Applebee's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coworkers turned family
Server (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB12 January 2018
typical serving job, loved who I worked with and being able to make people smile. I learned a lot about the restaurant industry working here and that it does take a lot of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment, not so great food
Server (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 January 2018
I loved working her, but be careful of the food. Especially the chicken. Fun people to work with, nice managers, who are easy to get along with, so long as you do your job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Line Cook at fry station (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON27 December 2017
It has been busy day for whole week. However, I enjoyed working over there. I learnt many things during my job. For instance: to manage time, team-spirit and many more.
Pros
50% discount to employers
Cons
less number of hours provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Environment
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Ontario15 December 2017
As a teenager I worked as a hostess, server and bartender at our neighbourhood Applebee's Bar and Grill. I enjoyed the people I worked with, and the atmosphere at our restaurant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kind, supportive environment
Food Prep Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON23 November 2017
I did a Co-op placement here and it was great! they were so kind and supportive in the learning process. One great thing is that you get to eat your lunch for free during placement!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place I work for in Calgary,and south gate\ Michigan
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON18 October 2017
looking for a place in Windsor, ON. just moved here in June last year looking to a place in apple bees family. great bosses. love our food and great service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to get experience in the food industry
Neighbourhood expert (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON19 September 2017
Was a good experience I have no complaints, if you love cooking then it could be the job for you. If your not interested in cooking but you like the money it may not be the job for you to consider.
Pros
Great working environment
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place was good
Continental Cuisine Cook (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB11 September 2017
The management was good.
But the internal management is not up to the mark.
It has to grow more professional attires with the growth of the industry.
The services were satisfactory.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and fair management
Server (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 July 2017
Working at Applebee's is enjoyable. the Managment team is proficient an friendly, furthermore, my coworkers are welcoming.
I have learned many new customer service skills while working in this industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stopped scheduling
Line Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK5 July 2017
When I started working there, I used to get a good amount of hours. I was getting around 20 to 25 hours a week. Due to school in September I asked for less hours. I used to get Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. As time went by, I only get less and less hours. It was getting to the point where I only used to get one shift per week. As time went by even more, it got to the point where I didn't get a SINGLE shift for almost 4 weeks in a row. So the new method of dismissing employees is not even telling them that they are OFFICIALLY dismissed?
Pros
50% off food.
Cons
Less and less hours, and the dismissal process is totally broken.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Expediter (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2017
A great place to work for a first time job. Very good group of people. Exciting place to work. Great atmosphere. Interesting customer interactions. Overall good staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work.
Restaurant Operations Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON12 June 2017
The kitchen staff were really nice in showing how to work the dishwashing area though after my training was done breaks became non-existent due to lack of help on dishwashing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 June 2017
This place is not in business anymore.
How to put inventory away and labeled. Making a effecting kitchen.
Helping the cooks with getting there orders out in time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First server job
Bartender/Server (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 May 2017
Great place to get your feet wet if you're new to restaurants. Fun place to work, guest expectation is pretty laid back - Management there was hit and miss, people loved the Fiesta lime Chicken.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job and good work crew
Back End Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 April 2017
Great employees with great ability to assist you with troubles and simple management with varied expectations with he work place being cramped and one of the only good parts was being the one to wash the floor to be able to get out of the cramped spaces
Pros
Great communication
Cons
Never guaranteed hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but good staff
Team Leader/Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 March 2017
Applebee's has gotten me where I am today, it's a hard days work on your feet but the people are good. There is a certain rush when you get through a crazy busy night, like it's a challenge. The flexibility with about of shifts, hours is great. I always like that if I need extra money it's usually easy to pick up shifts.
Pros
good staff, money is there as a server, able to move up if wanted
Cons
long hours on your feet, can get yelled at by staff/guests
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team
LINE COOK (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK26 March 2017
When I first started out working at Applebee's everyone was patient and helped me learn. I made many friends as well as gained valuable experience working for this company. The management was kind and understanding, giving workers more sifts if they asked. The salary was fair and so were the tips, which were a nice bonus at the end of the week.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Fast Paced and pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
probably my worst job
Short Order Cook (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON17 February 2017
my co-staff was awesome but the management was very demanding. staff got treated like they were expendable and constantly threatened to get fired. i was young and it was my first real job so i didn't realize that until later on in life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Line Cook/Server (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB27 January 2017
Cooking for customers warm hot food. I also had the chance to serve tables for the customers. They were polite and it was fun to help customers to enjoy their experience in the restaurant. This was to keep them coming back for the experience again and again. Staff was great to work.
Pros
Amazing staff and customers
Cons
Not any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, just not that busy
Server (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON23 January 2017
Applebee's is not what it used to be and has lost its business, and you get sent home more times than you actually start than actually working and making money.
Pros
Great people
Cons
not busy enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Applebee's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 9,033 reviews
52.6K
42.7K
32.4K
2765
1588

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture