American Express Employee Reviews

Found 180 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Culture
Lead Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Gurugram, India14 April 2017
Management focus on individual competencies and monetary growth. If there is medical problem they have doctors available and nurse available 24/7 and 365 days.
Pros
Skills
Cons
shifts changes every month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work if your in a good position
Lifestyle Specialist & Department Trainer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 April 2017
* a lot of good people
* in some positions it is hard to move up/within the company
* networking is everything within this company
* culture is good - but very corporate
* best part of the job is the people and some of the management is very supportive and helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 April 2017
Responsible for successful collections and reconciliations on all company products portfolios in a call center inbound setting
Evaluate and provide assessments on all collections risk accounts while ensuring the optimal customer service satisfaction and loyalty
Pros
friendly co-workers
Cons
1st party collection agency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best staff to work with. Managament have no clue what we do and how we manage.
BATCH, CICS and System Security Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON5 April 2017
Enjoyed working with the team I was working with. Management have absolutely not a clue what is required and how we manage day to day work load. One of the poorest management team all around.
Pros
Peoples I worked with
Cons
Poor management, Work load, No appriciation for hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place, great people
Senior Manager, Rewards & Loyalty Program (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 March 2017
over all a nice place.. certain internal teams make it frustrating and annoying to work though. Other than that, a lot of opportunities. location may not work for everyone!
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Digital Payment Solutions Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 March 2017
Good place to work and grow, good people and groups to work with. Motivational and mentors available to guide the career growth. Learnt a lot in the last experience with American Express.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  New York Bay, NL13 March 2017
Great place to learn risk management

Credit analysis
Fraud management
Data science
product management
stakeholder management
new product development
agile
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
PROGRAM MANAGER / SCRUM MASTER (Current Employee) –  CA1 March 2017
Great place to work. The only problem is that after reaching a certain point, your career advancement options are limited.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Human Resources driven company.
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Toronto12 February 2017
Very little professional independence. Managers did not respect the legal responsibilities of my professional designation. Overall, a very stressful workplace with very little reward.
Cons
Oppressive work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Express was my favorite job. I really enjoyed it there. The people were friendly and great atmosphere.
Administrative Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON8 February 2017
I would come in at 6:30 in the morning every day. I learned a lot of clerical work. I had learned to scan documents, we would have to key the information into the system. They use to have four or five fax machines that I would have to clear every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All About American Express Platinum Travel
Travel Counselor (Former Employee) –  Saint John NB, Canada1 February 2017
I was very lucky to be able to work with a great bunch of people. I was able to obtain so many new skills while I worked there. There was room for many advances, as well as incentives for a job well done.
Pros
Great coworkers, meeting clients from different hotels
Cons
Unorganized management
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Place
SENIOR ILT PROJECT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 January 2017
Very friendly workplace culture. Amazing benefit of working from home. Friendly management and long term contracts with options of renewal. Good place to learn and grow personal and technical skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Company to work for
Lifestyle Consultant (Current Employee) –  North York, ON19 January 2017
Fantastic, dynamic company with great opportunities to grow. Extensive training program and full-time support from leaders and supervisors throughout employment at the company,
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and very Rewarding work place
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 January 2017
American Express was a wonderful company which provided me with a vast amount of opportunity and challenges. I learned a lot about SDLC and was very successfully in all phase within American Express.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very regimented culture is very negative
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 January 2017
.Very regimented culture is very negative, work life balance is lacking, Very long hours and having to deal with other regions of the world
Pros
Good benefits and salary
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Location
Senior Business Analyst / Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON6 January 2017
Nice place to work. The atmosphere is very bright and the culture is distinct. Work life balance is a struggle.
Stable and motivated place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productve and Fun envrionment
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON3 January 2017
American Express Bank of Canada is an amazing place to work. They have a very flexible work life balance. Everyone at American Express Bank of Canada are fun to work with and are very helpful to get the job done.
Pros
Flexible on working from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Established, Well known
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 December 2016
American Exoress is a global services company that provides customers with access to products, insights and experiences that enrich lives and build business success.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork and Productive environment
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 November 2016
Working with AMEX is amazing. There are several factors I like to share with you like teamwork, diversity and a productive environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Csr
Outbound Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON21 November 2016
• Worked in a team environment, as well as independently
• Exceeded individual sales targets every week for an entire quarter
• Provided effective first contact customer service and provide effective product knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 3,592 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0