American Red Cross

American Red Cross Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 32 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Loving place,with good work culture and Ethics.
Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Mostly work from homeAugust 2, 2016
Day starts 9am mostly work from home, scheduled with atlease 2-4 meetings everyday,mostly Skype meetings or Webex.
Learnt Advanced SQL,
XML Testing
Management is very encouraging and soft spoken with good mentoring skills.
Hardest part three different projects at a time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed serving clients
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Bracebridge, ON and cobourg,ontarioJune 3, 2016
Management had some issues,they worked very hard to take care of sick people but didnt like it when you got sick,i enjoyed most of my clients just didnt like company bs some times
Pros
Work indepently
Cons
driving around in the bad weather in winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
CPR & AED INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLApril 16, 2016
Great professional people who took their jobs seriously. Well run organization that took care of matters first. Felt good being part of such a well respected group.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping people in need
PSW (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ONApril 12, 2016
it is always rewarding to be a psw the people are usually sweet can caring and knowing your making there day by helping them is rewarding on its own
Pros
helping people
Cons
seeing them get more ill or passing away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Babysitting (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 29, 2015
My job is fun, because I get to play with kids, feed them and take full responsibilities for it. You can even bake with them and get to know them. Plus they're adorable.
Pros
Playing with kids
Cons
no rest until they rest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCSeptember 27, 2015
great experience, had a lot to learn about red cross and what they did to reach their achievements. there wasn't a hardest part of the job since at the beginning everyday was a challenge until you used to it which took me the first 3 days. i enjoyed everything about the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A precious working experience accumulation.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NBJune 29, 2015
First time to work in Canada, it gave me a chance to commute with Customers, service public. It also help me to enlarge my social network. it helps me to know the life in Canada.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
PSW-Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  TorontoJune 25, 2015
working with the elderly has been a great experience, you get to learn so much wisdom from them and also build great relationships with them,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONMay 17, 2015
I have had a lot of experience working with all types of people.

I learned that it is so important to always keep an open mind, and never judge people.

The co-workers loved me.
I have C.P.R. and first aid training.
Pros
Payed vacations
Cons
Long hours and working weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Babysitting experience
Babysitter (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONApril 28, 2015
I babysat a few children during the course of one year. It was exciting to be able to be in charge of them and be responsible for their safety whilst ensuring they are having fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Cross
Office Assistant (CO-OP) (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ONApril 19, 2015
Great place to be in if you like to be indoors and working in a small office with only a few people working there at Belleville's branch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked/Underpaid
Cert' Community Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ONMarch 9, 2015
Overall Red Cross a.k.a. care partners are a great company however the employees are typically overworked! missing their family putting in 12hr days only to receive an 8hr paid day. In order to get 8 hrs adding your travel time between clients makes up the extra 4 hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome organization
General Maintenance Technician 1 (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCFebruary 25, 2015
Learned a lot from the Red cross, was able to provide some positive knowledge to get me to the next level of maintenance. looked after 9 locations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, great people
Inventory, QS, VAS and Sorter Clerk (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONJune 16, 2014
Friendly, pumped, exciting environment with an amazing group of people who will encourage and support you and your growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like a warm and productive, clean working environment.
Standard First Aid & CPR certified ( (Former Employee) –  In class at Everest collegeJune 12, 2014
Multitasking . But I have learned to deal with the most urgent case first. My most enjoyable day at any job is to get my job done and my task is accomplished.
Pros
when people are not cooperative and warm
Cons
i love working long hours because of my passion to work with customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideally located place and a great environment within the organization.
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Stockholm, ABMay 22, 2014
Great culture, nice work balance. It was a great can do attitude there.
Pros
close to shops and attractions.
Cons
hierarchical system within the organisation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the clients
PSW (Former Employee) –  Elliot Lake, ONMarch 24, 2014
Really enjoyed my job.
The clients are the ones who make you want to go back and help even more.
Cons
over scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clients but no contact with fellow employees
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONJanuary 4, 2014
I love my job. The highlight of my day is my interaction with my clients. I constantly give up my weekends off when I know that clients will go without service because of lack of PSW's. I genuinely care for my clients and I love doing anything I can to help my clients. The only reason I Iam considering leave Red Cross Care Partners is the only labor dispute, and the fact wwe are not shown any appreciation for going beyond our responsibilities. I also would love to find a job closer to my home in Acton Before the recent stike I would work between 40-60 hours/week and I loved every minute of it. I didnt get a chance to meet many co-workers as there was no company get togethers. The few co-workers I did meet have become friends I keep in contact with. The hardest part of my job is when the clients die. It is very hard not to let it affect you.
Pros
i love helpings others and knowing that my job makes a difference in someone's life
Cons
long, staggered hours, no feedback from management, no contact with coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More for the bussiness and not the people
PSW (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONOctober 29, 2013
Poor management of clients and workers. Unfair pay and benefits are hard to get unless you work a 50 hour week on a regular basis. Our cars take a lot of wear and tare which we are personally responsible to try and up keep. Work is very stressful, they cram you with so many clients, it is hard to get there on time.

The best part of my job was the clients I had and miss them very much. You give but take so much more away.
Pros
psw convention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unloading boxes from containers
Premier Soin/AED (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCSeptember 19, 2013
typical day is unloading boxes from containers. Some are heavy, some are big, some are small.

Using a forklift to help move pallets around the warehouse.

Different shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,132 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8