Anglo American Employee Reviews

Showing all 270 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productuctive and motivating as well as rewarded
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North WestMay 5, 2016
A typical day at work entailed you going in, sitting at your desk and doing the job you were employed to do. I learned ALOT of patience and tricks on Excel and Word. Mistakes are human but sorry does not excuse you all the time. Management was THE BEST TEAM EVER to have worked for. They did not dictate how you should complete a job unless you were under time limits. My co-workers were the same, they were there to do a job, just like I was, it was not about office politics or cliques. Loyalty and dedication. The hardest part of the job was being given a deadline and then that deadline was moved forward, and delivering with 100% confidence. The most enjoyable part of the day was EVERYDAY!
Pros
Getting off early.
Cons
Working night-shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
underground nd maintaince
AUTO-ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  LimpopoMarch 12, 2016
first thing in da morning everybody get her job nd check breakdowns ..learn alot on drill rigs nd Lhd's.our manadement was free to every one on company nd we heard team work by our workshop.The hardest part is wen the machine hav serious breakdown during da end of da shift and enjoyable part wen we do maintaince on machine
Pros
30min lunch
Cons
normal eight hours or overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible and productive workplace
Safety and Risk Manager (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GautengFebruary 7, 2016
The job is a highly rewarding experience in that you can sense the diffirence your interventions are making in the workplace, you are faced with numerous challenges on a daily basis, some technical, some legal and always lots of people issues.
I have learned what it takes to be a responsible corporate citizen in the 21st centuary
Pros
Inetrnational exposure to best practice
Cons
Company does not offer further carreer advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we still as a whole have a lot to perfect on and one of those point of interest is the workers in ability to conker all the challenges they face
mining and development sector underground (Current Employee) –  Witbank, MPFebruary 2, 2016
it would be to start off with our D.S.B where min targets , safety tips and so on are high lighted and we discuss the job tasks at hand . WE THEN GET TO KNOW AND FAMILIARIZE what is required of us as a team and then get ready for going underground an perform those tasks to the fullest extent of our experience and ensure the safety of ourselves and that of our colleagues
Pros
we work well as a team
Cons
the language barrier can be a problem sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, good benefits and culture, very safety conscious.
Business Unit Category Manager (Current Employee) –  Witbank, MpumalangaFebruary 25, 2016
I have worked for Anglo for 27 years and they looked after me; everything I own is due to them. They have however now decided to sell the Coal assets which is a shock and I believe it is time to look for something outside of the mining environment.
Pros
Allowance and bonuses
Cons
Red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we have a soccer team and we play against other departments eg Engineering vs HR department its fun for any person of any age group
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Witbank, MpumalangaFebruary 22, 2016
this company is a wonderful and enjoyable place to be,it is any man's dream.Im working 3 shift rotation maintaining mining machinery.we have maintenance schedules that help us to maintain a different machine every day
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Senior Industrial Engineer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GautengMarch 30, 2016
Anglo American had very fun workers I worked with. Very detailed oriented and technical.

One had to work at his own pace and manage projects at his own from concept to implementation.

You get exposed to international projects and travelling.
Pros
Free lunch indeed
Cons
Long hours on your own schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun in the workplace due to great morale
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Potgietersrus, LPDecember 22, 2015
I worked with a diverse group of people. It was quite an experience and very educating. Conditions were hard but it was my job to make it easier for the employees on the ground. It was my great pleasure to work with and for these great people.

I dealt with anything to make the operators life easier from HR to payroll.

I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to have worked at this great company.
Pros
Free food on public holidays
Cons
Hard conditions due to working on the mine.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to be woking at this place
shift supervisor (Current Employee) –  Thabazimbi, LPDecember 6, 2015
So many challenges we face on daily basis specially because of the UNIONS tha is influencing employees negatively.

Dispite the challages I managed to bring my teams together and starting to achieve incredible results.

The hard part of this job is the preasure i get from both the managment and the crews. When the management brings changes in standard and Code Of Practice the crews are always resistant to implemment.

The most enjoyeble part of this job is when I get recognition and receiving presents as a best performer
Cons
No time to knock off, this is the most borring
Was this review helpful?Yes13No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice to work for
Master Electrician (Current Employee) –  Kathu, Northern CapeFebruary 12, 2016
It was nice to work for Anglo American, but they are retrenching us. It was a honor to work for Anglo American. We are normally very busy during the the. I have learned a lot every day. Me and management had a very productive relationship and with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team workplace was positive all times,care and respect was one of golden rules at workplace.turn around time were acchived without any difficulties
LABORATORY TECHNOLOGIST (Former Employee) –  Germiston, GPNovember 10, 2015
Team workplace was positive all times,care and respect was one of golden rules at workplace.turn around time were acchived without any difficulties even workload was high. workers were able to start with sample from begining till last step of analysis and that gave people ability to grow with a job, handle responsibility and build positive relationships with work colleagues at all levels.
Pros
free lunch were given
Was this review helpful?Yes15No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Tough working environment
Mine Planning Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kathu, Northern CapeApril 13, 2016
There are opportunities to grow.

Management is friendly and welcoming.

Peers and subordinates are helpful at all times.

Long working hours
Pros
Cellphone benefits
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy working environment
Employee Data Management Officer (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North WestApril 2, 2016
overall I had a great working experience at anglo American. Good working conditions and I had great co workers. I had good relationships with all my managers and enjoyed working there
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Payroll Administrator (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GPJanuary 11, 2016
working at Anglo has been both a challenge and a blessing.I have learned a lot from both my colleagues and supervisor

one need to be fully focused on the job or else clients might end up being overpaid or even underpaid
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours during cost closings
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chief safety officer
CHIEF SAFETY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North WestFebruary 19, 2016
Chief Safety Officer of 4 Shafts consisting of 20 000 employees. Managed HSE of all 4 shafts. Had a Safety team of 8 Safety Officers, 12 Safety Auditors, 5 SHE Administrators and 8 Full Time Safety Representatives.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company that gives back to our youth
Project administrator (Former Employee) –  Thembelani mine RustenburgApril 4, 2016
I enjoyed my time working with Anglo American. Their work ethics are outstanding, their staff are highly effective and their red tape procedures work.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Management Accountant - Contractor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GPJanuary 20, 2016
Very professional, tight deadlines to meet and still have to manage the teams requirements. Had to assist the non-accounting people with all their budget and expenditure queries and explain in detail to them
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard large mining company
Acting Exploration Geologist (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North WestApril 6, 2016
Anglo is a large mining company with its pros and cons. I was part of the company for a short period of time and enjoyed the time I did work for them
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained relevant experience of the corporate environment and gained experience as the only female in a male work enviromment.
Desktop Support Administrator (Former Employee) –  HarareOctober 8, 2015
Providing IT support services and computer software training to Anglo American head office and more than 20 subsidiary companies.

It involved hard work and required extreme efficiency in all respective IT areas.
Pros
Good working enviroment and salary package
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GPJanuary 14, 2016
every working day starts with a short production meeting and safety meeting where people engage and remind each other about working safe and producing quality work
Pros
canteen
Cons
contractor for ten years
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 270 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture