Find companies:
American Red Cross
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,592 reviews

American Red Cross Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, great people
Inventory, QS, VAS and Sorter Clerk (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONJune 16, 2014
Friendly, pumped, exciting environment with an amazing group of people who will encourage and support you and your growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like a warm and productive, clean working environment.
Standard First Aid & CPR certified ( (Former Employee), In class at Everest collegeJune 12, 2014
Pros: when people are not cooperative and warm
Cons: i love working long hours because of my passion to work with customer service.
Multitasking . But I have learned to deal with the most urgent case first. My most enjoyable day at any job is to get my job done and my task is accomplished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideally located place and a great environment within the organization.
Trainee (Former Employee), Stockholm, ABMay 22, 2014
Pros: close to shops and attractions.
Cons: hierarchical system within the organisation
Great culture, nice work balance. It was a great can do attitude there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the clients
PSW (Former Employee), Elliot Lake, ONMarch 24, 2014
Cons: over scheduling
Really enjoyed my job.
The clients are the ones who make you want to go back and help even more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clients but no contact with fellow employees
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), Guelph, ONJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: i love helpings others and knowing that my job makes a difference in someone's life
Cons: long, staggered hours, no feedback from management, no contact with coworkers
I love my job. The highlight of my day is my interaction with my clients. I constantly give up my weekends off when I know that clients will go without service because of lack of PSW's. I genuinely care for my clients and I love doing anything I can to help my clients. The only reason I Iam considering leave Red Cross Care Partners is the only labor – more... dispute, and the fact wwe are not shown any appreciation for going beyond our responsibilities. I also would love to find a job closer to my home in Acton Before the recent stike I would work between 40-60 hours/week and I loved every minute of it. I didnt get a chance to meet many co-workers as there was no company get togethers. The few co-workers I did meet have become friends I keep in contact with. The hardest part of my job is when the clients die. It is very hard not to let it affect you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More for the bussiness and not the people
PSW (Former Employee), Kitchener-Waterloo, ONOctober 29, 2013
Pros: psw convention
Poor management of clients and workers. Unfair pay and benefits are hard to get unless you work a 50 hour week on a regular basis. Our cars take a lot of wear and tare which we are personally responsible to try and up keep. Work is very stressful, they cram you with so many clients, it is hard to get there on time.

The best part of my job was the clients – more... I had and miss them very much. You give but take so much more away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unloading boxes from containers
Premier Soin/AED (Former Employee), Montréal, QCSeptember 19, 2013
typical day is unloading boxes from containers. Some are heavy, some are big, some are small.

Using a forklift to help move pallets around the warehouse.

Different shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
driver (Former Employee), Wasaga BeachJuly 22, 2013
This was a volunteer position . I drove people to appointments and shopping, and sometimes it was just a home visit to cheer someone up. Very rewarding to help others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Cross has been around for ever!
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee), Owen Sound, ONJuly 2, 2013
Moving into the Personal Support area has given Red Cross a different venue to "helping".
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Volnteering and helping the Community
Volunteer (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 1, 2013
I have volunteered several times throughout my high school years and later on into post-secondary years as well. I have never had a job because there was never really a need, but the time has come! Being apart of Red Cross was a simple and easy job, yet was very rewarding being able to help out in any little way. I love working with people and following – more... directions as well as being given the freedom to make my own decisions and solve problems on a day-to-day basis. I am sure i can handle any task given to me required that i meet the requirements, and I am a quick learner as well. Even though I've never been employed, it's not that I am completely unaware of what goes on in the workplace, seeing that i did participate in my father's professional cleaning business for many years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The CSW course was outstanding there . very informative and enjoyable .
Community Support Worker (Former Employee), Pembroke, ONMarch 6, 2013
Pros: working with seniors
Cons: hrs are scrambled and inconsistant, not enough pay, have to use your own vehicle ... you drive all over the place for short terms, and you have to deal with the management.
Was usually good
I learned how to really budget on little income,and no benifits.And how much I enjoy dealing with seniors.The management was rarely nice when issues occured.Not enough regular hrs. Schedule is all over the place.Co workers were generally good
The hardest part was not getting any help ,and the situations that some elders were left in.The – more... most enjoyable part was spending the time I could assisting these people and getting to know them and enjoying them while being at work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a solid place for employment
Personal Support Worker (PSW) (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONFebruary 23, 2013
Pros: good training, advancement
Cons: standing, bending, heavy liftinng
Enjoyed working for the Red Cross learned many new things about the health care system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clients and businesses were wonderful
Specialized Transit Driver (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONJanuary 28, 2013
Cons: no job security, wages are now $6.00 less an hour from when i started
Loved driving, the clients were great. No job security, management doesn't deal well with women workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training was ok with trio college
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 26, 2012
Pros: had to pay for everything
Cons: yes hour was flexible
good company stricker than we care more training called people often to see if they were happy with the service always had good review left job because i had to move
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Volunteer (Former Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 23, 2012
- great learning opportunity
- flexible programs for members
- global awareness
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lied too me all the time
PSW (Former Employee), Owen Sound , ONAugust 5, 2012
Very hard place too work in...I learned in life too trust only yourself. Co workers were out for themselves only....Management lied all the time...I am not sure how they slept at nights
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chalenging and fun job
Swim Instructor (Former Employee), Valemount, BCJuly 18, 2012
Pros: good pay, long hours, fun environment
Cons: inexpierience, paper work, long hours
While working for red cross I had a lot of fun, mostly because I got to be around children all day, although I did find it difficult to deal with parents of the children, or over bearing children (especially some who had special needs) but it did teach me how to deal with certain people and how to approach certain problems that might happen. The hardest – more... part about working for the red cross was the pressure of being in charge of so many children’s lives, as well as adults. I worked alone, and unfortunately my management was new to the red cross system so we had a hard time working out certain things like paperwork for the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping others with everyday livings is very rewarding.
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee), Aylmer, OnApril 9, 2012
Pros: picking your start and finish hours
Cons: not getting paid for gaps in between clients, not getting paid enough for mileage on gas.
A typical day at work is driving from home to home in the community to help the the sick and elderly with daily livings such as laundry, house cleaning, bathing, dressing, cooking, medication that they take it properly. Usually work alone, the hardest part of the job is getting your day full of clients back to back without gaps in between that you do – more... not get paid for, and the best part is you can pick your own start and finish hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to volunteer.
Volunteer (Current Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: making a difference.
Great place to make a difference. Help check in donors. Usually work alone. The staff nurse and the phlebotomists are always friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
First Aid/CPR instructor (PRN) (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 15, 2014
But low pay. Was great to be able to go from business to business or in house and teach CPR and First Aid classes. Management was great and let you run your classes the way you wanted, as long as all material was presented

1 2 3 4 5

About American Red Cross

The humanitarian mission of the American Red Cross connects us to people and communities across the nation and around the world. – Read more

American Red Cross Photos