Appen Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Stay At Home Job
Social Media Evaluator (Former Employee) –  Kirkland, WA13 October 2017
It was a good temporary at home job, it was easy and fun to do. Time consuming and fast pace, had to be really focused and detailed-oriented. Glad I found Appen when I did.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
AD EVALUATOR (Former Employee) –  Work from home5 October 2017
Almost no communication from management and response time to emails is slow, if you get a response at all.
Training does not align with monthly training sets and will confuse even the most intelligent.
Work is inconsistent and you can go days with no tasks to complete. No, you are not paid for the time you try to work.
Remember, you are expendable and unimportant.
Pros
spare-time work
Cons
communication, management, inconsistency
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consultant
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WA29 September 2017
Appen is a very good company for working at home. The only problem is that the work is not consistent and they don't provide enough hours during the week.
Pros
Work from home office
Cons
Not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Work with Flexible Hours
Independent Consultant/Contractor (Current Employee) –  Chula Vista, CA26 September 2017
Simple work to do when given the opportunity, but you are under a contract and you will only work until they feel your services are no longer needed. On the job, you can choose when to work at any time of the day. However despite the work being simple and easy to do, it will eventually get boring and repetitive over time, so just keep reminding yourself that you're getting paid to do what you are doing. One of the best work at home jobs I've ever done.
Pros
Work anytime of the Day, Flexible Schedule
Cons
Repetitive Work, Working under a contract means they can terminate it at anytime, Not permanent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay and fair but not consistent ...
Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FL15 September 2017
Work essentially was 4 hours of rating content retrieved from the social media pages of my friends pictures, memes, posts, videos etc. This was alright as it was nice to work from home however when the evaluations came in I realized I was marked wrong on one of the audits when all the criteria was met. The man,agers were contacted via email so communication was not the best, so reaching the "higher ups" was a bit of a hassle.
Pros
Great pay, some what flexible, Working from home.
Cons
Lack of transparency and effective ratings given to the work presented to them .
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gives flexibility of woking hours
Social Media Evaluator (Current Employee) –  Iowa14 September 2017
Good place to work.Gives work flexibilty. THe pay could have been a little better. It has good amount of work to be worked on making working as an agent little more secured.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexibility to work from anywhere
Social Media Evaluator (Current Employee) –  Remote12 September 2017
Overall it is a good company to do work for.
The work itself becomes dull and repetitive very quickly.
It is quite unfortunate not to get promoted to a better position and it is even more unfortunate not getting paid more to offset the lack of benefits.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
Can not advance, no benefits, not enough hours and not enough pay to compensate for the lack of benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appen is a good Temp job for some extra cash
Trending Topics Evaluator (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WA9 September 2017
Appen is a great temp job with flexible scheduling. They paid $15 an hour and worked around my daily life. I really enjoyed the at home, relaxed job and the project was easy.
Pros
Flexible Schedule, Work At Home, Good Pay
Cons
Pay Monthly, Not Very Many Hours or Projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but low pay!
Social Media Evaluator (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NC7 September 2017
Appen is a great company to work for! The work is fast paced but you will learn quickly. The work is rather fun and enjoyable as well. The one thing I tend to dislike is the pay!
Pros
Flexible hours, good fun work
Cons
Lower pay, no room to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for additional income
Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Katy, TX5 September 2017
Working as an independent contractor for Appen was wonderful, it is a perfect additional employment for anybody looking for extra income. It didn't take too much of my time up and the rate was great. I enjoyed working for them and regret that the project I was working on has ended.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt recommend to anyone
Web Search Evaluator (Current Employee) –  Crestview, FL4 September 2017
Its a hassle takes forever to start and then they fire you for no reason at all . you try to communicate with them and you cant reach anyone . dont recommend
Pros
Work at home
Cons
Cant get in touch with anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa perfecta en cuanto a trabajos
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Hermosillo, Son.31 August 2017
tareas fáciles y bien pagadas,
trabajas desde tu casa las horas que decidas
te pagan mediante paypal en AUD
Pros
Buena paga, Tareas faciles, jefes faciles de contactar
Cons
Solo trabajos por proyecto
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
social media evaluator (Former Employee) –  Remote28 August 2017
It was a remote job, and I had fun, It was a quiet work environment, where I stayed at, and also, it was a relaxing job, not to much pressure on me, and I got meet new people via skype.
Pros
work at home
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, at home job
INDEPENDENT CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Anywhere25 August 2017
Works well with any schedule, very flexible straight-forward job. I can do it no matter what else I have available for me that day. The only downsides I feel I run into are the repetitiveness of the job.
Pros
schedule
Cons
little hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good remote job but minimal communication
Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WA21 August 2017
Ability to work independently and remotely. Not much communication with superiors. Excellent side job or job for parents so you can make your own hours.
Pros
Make your own schedule, work remotely
Cons
Little communication with superiors
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, Easy Work but Job is not secure
Social Media Evaluator (Current Employee) –  Remote18 August 2017
I worked for around 4 hours a day and it was enjoyable since it was remote. However, because the job is contract, you can be terminated without notice and it does not offer any sort of job security or advancement, at least not for me.
Pros
Work at Home, Take as many breaks
Cons
Inconsistent Audits
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I rate adds in German
INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR (Current Employee) –  Kirkland, WA17 August 2017
I work 4 hours a day and rate adds for this company. The management team is friendly. They do provide weekly fuze conferences when new instructions come in from the different clients.
Cons
it can be a bit boring some days, when there are a lot of repeats.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with benefits of being at home
Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Home Based15 August 2017
My take on Appen is that it's a great company to work for. However if you're looking for this to be a full time job perhaps this isn't the place for you to work. I do enjoy the free time I have and being able to spend more time with my kids rather than being away all day from them. It allows me to be very flexible when other contracts come up.
Pros
Home based
Cons
work not always avaialable
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, Tedious, No Help
Search Media Analyst (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV9 August 2017
Appen is very hands off, they send you a link and expect you to just get through everything on your own. When you can work is extremely flexible, but be prepared to be bored to tears with the job itself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work from home
Web Search Evaluator (Current Employee) –  Remote7 August 2017
The hardest part is not getting enough hours every week. The thing I most enjoy about the job is being able to work when I want to, not on a set schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Appen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 146 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2