American Red Cross Employee Reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Cross
Swim instructor, Rachael's Summer Swim School (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON2 October 2016
The lifestyle is different than most, but the rewards of the relationships with swimmers and parents, is great. Swimmers are motivated and hard working. The job requires many different roles so can sometimes feel torn with what to prioritize. The staff and my co-workers are friendly and enjoyable to work alongside.
Cons
Long, odd hours, including weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Community Support Worker Waterloo Region (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON1 September 2016
• Consultation with customer to establish the cut, style or color they desired.
• Retail of hair products
• Opening and closing of shop ensure the till was balanced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  High River, AB27 August 2016
Very nice environment to work in! Staff are very friendly, and care a lot about the other volunteers! All in all, I do not regret joining the Red Cross for the flood recovery of 2013!
Pros
Free lunches and friendly co-volunteers
Cons
Hard work, and very strenuous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Loving place,with good work culture and Ethics.
Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Mostly work from home2 August 2016
Day starts 9am mostly work from home, scheduled with atlease 2-4 meetings everyday,mostly Skype meetings or Webex.
Learnt Advanced SQL,
XML Testing
Management is very encouraging and soft spoken with good mentoring skills.
Hardest part three different projects at a time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed serving clients
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Bracebridge, ON and cobourg,ontario3 June 2016
Management had some issues,they worked very hard to take care of sick people but didnt like it when you got sick,i enjoyed most of my clients just didnt like company bs some times
Pros
Work indepently
Cons
driving around in the bad weather in winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
CPR & AED INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL16 April 2016
Great professional people who took their jobs seriously. Well run organization that took care of matters first. Felt good being part of such a well respected group.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping people in need
PSW (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON12 April 2016
it is always rewarding to be a psw the people are usually sweet can caring and knowing your making there day by helping them is rewarding on its own
Pros
helping people
Cons
seeing them get more ill or passing away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Babysitting (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 December 2015
My job is fun, because I get to play with kids, feed them and take full responsibilities for it. You can even bake with them and get to know them. Plus they're adorable.
Pros
Playing with kids
Cons
no rest until they rest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 September 2015
great experience, had a lot to learn about red cross and what they did to reach their achievements. there wasn't a hardest part of the job since at the beginning everyday was a challenge until you used to it which took me the first 3 days. i enjoyed everything about the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A precious working experience accumulation.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB29 June 2015
First time to work in Canada, it gave me a chance to commute with Customers, service public. It also help me to enlarge my social network. it helps me to know the life in Canada.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
PSW-Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Toronto25 June 2015
working with the elderly has been a great experience, you get to learn so much wisdom from them and also build great relationships with them,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON17 May 2015
I have had a lot of experience working with all types of people.

I learned that it is so important to always keep an open mind, and never judge people.

The co-workers loved me.
I have C.P.R. and first aid training.
Pros
Payed vacations
Cons
Long hours and working weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Babysitting experience
Babysitter (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 April 2015
I babysat a few children during the course of one year. It was exciting to be able to be in charge of them and be responsible for their safety whilst ensuring they are having fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Cross
Office Assistant (CO-OP) (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON19 April 2015
Great place to be in if you like to be indoors and working in a small office with only a few people working there at Belleville's branch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked/Underpaid
Cert' Community Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON9 March 2015
Overall Red Cross a.k.a. care partners are a great company however the employees are typically overworked! missing their family putting in 12hr days only to receive an 8hr paid day. In order to get 8 hrs adding your travel time between clients makes up the extra 4 hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome organization
General Maintenance Technician 1 (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 February 2015
Learned a lot from the Red cross, was able to provide some positive knowledge to get me to the next level of maintenance. looked after 9 locations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, great people
Inventory, QS, VAS and Sorter Clerk (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON16 June 2014
Friendly, pumped, exciting environment with an amazing group of people who will encourage and support you and your growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like a warm and productive, clean working environment.
Standard First Aid & CPR certified ( (Former Employee) –  In class at Everest college12 June 2014
Multitasking . But I have learned to deal with the most urgent case first. My most enjoyable day at any job is to get my job done and my task is accomplished.
Pros
when people are not cooperative and warm
Cons
I love working long hours because of my passion to work with customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideally located place and a great environment within the organization.
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Stockholm, AB22 May 2014
Great culture, nice work balance. It was a great can do attitude there.
Pros
Close to shops and attractions.
Cons
hierarchical system within the organisation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the clients
PSW (Former Employee) –  Elliot Lake, ON24 March 2014
Really enjoyed my job.
The clients are the ones who make you want to go back and help even more.
Cons
Over scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,259 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8