Anglo American Employee Reviews

Showing all 275 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace on demand
EMEA End User Computing Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GautengJune 20, 2016
The position I occupied at Anglo American, needed attention from a service delivery perspective.I had to ensure deliverables/SLA's are met by the various vendors that provided support to the IT infrastructure. I have learned that communication is key to customer satisfaction and that keeping specialized/critical systems up to date is your best defense against downtime. The culture was not harmonious in the sense that there was alot of conflict between teams. The business is still very much dominated by old unqualified individuals who dominate the workforce. This brought great difficulty for the younger generation to apply up to date knowledge to the IT environment. On the plus side I have had the opportunity of interacting with different cultures from around the world.
Anglo American is a great company to work for if you are a results driven individual.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Little room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company,good exposure.
RISK SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  LimpopoMay 25, 2016
Anglo american is n great company to work for,where opportunities are a reality. I learned much and would recommend the company to any one who wants toe gain vast experience within his/her field. the management team was helpful and due diligent.
Pros
good remuneration
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productuctive and motivating as well as rewarded
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North WestMay 5, 2016
A typical day at work entailed you going in, sitting at your desk and doing the job you were employed to do. I learned ALOT of patience and tricks on Excel and Word. Mistakes are human but sorry does not excuse you all the time. Management was THE BEST TEAM EVER to have worked for. They did not dictate how you should complete a job unless you were under time limits. My co-workers were the same, they were there to do a job, just like I was, it was not about office politics or cliques. Loyalty and dedication. The hardest part of the job was being given a deadline and then that deadline was moved forward, and delivering with 100% confidence. The most enjoyable part of the day was EVERYDAY!
Pros
Getting off early.
Cons
Working night-shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Tough working environment
Mine Planning Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kathu, Northern CapeApril 13, 2016
There are opportunities to grow.

Management is friendly and welcoming.

Peers and subordinates are helpful at all times.

Long working hours
Pros
Cellphone benefits
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard large mining company
Acting Exploration Geologist (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North WestApril 6, 2016
Anglo is a large mining company with its pros and cons. I was part of the company for a short period of time and enjoyed the time I did work for them
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company that gives back to our youth
Project administrator (Former Employee) –  Thembelani mine RustenburgApril 4, 2016
I enjoyed my time working with Anglo American. Their work ethics are outstanding, their staff are highly effective and their red tape procedures work.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy working environment
Employee Data Management Officer (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North WestApril 2, 2016
overall I had a great working experience at anglo American. Good working conditions and I had great co workers. I had good relationships with all my managers and enjoyed working there
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Senior Industrial Engineer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GautengMarch 30, 2016
Anglo American had very fun workers I worked with. Very detailed oriented and technical.

One had to work at his own pace and manage projects at his own from concept to implementation.

You get exposed to international projects and travelling.
Pros
Free lunch indeed
Cons
Long hours on your own schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
underground nd maintaince
AUTO-ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  LimpopoMarch 12, 2016
first thing in da morning everybody get her job nd check breakdowns ..learn alot on drill rigs nd Lhd's.our manadement was free to every one on company nd we heard team work by our workshop.The hardest part is wen the machine hav serious breakdown during da end of da shift and enjoyable part wen we do maintaince on machine
Pros
30min lunch
Cons
normal eight hours or overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, good benefits and culture, very safety conscious.
Business Unit Category Manager (Current Employee) –  Witbank, MpumalangaFebruary 25, 2016
I have worked for Anglo for 27 years and they looked after me; everything I own is due to them. They have however now decided to sell the Coal assets which is a shock and I believe it is time to look for something outside of the mining environment.
Pros
Allowance and bonuses
Cons
Red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we have a soccer team and we play against other departments eg Engineering vs HR department its fun for any person of any age group
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Witbank, MpumalangaFebruary 22, 2016
this company is a wonderful and enjoyable place to be,it is any man's dream.Im working 3 shift rotation maintaining mining machinery.we have maintenance schedules that help us to maintain a different machine every day
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chief safety officer
CHIEF SAFETY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North WestFebruary 19, 2016
Chief Safety Officer of 4 Shafts consisting of 20 000 employees. Managed HSE of all 4 shafts. Had a Safety team of 8 Safety Officers, 12 Safety Auditors, 5 SHE Administrators and 8 Full Time Safety Representatives.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice to work for
Master Electrician (Current Employee) –  Kathu, Northern CapeFebruary 12, 2016
It was nice to work for Anglo American, but they are retrenching us. It was a honor to work for Anglo American. We are normally very busy during the the. I have learned a lot every day. Me and management had a very productive relationship and with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North WestFebruary 9, 2016
i was involved in a project that took place at the mines. eg anglo platinum of chaining light in to energy saving ones and am also familiar with all the procedures occurring
Pros
no
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible and productive workplace
Safety and Risk Manager (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GautengFebruary 7, 2016
The job is a highly rewarding experience in that you can sense the diffirence your interventions are making in the workplace, you are faced with numerous challenges on a daily basis, some technical, some legal and always lots of people issues.
I have learned what it takes to be a responsible corporate citizen in the 21st centuary
Pros
Inetrnational exposure to best practice
Cons
Company does not offer further carreer advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we still as a whole have a lot to perfect on and one of those point of interest is the workers in ability to conker all the challenges they face
mining and development sector underground (Current Employee) –  Witbank, MPFebruary 2, 2016
it would be to start off with our D.S.B where min targets , safety tips and so on are high lighted and we discuss the job tasks at hand . WE THEN GET TO KNOW AND FAMILIARIZE what is required of us as a team and then get ready for going underground an perform those tasks to the fullest extent of our experience and ensure the safety of ourselves and that of our colleagues
Pros
we work well as a team
Cons
the language barrier can be a problem sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
P2P Procurement Specialist (Current Employee) –  London, ENGJanuary 27, 2016
A great place to work, good atmosphere, flexible working hours. love helping others and improving business processes.
Pros
Free Lunches and flexible working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Management Accountant - Contractor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GPJanuary 20, 2016
Very professional, tight deadlines to meet and still have to manage the teams requirements. Had to assist the non-accounting people with all their budget and expenditure queries and explain in detail to them
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GPJanuary 14, 2016
every working day starts with a short production meeting and safety meeting where people engage and remind each other about working safe and producing quality work
Pros
canteen
Cons
contractor for ten years
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Payroll Administrator (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GPJanuary 11, 2016
working at Anglo has been both a challenge and a blessing.I have learned a lot from both my colleagues and supervisor

one need to be fully focused on the job or else clients might end up being overpaid or even underpaid
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours during cost closings
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 275 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0