Aon Employee Reviews

Found 74 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2017
A typical day consists of taking calls throughout the day.
You learn a lot about payroll, time and attendance and workforce administration.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
due to downsizig i had to leave
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Young and Sheppard17 October 2016
due to downsizig i had to leave. I liked working in Aon Hewitt otherwise.Good benefits, friendly dedictaed hard working associates.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
downsizing
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good place to work for. You can move to one positive to another easily as well as from one branch to another.
Account Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON16 December 2016
Multinational enterprise with a variety of opportunities. Most of the jobs are multitask. You need to do a bit of phone calls, checking emails and move them. Some IT tasks in day to day basis needs yu to be familiar with the xpress system and Microsoft office as well as outlook. Communication skills are necessary as you need to deal with other branches and local brokers and managers. You need to be organized and meet deadlines and ready for meetings. Training sessions are continually going on. So time management is important.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Salary
Receptionist / Shared Services (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 April 2016
This company is now closed - bought by Honeywell
It was a great place to work with very innovative people - the salary was amazing too.

Vacation 2 weeks upon arrival

We used to get bonuses but that came to a halt when we were bought by Bacou-Dalloz
Pros
Location downtown
Cons
Bought by a very large company
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent company to work for.
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  North York, ON14 August 2016
- Check emails, performed all daily duties e.g. run daily reports and prepare adjusting entries, respond to Siebel request and prepare cross charges entries if required to clear client's account.

- No issue with management

- My co-workers are very knowledgeable and easy to work with.

- Not having the tools to complete my job at times.

- The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting my client's expectations.
Pros
Room for growth
Cons
Not very many jobs avaliable with my skill sets.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great place to work
Project Administrator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 December 2016
great lace to work and gain meaningful experience
great management team
lots of engaging activities and coaching to better hone skills.
overall I will recommend AON to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work life
HR Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 May 2016
When working with Aon, I deal with people who work for the banks. I help people with leaves of absences, policy clarification, who to contact when work issues arise for that employee.
The management with Aon Hewitt is fantastic. We have a great team of people. I would say the most dificult to work with is when I am speaking with an employee and trying to be careful with empathy. It is difficult to seperate yourself from that person at times when they are going through tough time. IE: personal, work etc.
The most enjoyable for me is the interaction I have with all people everyday. I am a workhorse but do like making people smile.
Pros
Work Events and charities
Cons
Not over empathizing with issues employees have.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 February 2016
Really enjoyed working here as the company has an excellent work live balance and great benefits package. The people are lovely to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Benefits Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 August 2016
A day in the life of me... Helping people and solving complex puzzles.

What I have learned is Professionalism on an international level.

Focused management team

Great folks I work with ....my second family
Pros
Lots of learning programs
Cons
No time to use them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Pension Administrator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 December 2016
Great learning experience. Friendly and helpful people. I learnt so much working as a pension administrator. I definitely recommend to anybody especially those right out of university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AON Review
HR Benefits Operations Administrator (Former Employee) –  North York, ON2 March 2014
Pros – Depending on which department you're working, it can be a hit or miss overall working experience. Overall reviews:
- good vacation time (3 weeks plus additional purchase vacation days if needed)
- good health and dental benefits
- flex hours
- work life balance (depending on your role)
- 35 hour work week - will increase to 37.5 in 2014

Cons – When the company was Hewitt Associates, the upper management was more caring and open to their employees. After AON took over, the culture is slowly but surely becoming way more toxic and secretive. Upper management does not care about its employees, only bottom line is important (they treat you as numbers, nothing else)
Aside from that, the negatives:
- paltry pay increase
- incompetent managers
- declining employee morale
Was this review helpful?Yes9No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A huge company with great great people
Spécialiste Marketing (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 September 2016
- Lots of meeting
- Great great events
- Great working team
- Fabulous CEOs
- Lots of respect
- Nice philosophy
- Too big
- Top decision from Chicago regardless off our reality
Pros
fantastic team
Cons
Top decision from Chicago regardless off our reality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Friendly work environment
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON12 September 2016
Aon Inc. in peterborough has a friendly environment, is a productive company and I highly recommend it to others. I learned many skills over my three summers working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no chance to improve
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 July 2016
on the phone and dealing with employee. Didnt learn much for it was such a short time. the management wasnt great for noone really tell you the truth. They seem just talk and not help employee to improve
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bilingual csr
Bilingual Benefits Administrator (Former Employee) –  Sheppard, ON23 September 2016
Everythig was good for a small experince but had nice managers and team workers and liked to work there with a very good team mates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace with great benefits
Financial Specialist (Project Administrator) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 April 2014
A typical day for me is usually very busy and filled with deadlines so time is managed very carefully
My co-workers are co-operative, professional and friendly.
I don't try to think of what the hardest part of my job is - because I am results oriented and solutions driven.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the satisfaction of seeing positive results after working on projects, be it small or large. The figures speak volumes.
Pros
Great company with good benefits and friendly staff
Cons
Long hours without compensation or appreciation of talents
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionals in Risk Management
FINANCIAL ANALYST (Former Employee) –  new delhi23 June 2016
Best employer with best facilities to employee.A healthy work culture
motivated and helping team lead. needs to improve at their transportation service to employees
Pros
Work Culture
Cons
Evening Shifts and transportation policy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inclusive and Engaging
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 September 2015
Supportive management and colleagues.

Great Benefits and flexible schedules

Good perks and great place for growth.

Most enjoyable is working with all different types of backgrounds.
Pros
Good work hours
Cons
Resources for admins
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect employees to exchange their life for the job
Middle manager (Current Employee) –  Sheppard, Toronto12 March 2013
Little to no support for new members
Expect no compensation increase unless prepared to work 24/7
No management suppot
No team building
No education reimbursement except for very specific courses
HR is non-existent
More and more of the business is handled by India, and thus treats the Canadian employees like they're in India
No overtime pay

Don't Walk, Run as far away from this company as possible!
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes24No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with game room
Pension and Benefits Associate (Current Employee) –  North York, ON29 September 2012
Very casual work environment, co-workers are so easy going
Good training and I learnt a lot about pension and benefits and how it is important for one's life.
The hardest part my job is, if the equipments around me were to fail I can't do anything else, till it gets fixed.
The enjoyable part is, during lunch we have a game room to spend the time, it always place a role toward team building.
Pros
the location of work is very easy to access
Cons
very temporary jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,762 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5