American Express Employee Reviews

Found 186 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  CA24 May 2017
very good i think culture wise Amex is super and pay well but my role is got finished due to project has done so need to search for new job.
my preference is UK
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast pace job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 April 2017
co-workers are friendly and team players but the supervisors are somewhat incautious. the working hours and schedule are not flexible and constantly changeable.
Pros
there are no perks
Cons
no fixed salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON26 April 2017
Fun place to work. Lots of activities and diversity. Expect something special going on in the cafeteria quite often. You yourself can get involved and participate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain Experience
Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 April 2017
Typically a credit card company which offers different products and services to the the individuals and businesses , purely depending on the Credit Scoring.
Pros
Below Average Pay
Cons
No Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Culture
Lead Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Gurugram, India14 April 2017
Management focus on individual competencies and monetary growth. If there is medical problem they have doctors available and nurse available 24/7 and 365 days.
Pros
Skills
Cons
shifts changes every month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work if your in a good position
Lifestyle Specialist & Department Trainer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 April 2017
* a lot of good people
* in some positions it is hard to move up/within the company
* networking is everything within this company
* culture is good - but very corporate
* best part of the job is the people and some of the management is very supportive and helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 April 2017
Responsible for successful collections and reconciliations on all company products portfolios in a call center inbound setting
Evaluate and provide assessments on all collections risk accounts while ensuring the optimal customer service satisfaction and loyalty
Pros
friendly co-workers
Cons
1st party collection agency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best staff to work with. Managament have no clue what we do and how we manage.
BATCH, CICS and System Security Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON5 April 2017
Enjoyed working with the team I was working with. Management have absolutely not a clue what is required and how we manage day to day work load. One of the poorest management team all around.
Pros
Peoples I worked with
Cons
Poor management, Work load, No appriciation for hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place, great people
Senior Manager, Rewards & Loyalty Program (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 March 2017
over all a nice place.. certain internal teams make it frustrating and annoying to work though. Other than that, a lot of opportunities. location may not work for everyone!
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Digital Payment Solutions Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 March 2017
Good place to work and grow, good people and groups to work with. Motivational and mentors available to guide the career growth. Learnt a lot in the last experience with American Express.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  New York Bay, NL13 March 2017
Great place to learn risk management

Credit analysis
Fraud management
Data science
product management
stakeholder management
new product development
agile
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
PROGRAM MANAGER / SCRUM MASTER (Current Employee) –  CA1 March 2017
Great place to work. The only problem is that after reaching a certain point, your career advancement options are limited.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Human Resources driven company.
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Toronto12 February 2017
Very little professional independence. Managers did not respect the legal responsibilities of my professional designation. Overall, a very stressful workplace with very little reward.
Cons
Oppressive work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Express was my favorite job. I really enjoyed it there. The people were friendly and great atmosphere.
Administrative Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON8 February 2017
I would come in at 6:30 in the morning every day. I learned a lot of clerical work. I had learned to scan documents, we would have to key the information into the system. They use to have four or five fax machines that I would have to clear every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Account Development Manager, Large Enterprises (Current Employee) –  Montreal, Ottawa and Quebec7 February 2017
As an Account Manager, you support approximately 30 active clients and among these clients, you have to cross sell new solutions.

Working from home
meeting several stakeholders within my client base to understand where and how our solutions can support their goals.

most difficult aspect is ''acceptance of the Amex Card''

Working in collaboration with the Amex Merchant division to enroll new merchants in order to be paid by Amex from on behalf of my clients using E-payments.

Great collaboration from different level and experts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and high paced environment
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 February 2017
Great environment
Lots of opportunity
Extremely diverse and multi-faceted environment
Progressed leadership and teamwork skills
Allows for both independent and team based projects
Great feedback system in play
Lots of reward systems at play
High reward but high stress environment
You need alot of patience and energy
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All About American Express Platinum Travel
Travel Counselor (Former Employee) –  Saint John NB, Canada1 February 2017
I was very lucky to be able to work with a great bunch of people. I was able to obtain so many new skills while I worked there. There was room for many advances, as well as incentives for a job well done.
Pros
Great coworkers, meeting clients from different hotels
Cons
Unorganized management
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Place
SENIOR ILT PROJECT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 January 2017
Very friendly workplace culture. Amazing benefit of working from home. Friendly management and long term contracts with options of renewal. Good place to learn and grow personal and technical skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Company to work for
Lifestyle Consultant (Current Employee) –  North York, ON19 January 2017
Fantastic, dynamic company with great opportunities to grow. Extensive training program and full-time support from leaders and supervisors throughout employment at the company,
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and very Rewarding work place
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 January 2017
American Express was a wonderful company which provided me with a vast amount of opportunity and challenges. I learned a lot about SDLC and was very successfully in all phase within American Express.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 3,796 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1