American Express

2K reviews

American Express Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One year Intern at American Express
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee), Markham, OntarioJune 10, 2013
Amex Canada is definitely a fun and challenging place to work at. With the "open-door" policy, you are welcomed to chat with anyone in the company, at anytime of the day. That is, from CEO to VP to directors and managers, you are invited to share your thoughts and personal opinions freely here. The crews are a group of motivated financial experts and/or technical experts and it's really beneficial working with them. The company also participated in a various social events and encourage its employees to do the same, such as big bike, the walk for breast cancer, and numerous other charity events. Sometimes after work entertainments are being held. Summerlicious, bowling, and dine out are all examples.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed work
Customer Care Professional (Former Employee), Markham, ONMay 23, 2013
Pros: environment
Cons: nothing
Everyday I Built a connection with customers and proposed different products and services based on their account history to help minimize their monthly bill and protect their financial credit
Clarified financial charges, account details and benefits to customers
Presented excellent communication & interpersonal skills for exceptional customer care
Helped company attain the highest customer service ratings
Officially commended for initiative, enthusiasm, persuasiveness, intense customer focus and dependability in performance evaluations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amex
Corporate Travel Specialist (Former Employee), Montreal, CanadaApril 29, 2013
• Responsible for arranging complex domestic and international business travel for air, car, rail, hotel, and limo
• Advised clients on efficient, multi-country routings for lowest available fares on preferred carriers as well as preferred hotels
• Ensured optimum customer servicing while coordinating interdepartmental responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Collection Agent (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 17, 2013
Pros: relax office environment
Cons: very stressful job (collection)
This company is good to work for. A typical day at work would be filled with collection phone calls, fun and excitement. Great management, good coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Express is a productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Markham OntarioApril 15, 2013
 Responded to 125+ incoming calls in a timely and professional manner; maximizing service and sales leads; researched and addressed credit card member inquiries and concerns adhering to call quality and monitoring procedures/guidelines
 Effectively handled account maintenance including credit related inquiries, authorizations, enrolment and cancellation of services
 Processed new accounts and applications, providing account, setting up billing disputes and referral to other departments as necessary
 Followed up on complaints, investigated issues with various departments
 Provided ongoing support and assistance to new staff as a buddy to ensure successful transition into new role
 Utilized needs assessment and effective persuasion skills to achieve departmental sales targets and goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My team was fun to work with and we show appreciation by having pot luck lunches and games.
Bank Specialist (Former Employee), Markan, OnApril 4, 2013
Pros: lottery tickets and pizza lunches for excellent work done by the team or individually
Cons: not able to log off the phone when time to go for lunch, or at the end of the shift if the caller takes longer that usual.
Interacting with the public was satisfying when they are happy at the end of a call.
I learned to probe effectively to identify appropriate solution and to
Understand and acknowledge customers needs
Make the customers feel respected and valued.

Management was up to date with the needs of the staff and customers

My co-workers were more like family than employees. The hardest part of the job was when I was not able to help a customer on that one call eg. customer is on vacation and card is lost/stolen and the most enjoyable part of the job was know that my co workers and customers are happy and satisfied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work place and team work
Customer Service & Communication (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: learning opportunity, team work
Cons: no time limit
The overall day is always under stick schedules. Communication with the customers/business partners, communication with the solution team, attending the schedules meeting, coordination with the co-workers, addressing the development and reporting and maintaining priorities.
The hardest part of the job is rescheduling of meeting as the days are defined with each days work and accommodating a new schedule is a challenge.
The most enjoyable part is the team work and achievement of success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), MarkhamJanuary 19, 2013
Dealing with customers daily financial requirements
it was a very busy environment and the management was friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work..
Credit card analyst/csr (Former Employee), Markham, ONJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: there was a gym on site
Cons: micro managed
Colleagues were wonderful to work with.

I learned that teamwork was possible.
My supervisor was amazing.
My co-workers were /are like family
Hardest part of the job was sometimes turning irate customers around
I loved helping clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it !!!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), KitchenerJanuary 2, 2013
I love the company as whole , was challenging each day was different . learned alot each day . and easier way sto do things to make time more managable .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work. Great culture and values
Strategic Analyst / Senior Business Analyst (Current Employee), Markham, ONJanuary 2, 2013
Great place to work. Veyr flexible. Great benefits and good culture. Only issue is hard for advancement opportunities. Great Leadership structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall bad
Customer Care (Former Employee), Markham, ONDecember 2, 2012
managers were very disorganized, very slow computer technology, high unachievable goals set out by managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Credit Analyst (Former Employee), Concord, ONNovember 27, 2012
Gained excellent knowledge of communicating with customers.
Team leader for 2years.
great management and a team oriented atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, interacted well with peers and managers
Customer care (Former Employee), Markham, ONNovember 27, 2012
Pros: flexible hours, good managers, friendly peers
Cons: pay was average
This was a good experience for me as I learned a lot about the business aspect of life. American Express was a good company to work at, my peers and managers were proud to represent such a global brand. Everyone was easy-going and great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Level Customer Service
Dispute Analyst (Former Employee), MarkhamOctober 30, 2012
Pros: opportunities to learn new skills
Cons: unstable workload
Being able to help consumers resolve conflicts with merchants is very rewarding. I enjoyed training new hires the tasks and processes for the disputes business. The hardest part of the job is dealing with heavy workloads when the department downsized. The most enjoyable part of this job was working on special projects and helping employees when I was an ergonomic captain for the Joint Health and Safety Committee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place of work
CCP (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 12, 2012
Pros: playing golf to win cash
Cons: short hours
My time there was good. Meet some nice people. Job overall wasn't hard to do. Gained a lot of experience during my venture at american express.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Collector (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 11, 2012
Had to work cause I needed a job there. Ruthless managers, had to communicate with, and very very disrespectful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service oriented job
Senior Travel Consultant & Trainer (Former Employee), Saint John, NBOctober 9, 2012
Pros: set schedule - good benefits
Cons: can be constant dealing with difficult clients
Answering calls and fulfilling all aspects of travel requests from company employees. Dealing with all problems and challenges that arise.
Managing difficult clients being the biggest challenge and forming lasting relationships with clients being the largest reward.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place
travel counsellor (Former Employee), MontreallOctober 6, 2012
Pros: i cannot think any
Cons: salary, mangament, hours
Long hours and underpayed. Salary no competitve.
Mangament: they only promote their friends and italians and quebecois, if you are not in that category you stay junior level.
Coworkers OK, but they dont pay my bills and Amex did not either with that low salary.
No comunnicaion between management and emplyees
No comunnication with HR.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great training program
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Pembroke, ONSeptember 10, 2012
High stress envoirment, focused on Relationship Care. Fair pay incentives, managment encourages little games throughout the day to increase moral. Mangement give bbq and other meals to show their appreciation for our work
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
200 Vesey Street, 3 World Financial Center, New York New York 10285
Revenue
more than $10bn (CAD)
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
American Express website
LinkedIn Page

Twitter

Facebook