American Water

American Water Employee Reviews

Showing all 106 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast passed, too much change at one time
Configurator/Tester/Training Support (Payroll) (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJMay 18, 2016
While working to build their ERP system, there were long days and no work life balance. This led to health issue for me. I had to chose between my health and my career.
Pros
Great learning experiance
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
SAP Security & GRC Consultant (Former Employee) –  Voorhees, NJApril 15, 2016
Good place to work. It has office in Cherry hill, NJ
Diverse work force. Good people.
Focus on IT build up. Have has offices at other locations.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Water
Intern Engineer (Former Employee) –  Mount Laurel, NJApril 5, 2016
Helped organize water usage data for counties in New Jersey and Pennsylvania
Organized Comprehensive Planning Studies (CPS) to evaluate the condition of water systems
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive Work
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, NJMarch 21, 2016
40 hour, all outside, summer work GPSing water assets for the GIS technicians and annalists. Helped make maps using ArcMap.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work.
HR/Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJMarch 19, 2016
Co-workers from all around the USA always dependable and willing to work hard at resolving any issues.

Upper management not consistent
Pros
Benefits Great co workers
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A concise working enviroment. Attention to customer request and the service needed to satisfy their customers.
Customer Service-Call Center (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 18, 2016
The job was about 24/7 customer service, call center work, three shifts. As the main water utility service for the region they must operate with specific standards and within state regulations. They had a 6 week training period that I was a part of. through which they covered all the intricacies of their operation as a major utility. The managers were well involved in showing you what they do and what you would be required to do. Fellow job seekers who came in with me were all pleasant and willing people looking to go to work and earn a good living. The hardest part of the job was so much knowledge to adapt to...huge reams of 2 inch folders. The thing you had to become good at was knowing what folder to research in order to help the customer.
Pros
Flexible shift work. Comfortable call center/building. Great tech support.
Cons
Training was somewhat off, their traning didn't come over well, they only used 2 trainers for a class size of 21 new trainees, they could improve that ratio, give new people a better chance to learn, they have a high turn over ratio, of the 21 people that started with maybe they reatained 4 or 5 for permanant work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short staffed
SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLJanuary 15, 2016
The turn around is insane, back to back calls. Management is short staffed so getting help is difficult while trying to reach/maintain KPIs.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Water
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLDecember 28, 2015
Customer Service Representative; responsible for assisting customers with water connection or termination of water service. Typically handled 100 service calls within an eight-hour work shift. These service calls consist of connection, disconnection of water service, billing inquiries, and emergency water service. Responsible for negotiating payment plans with customers for water service to be continued or reconnected. Responsible for collecting almost $500,000 in water service debt in one year. Followed the Pennsylvania State guidelines in negotiating payments from our customers ensuring proper procedures were followed as required
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Work Life Balance
Call Handling Rep II (Former Employee) –  Alton, ILDecember 16, 2015
They forced mandatory overtime at the call center. They pressure you to have a low call time but it is impossible when they implemented a system that does not work. Complaints about the system have went unheard for two years.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice laid work place.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Alton, ILNovember 5, 2015
This was an great place to work! Although it was a temp agency and they could only keep a certain amount of people I really enjoyed myself here.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Manager
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Enterprise, ALNovember 5, 2015
I took this position and was not ever given the actual employees issues, this company has taken a very bad stance on not reviewing complaints and will get rid of Management in a second, will not contact any others involved and will try and protect themselves
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible managment
equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVNovember 3, 2015
great career if you are in the click. this may be only in wv don't know. minorities are over looked.. the jobs are wonderful but management will find a way to make your job so stressfull you want to quit but the money helps you put up with the bs. you are just a number there is nomore job family those days are gone but if you can be agood boy or girl or you are family you will have it made. overall its a great place to work but you will give most of your time to your job when forced to work
Pros
money benafits co wrkers
Cons
watch your back no concern for family
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at work
SAP HR ABAP Technical Consultant (Current Employee) –  Voorhees, NJOctober 30, 2015
It very friendly company with good work life balance.
I started here in Jan 2015 and since then there is a lot of enjoyment along with work.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a Contractor
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Alton, ILOctober 21, 2015
I enjoyed my surroundings, the work that I performed and the hours. Management gave me my assignment, who to report to and the training.
Pros
I was a contractor
Cons
I was a contractor
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Teamwork
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJOctober 9, 2015
Gave me exposure to working within a n large utility organization. Assisted with the customer needs and identifying areas of concern
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Alton, ILSeptember 16, 2015
It was a great place to work with awesome supervisors. Its a no nonsense job with great opportunities to advance. Always opportunities for overtime.
Pros
Great Management
Cons
Rotating shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Subject Matter Expert (Former Employee) –  Voorhees, NJSeptember 10, 2015
The amount of knowledge I gained in the project has taken me to the next level in my career. Very thankful for the exposure and the people across the world I was able to work with closely.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purchased past employer. Fair treatment from all.
Safety Manager/OSC Specialist (Current Employee) –  O'Fallon, MOAugust 19, 2015
Typically, I spen my days tracking 42 facilities' safety programs, training, and OSHA / OHSA (Ontario) standards compliance. Approx. 15% of time is involved with conducting Safety Peer Reviews at contract locations.

