Find companies:
American Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,164 reviews

American Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opportunity for advancement
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Markham, OntarioAugust 22, 2012
Very negitive company to entry level person's, promotion are for friends and family of upper management mostly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everything was good
Team Leader (Former Employee), Leader, SKAugust 20, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: none that i am aware of
I loved American Express it was just time for a change. The people were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Express
Service Professional American Express Concierge (Current Employee), Burlington, ONJuly 31, 2012
Pros: 30 days, full benefits
Cons: allot of tests to pass
I very much enjoyed the hard work that I put in with this, and in hopes for a career. Turn-Over was high, the training was great I have to admit, long and intence, but I am the type of person who wants to learn and exceed at everything I do. I was able to obtain many certifications and always strived to do better. Hardest part of the job, allot of people – more... did not take it serious, when there was no management around it was like being back in high school. And allot of people did not want to be there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very dynamic and diversified place to work
Project Analyst (Former Employee), Markham, OntarioJuly 27, 2012
Pros: great work/life balance
Cons: company may be a bit slow moving towards newer technologies
I have always enjoyed working for American Express and was constantly challenged with new paths as I grew my career over the years I worked there.

I would work there again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with great people
Senior Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 29, 2012
Pros: good work life balance
Cons: very low rate
I truly enjoyed working for American Express. The work load is high, but if you love what you are doing this is the place to be. If you are in software development, you could do most of you work from home. They expect the staff to be in the office between 10:00 AM and 3:00 PM. This gives a good work life balance. Once in a while you have to be on implementation – more... calls over night.

The only drawback is their compensation rate and the job security. Their rate is very law and if they don’t have any task for you to do for 40 hours a week for few months, they will let you go. But most people have joined back later when they have the work load.

Overall, I love to work at this place, if income is not an issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with Employee perks
Implementation & Project Analyst (Current Employee), Markham OntarioJune 19, 2012
Pros: employee benefits, global company
Working at American Express is a fast pace great place to learn and is well positioned globally.

I've managed and implemented several projects and software dealing with internal and external business units.

