American Water

American Water Employee Reviews

Showing all 115 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible managment
equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVNovember 3, 2015
great career if you are in the click. this may be only in wv don't know. minorities are over looked.. the jobs are wonderful but management will find a way to make your job so stressfull you want to quit but the money helps you put up with the bs. you are just a number there is nomore job family those days are gone but if you can be agood boy or girl or you are family you will have it made. overall its a great place to work but you will give most of your time to your job when forced to work
Pros
money benafits co wrkers
Cons
watch your back no concern for family
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at work
SAP HR ABAP Technical Consultant (Current Employee) –  Voorhees, NJOctober 30, 2015
It very friendly company with good work life balance.
I started here in Jan 2015 and since then there is a lot of enjoyment along with work.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a Contractor
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Alton, ILOctober 21, 2015
I enjoyed my surroundings, the work that I performed and the hours. Management gave me my assignment, who to report to and the training.
Pros
I was a contractor
Cons
I was a contractor
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Teamwork
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJOctober 9, 2015
Gave me exposure to working within a n large utility organization. Assisted with the customer needs and identifying areas of concern
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Alton, ILSeptember 16, 2015
It was a great place to work with awesome supervisors. Its a no nonsense job with great opportunities to advance. Always opportunities for overtime.
Pros
Great Management
Cons
Rotating shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Subject Matter Expert (Former Employee) –  Voorhees, NJSeptember 10, 2015
The amount of knowledge I gained in the project has taken me to the next level in my career. Very thankful for the exposure and the people across the world I was able to work with closely.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purchased past employer. Fair treatment from all.
Safety Manager/OSC Specialist (Current Employee) –  O'Fallon, MOAugust 19, 2015
Typically, I spen my days tracking 42 facilities' safety programs, training, and OSHA / OHSA (Ontario) standards compliance. Approx. 15% of time is involved with conducting Safety Peer Reviews at contract locations.

Learned a great deal about safety culture, and how it can be affected for the betterment of idividuals and the Company.

Co-workers have always worked within a team mentality.

Hardest part of the job is having to deal with employee injuries and their effects on work and family.

Most enjoyable part would have to be the spririt of commeradity that the organization displays at every turn. Basically I feel that doing something I love, with people that I like to work with, has been a real joy.


A collaborative safety culture is great when the right people and circumstances meet.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Accounting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJAugust 6, 2015
Very busy, productive place to work. I was only a TEMP so I am unfamiliar with alot of their benefits and policies. There were many Temporary people who were let go along with 25% of there permanent staff
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too stressful
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Alton, ILJuly 26, 2015
When I started working here it was a good place to work but over time it has become one of the worst places. We used to have contests all the time with great prizes, fun activities for employees and their families, the work environment was great. The morale is so low now that management has formed a special group just think of things that can be done to improve how people feel about coming here. At one point they were offering to pay everyone $1 more an hour for coming to work on Monday's and it still didn't improve attendance. Some people would rather work a 2nd part time job for minimum wage than work a few hours of overtime earning $15-$30 an hour. New employees are required to work way too much overtime. They need to hire more people but won't. You're taking back to back phone calls all day, customers are allowed to speak to you any way they want. All management says is "Don't take it personal, they're mad at the company not you" or "Well you don't know what kind of day someone's had. They're not really mad at you, they're just frustrated". I've worked here over 5 years and almost every supervisor that worked here in the call center has either quit or moved to another position as soon as they could. Most of the supervisors that are here now can't stand their job and are looking for a new job too. I've only stayed here this long because I have kids and my job is close to home, my work hours are convenient for my family, the benefits are good. The pay is good for the area I live in but the stress level and expectations that upper management places on customer service  more... is ridiculous. There's no consistency. We receive emails daily regarding changes that have been implemented due to the previous way not working the way they thought it would. We take calls for multiple states, each with their own regulations for how we operate. We're required to remember all of the information or know where to find the information in a system that does not work properly. Due to the number of calls we receive other departments that have their work to do are required to take phone calls as well making them fall behind in their own work. There aren't any opportunities for advancement or to just move to another department. A lot of my co-workers are seeing therapists just because of this job, a lot of people are on FMLA or try to take leave for any reason just to get a break from here. Hopefully they'll realize they need to hire more people, start treating employees fairly and realize it what they are requiring us to do is not healthy.  less
Pros
pay, paid vacation/personal/sick time
Cons
low morale, inconsistent, stressfull
Was this review helpful?Yes32No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for this company was productive and a fun experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Alton, ILJuly 9, 2015
I had the opportunity to grow within the company and learned a lot of new things about water and it's culture. It was a pleasure to assist customers with billing, emails, faxes, or creating service orders upon customer's request.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace.
driver/meter reader (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILJune 23, 2015
Enjoyed working there and would do it again. The other employees are great. This was a learning experience for me. I learned alot working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under paid over worked
Operator II (Current Employee) –  San AntonioJune 8, 2015
Very good company problem is the average pay for a Waste water operator in San Antonio is 40k @ entry level,don't expect that.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
AWE (Current Employee) –  AWEMay 15, 2015
Leaders genuinely care bout their employees. Limited opportunities for advancement but a pleasurable work environment, if you like stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, no diversity in management
Business Transformation (Former Employee) –  Voorhees, NJMay 10, 2015
No advancement for minorities. Too much of family members or friends of management getting jobs over more qualified individuals.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to spend a career
Billing Analyst (Current Employee) –  Alton, ILMay 4, 2015
Many great benefits for employees. I am loving my new job. Lots of opportunities also. Many positions are virtual meaning you can work in any office in the company.
Pros
Opportunities
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult environment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Voorhees, NJApril 13, 2015
Mass reorganization and layoffs. No strategy in place or followed. Poor management decisions with resources. Culture breeds insecurity and lack of trust.
Pros
nice people
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes37No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Morale, prison like environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Alton, ILMarch 19, 2015
The work is at times overwhelming, the pay is mediocre. The overall environment is depressing. Stress is high and there is no room for advancement.
Pros
you receive a check
Cons
stressful, underpaid, under appreciated, no room to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes35No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment with opportunity for advancement
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  St.charlesMarch 1, 2015
During my time in this role I have been able to build effective professional relationships with co-workers. I have had the opportunity to improve my verbal and written communication
Was this review helpful?Yes11No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Water
Statewide Inspector (Current Employee) –  The State of CaliforniaFebruary 12, 2015
I oversee all capital improvement projects in the state of California, I travel weekly insuring all projects stat within the budget and on time, I work together with State, County, City agencies,
Was this review helpful?Yes9No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back Environment
Customer Service/Accounts Representative (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNFebruary 11, 2015
You're on the phone and at a desk all day. Management is amazing. They really work with your schedule and personal needs.
Pros
paid lunches, good break schedule
Cons
healthcare could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 115 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3