up. At applebees I learned that Team work is important, and that everyone, such as managers, and the servers go out of their way to please the guests. The Managers at Applebees are great, they know how to have fun at work while running and keeping up with the place. They make this job a fun experience! The hardest part of the job was dealing with difficult customers on a bad day, and busting tables quickly within 2 minutes, plus the pay was not enough but overall I love and continue to learn new things from Applebee's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive work place
Server (Current Employee), Claremont Mesa, SDSeptember 5, 2014
I clock in and start with my first table, sometimes it can get a little crazy but most times its pretty calm. I work hard and I get my side work completed, the management here is productive and always taking their employees into consideration. My co-workers are fun to be around yet we still manage to be productive. The hardest part of my job would most – more... be staying focused when I face negativity. The easiest part of my job is working late nights and putting in long hours if needed. I have improved in my communication skills with being in the food service industry and I have learned that language effects people in different ways. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always hard work all you get is a part time check
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee), Orange, CTSeptember 5, 2014
always hard work don't have no advancement. You can't eat any food only if you pay full price for food.or your sealing and your fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Server (Former Employee), Sterling, ILSeptember 4, 2014
I enjoyed the people I worked with and liked the freedom to choose my days and hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an ok place to work
COOK (Former Employee), Wichita KsSeptember 4, 2014
Typical restaurant job, pay not horrible for assigned tasks, employees friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Applebees
Manager (Current Employee), Santa Maria CASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: the way you are taught all aspects, and forced to learn them
Cons: balance of work and personal time
Applebees is one of the worlds most successful restaurants. They have a great way of controlling all aspects of costs, and you are taught to be a true owner operator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a rush work on field and management.
WAITER (Former Employee), Hato Rey, PRSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: meet people, create contact, make discpline
Cons: stress, pain n muscels, low income
My work was very efficient and versatile. Every time with rush i have my co-workers helping. I run different position on work as waitress because the manger does't do the right labor and delay all positions of the co-workers.

The only hard thing on work was to serve the Apple bee's franchise owner because the kitchen don't do the right order.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Hostess (Former Employee), Lake Worth, TXSeptember 4, 2014
if i was hosting i would seat people and greet the costumers when they arrived and when they would leave, i would also help run food and drinks and clean he bathroom and tables.