Find companies:
Amgen
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
162 reviews

Amgen Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits - Fast moving company
Principle Clnical Quality Site Compliance Lead (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAJanuary 21, 2014
Hard work. Well established culture. Very risk adverse. Collaborative environment which may make things difficult to implement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ssis developer
SQL BI Developer (Current Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: insurance, dataware housing
Cons: finance, health care
• Designed and created databases using normalization techniques. Implemented DDL statements
• Defined database structure or schemas and DML to manage data within schema objects
• Developed advanced queries, stored procedures, views and functions to retrieve, analyze and update data using MS SQL Server 2008/2008 R2/2012.
• Designed, developed and implemented – more... data import using SSIS to load data from various files into database
• Created packages and scheduled server jobs according to established business rules
• Provided administrative functions for SQL Server such as implementing database backups, performance tuning and optimization, importing and exporting database objects. Support of high-transaction database
• Designed and implemented security by setting up users, profiles and roles and assigning system and object privileges
• Used SSRS to develop parameterized reports to group, filter and calculate results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review is based on BioVex, before Amgen bought the company.
Quality Control Analyst (Former Employee), Woburn, MAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: some good employees to work with
Cons: terrible management and training
From the first day I started I was in a very negative environment. There was no team attitude at all. It was every man for himself with people talking behind everyone's back and no direction at all from management. The training was extremely poor I would never want to work under the same management again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
QC ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), PRJanuary 9, 2014
This was the first company that gave me the opportunity to work on what I really like. The knowledge that I have now in quality control I owe them. A typical work day that was work, work and more work. It was fun and rewarding to work with the team for Microbiology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and place to work at
QC Microbiology Associate (Current Employee), Woburn, MADecember 31, 2013
Cons: short breaks
The people here are great. The place has just been bought over by Amgen. Therefore the company in Woburn is a little hectic. The hours are crazy at times, we need to be flexible because there are only one shift here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CADecember 29, 2013
Pros: the people i worked with.
Cons: working with people globally; not being able to work in the same time zone.
I have worked for Amgen Inc. for just under 10 years. I supported a group within the Engineering Department that consists of 7 Directors and their reports, equaling to about 32 people. I managed calendars, scheduled travel, supported their meetings and other clerical type work. I loved the folks I worked with. A typical day was low to medium stress – more... and getting my work done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Biopharmaceutical Specialist
Sr. Biopharmaceutical Representative (Current Employee), Central CaliforniaDecember 26, 2013
16+ years sales experience, 14+ years pharmaceutical sales experience. Launched 6 new products in Cardiology, Urology, Gastroenterology, and Endocrinology. Sales experience in primary care, Rheumatology, Oncology, Neurology, Long-term care, hospital-based, Dialysis, and Infusion centers. Currently I manage a book of business compiled of $35 million/annually. – more... My territory covers Modesto to Bakersfield, Ca. I reside in Clovis, Ca. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Material Coordinator II (Current Employee), Woburn, MADecember 25, 2013
A good company to work for they take really good care of there regular employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Senior Performance Test Engineer (Current Employee), Chennai, TNDecember 19, 2013
Pros: employee friendly, very good work culture, very good work-life balance, flexible timings, very good work environment
Cons: no cons. many teams are available and can get good training move up the career ladder
The day will be hectic when we receive more number of volumes on to our Workflow.

I learnt a lot here, since it is my first job. Like how to communicate with the clients, and how to solve problems when issue is raised by them etc.

Management was good

I had a great experience working at HP, and was able to climb the corporate ladder very fast, and – more... accomplished all my desired goals during my time with HP. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Permatemps wanted!
Associate (Current Employee), Thousand Oaks, CADecember 13, 2013
Lots of people in my department were brought in through staffing agencies and don't have health insurance, a retirement plan, or even vacation or sick pay. We have to take tons of unpaid time off during the year for company shutdowns. (Including two weeks at the end of the year. Merry Christmas to you, too, Amgen!) We basically have the same job functions – more... and are expected to work as hard as regular employees, but are treated as second class citizens in every other sense. They subtly dangle the carrot in front of you that you might get hired at the end of your multiyear contract. It hardly ever happens these days, and they will just replace you with a new temp. Oh, and you will be expected to put a smile on your face and train your replacement before you go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job contract ended
Associate manufactoring (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CANovember 26, 2013
Was fun job, lots of learning was still learning. Contract ended.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people make the place
Regulatory Affairs (Current Employee), AmgenOctober 28, 2013
Pros: talented staff, benefits
Cons: lots of work, high stress, mgt not always good at prioritizing or decision making
Most people who work at Amgen are high caliber, the best of the best. Not only are they talented and skilled at what they do, but they are also good people you'd like to have as friends.

Amgen demands a lot from its staff. It can be high stress and work/life balance isn't always in balance, especially in certain departments. That said, Amgen also provides – more... a very generous compensation and bonus program, great 401k match, 17 holidays/year plus vacation, nice healthcare benefits and gym plus cafe on site at many sites. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people and awesome work culture
Commercial Leadership Program Summer Intern (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAOctober 19, 2013
Pros: free activities for interns as kayaking, surfing, hiking etc.
Had the best summer working as a Marketing Intern at Amgen. Was assigned an interesting project and a very supportive team of people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Sr. Research Associate (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks CaOctober 16, 2013
Pros: free foo
I love the science and culture at Amgen, Worked with great teams over the 18 years with cutting edge science.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company values but poor managment flexibility
Chemical Analyst II (Current Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAOctober 3, 2013
Pros: friendly, collaborative
Cons: hard work, poor flexibility
I work in Analytical Sciences.

The Amgen community fosters creative collaboration and innovation through shared progress. I am friends with all of the people in my department, and they are all extremely friendly and helpful.

Management has a hard time getting things done if it at all goes against the prior planned direction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great employees made some good friends
Hygiene Specialist (Former Employee), Dún Laoghaire, DOctober 2, 2013
Pros: -
Cons: -
job was good but the management were very unhelpful. was promised a lot of benefits such as safe pass,full time hours, then to be made redundant after 30 days along with a few others who i started with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Operations Improvement Engineer (Former Employee), PRSeptember 28, 2013
Best company I have worked for. Great people, culture and compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what you learned
Vendor Management Specialist (Current Employee), Thousand Oaks, CASeptember 17, 2013
I have learned to balance life and work. Great company to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working here
Associate Scientist (Temp) (Current Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 12, 2013
My responsibilities were clear and my boss was fairly hands off. He would tell me what needed to be done and I did it. I enjoy working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for work life balance
Project Manager - Strategy and Operations (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 11, 2013
My typical day was working on my financial model, and consulting people about how to achieve best results.
I learned all about the medical experiments and R&D operations at Amgen.
Management is ok. No micro management.
My co workers were great, very professional.
The hardest part of my job was to master al the available information.
The most enjoyable – more... part was going to the on campus gym – less

About Amgen

Amgen is among the biggest of the biotech big'uns, and it's determined to get even bigger. The company uses cellular biology and – Read more