Aon Employee Reviews

Found 94 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON13 December 2013
Answer telephone inquiries, place orders and assist with typing out forms and letters.
Pros
Friendly quiet atmosphere
Cons
Part time work
Was this review helpful?YesNo13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company for Students and Graduates
Benefits Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto18 November 2013
As a Benefits Analyst, I administer the Benefits for more than 12,000 employees (3 major clients) from a benefits and payroll perspective. My day consist of working anywhere between 8-10 hours per day.
Pros
Tons of opportunities
Cons
The pay, work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement and growth opportunities.
Manager, Internal Communications (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 November 2013
Plenty of opportunities to advance and be supported in your career objectives.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto1 November 2013
Challenging and fun place to work. Good shift work options.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy busy place
SENIOR PROJECT MANAGER, CONSULTING TECHNOLOGY (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 October 2013
Not a great experience at this company. Long hours, morning and evening calls with the team in India, not enough people to do the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent experience, Bad Work/Life Balance
Pensions Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 October 2013
Decent experience, Bad Work/Life Balance, Horrible people wiuth bad attitudes and yelling at you for simple stuff
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned company that treats employees well.
Assistant Clinical Resource Nurse (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON7 October 2013
I would highly reccommend working for this employer, they provide great opportunities and a great environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job great opportunity to improve my skills and english
Benefits and Pension Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 September 2013
all day seated behind the phone waiting for customers to call-in was i bit hard... liked the interchange with the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CA21 August 2013
AON taught me a lot about account management and how best to utilize my time and management skills. I learned how to assist our clients to allow for open dialogue and quick resolution of any issues with their coverage.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supervisors need more experience dealing with more respect for their subordinates
Mail Room Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 August 2013
I always done my job done before a deadline.
I have achive a lot of learning with different companies and reach my goals at the end of the day by using positive team work for the department...My co-workers have helped me understand every day to a know task or assignment and to achieve the deadline for the task or assignment..
Pros
supervisors need more experience dealing with more respect for their subordinates
Cons
good co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall decent
Bilingual Client Support Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 July 2013
I worked there before they went public. The atmosphere was great then. I heard it has become a lot more corporate when they went public.
Management is great. However, the work was extremely repetitive and mindless.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment work place
EXCEL AND ACCESS SUPPORT (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 July 2013
Very busy company but sending lot of work to offshore.
Lof of nice people.
Pros
Nice location
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Lead Sourcing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto15 March 2013
Love Aon, Great place to work and great people. Would recommend Aon to anyone I know.

Thanks,
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect employees to exchange their life for the job
Middle manager (Current Employee) –  Sheppard, Toronto12 March 2013
Little to no support for new members
Expect no compensation increase unless prepared to work 24/7
No management suppot
No team building
No education reimbursement except for very specific courses
HR is non-existent
More and more of the business is handled by India, and thus treats the Canadian employees like they're in India
No overtime pay

Don't Walk, Run as far away from this company as possible!
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes25No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pasted Environment
Benefits Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto15 February 2013
Great place to start and work on a solid career, a very fast paced intense working environment.
Pros
great colleagues
Cons
intense
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting work place with chances to grow
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 February 2013
It was always exciting to go to work each day because of the friendly environment that reigned at work. The supervisors where always down to earth and ready to help, and co- workers where almost like a family, with everyone being so friendly. It was the first time I was working in the sector of insurances and I learned a great deal of new things. The most enjoyably part of the job was the flexibility in the schedules; and the hardest part of the job was the pressure from supervisors to meet timelines.
Pros
flexible shedules
Cons
doing one and the same thing over and over again became boring at one point
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Sr. Corporate Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2013
Great Experience
good team to work with
good partners to work with
good clients to work with and support
lot's of change
consulting business units
underwriting business units
Pros
..........
Cons
..........
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work at
Benefit Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 January 2013
Aon is great company to work at.

It may sometimes lack some cohesion in the higher level management decisions which can create some frustrations for junior level employees. However, the social environment and general atmosphere is great.

Their number one asset is definitely the people who work there.
There is also a lot of career advancement opportunities.
Pros
co-workers, work atmosphere
Cons
lack of cohesion
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broker
PL Broker/Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON13 December 2012
Responsible to sell and service standard and VIP personal lines files with attention on account rounding and hard to place accounts. Overseeing sales and customer service for Southwestern Ontario offices, worked directly with clients, underwriters and supervisors to ensure client and company received the best fit and care. Running P&L, brokerage commission, sales, and various other reports.
The hardest part of the job is hearing customers complaints and not being able to do anything about it. (For example, customers who can't pay for devastating reasons still must be cancelled).
The most enjoyable part is the thrill of working on a difficult account, helping someone find a good product and rate, and being part of a great team.
Pros
free lunches, benefits, good salary, good vacation
Cons
very busy, must be able to manage time efficiently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Six week temporary assignment
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 November 2012
Updating / creating presentations in Microsoft Word and PowerPoint
Trained on SharePoint
The hardest part of the job was the amount of work - there were times I sat idle as the Admin Assistants had nothing to pass on.
The most enjoyable part of the job was assisting other staff members with issues within Word.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aon. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,289 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6