Find companies:
American Water
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
65 reviews

American Water Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: nice clean work environment
Cons: mandatory overtime at the last minute
A typical day at American Water consisted of one taking up to 100 calls per day answering billing questions, status on service order or follow-up requests, taking payments, processing off/on orders, issuing service orders, and creating water quality reports. I learned a lot about how water meters are read, what they look like, and how to conserve water – more... to keep your water bill within your means. The co-workers there were willing to help you if you had any questions. As a matter of fact, they are who we would ask questions before we took it to the supervisor. The hardest part of the job was dealing with customer's who were never satisfied with any thing you said or did to make them happy. The happiest and most enjoyable part of the job was helping the customers to get what they wanted and talking with some of the customers who were pleasant and understanding. I also liked the way American Water did nice gestures for their employees just to say thanks for our hard work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits..Management is not diverse racially
Analyst (Current Employee), Voorhees, NJDecember 12, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: no diversity
Good company but not enough minorites in prominent roles. needs to work on diversity issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture and friendly management
Data Entry Clerk/Contractor (Current Employee), Alton, ILDecember 4, 2013
Although this is a temporary contract position, I feel just as important as the permanent employees. The management is very friendly and caring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, bad management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLNovember 19, 2013
Pros: good benefits hour lunch
Benefits are awesome. However, you are on a 90 day rotation when it comes to the schedule. You could have a 2-11 shift one day which could allow you to got to school in the day time but then you may end up with a schedule that is 12-8 because the other shifts ran out. Additionally, you are mandated to take OT. 2 hours and most times this is every day. – more... The OT is either 2 hours before your shift or 2 hours after your shift. If you work a mid day schedule it will be 1 hour before and 1 hour after. This type of workplace was really not conducive to my lifestyle. However, when I was single and did not have a child and wasn't in school, it was only a minor inconvenience for me to change my schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent work atmosphere with a lot of team building events.
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLNovember 15, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: point system
I worked receiving inbound calls mostly from disgruntled and/or delinquent customers, which, can sometimes be frustrating management conducted events in downtime or between calls to give a release that helped a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced staff.
Manager of Production (Former Employee), Lexington, KYNovember 9, 2013
Good people. Personally at times it can feel inclusive. High level of compliance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enthusiastic workplace
Plant Operators Assistant (Former Employee), Jefferson City, MONovember 4, 2013
Pros: co-workers
I felt that American Water was a great company to work for. In the short time that I was there I felt that all the employees and customers alike were treated well. I enjoyed working with the people I worked with which made the idea of having to be in the hot weather conditions a little less unpleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company.
Business Transformation Project Team (Current Employee), Voorhees, NJOctober 3, 2013
Solid company. Must be adaptable to change.

Additional information can be found on the company web site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Southern New JerseySeptember 30, 2013
Pros: all
Great place to work. I learned a great deal while on the Business Transformation project --business process analysis, SAP, QA and more
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: insurance benefits
Cons: no family life
Nothing Positive to say...Company is not family friendly and has a lack of morale within the company...Employee's are disgusted with the way they are treated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Company
BUSINESS ANALYST (Current Employee), Cherry Hill, NJAugust 13, 2013
Good working environment.

No Career Advancement.

Good Work Balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Water
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLAugust 6, 2013
American Water is one of the top water utility companies in the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good training / and support
Utility Mechanic (Former Employee), Plainfield, NJJuly 16, 2013
Pros: good communication with most supervisors
Cons: high union dues and health care
great and supportive coworkers , great training courses, room for advancement if willing to train for it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good place to work
Engineering Technician (Former Employee), Creve CoureJuly 11, 2013
Pros: the staff
Cons: hard to move up with at bs
The job with American Water was a ever change job. Good people and nice building.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A run of the mill.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Alton, ILJuly 10, 2013
This was a challenge. I would recommend such an environment to people who are good with other's. This is not a job for the thin skinned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management are a bunch of bullies
hr (Former Employee), SSC WoodcrestApril 29, 2013
Cons: too many to mention
On outside looks like great company to work for...reality is they play favorites and make cases against loyal workers. Management has their own agenda and only "favorite employees" get advancement and/or better increases. Non favorite employees barely get an increase or no increase at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New ERP
Analyst (Former Employee), Cherry HillMarch 15, 2013
Pros: benefits, 401k, flex spending
Cons: too many meetings
This company just implemented new ERP system with lots of bells and whistles. Could be a good thing if done right; only time will tell.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Individualized thinking
Employee (Current Employee), Alton, ILFebruary 27, 2013
American Water is a strong company with an excellent financial future. The department I am a part of is challenging with many self inflicted wounds. So many people are focused solely on their own responsibilities, that they leave very little flexibility, resources, or time to assist others. Often a project is become delayed because Party A was waiting – more... on information from Party B who was waiting to hear back from Party C who was needing data from Party A. Lack of solid communication and teamwork is the cause of many headaches. The people themselves are good with many of them capable of doing their own jobs, they just have blinders to the bigger picture and a hesitation to helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of the art computers
CALL HANDLING SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Pensacola FloridaFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: mandated overtime with short notice, no room for csr advancement.
Managed a team of 12 Customer Service Representatives by directing them to excel with their job performance and provide American Water customers with first class customer service. Everyday duties included maintaining that the team adheres to their schedules as it is strategic to the service level of the call center, maintain the team job performance – more... guidelines such as handle time, quality scores and service order accuracy. Bi- weekly payroll processing using JDE. Customer service escalations such as approving payment terms, and extensions upon assessment of customer’s credit and collection status.. Quality Monitoring Sessions and Feedback.
Team Meetings and Individual Feedback Sessions as needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The thing that gave me the most drive was the challenge of de-escalating a call and satisfying a customer desires with one call resolution..
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Alton, ILFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: we worked as a team.
Cons: being notified that you have been mandated to work overtime at the end of your shift.
My job consisted of multitasking. I mainly talked on the phone in the Help Que to assist Customer Service Representatives with systems knowledge, tips on de-escalating a call, assistance of research of company data base for services provided. I handled escalated/supervisor calls. I denied/approved customer faxes for new water service, if there has been – more... previous bad debt at their property. Our department was a team. We had weekly team meetings to share updates to system and procedures. The customer call center management has turned over several times, which leaves it unstable and untrustworthy. I would like to see more loyalty from the company. KPI's (key production indicators) were set high and most time were based on personal judgement. – less

About American Water

American Water Works Company, Inc. is United States water and wastewater utility company. The Company provides approximately 15.6 – Read more

American Water Photos