Working with a diverse group of people has taught me to take in as much learning experiances from them as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center environment
Full Time, Inbound Call Centre Customer Service (Former Employee), Markham, ONJune 6, 2012
Pros: large company, good benifits
Cons: long hours
Amex is a company that values intelligence. Casual atmosphere mostly. Management were professional.
I did enjoy the environement. Co-workers were professional.
Hardest part of the job was the hours. and the most enjoable part of the job was interaction with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great company to work for
Bilingual Fraud Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONJune 4, 2012
Pros: hire's from within
Cons: far from the city
It is a very stable company, offers great potentials for internal advancements
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Abundant in growth opportunities and internal training classes.
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee), Markham, ON / Phoenix, ArizonaMay 19, 2012
My day was 95% project related. I lead finance inititives that included involvement from different parts of the organization accross the U.S. as well as Canada, England, India and South America. It was generally high stress with aggressive deliverable timelines. I enjoyed the travel and working with many culturals. The most challenging aspect of the – more... job was ensuring all communication was understood, and expectations were met, accross cultures and management groups. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Life at Amex
Team Leader (Former Employee), Markham, ONMay 9, 2012
Pros: great working atmosphere, location
Cons: not enough focus on my own development
Going to work was a joy for me. Being in a leadership role truly gave me a sense of "belong" where I had the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of individuals by showing them their potential and helping them believe in themselves; elevating their confidence. Seeing the glass have full instead of half empty all the time. Putting our heads – more... together..myself and my coworkers were a team. We tried to do things collaboratively and shared best practices for the betterment of the business. Understanding the company's vision from management and being able to carry this out to my team and break it down so they can understand the big picture is something that management always looks for. How effectively can you influence your people to get the best out of them. The hardest part of my job was keeping the momentum going without losing myself in the process. You'll never have the team 100%...but I belive in the 80/20 rule. Focus on those who are willing to work hard for you and who are driving results...and keep them motivated. Those who aren't...identify issues and put an action plan in place...if necessary performance manage. The most enjoyable part of my job was to see the growth and development of people whether it be mini break throughs or huge milestones...it's a gift that I give which is the giving of myself to others to see them succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and well paid company
Senior Customer Liason (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLJuly 22, 2014
Pros: being able to resolve cardmember's issues
Cons: management
I love my co workers and the great perks. What I love most was resolving the cardmembers issues regarding credit or conflicts with establishments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to learn and advance from!
Corporate Card Program Specialist (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 21, 2014
Feedback is very much apart of the culture at American Express. Receiving feedback from peers and superiors provide an excellent source of learning effective communication skills.
I've created long lasting personal and professional relationships at American Express.
The most difficult moments of working at American Express was the competitiveness of – more... advancement. The most enjoyable moments of working at American Express was understanding constructive criticisms and feedback to improve on my personal brand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Airport
Boston- Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: 4 day work weeks (2 "day" shifts)
Cons: your night shift would be depended on the last plane out and if your plane was late, you had to wait for it to depart. they wanted us to know all about the airport
The day started with helping fellow associates get into their workstations and making sure they had access to their working drawer. (each terminal had a certain opening time and had to be there to be sure it opened on time) communicated to shift leader for those associates who were late or covering for others. Go through airport security (TSA agents) – more... open all stations by 8am (some mornings I had to be at the airport at 4am to open at certain terminals) then call/ Instant message around to all stations making sure they had enough currencies in addition to United States Dollars. Cross sell gift cards, travelers checks, balance working till, work up against the clock and people waiting for you to sell currencies (afternoon sales were huge) technology issues while using the network, computer crashes, not having enough currencies or US dollars, filling out Currency Transactions reports for certain transactions, copying passports for internal use, using a watch list and checking customers name to a data base. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best in Class excellent Customer and Employee service
Business Analyst II (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 21, 2014
Pros: tuition reimbursement
Cons: location
This Company is and operates the way they say they do they train their employee to be part of a global best in class team, they offer opportunity for growth, offer many courses and tools to do your job above and beyond of what is expected. The company is very high on diversity and welcome difference as a plus to the business which makes working with – more... others wonderful!
The hardest part of my Job is being laid off due to re-engineering and after working for American Express for 24 years it was hard to say good bye to a family. My first two years I was a temp but it never seemed like I was due to how this company treats their employees with respect and equality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Brand
Relationship Officer (Former Employee), Mumbai, IndiaJuly 19, 2014
Pros: a good incentive plan
Cons: long hours
Very supportive management, a good brand to work with, transparent job culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strong and good comapny to work for
Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 17, 2014
Pros: a lot of perks when worked as a team
Cons: good benefits promotions
I went from data entry to computer operations great steps to a higher level
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee), mumbaiJuly 16, 2014
Pros: free snacks
Cons: no long hours
amex is the great place to work with. i have learnt a lot.i have learnt how to understand the need of a customer. management is very supportive. incentives are really very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great brand great coworkers
Collector II (Former Employee), phoenix, AzJuly 15, 2014
Pros: great people a new adventure with each call
Cons: bonus structure
the day to day of the job was the same to help customers resolve delinquency what made the job fun was the coworkers was a well supported environment. the team atmosphere was always a pick me up.. with all the changes in our industry management didn't fight for wronged workers out of fear of recourse.. managed by fear which sometimes made for a stressful – more... situation... 98% of the job was great – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
ccp wharehouse (Current Employee), Weston, FLJuly 15, 2014
Pros: benifit
Cons: extra days off
my review at it is a very fun place to work the one thing about my jos is that you have to pay good attention to what you are doing cause you dont wantto get cards member mix up or send out the wrong statement out to the wrong coustmer. the hardest part the job is it is a 12 hour shift and you have to stand to do your work. i overall rating is a 10 – more... at american express – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruitment Lead
Recruitment Lead (Former Employee), Gurgaon, IndiaJuly 14, 2014
• Hiring for financial and technology division at American Express
• Manage the entire recruiting life cycle from candidate generation, scheduling interviews, taking effective debriefs from the interviewers before hiring, making compensation recommendation, salary negotiations and offer extension
• Manage internal stakeholders to meet the manpower requirements – more... - right from acquiring, understanding the open positions to streamlining the interview process, till the end result is achieved
• Interact with business partner in the US, UK and entire JAPA (Japan, Asia Pacific and Australia) region.
• Leading and mentoring a team
• Understand the future forecasts and accordingly setting up right expectations with business and the team
• Develop the recruitment strategy along with team for every quarter like planning recruiting events, referral campaigns, outstation events, targeting companies etc.
• Conduct HR Interview, Negotiate Compensation and close the role and finally presenting offers
• Implement cost effective Manpower Planning and Recruitment Process
• Analysis of hiring pattern & quality parameters like sources, industry mix, cost analysis, seen to selection ratio, etc.
• Efficient management of the vendor partners to have proper sourcing channel mix
• Internal movement and promotion assessment
• Coordinate both in-house out stations recruitment drives
• Organize Walk-in Interview
• Maintain/publish weekly and monthly Recruitment Activity report – less

About American Express

Each day, American Express makes it easier, safer and more rewarding for consumers and businesses to purchase the things they – Read more

American Express Photos