American Red Cross Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours in the community
Community Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON17 November 2017
Was the Canadian Red Cross not American. Big difference. Gave me the opportunity to learn different skills to apply to different clients. Pay was low with long days or split shifts.
Pros
overtime available
Cons
Long hours with low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always helping people in need.
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Ilfov10 November 2017
Being a volunteer for almost 10 years gave me the opportunity to interview people to understand the nature of their problems and decipher psychological, mental and physical requirements.
Doing casework daily and assessing people's files in order for them to receive help from the organizations. Was a lot of field work and seeing so many people with problems it was not always easy to grasp. The best part of the job was that you know you can provide help and you will find a way to make this happen.
The workplace was mainly in Romania.
Pros
Helping people in need. Being proactive. Building relations.
Cons
Pro bono so no salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy study
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Taiwan24 October 2017
Learn swimming skills in the pool
Freestyle, upscale, frog, butterfly
Life saving method
Know a lot of friends
It is dangerous to know the river side of the sea
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A energetic experience
Disaster Management Responder (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON20 October 2017
Whall my time at the red Cross was short it was a blast being a pdat or Personal disaster management responder had me feeling like what I did matters, seeing the look in someone's eyes when they see that you CAN help them and there not alone makes your heart jump with joy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
schedules
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 October 2017
not enough hours given to employers and travelling all day was not worth it.i love working with clients but management dont do enough to help Personal support workers
Pros
go to the community
Cons
travel long hours not enough money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
babysitting and petsitting
Babysitting/Petsitting (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 September 2017
mainly babysitting children under the age of 10. A lot of responsibility for watching more than one child at a time. Changing diapers and making meals/snacks and watching pets. Main petsitting job was for a family with two large dogs with a lot of energy. They were a big responsibility but easy to handle when I understood how to handle them.
Pros
Lunch provided
Cons
parents may be late
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging
TEMPORARY PLACEMENT POSITIONS (Former Employee) –  High River, AB31 August 2017
I used discretion in reading cases with people losing their valuables and often more in the floods. I was responsible for the filing and noting all monies paid to fund relief.
Pros
Providing compassion
Cons
very heartbreaking what people went through.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can save life all the time
First Aid Assistant (Former Employee) –  PH28 August 2017
i got my red cross license in the philippines and im very happy to get it so i can save many lives especially in emergency situation so i can perform first aid and cpr for emergency and call paramedic in time to time,
Pros
can perform cpr and first aid in emergency time
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community outreach
General Volunteer (Former Employee) –  青岛市7 August 2017
The local Red Cross club at my high school worked to gain donations in order to give to those in need around the world. We mainly sold items at school functions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i volunteered over a summer
I volunteer (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC8 July 2017
I volunteered for one summer as part of a school work experience program. I worked one day a week for 4 hours with three other volunteers at the same time, everyone way friendly and i enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture, fulfilling work
Program Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2017
The IFRC does great humanitarian work. The culture is one of cooperation and fosters learning and engagement. A typical day at work is spent working liaising with other Red Cross societies and working on various projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gain experience in renovating new houses
Demolition Labourer (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC4 June 2017
had a lots of experience in demolition remove strucko
main duties are break drywalls doors windows kitchen cabinets
remove copper hardwood from floor cleanup vermico from cellars
work safety required all the time facemask steel toes and
danger tape across the area we cover for work
inspection of asbestos etcetra....
Pros
free lunch 3 times a day
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fine place to work
CPR/First Aid/AED Instructor (Former Employee) –  Florida3 June 2017
Management and staff are helpful and willing to make sure you are prepared to teach your classes. Teaching the same thing over and over can get pretty boring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine place to work
CPR/First Aid/AED Instructor (Former Employee) –  Auburn, NY3 June 2017
A fine place to work. Helpful staff and management make sure that you are always ready to teach a course. Teaching the classes can get pretty boring after a while.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and learned a lot
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON18 April 2017
did not work for red cross but i did my qualifications there. i liked the nature of the atmosphere and the instructots where great. I learned a lot about it.
Pros
fun
Cons
lots of theory.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Part-time Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, NB18 March 2017
Red Cross can be a nice place to work. Depends on the clients that you get and the hours that you are required to work. Can be demanding at weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helped set up orientations for youth groups
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON27 February 2017
active, engaging workplace that was beneficial to the community. Helped to increase my sense of responsibility and teamwork. would recommend.
Pros
Snacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great experience
Medical Equipmemt Loans Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 February 2017
I learned a lot working for the Red Cross there is many different sections with in the Red Cross and I must say working as Medical Loans Coordinator was a great experience to work with my fellow employees and the general public.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective engineering techniques
Water and Habitat Engineer (Former Employee) –  Philippines11 January 2017
Each year is always different from the previous years in implementing projects. What was learned from the past can be applied in order to do better. Planning, Organization and Assessment is not so easy tasks since we always encountered different problems each day and I learned how to handle and to improved methodologies on how to deliver projects timely and quality. Having the great support from my superior which help me more effective in any perspectives in order to perform my duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Edmundston, NB25 October 2016
Nice ambiance, I always love to do charity work and loved working there. We didn`t get paid of course, but the hours we worked, we could get stuff from the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Red Cross. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 4,849 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8