Learned a great deal about safety culture, and how it can be affected for the betterment of idividuals and the Company.

Co-workers have always worked within a team mentality.

Hardest part of the job is having to deal with employee injuries and their effects on work and family.

Most enjoyable part would have to be the spririt of commeradity that the organization displays at every turn. Basically I feel that doing something I love, with people that I like to work with, has been a real joy.


A collaborative safety culture is great when the right people and circumstances meet.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Accounting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJAugust 6, 2015
Very busy, productive place to work. I was only a TEMP so I am unfamiliar with alot of their benefits and policies. There were many Temporary people who were let go along with 25% of there permanent staff
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too stressful
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Alton, ILJuly 26, 2015
When I started working here it was a good place to work but over time it has become one of the worst places. We used to have contests all the time with great prizes, fun activities for employees and their families, the work environment was great. The morale is so low now that management has formed a special group just think of things that can be done to improve how people feel about coming here. At one point they were offering to pay everyone $1 more an hour for coming to work on Monday's and it still didn't improve attendance. Some people would rather work a 2nd part time job for minimum wage than work a few hours of overtime earning $15-$30 an hour. New employees are required to work way too much overtime. They need to hire more people but won't. You're taking back to back phone calls all day, customers are allowed to speak to you any way they want. All management says is "Don't take it personal, they're mad at the company not you" or "Well you don't know what kind of day someone's had. They're not really mad at you, they're just frustrated". I've worked here over 5 years and almost every supervisor that worked here in the call center has either quit or moved to another position as soon as they could. Most of the supervisors that are here now can't stand their job and are looking for a new job too. I've only stayed here this long because I have kids and my job is close to home, my work hours are convenient for my family, the benefits are good. The pay is good for the area I live in but the stress level and expectations that upper management places on customer service  more... is ridiculous. There's no consistency. We receive emails daily regarding changes that have been implemented due to the previous way not working the way they thought it would. We take calls for multiple states, each with their own regulations for how we operate. We're required to remember all of the information or know where to find the information in a system that does not work properly. Due to the number of calls we receive other departments that have their work to do are required to take phone calls as well making them fall behind in their own work. There aren't any opportunities for advancement or to just move to another department. A lot of my co-workers are seeing therapists just because of this job, a lot of people are on FMLA or try to take leave for any reason just to get a break from here. Hopefully they'll realize they need to hire more people, start treating employees fairly and realize it what they are requiring us to do is not healthy.  less
Pros
pay, paid vacation/personal/sick time
Cons
low morale, inconsistent, stressfull
Was this review helpful?Yes28No3

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 106 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture