Find companies:
American Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,039 reviews

American Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great company to work for
Bilingual Fraud Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONJune 4, 2012
Pros: hire's from within
Cons: far from the city
It is a very stable company, offers great potentials for internal advancements
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Abundant in growth opportunities and internal training classes.
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee), Markham, ON / Phoenix, ArizonaMay 19, 2012
My day was 95% project related. I lead finance inititives that included involvement from different parts of the organization accross the U.S. as well as Canada, England, India and South America. It was generally high stress with aggressive deliverable timelines. I enjoyed the travel and working with many culturals. The most challenging aspect of the – more... job was ensuring all communication was understood, and expectations were met, accross cultures and management groups. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Life at Amex
Team Leader (Former Employee), Markham, ONMay 9, 2012
Pros: great working atmosphere, location
Cons: not enough focus on my own development
Going to work was a joy for me. Being in a leadership role truly gave me a sense of "belong" where I had the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of individuals by showing them their potential and helping them believe in themselves; elevating their confidence. Seeing the glass have full instead of half empty all the time. Putting our heads – more... together..myself and my coworkers were a team. We tried to do things collaboratively and shared best practices for the betterment of the business. Understanding the company's vision from management and being able to carry this out to my team and break it down so they can understand the big picture is something that management always looks for. How effectively can you influence your people to get the best out of them. The hardest part of my job was keeping the momentum going without losing myself in the process. You'll never have the team 100%...but I belive in the 80/20 rule. Focus on those who are willing to work hard for you and who are driving results...and keep them motivated. Those who aren't...identify issues and put an action plan in place...if necessary performance manage. The most enjoyable part of my job was to see the growth and development of people whether it be mini break throughs or huge milestones...it's a gift that I give which is the giving of myself to others to see them succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too focused on diversity, no attention to security
Project Manager (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 22, 2014
Senior Leadership needs to focus on security of the infrastructure that can expose financial systems and customers negatively. Too much emphasis on drinking the kool-aid, not enough on getting meaningful work done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance was good
Travel Analyst (Former Employee), Gurgaon IndiaApril 18, 2014
Pros: work life balance was good, free meals
Cons: short breaks
Learned a lot working with highly knowledgeable colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern and updated workplace
Business Analyst (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 18, 2014
Overall Supportive Corporation. The corporation tries to establish a good communications and connections between company employees and supports a balanced work and home life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Am-ex was the greats Company to work for.
Senior Financial Services Representative (Current Employee), Ramsey, NJApril 17, 2014
American Express was the best company to work for, Very good Benefits, Good Management and Compliance all was very good, i have lots of Respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy workplace
Fraud Analyst (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 16, 2014
Pros: 30mins lunch
Cons: healthcare
busy 247 calls back to back, supervisors can have their days and favorites, Work schedules always changes every month
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Director - Compliance (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 15, 2014
American Express is a good company. Management is very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people to work with!
Employee Satisfaction Action (Former Employee), Bellevue, WAApril 15, 2014
I learned so much in my 20 years with this company. I was laid off 3 times and return to work there as they are one of the few travel companies that still offer retirement benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Manager
Credit Supervisor (Former Employee), Plantation, FLApril 14, 2014
Identify accounts that were delinquent and recover 80% of debt.

Review credit profile to extend additional credit in a responsible manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team top sales and services for my assigned commercial accounts regarding American Express customer database. Customer relations skills, excellent and
Business Account Advisor (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 14, 2014
Pros: great opportuny to help business owners reach their dream goals
Cons: long hours with no breaks
See Resume/ totally focused on helping the business owners realize their potential business plans with American Express business credit line,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for the growth of organization at a challenging position
Network Support Engineer (Former Employee), New Delhi, IndiaApril 12, 2014
The Primary activities are run and maintenance WAN/LAN.
I start working here, so learn basics of networking here only.
Got support from HP Engineer, ATT Enginner, Verizon Team, CISCO Team, different vendors as well.
I got full support from my Manager and team also.
I learn real time troubleshoot from my co-workers and seniors.
The hardest part is the – more... day when I was leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Care (Current Employee), Plantation, FLApril 12, 2014
- Accessing AESP, Sabre and other lounge specific tools to ensure compliance
- Delivering extraordinary customer service by assisting Cardmembers with travel, concierge and card services
- Facilitating in full lounge experience, answering questions, and providing solutions in an atmosphere of constant change
- Maintaining communication with team and – more... leaders with proper documentation of daily Cardmember interactions – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work.
Management Operations Systems Analyst (MOSA) (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCApril 11, 2014
AMEX is a great company which upholds Blue Box Values and is the worlds most respected service brand!!! The work environment was great and compensation/bonuses awesome!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, limited promotion opportunities
Director, New Product Development (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 11, 2014
Pros: smart people, great projects, easy to move around and get new experience
Cons: limited opportunities to get promoted
Great place to work; smart people, great management. Limited opportunities to get promoted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Focused Sales Representative (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 10, 2014
Pros: great company benefits
Cons: stuck on the phone
Converted an average of 800 incoming calls into sales by opening new accounts, promoting membership rewards, and upgrading customer’s accounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative company with strong belief in customer service
Senior Marketing Manager, Social Media (Current Employee), Westlake, OHApril 9, 2014
American Express provides employees with an environment to challenge themselves every day, rewards innovation, and values hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - especially for women
Service Delivery Leader (Current Employee), Gurgaon, HRApril 9, 2014
Pros: great work life balance, flexibility, world class leadership, blue box values, highest standards of integrity.
Amazing fact is people look forward to a working day and prefer to come to work even if moderately ill; It lifts the spirits to be surrounded by great peaple and teams. Freedom to make mistakes; transparent reviews; year long performance review process; Internal career move opportunities are all indicators of the employee centricity of the organization. – more... Its a pleasure and enriching experience working for Amex. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 8, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: compensation
Great company that provides the perfect balance for those who have families and those who are attending school.

About American Express

Each day, American Express makes it easier, safer and more rewarding for consumers and businesses to purchase the things they – Read more

American Express Photos