American Express Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Corporate Travel Agant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 February 2018
American Express was a great company to work for. they treat their employees wonderfully.

Great benefits. Travel Deals, good training.
I was in their main office for a short time, then I was working at at onsite agent with Snc Lavalin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reception, Sale Assistant, Customer Service
Assistance vente (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC28 January 2018
Had a lot of fun working there, people and customers were very nice. Learn a lot in all the department I have been in.

Easy to get there by bus. Hours were perfect Monday to Friday
Pros
Love the people at the office
Cons
Dept closure due to cuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workspace and fun place
Quality Engineer (Current Employee) –  Sunrise, FL26 January 2018
Productive workspace and fun place.
Try new aspects and do new POC's.
learning opportunities.
Mentor people.
exciting opportunities and challenging environment.
Exciting Team building opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working freedom.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  New Delhi14 January 2018
AMEX happens to be my best employer so far, the kind of employee satisfaction you have there its difficult to find in any other company. Every employee has been given equal opportunity to perform their task.
Pros
Huge employee satisfaction
Cons
Low pay package.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project completion projections are tight.
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee) –  North York, ON12 January 2018
Great for your first experience as you will learn a lot. Project groups are relatively small which means collaboration and cross reference of work can be challenging. Face-paced so if you're a quick learner it is exhilarating to work in this environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed yet productive work environment.
Computer related position (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON10 January 2018
A good place to start a level-entry type career. Great employee recognition and incentive program but provided low salary. Management was approachable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accepting Environment
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON3 January 2018
Decent Pay. Pleasant People.
Competitive Sales Environment. Must be willing to re-evaluate Sales techniques and be willing to better your social communication.
Pros
Willing to Teach.
Cons
Long Hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Corporate Travel Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB3 January 2018
My time at American Express GBT was wonderful. I really enjoyed working with them. As with any company there are always room for improvement but overall very good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at a call center
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC19 December 2017
First real customer service job, was excited to learn all there was to learn about American express products and services. Enjoyed when clients phoned us to help on there account for balance inquiries or wire transfers and even card card disputes. Really got to learn how to use computers with this job and really enjoyed diving into that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Senior Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 December 2017
This is a good job to work in the travel industry to gain experience in a call centre environment. Superior training is implemented for all employees.
Pros
Work (FAM) trips are offered.
Cons
Sometimes hard to make the job personable in call centre enviroment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
QA Engineer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON / Gurgaon, India28 November 2017
Excellent learning opportunities
Employee friendly management and company policies
Employee and business focused approach in work
Decent work-job life balance
Decent payer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful and High class work place
PLATINUM CONCIERGE (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON7 November 2017
Working at American express was one of the best experiences I've ever had. Everyone who works their is extremely amazing and friendly. The management team is wonderful and never fails to provide support when needed.
Pros
Working environment
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management and employee benefits
Jr. Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 November 2017
the organization's internal management is very organized which help employees to work in a very organized way to complete the projects therefore there are less chances of project conflicts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Earn Big and work hard for it
Senior Collections Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 October 2017
The good things
The Annual Salary and bonuses are Fantastic! Easy to move into different positions if you know how to work it.
The challenges
Not all lines of business support equal opportunity.
Faking support for less than brilliant leaders in order to achieve an average bonus or get promoted.
Pros
Annual Salary and bonuses are Fantastic
Cons
Not all lines of business support equal opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recommend
Conseiller en voyage affaire (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 October 2017
Unrealistic expectations...Negative reinforcement. Disorganized. conficting info. Working tools do not work properly. Too much control. Would not recommend
Pros
work at home possible
Cons
much better opportunities elsewhere
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed review
Corporate Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 October 2017
The organization is in a constant state of flux, with teams being culled and jobs being lost all the time. People management is sorely missed by the leadership team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Workplace with amazing enviroment
Sr. Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Delhi28 September 2017
i love working with the current organization because I get something new to learn everyday.
My peers and seniors are very supportive and they help me enhance my skills by giving me challenges.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON28 September 2017
Energy is always high, incentives are hot and the team is ready. With team effort we glide through sales, hitting our targets, both personal and team goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an awesome company to work for with very high expectations
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC worked from home19 September 2017
American Express was a wonderful company to work directly for. You had to be very strong at ensuring that you could work on your own with very little directions. Working from home and managing16 direct reports was very challenging as they lived all over the United States and came from many different backgrounds.
I always felt supported by my Manager and was given the freedom to run my team as I saw fit.
The schedule was a bit more flexible which made it easier when you have a family.
I will always say that they were a wonderful company and gave me many opportunities throughout my career with them.
Pros
scheduling flexibility, great pay and benefits.
Cons
High expectation of hitting goals ( sales, time management, quality and customer surveys)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Globally Connected
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 September 2017
You will have the option to collaborate with teams across the globe. There may be a situation where your immediate supervisor is located 10000 km away and doing One/One over phone.
Pros
Work from Home
Cons
Be flexible in the time zones
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,873 reviews
52.3K
41.6K
3692
2180
1124

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture