Find companies:
American Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,029 reviews

American Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work experience at American Express
Customer Care Professional (Current Employee), Markham, OntarioMarch 30, 2014
Pros: friendly co workers and pleasant working environment
Providing excellent customer service to every card member
Ensuring first call resolution
Working efficiently and accurately
meeting and exceeding targets
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet room where you can read during lunch
Customer Service Sales Representative (Current Employee), markhamMarch 6, 2014
Pros: customer service training
Cons: stress
Typical day at work is taking 100 calls a day with varying requests and demands from different clients and making an effort to resolve the issues to the satisfaction of the clients, while keeping abreast of the policies and procedures. The best part of the job is talking and having fun with the co-workers and friends, all from various backgrounds and – more... coming together and helping each other out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Global Procurement Auxiliar (Former Employee), Ciudad de México, DIFMarch 6, 2014
Having worked at American Express was great. I started to worked there by doing an internship, and then I became an auxiliar.
It was a very good experience to worked there, I learned a lot of things about negotiation as well as organization and administrative skills. I had the opportunity to worked directly with the managers and director of Global Procurement – more... department, so I learned a lot about them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opportunity to grow
Maintenance Technician- Facilities Department (Current Employee), Markham, ONMarch 4, 2014
after getting past the outsourcing there are many opportunities to practice politically heavy engagements and work with closely knit teams
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Business Development Executive (Current Employee), MarkhamMarch 3, 2014
Pros: great growth oppertunity
Cons: may have to work late shift when new
great company to work for! excellent growth opportunity. I love the support you get from the mangement team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace/acknowledges and rewards their employees
Customer Care Consultant (Current Employee), Markham, ONMarch 3, 2014
Interact with 90-100customers on a daily basis/fun place to work/one big happy family/bosses have open door policy/benefits and perks are excellent/it's a shame they are closing the US call center here in Canada very soon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Culture
Operations Representative (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 11, 2014
A typical day at work includes meetings and solving client issues.
Learned how to interact in the corporate world.
Management is top-to-bottom structured.
Great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun with free gym
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Markham, ONJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: subsidized food
Cons: sharing headsets
A typical day at work was advising current and new customers on products, promotions and billing inquiries.
I learned how to keep my talk time to less the 5 minutes without allowing my customers to feel rushed.
Very big company, but management keeps you feeling important as and individual.
My co-works were helpful and some of the best I met coming into – more... the customer service world so young.
The hardest part of the job was around the time of Hurricane Katrina The most enjoyable part of the job, was being able to be the friendly voice for those who needed to hear it at the time of Hurricane Katrina. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Markham, ONJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: great overall benefits, gym facility, great salary, fun environment and great management.
- A typical day at work?
(answer) Fun, loads of work, always changes within the company and a very great place to be everyday.

-What you learned?
(answer) Time management, being diplomatic, view all angles of a situation, think outside the box, how to deal with angry clients and always listen.

- Management?
(answer) Great people to have as leaders – more... within the company, very motivational an always helps with the next step in your lateral move.

- Your co-workers?
(answer) It is like every company you work for, you have some co-workers that are easy going and some are not.

- The hardest part of the job?
(answer) The hardest part of the job is not getting frustrated with a belligerent customer.

- The most enjoyable part of the job?
(answer) The most enjoyable part, is helping people in a financial crisis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and funplace to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Markham, ONJanuary 13, 2014
taking calls and assisting card members with their accounts whether it was adding a product or making financial adjustments

management was great as well as my co workers

hardest part of the job was sometimes not being able to follow through with a card members request

