Find companies:
American Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,358 reviews

American Express Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great company to work for
Bilingual Fraud Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONJune 4, 2012
Pros: hire's from within
Cons: far from the city
It is a very stable company, offers great potentials for internal advancements
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Abundant in growth opportunities and internal training classes.
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee), Markham, ON / Phoenix, ArizonaMay 19, 2012
My day was 95% project related. I lead finance inititives that included involvement from different parts of the organization accross the U.S. as well as Canada, England, India and South America. It was generally high stress with aggressive deliverable timelines. I enjoyed the travel and working with many culturals. The most challenging aspect of the – more... job was ensuring all communication was understood, and expectations were met, accross cultures and management groups. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Life at Amex
Team Leader (Former Employee), Markham, ONMay 9, 2012
Pros: great working atmosphere, location
Cons: not enough focus on my own development
Going to work was a joy for me. Being in a leadership role truly gave me a sense of "belong" where I had the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of individuals by showing them their potential and helping them believe in themselves; elevating their confidence. Seeing the glass have full instead of half empty all the time. Putting our heads – more... together..myself and my coworkers were a team. We tried to do things collaboratively and shared best practices for the betterment of the business. Understanding the company's vision from management and being able to carry this out to my team and break it down so they can understand the big picture is something that management always looks for. How effectively can you influence your people to get the best out of them. The hardest part of my job was keeping the momentum going without losing myself in the process. You'll never have the team 100%...but I belive in the 80/20 rule. Focus on those who are willing to work hard for you and who are driving results...and keep them motivated. Those who aren't...identify issues and put an action plan in place...if necessary performance manage. The most enjoyable part of my job was to see the growth and development of people whether it be mini break throughs or huge milestones...it's a gift that I give which is the giving of myself to others to see them succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced Executive Assistant
Executive Assistant I (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 17, 2014
Administrative support professional with over 10 year’s experience. Areas of expertise include executive support, office management, document creation, calendar management, database management, event coordination, travel coordination and customer service. Responsible, detail oriented with strong organizational, analytical, problem solving, communication – more... and relationship management skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work
Sales Coordinator (Current Employee), MexicoDecember 13, 2014
In Mexico American Express is considered the best place to work!
And it is because of everything; the people who work there, the jobs we have, the bosses, locations, products and customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Express is a well recognized bank that provides ample opportunity to grow professionally and helps you to develop interpersonal skills.
Senior Relationship Officer (Former Employee), Bangalore, KADecember 13, 2014
Pros: high incentives and good allowance.
≥ We used to start our day by confirming the fixed appointments with the clients.
≥ I have learnt interpersonal and presentation skills.
≥ Management was very supportive and helped me to grow professionally.
≥ Co-workers were cooperative and highly competitive.
≥ The hardest part of the job was to receive confirmed appointments.
≥ The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was to interact with different clients everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Nice work place
Data Architect (Current Employee), NYC, BYDecember 12, 2014
Enjoy walking to the office. Leadership is awesome. Some days are slow, others are challenging. Some leaders have open door policy Cafeteria is very good with lots of options. Have a ping pong table
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and very friendly professional environment
Project Manager - Network Delivery (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 12, 2014
Pros: 23 days pto and can buy 5 more (28 days!), can work from home when needed, good cafeteria and food.
Cons: pay is good but not greatest. if you're looking for a massive pay day you won't find that here.
Have been working here for almost a year as a Project Manager and couldn't be happier. Management really supports you and helps you develop professionally for yourself and of course for American Express. They believe in hiring from within through professional growth and the work culture here is great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but needs to offer more stability.
Executive Sales Liaison (Current Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 12, 2014
Pros: flexable schedule
Cons: sitting in a cubicle all day. pay is low.
Call financial decision makers such as CEO's, CFO's and Controllers at businesses with a revenue of $4 Million to $1.5 Billion to be potential Amex clients. Engage them in conversation, provide information regarding Amex Corporate Card products and services. Set up meetings with an Amex Business Manager to provide businesses and financial institutions – more... with an opportunity to review an International Payments solution that is tailored to the needs and requirements of the business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
es un ambiente muy agradable, conviamos muchas horas eramos como una familia
asesor financiero (Former Employee), Ciudad de México, DIFDecember 11, 2014
Pros: se contaba con seguro social, seguro de gastos medicos mayores
mis jefes eran personas con una capacidad de liderazgo muy alta,de todos aprendi mucho, es gente muy capaz y muy profesional en todo lo que realizan ,el ambiente ahi es muy agradable, hay muchos premios por el esfuerzo de tu trabajo realizado. tengo muy gratos recuerdos de los convivios , de las fiestas de fin de año, de todas las presentaciones de – more... algun producto nuevo, en toda mi carrera en amex siempre me capacitaron para estar siempre a la vanguardia de los cambios en cuanto a sus productos,te capacitaban constantemente para poder vender y dar un mejor servicio al cliente – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy Work Environment
E2E Test Manager (Current Employee), phoenixDecember 10, 2014
Pros: wok culture, environment, benifits to the employees
Cons: work overload
Amex has real health work environment, entire team along with the managers are really supportive.
We have a good chance of Learning new and emerging technologies.
Will have so much of fun during the parties and cultural programs.

We may have to stretch work hours some times
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Customer Care Specialist (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 8, 2014
Pros: benefits, commission
Cons: schedule
High paced environment enjoyed working High Balance / Small Business Portfolio as it allowed me to help these customer while rebuilding confidence in the product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opportunity
Project Manager/System Analyst (Current Employee), greensboro, ncDecember 8, 2014
Manage by check box. Vision is clouded by personal gain and failure to advance overall profitability of organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Quality Assurance Analyst (Current Employee), GurgaonDecember 7, 2014
Company has good work life balance
Everyday a new learning
Additional responsibilities are given besides your role
Leave Flexibility
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Sales Executive in U.A.E -From (Former Employee), Abu Dhabi, AZDecember 7, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
could know much about the company. due to financial reason left the company in 2 months
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Express was energetic and very motivated in keeping employees happy .
Collections Analyst (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCDecember 6, 2014
Pros: incentives, benefits, doing something i love ...
Logging into the phone system and knowing within seconds you will be helping a customer and making that customer happy is the best feeling . Even the upset customers when something was wrong with service they left the call with me feeling important and satisfied . I love a challenge in helping customers and setting goals and achieving my goals .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
payments (Former Employee), Weston FlDecember 6, 2014
Pros: very good company to work for
Cons: but they moved
It was a different experience for me. I liked that I could work with machinery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had great cafteria made sure it was clean and alot of choices
Customer Service Professional (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTDecember 6, 2014
Pros: given alot of lunches and reconized alot of people for the good work
Cons: some times ther was no commucation between the team leaders, and the emplyees, some emplyees were favored by some team leaders
I Really like working for American Express. I had a lot of fun there.
They had a good training program. I like working with every one. Met a lot of people and had a lot of friends there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Sr. Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 3, 2014
It was a nice environmet that always had opportunity to grow and show case yourself as a BSA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Credit Analyst (Former Employee), Plantation, FLDecember 2, 2014
American Express is a great company to be a part of. The customer service departments are trained very well to assist with handling the customer's inquires in a proficient and professional matter. The work environment is very nice with excellent moral. The co-workers are always friendly.

About American Express

Each day, American Express makes it easier, safer and more rewarding for consumers and businesses to purchase the things they – Read more

American Express Photos