Find companies:
American Water
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
55 reviews

American Water Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
California American Water - Don't even think about it!
Manager, Environmental Compliance (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 10, 2014
Pros: decent salary and benefits
Cons: not trustworthy, disloyal
California American Water management doesn't have any regard for its employees. The company preaches "maintaining the utmost integrity." However, as a former employee who was dedicated and worked many extra hours on my own time, I was totally blindsided when my position was "eliminated," without warning, "due to financial considerations." The truth – more... was I was apparently not highly favored by the company's senior management because I was honest with them, even though I kept the company from getting into trouble with state regulators. Less than a year after eliminating my position, one of my previous direct reports was appointed to a newly created higher-level position, with a higher salary, that did essentially what I was doing. That move should clearly indicate the kind of company California American Water is. Do not work for them if you want job security. They cannot be trusted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company sucks
Meter Reader (Former Employee), ArizonaApril 6, 2014
Cons: management sucks code of ethics hotline is a joke
This company is unethical and has supervisor /employee relations that tend to fav those employees more the way to get good in this company is to kiss up to management on day one terrible company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unstable for a Utility
Corporate Finance Manager (Current Employee), Hershey, PAApril 2, 2014
To many reorganizations for a water/wasetwater utility.To many reorganizations for a water/wasetwater utility.To many reorganizations for a water/wasetwater utility.To many reorganizations for a water/wasetwater utility.To many reorganizations for a water/wasetwater utility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced, gratifying work
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Pensacola, FlMarch 28, 2014
This position required me to take payments, change customer addresses, dispatch FSR's, and handle water quality issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Rep
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), pensacola, flMarch 9, 2014
Pros: benefits and overtime
Cons: mandatory overtime and culture
Answered phone calls all day. Took payments over the phone, answered questions, enrolled (water) service for customers, cancelled service. Management is more concerned about time on the phone than quality of customer service you provide.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible environment and very bad management.
Lead Operator (Former Employee), Fort Meade, MDFebruary 26, 2014
Cons: they just suck
They do not support the employee at all. The safety is a joke. At Meade there was a chlorine leak and someone was gassed and this manager wanted to cover it up. It was not reported ,PPE was not issued for 3 months until the operator was gassed. They were using cartridges for the guys to repair one ton sulfur and chlorine cylinders. Then they went after – more... anyone with knowledge to get year end bonus .I resigned before a serious accident could happen. The employee turn over is crazy, that is a real issue hitting them. Who wants to work for a company that tries to fire a good employee so they can save 3.00 an hour on a new hire? Wonder why the tank in WV was not contained in a berm? EPA regulation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well structured environment.
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee), Cherry Hill, NJFebruary 12, 2014
Worked at American Water as a temporary employee. I am enjoying my time at American Water. My supervisors respected my knowledge of SAP and placed me accordingly. I learned the automated side of SAP. Most of the full time employees were helpful with additional training. Supervisors were very helpful when needed. It was a temporary position, which is – more... the hard part, you're a part of the group getting the job done, but you're apart from everyone else. The best part was that I know exactly what my job was and I was able to come in everyday, and do it with out constantly being instructed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staying until something better comes along
Call Handling Supervisor (Current Employee), ILFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: union run, good benefits
Cons: mangement is unprofessional, low pay
Leadership is unprofessional; and will not practice what they preach. Benefits are good but I began looking for another position not long after I began. Pay is good for Reps beacuse it's a union shop .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Mailroom Coordinator
Senior Mailroom Coordinator (Former Employee), Cherry Hill NJFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: great management team
Worked in American Water Mailroom for twelve years.
Opened and sorted mail for the Shared Service Center daily.
Learned to work in Corporate environment.
Last five years at American Water trained and guided two
other employees in all areas of mailroom operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Cost Accountant (Current Employee), Belleville, IllinoisJanuary 12, 2014
-Provided project managers with information about internal company programs and software as well as annual budgeting information.
-Prepared and populated all monthly accounting templates with "actuals". Then relayed this information to project managers and all other essential personnel within the company.
-Assisted management with various projects, – more... on demand, as dictated by direct manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: nice clean work environment
Cons: mandatory overtime at the last minute
A typical day at American Water consisted of one taking up to 100 calls per day answering billing questions, status on service order or follow-up requests, taking payments, processing off/on orders, issuing service orders, and creating water quality reports. I learned a lot about how water meters are read, what they look like, and how to conserve water – more... to keep your water bill within your means. The co-workers there were willing to help you if you had any questions. As a matter of fact, they are who we would ask questions before we took it to the supervisor. The hardest part of the job was dealing with customer's who were never satisfied with any thing you said or did to make them happy. The happiest and most enjoyable part of the job was helping the customers to get what they wanted and talking with some of the customers who were pleasant and understanding. I also liked the way American Water did nice gestures for their employees just to say thanks for our hard work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits..Management is not diverse racially
Analyst (Current Employee), Voorhees, NJDecember 12, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: no diversity
Good company but not enough minorites in prominent roles. needs to work on diversity issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture and friendly management
Data Entry Clerk/Contractor (Current Employee), Alton, ILDecember 4, 2013
Although this is a temporary contract position, I feel just as important as the permanent employees. The management is very friendly and caring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, bad management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLNovember 19, 2013
Pros: good benefits hour lunch
Benefits are awesome. However, you are on a 90 day rotation when it comes to the schedule. You could have a 2-11 shift one day which could allow you to got to school in the day time but then you may end up with a schedule that is 12-8 because the other shifts ran out. Additionally, you are mandated to take OT. 2 hours and most times this is every day. – more... The OT is either 2 hours before your shift or 2 hours after your shift. If you work a mid day schedule it will be 1 hour before and 1 hour after. This type of workplace was really not conducive to my lifestyle. However, when I was single and did not have a child and wasn't in school, it was only a minor inconvenience for me to change my schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent work atmosphere with a lot of team building events.
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLNovember 15, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: point system
I worked receiving inbound calls mostly from disgruntled and/or delinquent customers, which, can sometimes be frustrating management conducted events in downtime or between calls to give a release that helped a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced staff.
Manager of Production (Former Employee), Lexington, KYNovember 9, 2013
Good people. Personally at times it can feel inclusive. High level of compliance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enthusiastic workplace
Plant Operators Assistant (Former Employee), Jefferson City, MONovember 4, 2013
Pros: co-workers
I felt that American Water was a great company to work for. In the short time that I was there I felt that all the employees and customers alike were treated well. I enjoyed working with the people I worked with which made the idea of having to be in the hot weather conditions a little less unpleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company.
Business Transformation Project Team (Current Employee), Voorhees, NJOctober 3, 2013
Solid company. Must be adaptable to change.

Additional information can be found on the company web site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Southern New JerseySeptember 30, 2013
Pros: all
Great place to work. I learned a great deal while on the Business Transformation project --business process analysis, SAP, QA and more
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: insurance benefits
Cons: no family life
Nothing Positive to say...Company is not family friendly and has a lack of morale within the company...Employee's are disgusted with the way they are treated.

1 2 3

About American Water

American Water Works Company, Inc. is United States water and wastewater utility company. The Company provides approximately 15.6 – Read more

American Water Photos