Applebee's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place I work for in Calgary,and south gate\ Michigan
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON18 October 2017
looking for a place in Windsor, ON. just moved here in June last year looking to a place in apple bees family. great bosses. love our food and great service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place was good
Continental Cuisine Cook (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB11 September 2017
The management was good.
But the internal management is not up to the mark.
It has to grow more professional attires with the growth of the industry.
The services were satisfactory.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and fair management
Server (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 July 2017
Working at Applebee's is enjoyable. the Managment team is proficient an friendly, furthermore, my coworkers are welcoming.
I have learned many new customer service skills while working in this industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stopped scheduling
Line Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK5 July 2017
When I started working there, I used to get a good amount of hours. I was getting around 20 to 25 hours a week. Due to school in September I asked for less hours. I used to get Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. As time went by, I only get less and less hours. It was getting to the point where I only used to get one shift per week. As time went by even more, it got to the point where I didn't get a SINGLE shift for almost 4 weeks in a row. So the new method of dismissing employees is not even telling them that they are OFFICIALLY dismissed?
Pros
50% off food.
Cons
Less and less hours, and the dismissal process is totally broken.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Expediter (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2017
A great place to work for a first time job. Very good group of people. Exciting place to work. Great atmosphere. Interesting customer interactions. Overall good staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work.
Restaurant Operations Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON12 June 2017
The kitchen staff were really nice in showing how to work the dishwashing area though after my training was done breaks became non-existent due to lack of help on dishwashing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 June 2017
This place is not in business anymore.
How to put inventory away and labeled. Making a effecting kitchen.
Helping the cooks with getting there orders out in time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First server job
Bartender/Server (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 May 2017
Great place to get your feet wet if you're new to restaurants. Fun place to work, guest expectation is pretty laid back - Management there was hit and miss, people loved the Fiesta lime Chicken.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job and good work crew
Back End Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 April 2017
Great employees with great ability to assist you with troubles and simple management with varied expectations with he work place being cramped and one of the only good parts was being the one to wash the floor to be able to get out of the cramped spaces
Pros
Great communication
Cons
Never guaranteed hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but good staff
Team Leader/Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 March 2017
Applebee's has gotten me where I am today, it's a hard days work on your feet but the people are good. There is a certain rush when you get through a crazy busy night, like it's a challenge. The flexibility with about of shifts, hours is great. I always like that if I need extra money it's usually easy to pick up shifts.
Pros
good staff, money is there as a server, able to move up if wanted
Cons
long hours on your feet, can get yelled at by staff/guests
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team
LINE COOK (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK26 March 2017
When I first started out working at Applebee's everyone was patient and helped me learn. I made many friends as well as gained valuable experience working for this company. The management was kind and understanding, giving workers more sifts if they asked. The salary was fair and so were the tips, which were a nice bonus at the end of the week.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Fast Paced and pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
probably my worst job
Short Order Cook (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON17 February 2017
my co-staff was awesome but the management was very demanding. staff got treated like they were expendable and constantly threatened to get fired. i was young and it was my first real job so i didn't realize that until later on in life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Line Cook/Server (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB27 January 2017
Cooking for customers warm hot food. I also had the chance to serve tables for the customers. They were polite and it was fun to help customers to enjoy their experience in the restaurant. This was to keep them coming back for the experience again and again. Staff was great to work.
Pros
Amazing staff and customers
Cons
Not any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, just not that busy
Server (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON23 January 2017
Applebee's is not what it used to be and has lost its business, and you get sent home more times than you actually start than actually working and making money.
Pros
Great people
Cons
not busy enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but no advancement. Could be run better.
Neighbourhood Expert (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON6 January 2017
Fun place to work. Not many advancement opportunities. Seems to care about the company more then employees. Management and upper management don't care about the little guys.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical restaurant enviroment
Fry chef (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK4 November 2016
Good place to work. Learned lots. Fun people. Good location. Good management. Good food. Good co-workers. Would recommend to anyone.
Pros
Good food deals
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright expierince
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 October 2016
Overall it was a decent job , fun and most people were very friendly but the management wasn't very good. On multiple occasions managers would schedule me for days and hours that i specified i couldn't work. i would not go back but it wasn't the worst job in the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always fun, an always fine to finish
Dish washer (Former Employee) –  Mavis heart land18 September 2016
I was healthy performing the job, and it felt good to work, and I like the job. It was in my neighbour hood and the job made me think good, and it was fun excirsize. It was somethin I could love.
Pros
Excellent job title
Cons
Drugs and my pet
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Server (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 August 2016
Good working environment, good staff to work with.
Applebee's has taught me to work well under stress and in a fast paced environment.
Good company to work for, would recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and organized workplace
Customer Service in a fast environment (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 May 2016
A typical day at Applebee's is serving customers, cleaning on down time and making sure customers are happy leaving.

Management is great!

Co-workers are fun and enjoyable to work with!
Pros
Good money
Cons
Short shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Applebee's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 8,192 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5