enjoyable part was adding a product or upgrading them to a higher card
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company where you can learn and grow
Marketing Internal Review - Business Analyst (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLDecember 17, 2013
Pros: work-life balance
Cons: ?
A typical day at work consisted of managing calendar, attend team meetings, provide feedback to marketing managers and other clients. Share best practices with co-workers and leverage those practices across teams. Our department was very cohesive, if a team member needed to delegate items from their agenda we were always supportive of each others projects. – more... The hardest part of the job was providing constructive feedback and the most enjoyable part of the job was the cohesiveness of the team and department. Learned to deal with constant change in a fast-paced environment and dealing effectively with different personality types. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful place to work
Travel Counselor (Current Employee), CalgaryNovember 19, 2013
This place is not a motivational place to work. Stressfull environment, and not a fun place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Enviornment
Customer Care Proffesional (CCP) WTS (Former Employee), Markham, ONNovember 6, 2013
Pros: the people in amex are wonderfull
Cons: worst shifts
I have learned lot of things in American Express. People in american express are great to work with. Excellent bonding with co-workers, peers and customers. I have learned in true meaning how to provide excellent customer service. The hardest part of job was high volume of calls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global fast-paced environment
Manager - Global Business Performance (Former Employee), Markham, OntarioOctober 28, 2013
Pros: global exposure
Cons: long hours
Multiitasking, multiple meetings with global teams. Learned to understand business processes globally and how they differed or were the same
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Hamilton, OnOctober 24, 2013
Wonderful bosses, hard work and great travel perks. Daily operations of large scale call centre.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company for advancement with good benefits.
Machine/ Print & Billing System Operator (Former Employee), Markham, ONOctober 20, 2013
With fitness club. Nice place to work and people are friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place and great GYM
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee), Markham, ONOctober 15, 2013
Start my day at 8am with Balancing and reconciliation the accounts for the previous day, lunch time is at 12 and finish my day at 4pm
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cover Letter
QA Analyst (Mobile Testing) (Former Employee), Markham,ONOctober 3, 2013
Over Five years of Software Quality Assurance experience has provided me with a strong understanding of testing various applications on different environments. I have exceptional ability to maintain QA Standards and QA Process at all phases of Project Life Cycle. I have also implemented test and automation strategies, automation architecture and framework – more... using functional decomposition techniques using Mercury Interactive tools like WinRunner, Quick Test Professional, TestDirector and LoadRunner. I am skilled in performing Backend Testing, Data Mapping and Data Integration testing using Data Driven Methods and SQL Query’s. I have an ability to interact with underwriters to understand the Insurance Products and Process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blue Box/ Combination of Values that you learn from Working with American Express
CONSUMER SALES MANAGER DUBAI REGION (Current Employee), Dubai,September 28, 2013
TISQC, Trust, Integrity, Security, Quality & Quality customer Service are the key things on mind when I start my day at American Express. I go with this thrill everyday that I have to make this day better than yesterday. This Starts with Meet and Greet with colleagues that I see on my way to my workplace followed by a team meeting for 15 min where we – more... discuss certain topics on news followed by agenda for the day. Individual Agenda which is subset of morning discussion that happened followed by routine work required to exceed Performance Review a plan laid down in the beginning of the year and reviewed quarterly. Collaboration and interaction with Head office for business follow ups, Inputs to Marketing, Discussion on Business Cases with Policy, Management Engagement, Discussion on Marketing Channels, Promotions, Delivery of Number, Business development, team reviews.

The Hardest part of the job is Communication with people in Head office via Emails, It builds perceptions which are not true most of the time so one has to work extra by giving a phone call to clarify the stand.
Most Enjoyable part of business is Meeting customers and solve their concerns and problems.

Blue Box Values which I live by are Customer Commitment, Quality, Integrity, Team Work, Respect for People, Good Citizenship, A Will to Win, Personal Accountability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging place to work with great co-workers.
Relationship Care Professional (Current Employee), Markham, ONSeptember 25, 2013
I would start my day at 4:30pm and immediately begin taking calls. I would adhere to my scheduled breaks and end the day at 1:00am. The calls I would service are incoming calls from American Express card holders that reside in the United States of America. I have an extensive knowledge of credit card laws, both in the U.S.A. and in Canada, and I use – more... this knowledge to ensure I provide accurate information to the card members that call for assistance. I have learnt a lot from this position and have been able to use it within the company and provide fellow Customer Care Professionals with accurate information with my time spent assisting our Supervisor Team. During this time, I would log in and be there primarily to assist other Professionals if they needed the assistance, and I would also take escalated calls. I appreciated that this job has challenges, some times different challenges every day. Every situation is different and they can not all be handled the same way, which is why I had to use my previous and newly learnt knowledge, and utilize the resources available to me, to ensure the accuracy and efficiency of information. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About American Express

Each day, American Express makes it easier, safer and more rewarding for consumers and businesses to purchase the things they – Read more

American Express Photos